Sleepy Hollow 1.01: “Is there a law?”

It’s here; it’s here! Ichabod Crane wakes up in the 21st century to Starbucks and a Black woman who threatens to shoot him if he doesn’t get it together. Abbie Mills is on the fast track to a career in the FBI until her partner and a priest lose their heads and a lanky man toting a Bible tells her God has another plan for her. Andy Dunn has quite possibly sold his soul to a demon, and Captain Irving is just rough enough for me  to find him suspicious. Sleepy Hollow holds a couple of shady characters, and I’ve got my eye on everybody.

Episode 1: Pilot

Quotes from the Podcast:

“Nobody had time for anybody in this episode. [….] Just a lot of impatience: you need to be doing what you’re supposed to be doing, and I don’t have time for anything else.”

“This priest, upon seeing Ichabod, he knew the Horseman was back, because he was with Katrina. He knew. So what was he doing with his life? What was he doing after he realized, ‘Oh my God, Ichabod’s back. That must mean that the Horseman’s back too?’ Nothing. He came up with one method of defense. Otherwise, he was continuing with business as usual, meeting the devotees, the church-going people, taking confessions. That’s a man who didn’t love his life. What was his one mode of defense? Some chains. What were those chains supposed to do? Ya got me; I don’t know.”

Episode 2 Synopsis

Episode 2 trailer

16 thoughts on “Sleepy Hollow 1.01: “Is there a law?”

  1. I have to say that I have listened to four different podcasts about the pilot of Sleepy Hollow and yours is by far the most thoughtful and entertaining. When you referenced the preview for the next episode and said “they were on some bondage tip” and ” yeah it says in the bible chapter 8 verse 69″, I nearly died…lol Anyway, I have a little speculation and couple of observations of my own that I would like to share.
    1.) We are in the minority as far as our impression of the chemistry between Ichabod and Abbie and and some fans are flat out adamant about not having any romantic connection between them. I think that katrina’s character is going to serve as a guide to Ichabod and Abbie, instead of a romantic thing with him. I would hate for the writers to drag out the show and keep their dynamic similar to that of Doctor who and a companion or a Watson/ Holmes thing.
    2.) I think there is a complete conspiracy with different towns people and their involvement in the war between good and evil. I got that impression when the doctor attempted to drug Ichabod in his sleep….she totally works for the demon. Orlando Jones’ character is a complete puzzle to me, but I have a feeling he is shady.
    3.) I hope they are not going to take us too far down the rabbit hole with the Da Vinci code / freemason stuff because that stuff can be a complete drag on a show if it isn’t done just right.

    So that is my two cents…. lol

    • Thank you! I’m happy to hear this.

      I learned about this yesterday, re: some people hoping/feeling that Ichabod and Abbie would be better off remaining as friends. I need these people, if they’re purporting that the reason they feel this way is because they want to see a man and woman have a platonic relationship for once, to realize that tv producers are usually all too happy to have the woc, especially the Black woman, be nothing more than just a friend. We are not all on the same level. Black female characters don’t get “reduced” to nothing but the love interest because tv shows are usually either allergic to their love lives or allergic to telling it WELL. I still haven’t seen a Black female lead with a well-balanced love life.

      I think there’s a conspiracy, too. That’s why I’m going to be suspicious of everybody, lol. But I don’t want it to be some Da Vinci Code/Freemason stuff, either. That’s be a little much. I don’t know about Captain Irving. I’m side-eying him, but I wonder if they’ll make him evil just when they revealed that Andy’s in that muck, too. I feel like some of the people in the know are going to/should be in the same boat as Corbin was.

  2. I totally agree ! To your first point, I think that those feelings come from feminists who haven’t got the concept of intersectionality down yet. They don’t realize that WOC have different experiences. I also agree that black characters’ love lives are written with far too much struggle for the sack of struggle. To the point that it makes no sense and is painful to watch. The only relationship where this issue was at a minimal was the show Merlin, and even then their romance was in the background. It is not a coincidence that Elena and Caroline have played musical chairs with their love interests and Bonnie is perpetually single. This is true even in situations where chemistry with Bonnie character makes more sense .

    • To your first point, I think that those feelings come from feminists who haven’t got the concept of intersectionality down yet. They don’t realize that WOC have different experiences.

      Yep. They just assume that White womens’ wants and needs are applicable for all women.

  3. Hi! I was looking for podcasts about the show, and discovered your podcast as a result.

    I really enjoyed your recap and review of the episode. I especially appreciated hearing your analysis of the racism at play in the scene between Abbie and Ichabod in the jail cell. I have to confess, I took that scene as just an example of humor resulting from Ichabod’s “time travel,” but hearing your reaction to it gave me a perspective I wouldn’t have had on my own. So thank you for that! It’s an even richer scene than I gave it credit for.

    By the way, yes, “leftenant” is the eighteenth-century British pronunciation of Abbie’s rank. I went to college at William & Mary, right in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg, so I appreciated that the show took the trouble to get some of those details right (also the use of “F” for “S” in the inscription on Katrina’s tombstone).

    It’s been a long time since I’ve read the original Washington Irving story (notice that the police captain’s name is Irving!), and I haven’t seen the Johnny Depp film since it was in theaters (I plan to rewatch it soon), but I don’t recall Katerina/Katrina Von Tassel’s mother or stepmother playing any role in the original story. If memory serves, the Depp film wasn’t terribly faithful to Irving. I wonder, personally, if Brom Bones, Ichabod’s rival for Katrina from Irving’s story (and the Depp film, maybe?) is going to show up somehow. (In the Irving story, the text strongly implies there really *is* no Headless Horseman ghost – Brom Bones is masquerading to scare Ichabod off.)

    If interested, I wrote some reflections on the pilot at The Sci-Fi Christian: http://thescifichristian.com/2013/09/hellmouth-on-the-hudson-sleepy-hollow-tv-review/.

    Hope you’ll keep commenting on new episodes as they air – I’m eager to hear more of what you have to say!

    • Hi!

      I have to confess, I took that scene as just an example of humor resulting from Ichabod’s “time travel,” but hearing your reaction to it gave me a perspective I wouldn’t have had on my own.

      Yeah, there was an element of humor in it (and even then it’s a question of WHERE people find the humor: was it funny that Ichabod mistook Abbie for a freed slave, or was it funny that Abbie threatened to shoot Ichabod, or was it both? I saw humor in the second one). But I’m very glad the show kept the humor in that scene super low-key, because watching a Black (female) character basically being told that she should be owned by someone and not allowed to be in her position (Lieutenant) wouldn’t be funny to me or pretty much anyone who is Black, a woman, or both, or anyone who just gets it.

      By the way, yes, “leftenant” is the eighteenth-century British pronunciation of Abbie’s rank. I went to college at William & Mary, right in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg, so I appreciated that the show took the trouble to get some of those details right (also the use of “F” for “S” in the inscription on Katrina’s tombstone).

      Ah, thanks for clarifying! Yeah, the “Duft” took me aback, but I chalked it up to being the language of the time. I’m glad the show is paying attention to stuff like this.

      I wonder, personally, if Brom Bones, Ichabod’s rival for Katrina from Irving’s story (and the Depp film, maybe?) is going to show up somehow. (In the Irving story, the text strongly implies there really *is* no Headless Horseman ghost – Brom Bones is masquerading to scare Ichabod off.)

      Yep, in the movie Brom dressed up as the Horseman to scare Ichabod off at one point (but there also really was a Horseman in the movie). I didn’t know Katrina’s stepmother wasn’t in the books. She played a crucial part in the movie, which I won’t spoil you with if you plan to rewatch it.

      I’ll check out the link.

      Hopefully FOX keeps the show.

  4. I just discovered this show the other day, and I’ve already watched the pilot twice. I loved your recap of the episode, so many points were just spot on. And yay for having a WOC as the lead, I hope this trend continues! I gotta say I’m loving Abbie so much, and I’m liking the direction the show seems to be taking with her character. She’s not just the “black side kick” she’s as much involved in everything that’s happening as he is which makes me very happy. I’m waiting to find out more about her back story though, especially her sister. I do agree that it’s a bit confusing why her sister is so traumatized considering what they experience seemed pretty mild. Maybe the sister knows more than she’s let on? Maybe she didn’t “black out” or at the very least has some recollection of what happened to them, and hasn’t told anyone? Either way I can’t wait to find out. Also I can’t wait to see what the relationship between Abbie and her sister is like. It seems kinda strained judging by the promo for next week.

    I’m loving Abbie/Ichabod as well, I think their dynamic is cute. Just the right amount of snark and sass. ❤ He seems to have a lot of affection for her already which is a treat to watch. Interesting that you brought up the way he seemed so betrayed upon learning that she was leaving, which of course is unwarranted because dude she barely knew him, yet he was talking about how their fates are intertwined. LOL. That was hilarious to me, and I love that she looks at him like he was absolutely insane. But I'm thinking Ichabod is just extreme like that, being from a different time and all, he's very socially inept.

    But seriously I need more of Ichabod interacting with modern technology. That stuff is gold.

    Oh but yeah fandom is as predictable as ever when it comes to Abbie/Ichabod. The stuff I'm reading about why people shouldn't be shipping them is hilarious and yet so transparent. I was reading the tag on tumblr and some idiot was all "if you ship Abbie/Ichabod that means you're okay with CHEATING AND ADULTERY cuz he's muuurried DURRRRR" and I'm like Girl bye! Lolz. Transparent much? Then there's the "why are people shipping them after 1 episode?????///?" like that's the most bizarre thing ever. This is all coming from a group of people who will ship just about anything, straight dudes romantically, characters who aren't even on the same freaking show, but shipping a WOC with a white man who happens to have a dead-ish wife is too much of a stretch for their little imaginations. *eye-roll*

    I mean right now I'm loving their dynamic, I'm not overly fussed with wanting them to get romantic right away. I love the way they interact so far, and I hope it continues to build from there, but I can't deny that there's TONS of romantic chemistry there and I will flail and fangirl from time to time. So whatever sue me.

    But I think the worst offenders are the feminists who claim Abbie doesn't need a man, cause she's a strong independent black woman ™, that her life shouldn't revolve around some guy. First of all since when did being strong mean you can't have a romantic relationship? Since when did these things become mutually exclusive? Like wtf! Still very transparent, or at the very least ignorant. I think a lot of these woman don't understand that white women's struggles aren't always the same as struggles of woc. White woman in these kinds of shows are always portrayed as desirable & respected etc. Women of color are usually delegated to being some stereotype, non-existent, Deus ex machina, sassy black friend, mammy etc. So a show where a woc is portrayed as more than just a one dimensional caricature or a plot device is a big deal. I want Abbie Mills to have all the things, I want her to be strong and bad-ass, vulnerable, cared for, respected, loved. etc. I don't need to watch another show where a black woman is expected to suck it up and be ~strong while carrying the weight of the world on her shoulders with no support or concern from anyone else. Not interested. I feel like that's image of black women a lot of people are used to watching thanks to shows like TVD, to the point where they've grown comfortable with it and now expect it. Nope Nope Nope. Do NOT WANT.

    Anyway sorry about this mini rant. lolz. Fandom gets me all riled up sometimes. Anyway back to the actual show. Everyone is suspicious as hell, but I did not see Andy being involved. I'm really glad his character isn't gone for good, because there's too much interesting things happening there for him to just be dead. Like you I found Andy's interactions with Abbie a tad bit creepy, I wouldn't be surprised if like you said he had a thing for her all along.

    I get the impression that Ichabod's wife (Katherine? Katerina?) isn't as good as she appears to be, which would be all kinds of awesome, since she's supposed to be a good witch. I like her character right now, only because I'm hoping there's more to her than being Ichabod's guide to saving the world. I hope she has her own agenda. This is a woman who can keep a secret, she was a witch and her husband never even suspected, I really hope they do something with that.

    The captian? Right now he seems suspicious too, but I'm thinking that's probably just a red herring? IDk maybe not, but as far as I'm concerned everyone's suspicious.

    Anyway I really am surprised by how much I'm loving this show. Not gonna lie, I was expecting to hate it and find it completely ridiculous, but I was pleasantly surprised. I hope it does well and gets picked up for more seasons.

    • She’s not just the “black side kick” she’s as much involved in everything that’s happening as he is which makes me very happy.

      Yeah, hopefully the show doesn’t disintegrate into “The Ichabod Show, guest starring Abbie.” It happened on Twisted with the poc leads vs the lone white lead.

      Also I can’t wait to see what the relationship between Abbie and her sister is like. It seems kinda strained judging by the promo for next week.

      Yeah, there’s a still from the episode that shows Ichabod talking to her, but I’m hoping we get Abbie talking to her too.

      Interesting that you brought up the way he seemed so betrayed upon learning that she was leaving, which of course is unwarranted because dude she barely knew him, yet he was talking about how their fates are intertwined.

      Exactly! Lol.

      But I’m thinking Ichabod is just extreme like that, being from a different time and all, he’s very socially inept.

      It’d be very interesting if they played it like that, actually. Ichabod acting in (inoffensive) ways that would be considered appropriate and even polite in his time, but just comes off as socially inept in our time, lol. Like insisting that your fate is intertwined with someone, lol.

      I love that he shone the flashlight into his eyes, lol.

      I mean right now I’m loving their dynamic, I’m not overly fussed with wanting them to get romantic right away. I love the way they interact so far, and I hope it continues to build from there, but I can’t deny that there’s TONS of romantic chemistry there and I will flail and fangirl from time to time. So whatever sue me.

      I’m in the same boat as you. I’m not someone who declares “OTP!” after one episode or even one interaction. I need more than that. But what’s side-eye worthy is when people, usually non-poc, are adamant about people NOT shipping a woc and a white dude (he’s usually white because….yeah) “because it’s only been one episode” or “she don’t need no man” and on and on when these SAME people are guilty of doing the SAME thing when it comes to a ship that DOESN’T involve a woman of color/Black woman.

      I feel like that’s image of black women a lot of people are used to watching thanks to shows like TVD, to the point where they’ve grown comfortable with it and now expect it.

      Pfft, they were comfortable with it way before TVD, lbr. They’re used to (most times without realizing it) Black female characters only mattering when the white female lead needs a sounding board.

      Anyway sorry about this mini rant. lolz.

      It’s no problem!

      I didn’t predict Andy being in league with the Horseman either.

      Her name’s Katrina, and I REALLY hope she’s not bad. Otherwise Ichabod and Abbie are going to be left flopping in the wind, not to mention the “My wife was actually evil” angst that Ichabod would get out of it. Katrina wasn’t bad in the movies, and I’m guessing she wasn’t in the books either. I’m guessing she’s going to be the Giles to Ichabod/Abbie’s Buffy, the Leo to their Charmed Ones (I don’t know if you ever watched Charmed, lol). Just someone who can put what Ichabod and Abbie read in the Bible into perspective.

      Right now he seems suspicious too, but I’m thinking that’s probably just a red herring?

      I think it’s a red herring, too. I can’t see them having two people in the police station be bad this soon.

      I hope it does well, too!

      • Oh I just want to add that I love how desirable Abbie is. She’s got an ex, a stalker Andy and some random dude talking about “our fates are entwined” lol It’s so refreshing. ;D
        I’ve fallen hard for this show (God help me.) 😀

    • okay the real review.
      I was thinking about you when they started talking about witches.
      Oh I’m nervous … the excitement. D=
      hehe bad posture.
      you read spoilers … girl. >_>
      Maybe Ichabod was religious?
      oh witches …
      he’s thirsty hehehehe.
      she’s a leftenant or something.
      I caught that abolitionist scene and rme just like Abbie. loved it. I think leftenant is an actual thing. never mind I don’t know things. smh
      Where is sleepy hollow?
      it’s the fall, long nights? that bird looked like a hawk or a falcon or something.
      Ichabod was all about we are MEANT FOR EACH OTHER SOULMATE DARK WOMAN later on, talking about thirst.
      They didn’t have prints in the 18th century. But I feel like they should have given him a shower and taken his clothes as evidence.
      it looks like she might die on this show unless she’s cursed with immortality, because of the previews.
      I think Abbie is repressing … and this might trigger her …
      is Corban the old sheriff? Yes.
      Abbie and Lacie have perf beautiful hurt faces.
      Familiar da bird
      Andy lol He’s on that stuff. That’s why he drew his weapon on Ichabod. Andy gone be back ….
      *SIGH*
      lol the way you screamed ABBIE. omg i need that for a text message sound.
      I didn’t like the horsemen had a shotgun and was walking around like the terminator.
      This relationship between the two leads reminds me of Scully and Mulder. He was the believer and she was the skeptic.
      LOL WHITE DEVIL! I love it!
      I wouldn’t be looking into that mirror. nope nope nope. That scene looks like The Ring.
      I remember a creepy cartoon about the headless horsemen.
      Jennifer and Abbie have a Jo/Lacie thing going on.
      LOOK AT YOU WRITING FANFIC ALREADY! I’M READY FOR IT ALTA. rated NC-17 \o/

      • I’m only sticking to the synopsis wrt spoilers so far :).

        Sleepy Hollow’s in New York.

        Jennifer/Abbie do have a Lacey/Jo thing going, but I feel like theirs is more severe. Jo got bent out of shape because Lacey told someone not to invite her to a party. Jennifer’s being institutionalized -__-.

        >

Flail or vent

