Sleepy Hollow 1.05: “Crane, believe me when I say you belong in Sleepy Hollow.”

Join me as I struggle to understand the plot of this episode. The point was clear: Abbie coming into her faith as a Witness and in the supernatural goings-on. But the plot surrounding it left me with a whole lot of questions. Plus, Ichabod gets into an emotional slump about being a man out of time.

Episode 5: John Doe

Quotes from the podcast: “This episode was about Abbie finding her faith without the crutch that is Ichabod, because, like I said, he’s been doing it for her. He’s been having faith for her and so with him there she doesn’t have to have faith, because he does it, so she can just rest in her role as a skeptic, as a realist.”

“Where did [the little girl] come from? We figure out later on that Thomas was never alive to begin with, and Abbie says he was lured out into the world of the living, but how? I don’t understand. Roanoke wasn’t cursed. They weren’t stuck in a time loop or anything, so where did they appear from so that the girl could lure him to the world of the living? And if he was lured to the world of the living, shouldn’t that mean the girl was a alive, and if she was alive, why did she disappear? Was this all Conquest’s doing? Where has he been all this time? Was he sleeping? I just don’t understand why this happened in the first place.”

10 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow 1.05: “Crane, believe me when I say you belong in Sleepy Hollow.”

    • I did hear about it! I’m so excited! I hope they’ll write her material that really shows off her acting ability and not just treat her like a “kid actor” who’s basically there to be a prop.

      >

  1. I never heard of an interview … no, wait I was in one, but it was for Chipotle so it wasn’t a big deal.
    Ichabod is the Mulder to her Scully. :\

    The little girl I thought Thomas was the evil one.
    I don’t think the girl was alive or even really a girl. I think she was a phantom. She was the demon in another form I think. Maybe this whole thing was like a seal breaking.
    endearing, cute and a little sad … lol

    “believe me when I say you belong in Sleepy Hollow.”

    My mind went to the naughty place at that line. 😡
    ‘looks like a douche but probably is not’ *snort*
    My mom thinks Irving is a witch. She said that.

    lol I’m going to watch Ichabod play with scotch tape and Luke being salty.

    yeah his Crane’s logic leaps make me side eye.

    That EMT got sick because he put his mouth on that child when I believe there are tools to help prevent that. When that happened I was like: what is he doing? he doesn’t know what that child has and he’s putting his mouth on him.
    Then I rationalized it by thinking that guy is a pedophile who just wanted to put his mouth on that kid. smh.

    The girl wasn’t there because he doesn’t see any footprints.
    It was foretold that they’re coming. gurl idk.
    they know about the horse men because of the bible. 😀
    I wouldn’t take the flower either. I thought it was going to be the cure but nope it was the water.
    If Katrina looks guilty it’s probably because she’s the reason her husband is going through this. And she feels bad that he’s linked to the horseman. :\ that’s my guess. And she probably feels bad that she’s separated from him.

    When people ask for a sign … :\ i think it’s bad form when this happens in movies/tv.

    I guess the horse man needs a certain about out sick people to break through? IDK I think he’s just on a time out.
    The horse it pale Alta. ;D
    What! Mills sisters scenes!
    Yeah Katrina said he’s a witness. :\ I feel like he’s a guardian of the witness.
    I like that scene where he helps Abbie across the bridge way …

    Also this just came to me but the ‘sign’ in the trees could have been ‘the sign’ ichabbie needed to give them faith enough to walk on the water. hehe *reaches*

    • When that happened I was like: what is he doing? he doesn’t know what that child has and he’s putting his mouth on him.
      Then I rationalized it by thinking that guy is a pedophile who just wanted to put his mouth on that kid. smh.

      Lol!

  2. Hi, Alta! Sorry it took me so long to listen to this one. I enjoyed hearing your take on it, as always. I agree, this episode’s plot wasn’t one of the series’ “tighter” ones (as “tight” as any plot on “Sleepy Hollow” can be said to be, of course), and the fact that the Roanoke colonists spoke Middle English annoyed me no end (it died out about 90 years before the lost colonists came to America), but I liked the fact that Ichabod made his peace with being “at home” in modern Sleepy Hollow, and I really liked the “sign” Abbie receives, because it wasn’t some dramatic flash from the sky. I think God uses ordinary signs like that to communicate, but you rarely see that on television. I thought it was nicely done.

    I think Ichabod’s point about plastic was simply that civilization seems to have emerged, and a great deal of it to have endured, without it. I grant your point, but I also really like Ichabod’s perspective on modernity’s pride (often justified, of course, but not always) in its “progress.” ‘

    I’m very curious about why and how Ichabod’s story checks out, too. I suspect it’s Irving, as you do; but I wonder if it’s a clue that “Sleepy Hollow” doesn’t occur in our universe, but an alternate one very close to ours. (Like “Fringe” did – hey, another series starring John Noble!). I wonder… it would explain all the “mistakes” they make with American history!

    Good catch on how Ichabod’s final speech could be seen as negating Abbie’s experience. Hm. I grant it’s an inconsistent show

    Sorry to hear about your bad job interview experience – here’s hoping all the right doors open up for you soon!

    • Hi! Are you planning to do a review of John Doe? I looked for one on your website, but I only found a post in light of SH’s hiatus.

      I didn’t know the show’s use of middle english for the lost colony was actually completely wrong.

      Sorry to hear about your bad job interview experience – here’s hoping all the right doors open up for you soon!

      The right door did open up! I’m training for the new job this week. Thanks!

Flail or vent

