The Flash: 1.09 Review (and Meta and Feelings)

Where do I start?! This episode gave me all of the feelings. Barry, BarryxIris, Iris, Barryxdad, BarryxJoe, it just wouldn’t stop!

Squeeing

And then it confused the hell out of me.

Okay, so….Wells….was in the room. Reverse Flash got captured, then he beat the crap out of Wells and stole the Triceratops (bear with me). So then at the end…..Wells has the Triceratops.

confused soccer

How can Wells have gotten the gadget when he was battered and bloodied in the room? Did he….bring one with him from the future? Cause we’ve established that he planned for the particle accelerator to malfunction. He knew that Barry was going to become the Flash.

Y’all watched this last Tuesday so any answers? Theories? Speculation? I was waiting for the reveal that Wells had messed with the force field, allowing Reverse to escape, but I didn’t expect that.

And Wells changed his voice, but I didn’t notice a vibration.

Jesus, be an answer.

I don’t think Reverse was faking his dislike of Wells. I thought there was more to mine from the fact that he came face to face with Eddie but didn’t touch him until he had to. But that ending is messing me up.

Speaking of Eddie, what is happening to him? First he randomly wants a Task Force against the Flash, and now he’s thinking Barry has a problem with him and is asking Iris if she’s ever wondered about Barry’s feelings for her because “friends don’t give friends jewelry.”

Okay, Eddie, but Barry’s known Iris since he was a kid. He’s not randomly giving her jewelry. He’s replacing something that I’m pretty sure you didn’t even know Iris had owned.

Eddie’s starting to look like he wants to fight the air. Just windmilling all over the place. I don’t see why he should be as amped about the Task Force as he is. It would’ve been one thing if we’d seen him get hurt while the Flash was involved but no. It would’ve been one thing if we’d seen him noticing Barry’s looks when he and Iris hug or kiss, but that hasn’t been the case. Just all of a sudden, boom, here’s the order of things.

I don’t understand the logic of asking Iris if she’s ever wondered if Barry has any feelings for her. Especially because of one instance where for all he knows Barry could’ve just been battling one uncomfortable bowel movement.

I’m just saying.

And now he’s sent Iris questioning Barry, which I feel gave Barry the opening, coupled with what his father said, to broach the topic. Like, the possibility is in Iris’ mind right now, so it won’t be completely out of nowhere when he brings it up, you know? And Lord Jesus, did he bring it up.

First of all, he began with a hug! My emotions spiked immediately. It was such a sweet freaking hug. And THEN

“I love you, Iris. When we were kids, I loved you before I even knew what the word love meant. And then my mom died, and I had to go live with the girl that I had a crush on. Look, I….there were so many times that I wanted to tell you: junior prom, when I went away to college, when I came back from college, nights that we stayed up talking, all the birthdays, all the Chrismases. But I never did. I just…I kept it in. After I lost my mom, and my dad, I was afraid that if you didn’t feel the same way, I would lose you, too. That’s the irony: I was so scared of losing you that I did. I know I’ve had our whole lives to tell you this, and you’re with Eddie now, and I know that, and I know my timing couldn’t be any worse, but I just…I couldn’t lie to you anymore. I’m sorry.”

PUNCH MY HEART MORE, WHY DON’T YOU?!

First of all…I just….Barry hasn’t told Iris about his feelings because he’s been scared of losing her on top of losing his parents. So why isn’t he scared of losing her now?

I think the answer to that is the second reason for why he’s hidden the truth from her this whole time. As of maybe two scenes before the confession, Barry no longer needs to be obsessed with the man in the yellow suit. He’s faced his greatest fear. He’s looked at the monster, talked to him, even.

I think that Barry did not want to drag Iris into his search. From the looks of it, he hasn’t dragged any girl into his search. Barry knew that at some point his obsession with the man in the yellow suit would take a toll on even the most understanding girl. Like he told Joe, he’s been stuck in his childhood living room for 14 years. He hasn’t been ready to give his heart to anything or anyone else, least of all the love of his life. He didn’t want his obsession to come between his chance with Iris.

But then he gave his heart to the Flash, and we got the first taste of a free Barry. The Flash is the best version of Barry. Like I said in the last review, the Flash isn’t burdened by all of Barry’s experiences. When he puts on that suit, he gets to leave that living room, just for a little bit. The door stays open, but he gets to leave.

And in the mid-season finale, Barry got to close the door. He faced the nightmare and found that after all of these years, it’s still the nightmare. Reverse is still everything that killed his mother and tore his family apart: he’s fast, and he has no mercy, and he even taunted Barry, just like, I imagine, Barry’s imagined him doing from a distance for the past 14 years.

Barry didn’t quite get to be the conquering hero like he imagined. He didn’t erase the past. Reverse is still out there. And his father was there to tell him that that’s okay. His father was there to make him look in a mirror and recognize everything he’s given up or put aside in his search for Reverse.

“The man in the yellow suit has taken enough from us already. Don’t let him take anymore.”

And so! Barry gains a freedom that has nothing to do with the suit. It’s not completely over. He still needs to stop Reverse. But he’s taken a major step. Which means his head will be clear the next time he faces Reverse. The Reverse Flash will need to come up with some new taunts, because Barry’s mother’s death is no longer a crippling event.

Now for Iris: Girlfriend cried.

First of all, Eddie asked her to move in, then the next day she told Caitlin that she had trouble sleeping. I don’t think she was troubled by Barry possibly having feelings for her. I think she was troubled because she’s not ready to move in with Eddie. And I honestly think she’s not ready because Eddie introduced Barry as a possibility for her.

Because remember, Eddie asked her to think about Barry before he gave her the key. Had he not said anything, I think her answer to moving in would’ve been, “Yes!”

After all, this dude is the reason why she’s taking a break from big bad scary Flash, right? Right -_-.

But she tells Eddie that she loves him, and the man has to ask if that’s a yes. Lmao! Imagine if that had been a proposal!

“Iris, will you marry me?”

“I love you.”

“Is that a yes?”

tumblr_m15igngwLg1qhisau

And then the girl couldn’t sleep.

I think she cried during the confession because her heart was overwhelmed by Barry’s emotions. 14+ years of silent love? That’s got to be lonely! That doesn’t come without multiple heartbreaks. And I think that Iris realized that. Her best friend has been suffering and holding a lot inside of that big heart of his.

And I also think she cried because she saw his fear of telling her, his fear of how things might change, that she might not feel the same way, etc.

I don’t think her tears had anything to do with, “Why are you telling me this now when I have Eddie?” I think it was completely about Barry and this secret that she hadn’t known. And she’s supposed to know Barry better than anyone :).

Is Iris ready to be with Barry? I don’t think so. I don’t think she’s been secretly in love with him and just hasn’t known it. I don’t understand why some people love to say their characters feel something but just don’t know it. And it’s ALWAYS in terms of love. And then when things don’t go their way……………..

But I don’t think it’s going to take much for Iris to fall for Barry. I think that she needs time to digest what Barry told her. She’s got homework! She’s going to be looking back at all of those birthdays, and dances, and late night talks, and Christmases.

It’s like when someone goes over all of the convos they’ve had with their loved one for evidence that they’d shown themselves to be a lying cheater? Only Irises situation is much more enviable.

Oh my God! Is she going to talk to the Flash about it?! I can’t wait!!! I cannot wait to see how she’s going to deal with this. One thing I know for sure? Eddie’s apartment ain’t gonna see nan of her shit.

PLACE YOUR BETS: when does Iris tell Barry that she’s in love with him? Early season 2? Late season 2? Season 3?

I don’t think we should go into season 3 with Barry still pining. Nope, nope, nope. I feel that we’ll lose momentum by then. Once the piner confesses, we’re on a timetable. Second half of season 2 is the latest that Iris should tell Barry that she loves him. They don’t need to get together after the fact. The universe can split in half and all manner of things can happen to keep them from being boyfriend and girlfriend.

But they need to be on the same page in regards to their feelings by season 3. Especially because they see each other SO much. Otherwise I’m going to wonder why Barry’s still hanging on when it’s been “this long,” and she still doesn’t feel anything. I’m going to wonder why Iris doesn’t just date someone else if she needs to take “this long.”

Waiting too long might take Westallen from pining to unrequited, even though the story will tell us something different. Don’t miss the mark, writers! Don’t fail to deliver!

Unless you just plum reverse time. Hmmmm.

ANYWAYS. Elsewhere in the episode, Caitlin ran into Ronnie. I got goosebumps when she saw him, all aflame and stuff. Poor girl. I liked that she told Iris to ask Barry if he’s hiding something. It would’ve been fine if she’d played it off. Heck, Barry and Joe do. But she told her to talk to him, and I thought that was different. I noticed that she didn’t ask Iris why she couldn’t sleep, even though Iris was interested in her problem. Sure.

BarryxJoe continue to slay.

“The world may need the Flash, but I need my Barry Allen.”-Joe to Barry

abbie cries

The midseason finale was terrific, and nope I’m not forgetting what Cisco saw. The Flash was in Barry’s house fourteen years ago!!! Was it Barry? Or a future incarnation of the Flash?

I’m going with the latter. I think it’s more plausible that they’ll have Barry meet the one who comes after him rather than have Barry meet his future self. More opportunities for Barry and Joe to geek out.

But what do I know? I can’t even figure out how Wells ended up with the Triceratops.

Bye!

Flail or vent

