Sleepy Hollow 1:03: “I see you, and I’m NOT afraid anymore!”

Guest: Cana

All I wanna do is dreaaaam. Dream, dream, dream, dream, dreeeaaaam. The Sandman is out to punish people, and Abbie is on his list! Abbie has to face one mistake from her past in order to survive, and Ichabod has her back all the way. He even uses the power of his  thirst to somehow merge himself into Abbie’s dream. Stopping the Sandman includes Ichy paying a visit to Jenny to let her know that there are now two people who believe her.

Episode 3: For the Triumph of Evil

Quotes from the podcast: “I love that I can say, I can meta, that this Black woman, Jenny, was wronged by these different people, because they were looking out for themselves, and we have them being punished for it. For wronging her, for doing wrong by her.”

“Is the emancipation line the last we’ll see of Ichabod being awkward/inappropriate about people in the 21st century? Because ever since that line we’ve only gotten him being awkward about things, 21st century things, not 21st century society. […..] I’m wondering if the show is telling me that aside from the things, there’s no difference for Ichabod. 1700s, 2000s, aside from the technology it’s all the same. So then you get people thinking that for Abbie, 2000s, 1700s, it’s all the same. She’d just have to adapt to not having a car, and that’s it.”

“I’m wondering why aren’t Jenny and Abbie the Witnesses. They are the ones that were passed out in the woods  for a couple of days. Ichabod’s just like, ‘yeah, it’s you and me.’ But why is it you, Ichabod? What did you see? All he did was create the Headless Horseman by taking his head off.”-Cana

“The tea was already made, too. Like how did they know to make the tea? It looked like Kool-Aid, first of all. Green Kool-Aid. He’s like ‘this tea is so and so.’ Like, do they just keep it on hand, just in case they wanna have dreams?”-Cana

The Lesser Key of Solomon synopsis

1.04 Promo

8 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow 1:03: “I see you, and I’m NOT afraid anymore!”

  1. When Jenny asks if Icky’s Abbie’s boyfriend, mark this as the first of many times when this assumption will be made. I’m looking forward to hearing them denying it lots of times while giving each other ‘this is ridiculous’ looks.

  2. I enjoyed your podcast again, Alta, especially that Cana could join you for a lively discussion. And, again, I especially appreciate hearing what you, as women of color, thought about the episode, with its “meta” aspects you mentioned That’s a perspective that doesn’t come naturally to me, obviously, but your podcasts are making me more alert to issues of race as I watch. I do hope the series will engage those issues at some deeper level, especially given the (I thought) fast-and-loose treatment of Native American culture in this week’s episode (I touched on this some in my most recent SFC review, http://thescifichristian.com/2013/10/reflections-from-sleepy-hollow-1-3-for-the-triumph-of-evil/).

    I have to confess, it didn’t occur to me when watching the pilot that Abbie had kept silent. I assumed she had been able to pull her life together and Jenny hadn’t. I guess that says something (and not too nice) about my assumptions regarding those in institutions.

    I think the Demon’s “Come and see” line is an example of evil parodying good. In the Gospel of John, Jesus tells his first disciples to “come and see” (John 1.39). (His disciples then recruit others to follow Jesus by telling them, “Come and see.”) It’s a common theological concept in some circles that evil can do nothing original; it can only distort God’s works. So I think that’s why the Demon in the Woods says these words (and maybe also why Abbie and Jenny were “returned to the living,” metaphorically, after four days, as opposed to three, which would have matched the length of time between Jesus’ death and resurrection). I wonder what the girls may have seen and forgotten – I guess this will be fuel for future episodes.

    I think the point of the Luke and Irving interaction was to alert us to the fact that Irving is not all that he appears. I bet the most important line in that scene was Irving saying, “Assume I know everything.” Hmm…

    Ichabod called the receptionist a “charwoman,” a British term for a house cleaner.

    Yes, I think Ichabod does have sins, and I think we’re going to find out before the season is out. At least I hope that is the case – it would be unacceptable for the show’s creative team to expose Abbie’s flaws (which I think only makes her a more realistic and compelling character) but to give Ichabod none. I addressed this a bit in my SFC post. (Cana, you made the excellent point about the abolitionists also wanting to send emancipated slaves back to Africa. Good point, often forgotten – I had certainly forgotten it.)

    Looking forward to next week’s discussion!
    Mike Poteet (@Bibliomike)

    PS. I agree – 13-episode seasons are the way to go. Longer than that, you get bad “filler episodes,” and, besides, who has time to keep up with 24-26 episodes in a year? Fans have to live real life *sometime*!

    • Hey Michael. I like your comment on “come and see” and I think it has to do with the Sisters being a witness. Ichabod is assuming he is the witness, but like I said, what has he seen?

      Ichabod called the receptionist a “charwoman,” a British term for a house cleaner.
      O_O thanks for clearing that up. O_O lol No wonder Abbie’s face and tone was like that.

      🙂 Thanks Mike. 😉
      The shorter season are better for storytelling but sometimes I like a good filler if it’s done right. My favorite episodes of The X-Files were probably ‘Monster of the Week’. Cause the alien stuff kinda bored me.
      But when the boxset comes out I don’t want to pay $20 for 13 episodes. I will though, for this show.

    • Yeah, someone who IS Mohawk made a post about the what the show did in the episode right here.

      I think the Demon’s “Come and see” line is an example of evil parodying good. In the Gospel of John, Jesus tells his first disciples to “come and see” (John 1.39). (His disciples then recruit others to follow Jesus by telling them, “Come and see.”)

      Ah, I see.

      I bet the most important line in that scene was Irving saying, “Assume I know everything.”

      Yeah, probably. That line is either true or will turn out to be ironic. Sometimes I think Irving already knows the truth and the reason he keeps acting like he doesn’t believe Abbie is because he’s waiting for the day where she’ll be like, “No, damn it, that’s exactly what it is!” Then he’ll see that she believes without a doubt and isn’t afraid to voice her belief, and that’s when he’ll let her know that he knows exactly what’s going on.

      Ichabod called the receptionist a “charwoman,” a British term for a house cleaner.

      Thanks!

      Yeah, I think Abbie’s flaws make her a more compelling character, too.

      and, besides, who has time to keep up with 24-26 episodes in a year? Fans have to live real life *sometime*!

      Lol.

  3. Thank you for directing me toward that post, Alta. I hope some of the powers that be who work on the show see it. Having fun in spinning a wild and crazy story is one thing, but I hope, going forward, they’ll find ways to do so without invoking old and hurtful stereotypes, of anyone.

    Can’t wait for your review of episode 4!

Flail or vent

