Scandal 2.17: Snake in the Garden

Scandal 2.17

In this episode, Olivia takes Hollis Doyle on as her client when his daughter is “kidnapped.” She continues to struggle to move on as Fitz remains broken and Jake tries to win her affections. Mellie and Cyrus are at odds while Huck and Quinn are bonding over their mutual disregard for conventional hobbies and other people’s privacy. David is irrelevant but Shonda makes sure to give us yet another reason to be suspicious of Jake.

Quotes from the Podcast:

“You know, Mellie, I wouldn’t be surprised, especially with the fact that she doesn’t seem to have personal ambitions of her own, They’re all tied up with Fitz. I wouldn’t be surprised if she even got as hard and as manipulative as she has because she needed to. Because there was no other way for her to survive in [Fitz’s] world.” – Sabrina

“I loved [Olivia’s] anger at Maybelle because it reminded me that she gets emotionally involved with some of her clients. Like their issue becomes hers and that’s been over the top lately but in this case she was worried about Maybelle. You know, she felt like Maybelle’s life hung in her hands because she accepted the case. And it turns out the girl was lying because she wants money and has a bad relationship with her parents. She didn’t just take up Liv’s time and resources. She took up Liv’s emotional energy.” – Alta

“…but why’s she okay with stalking? I don’t get that. She hasn’t done anything serious where I can say, ‘oh, okay, Quinn has changed in this way so because of that, she fits a little more into Huck’s world. She sees his point-of-view a little bit better.’ That didn’t happen. So, I feel like she’s just doing stuff but it’s not steeped in her character.” – Alta

“There’s a lot of things that they keep telling us that they haven’t shown us. We’re just supposed to take their word for it. Like Liv talking about moving on. Fitz talking about being ruined. You know, how is he ruined? Show me. Because I haven’t seen it yet.” – Sabrina

14 thoughts on “Scandal 2.17: Snake in the Garden

  1. I liked this podcast. It confuses me how Cyrus and Olivia are frenemies too.
    I don’t like how they have to screw Olivia’s love interest that are not Fitz. Their relationship is unhealthy and the show needs to stop making it look like Fitz is her only option. He’s not.
    This episode made me feel like David might become an associate, because he wasn’t doing anything…again.
    You talked about Olivia’s family, but I feel like that’s not just it. We don’t know that much about Olivia, period. We know her through Fitz, but we have yet to know why she chose to do this job, how did Cyrus became her mentor, where did she go to school, etc.
    We don’t know much about Olivia in general I think.
    I don’t get the stalking thing either. I hope it’ll make more sense later on.

    • Thanks!

      This episode made me feel like David might become an associate, because he wasn’t doing anything…again.

      I didn’t think about this. Hmm, I wonder. I’ll wait and see.

      The thing about not knowing Olivia’s family and all that stuff is that that was fine back in season 1. Like, I didn’t even think about it because it’s not like they were doing more with everyone else, you know? But now we know Quinn’s dad and Fitz’s dad. And fine, Quinn’s was built into her story, but I don’t get the Fitz part. Why did we meet his father and learn what it was like for him to grow up with Big Jerry before we learned about Olivia’s background pre-Washington? Was she dropped off by a stork and her first words were “It’s handled?” -___-.

      You’re right that we don’t know much about Olivia. She doesn’t have many friends now, but has that always been the case? If yes, why? If no, what happened to her friends?

      • I had the same questions: how come we know more on how Fitz became the man he is today than how Olivia became who she is. “dropped off by a stork and her first words were “It’s handled?” lol. I’m starting to wonder…
        I don’t necessarily want to see both her parents, but I’d like to see a father or mother at least. I’m even fine with a sibling or cousin at this point. We don’t know shit about Olivia, and people noticed that, and said they think the writers are handling it and they plan to do this later on. I don’t trust them. It’s season 2. When is it gonna be?
        And it wouldn’t be a problem for me if Olivia was as cold-blooded as she’s pretending to be and wasn’t really involved with anybody, but there’s just too much of her development that happens through her relationship with Fitz, and I’m not comfortable with that. How did we find out her Spock exterior was just a facade? She was crying because of Fitz. How did she cross her moral boundaries for the first time? To get Fitz elected. Etc. A lot of her character is about Fitz. It’s a problem to me.

        I’m gonna bring up Charmed again. As you pointed out on Tumblr, Leo/Piper is an important relationship in the series. What they feel for each other is passionate, stable, strong, but I can still say what makes Piper Piper outside of her relationship with Leo. Same with Leo.
        It’s good to have this popular pairing in your show, but these characters needs to be something outside of that. They need to be defined by other things, emotionally and intellectually.

        Anyways, heads up for next season. I have a lot of issues with scandal rn, but it’s still a good show imo.

        • They need to be defined by other things, emotionally and intellectually.

          Especially when they’re the lead. Like, Fitz and Olivia aren’t co-leads, unless I have it wrong. Fitz is her love interest, but Olivia tops him.

          • Didn’t they say “All roads lead to Fitz”? Well, that’s how it seems to me very often on the show. There is much focus on how Fitz screws up, is heartbroken, screws up again, has a bad relationship with his wife, etc. I couldn’t care less but since they shove it down my throat, I can’t ignore how his emotions get a lot of emphasis.
            When are we gonna see the invisible kids btw? Are they not shown to make us feel more sympathy for this dude? Because it’s not working for me. I know they are very much real.

            • Didn’t they say “All roads lead to Fitz”?

              Yes -__-. And he wasn’t even in the episode. He was absent, but it’s like they needed a way to remind us that he’s very important.

              I wonder if Fitz (suddenly) wanting to spend time with them is hinting that we’re going to meet them soon.

      • Well, I didn’t know what Treegate was and now that I do…I get it. This scene is one of those which explains well by itself why I could never ship Olitz. I was wincing through the whole scene.
        My favorite Olitz scenes are the one where Fitz shows his true colors, like the one post-Defiance revelation. (“Screwing your mistress is one thing, but marrying her?”)
        People say he was upset and didn’t mean it, but I think considering he just killed a dying woman to preserve his presidency, it gives a whole new dimension to this line.
        Scratch the whole drama around the line, it is kinda true. I don’t think it was worse than other things he told her. What he told her after the closet sex was awful, but not that.

        • Screwing your mistress is one thing, but marrying her?

          I don’t know what happened to him telling Liv to never refer to herself as a mistress. Am I supposed to think that means that only he’s allowed to call her a mistress? Smh.

          • I don’t know if that’s what that was. He said that to Liv because he always put her on this pedestal of righteousness. In his mind, their situation is this ‘once in a lifetime’ kind of love. In his mind, they were star-crossed lovers. He sees Liv as this perfect woman he can never completely have.
            When he found out she was not as perfect as he thought…suddenly, she became less than than that in his eyes, which brings him back to say things as they are.
            I don’t think calling someone your mistress is an insult. It’s a fact. But Olitz (and the shippers) are on this little cloud of “what we could be”, and, in this context, it comes off as an insult for him to call her that.
            This relationship needs more honesty. Call it what it is Fitz. You cheated on your wife with another woman, repetitively. That’s called having a mistress. That doesn’t make you a good or bad person in my book. It’s just a fact. You can try to pretend it’s more than that because it makes you feel better about yourself, but that doesn’t change the facts.
            He needs to stop thinking he and Olivia are so special.

            This is why one of my top 5 Scandal episodes is 2×02. The Mellie/Olivia scenes, I liked. I miss this dynamic.

            • I don’t think calling someone your mistress is an insult. It’s a fact.

              But it can be used as an insult. Not just in real life, but we’ve seen on the show that Liv takes it as an insult.

              It’s been too long since we had a Mellie/Liv scene.

  2. “You had me followed. This isn’t love.” From the promo, I have hope that Olivia starts handling her toxic relationship with Fitz as a serious issue and is willing to take actions to make him stay away from her, at least for a while (because unfortunately, it will probably be endgame anyways). I want her to do something drastic to cut ties with him and keep him from doing stuff like that.
    I want her to admit that what they have is not just something that “isn’t right”, but also something that hurts her on a daily basis, and is unhealthy and only brings out the worst in Fitz. Fitz makes people around him suffer and makes bad political decisions, with sometimes people’s lives on the line, when Olivia does something he doesn’t like. He has the most erratic, lunatic behaviour out of every character in the show. This is who he is.

    I really want her to move on, and I hope what happened in last ep will help in that direction, but I’m not getting my hopes up.
    I hope Jake gets to explain himself, not because I ship them, but because Olivia needs to understand that it was Fitz’s initiative, his call, and Jake was mostly an executor. I don’t know how to feel about Jake, because even if he really liked her, he still stalked her for personal reasons too, used information from the stalking to get in her pants. He watched her and slept with her. This reads stalker in my book. He took advantage of the surveillance, which is why I can’t ship them.

    I was so grossed by the hospital scene. When Fitz bent towards her while she was on the bed, I shuddered. How dare he? I’m trying to not hate him. The best I can manage is indifference at this point, but at that specific moment…I was about to scream.

    At the same time I feel like she’s being careless, being Olivia Pope and all. We’re talking about the same Olivia Pope that doesn’t have a decent security system in her house while she’s in possession of classified state secrets. I’m amazed that people can just come and go into her appartment and she doesn’t have a single weapon or anything.
    There are people that want her dead. Or incapacitated. She knows that. She should make sure she can defend herself one way or another. She should have a stungun on herself at all times, know some self-dense moves, etc. You do not lie in bed with sharks and expect them to never bite you. I just don’t understand how she thinks that her fast speeches and cold glares will get her out of any situation. You should know better Olivia.

    • I want her to do something drastic to cut ties with him and keep him from doing stuff like that.

      I’ll believe it when I see it. Every single time, Fitz has been the one to cut ties, well except for that one time where she left him a note after she quit her job. I remember in this season when she said she was done, then the next episode he said they were done and she started to cry as if she never said they were done. I still don’t know why he ended it after she ended it.

      I hope Jake gets to explain himself, not because I ship them, but because Olivia needs to understand that it was Fitz’s initiative, his call, and Jake was mostly an executor

      I really really hope Olivia gives an adequate reaction to learning that Fitz is the one who made him watch her. I mean Jake couldn’t say no, especially since he believed Olivia was a threat to the country.

      At the same time I feel like she’s being careless, being Olivia Pope and all. We’re talking about the same Olivia Pope that doesn’t have a decent security system in her house while she’s in possession of classified state secrets. I’m amazed that people can just come and go into her appartment and she doesn’t have a single weapon or anything.

      There are people that want her dead. Or incapacitated. She knows that. She should make sure she can defend herself one way or another. She should have a stungun on herself at all times, know some self-dense moves, etc. You do not lie in bed with sharks and expect them to never bite you. I just don’t understand how she thinks that her fast speeches and cold glares will get her out of any situation. You should know better Olivia.

      Sabrina and I talked about it on the 2.18 podcast. Her reaction to Jake was so different from every other dangerous situation she’s been in and it made no sense for her character or for the writing. There’s no reason for it.

Flail or vent

