Episode 101: TVD’s Because the Night

Episode 101

For the first time ever, an abridged TVD review focused solely on Bonnie’s scenes. This won’t be a pretty listening experience seeing as I was disappointed from beginning to end. In short, “Why did Bonnie’s scenes happen the way they did?” And is the amnesia a ploy to get Bonnie to switch teams on herself?

Quotes of the Podcast: “Who can stop Bonnie? Who can stop the person who makes everything happen? Only Bonnie can stop Bonnie. And the thing is, I’m guessing that the writers don’t actually plan on dropping the veil and having all these characters back. They don’t plan to. So how the heck are they gonna keep the veil from dropping if Bonnie, the one who makes everything happen, thinks it’s doable, plans to do it, because everyone will just come back? […] Only Bonnie can stop the veil from dropping, so take away her memory.”

“Her actions and the stuff she wants to do are unacceptable to me as a viewer and as a fan of this character if she only ‘cares’ about Jeremy. That’s less than what she felt for Sheila! Caring? She only ‘cares’ about Jeremy? […] I mean if you just ‘care’ for someone who just died then that sounds like a death that you can get over. What the hell is triggering her to make her want to bring down a freaking veil if she only ‘cares’ about Jeremy? That shit is unacceptable. And it’s so like Julie Plec.”

“She didn’t fail to protect Jeremy. Because let me tell you what that dialogue says, what that dialogue does: […] This line positions Bonnie as Jeremy’s protector, and that’s it. […] Them writing that line ignores that Bonnie had been  going through something. She was in the vulnerable position, and Jeremy was looking out for her. This line dehumanizes Bonnie for me. […] It erases Bonnie’s vulnerability and puts her back in the role of protector, savior, the one who’s always supposed to be on top of it, the one who doesn’t have any weaknesses, the one who’s not allowed a break. [Jeremy] prioritized her experience, the hallucination that she just had, she was freaking emotional; he prioritized her and told her to take a load off and that he would work to get them out of here. That line erases Bonnie’s experience as a human being and puts her in the position of soldier and guard, someone who is infallible, who has no weaknesses.”

24 thoughts on “Episode 101: TVD’s Because the Night

  1. As promised, here is the information about the shows I plan to check out.

    First is Sleepy Hollow: From the A-list writer-executive producer team of Alex Kurtzman and Bob Orci (Star Trek). Logline: “A modern-day supernatural thriller based on the legend of Sleepy Hollow.” So, a tad vague on the details. Len Wiseman (Live Free or Die Hard) will direct and executive produce. Heather Kadin is an executive producer and Phil Iscove is a writer and producer.

    Link

    The second show in that link doesn’t seem like it’ll have lasting power :/. It sounds like a movie, not a weekly series.

    Who’s in Sleepy Hollow?

    The second show is called Gothica:

    Gothica is a new television series pitched as a modern-day Gothic soap that weaves together the mythologies of Dracula, Jekyll and Hyde, Frankenstein and Dorian Gray, among others. Matt Lopez is writing the pilot, which is being produced by ABC Studios and the Mark Gordon Company.

    That link also tells us who’ll be in it. This one talks about Tracie Thoms’ role.

    I don’t know what the chances are that they’ll both end up being great. I think Gothica has more story opportunities than Sleepy Hollow but we’ll see when the promos start coming out. I’m looking forward to that.

  2. There is a two weeks hiatus after episode 18, 4×19 airs on April 18th. We should get the synopsis for episode 19 this week because we always get them three weeks in advance.

      • I don’t even watch this show and … *siiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiigh*
        ps. hey Kathrin

        • Hey Cana! *wave*

          Also wanted to tell you for some time that I´m watching TWD now aswell. My co-mod on fanforum got me into that show and I remembered that you mentioned that show here.

            • Yup, though there is some problematic stuff there aswell.
              I wanted to give up after the first three episodes of season 1 I think but I pulled through and I think season 3 might be the best. Also liked the latter half of season 2.

              Are you looking forward to the finale? Do you think they are finally going to be able to take out the Governor?

              • of course, problematic stuff everywhere, but at least the writing’s better. I mean I can watch SPN and be less pissed off or more satisfyingly pissed off then say watching Heroes or TVD.

                *siiiiiiiigh* the gov’nah. You saw what happened. :\

  3. are you saying you wanted to hear Bonnie say she loved him? Because she said that already … does anyone love Bonnie?

    Elijah will not kill Katherine because Elena said so … stop. you’re watching a jp show …

    all these stories you come up with frustrate the hell outta me because it will never happen. Shit will happen, but not this. Shit outta jp’s butt. :\

    I figured you would hate the fade to suede on Bonnie’ reaction.

    You think they’re gonna let Kol slip through?

    This is why I didn’t like Shane being about too hypnotize Bonnie.

    Should have been 12 vampires … Humans/hybrids/vampires yeah? i guess.

    you give JP WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too much credit.

    also why does Stefan get to tell her Jeremy’s dead?

    Shane is dead? lol

    Bonnie’s 18? when did that happen?

    “LOOOOVED” lol

    I’m glad I don’t have a ship on this show.

    Because we have to hurry up and get through these (bonnie/silas) scenes to get back to delena and klaroline and stuff. you know, entertaining shit

    No only are they guys, but they are white guys. norm norm norm.

    Gurl you know this woman was coming to MF to be sacrificed on the alter of MF. She came to die in the woods. throw her on the pile of dead witches that came before.

    Bonnie will be the dark mark in the Bennett line.

    Maybe SIlas is a fanboy of Quetsya*

    Shhhhh Alta shhhhhhhhh! there there *pats*

    You forgot the name of an episode of charmed? O_O

    I saw that scene and it was gross when Bonnie was ground begging and having, what, her power being ripped from her.

    “That’s the power of the DICK!” *ded*

    Twitter!Gate \o/

    I haven’t seen twisted, but I’ve seen .gif sets.

    Don’t jinks it. smh.

    I enjoyed it Alta. *waves*

    • are you saying you wanted to hear Bonnie say she loved him? Because she said that already … does anyone love Bonnie?

      She said that two seasons ago, before she made out with her step-brother. Now she’s killing people to bring him back. I’d like a refresher. I think I would’ve accepted it if the “caring” had come out of Bonnie’s mouth. At least then she could’ve stuttered with it or something. Instead it came out of Silas’ mouth. What does Silas know about what Bonnie feels for Jeremy? He just wants the veil dropped.

      does anyone love Bonnie?

      Jeremy does :D. I mean Steven’s said more than once since the cheating stupidity that that’s how he plays it. Whatever Jeremy feels for Bonnie, it’s more than platonic. “I feel that way about you” “It doesn’t bother me that you’re checking me out” “I’m glad we’re here together,” etc.

      Elijah will not kill Katherine because Elena said so … stop. you’re watching a jp show …

      Lol.

      I figured you would hate the fade to suede on Bonnie’ reaction.

      Ugh.

      You think they’re gonna let Kol slip through?

      What do you mean? Like bring him back to life? I really hope he stays dead.

      Yep, Shane is dead.

      Bonnie’s 18? when did that happen?

      Offscreen, of course.

      Gurl you know this woman was coming to MF to be sacrificed on the alter of MF. She came to die in the woods. throw her on the pile of dead witches that came before.

      Ugh.

      Bonnie will be the dark mark in the Bennett line.

      Wouldn’t surprise me.

      You forgot the name of an episode of charmed? O_O

      I remembered it while I was editing. Lol. It’s called Brain Drain.

      I enjoyed it Alta. *waves*

      Yay!

      • alta, why did you bring up jamie? -_________-
        Jeremy did … but he never said, unless I missed that episode. Awww well Bless Steven. That’s why he got fired. *ded*

        I bet if Steven had to choose now between Caroline and Bonnie, he’d pic Bonnie and I bet if Michael T had to choose between Caroline and Bonnie, he’d pic Bonnie.

        • I just wanted to give you some perspective, lmao.

          Oh yeah, I know Jeremy never said it, and I’ll always hate the writers for that. But I saw it starting with their last scene in The Last Dance and then again this season. Ugh.

          Awww well Bless Steven. That’s why he got fired. *ded*

          Lol! JP was like, “So you’re really not going to stop wanting to be with the Black character, huh? Okay.” Bet if Steven had started singing April’s praises, she would’ve written scenes to tease the possibility of that ship even if she never went through with it -__-.

          I bet if Steven had to choose now between Caroline and Bonnie, he’d pic Bonnie and I bet if Michael T had to choose between Caroline and Bonnie, he’d pic Bonnie.

          Yep, lol. Steven got bitten by the Bonnie bug after like their first scene. And Poor MT never so much as got a scene between Tyler and Bonnie when he was always on the Bon train.

        • Didn’t Paul Wesley do an interview lately where he said that “anything that gets Stefan away from pining over Elena” is good? And apparently Candice Accola doesn’t like Klaroline?

          I’m not that fussed about ships per se, but when it comes to actual abusive relationships like Klaroline and Delena (and now Stelena) on my screen being sold as romantic I just want to give Plec a good smack upside the head. Sigh. It goes beyond just bad writing and is really sickening and offensive.

          LOL random: I suddenly remembered Michael Trevino doesn’t like the shipping name “Forwood,” he says in this interview he prefers “Cyler”

          TBH they both sound ugly to me but then I don’t like smooshed-up shipping names anyway.

          • Didn’t Paul Wesley do an interview lately where he said that “anything that gets Stefan away from pining over Elena” is good?

            That kind of sounds like every PW interview since the Ripper storyline tanked in the second half of season 3, lmao.

            The ship name for Matt and Rebekah is Mabekah. :/.

  4. I just listened to the podcast. I could relate because I only watched a couple of scenes too, Bonnie’s scenes + Silas stabbing Klaus and Rebekah snapping Damon’s neck. The rest seems irrelevant and I only know from spoilers, I didn’t want to suffer the Dexi sex, the rooftoop Delena and the night club scenes.
    What you said about Elena regarding the cure…I don’t think your theory towards avenging Jeremy’s death could be true. It seems like, to me, the writers only gives her “emotions” when they need her to upset people, but not for the unforgettable stuff that should matter. Tbh, I think they’re over his death…and let’s not talk about JP : it’s obvious she dislikes him (too pro-Bonnie and anti- Damon). I don’t think this is why she’s looking for it. It seems like for me, from reading the script of the ep, that she wants it because Stefan and Damon want to make her human, and she doesn’t want that. And we all know they have a record of doing things against her will, so, if I were her and I wanted to stay a vampire, I’d probably try to find the cure and shove it down my sworn enemy’s throat too. I don’t know who Elena’s worst enemy is atm, but she definitely should make sure that Klaus or the Sals don’t force the cure down her throat. They could and they would.
    “Why are we going through this for the third time?” I completely agree about this part. They don’t know how to deal with these character’s griefs, especially Bonnie’s. Besides, I don’t understand why she had to learn it a second time from Stefan. She’s not friends with Stefan. They need to stop trying to convince us that he cares about her and they have some kind of friendship, because it’s not true. Bonnie is expandable to Stefan. Bonnie doesn’t hang out with Stefan. Stefan hangs out with Caroline. Talking about her, she should have been the one to say that to Bonnie. Caroline should not have been with Klaus, she should have been with the friend she saved the life of. She doesn’t have to deal with Klaus’ crap.
    I agree with everything you said about Bonnie. Concerning the fandom’s part, I can see when the writers are screwing up a character I like for the sake of plot/shipping, so I don’t really blame the OOC on the characters’ part. I know they have no idea what the hell they are doing. That doesn’t make the crap they pull acceptable, indeed. I get why the fans are still defending them and trying to justify their actions. They’re basically doing the writers’ job of trying to make sense of the portrayal of the characters they like.
    What’s sad about Bonnie is that she really trusts anybody lately…that is not Bonnie Bennett, the same Bonnie that considered turning on her own friend because she killed someone. Bonnie’s not that person who puts her choices inside somebody else’s hands. It’s not her.
    The JP’s part is on point. It’s just like her to make a character move planes of existence for the sake of true love, even when it’s ooc. Blaming it all on Bonnie sounds like her handiwork as well. Of course, she will focus on Bonnie’s failure as an ethnic magician to look after one of the white characters. Ever since he found out he’s a hunter, Bonnie’s been the crutch Jeremy’s been leaning on and she’s been a supporting character in his story. It was not an equal relationship. From the beginning, it’s been said she was his way to cope with the hunter thing. Bonnie…always a device, never a person. I just want to say one thing about Beremy…I know we get what we can get from the show concerning Bonnie, but this Beremy thing was never right for me. They never even talked about their issues. It’s all forgotten and forgiven. This is why I ship Bonnie/getting her own spin off (not gonna happen) or Bonnie/getting the crap out of Mystic Falls, not Bamon, not Beremy, no nothing. I shudder at the thought of Bamon happening…because I know they will do it one day, and it will be about Bonnie thinking she’s a rebound for Elena, instead of Damon getting character development, etc. Not here for this.
    It’s true…Qetsiyah is basically God at this point, or Hades, or Lucifer maybe. Creating the veil is basically saying she created the underworld or hell. That seems like god handiwork to me. A witch is supposed to be a catalyst of natural energies. That’s why I never thought expression was “dark magic”, because death is part of the cycle of life, which is part of nature, and it seems to me this is what the witches channel to do magic. This is why I don’t understand why they can’t just use the energy left behind by regular deaths…why 12 people? Because 12 is a symbolic number? I don’t know.
    Creating the underworld cannot be a witch’s doing, even if the Bennetts are the most hyper-competent witches in the history of witches (*sighs*). They are not goddesses…At least, they shouldn’t be. Where are the boundaries? Where is the limit?

    I’m definitely not watching next ep, or the rest of the season. It is tiring to root for these people. I’m out of reasons why I should care. I can’t with Damon and Stefan’s crap. Klaus is annoying. Caroline is useless. Bonnie is ooc. This is all very bad. I don’t even want to give it a though, or write metas.

    I cheched Twisted. I watched the pilot. Loved it too. But I’m not getting my hopes up. I really hope – crossing my fingers – they’ll properly develop the friendships before getting into the romance. Since it’s a teen show, I fear what they might do with the friendships.
    I’m a Asoiaf fan, but I don’t see myself watching GoT until the season it’s over. I want to do a book/show comparison.
    I’m currently in many fandoms : Elementary, Spartacus, Lost Girl, True Blood, Once upon a time, Doctor who, Suits, Scandal, Downtown abbey, The Borgias (both US and German versions), Nikita, Teen wolf, Shameless, Luther…Let’s not, okay? Besides I’m a fantasy nerd and anime geek lol.
    I’m not watching PLL though…too…nope, not my thing.

    I think you might like Lost Girl. It’s supernatural. The lead is a bisexual woman. Her name is Bo, she is a succubus. I love how the show doesn’t put labels on character’s sexualities. The friendship between Bo and her human sidekick feel genuine. You see the relationships develop. The show is pretty female-empowering, not 100%, but mostly.
    The show has its flaws, but overall it’s entertaining and makes up for what it does wrong…except for Hale’s treatment (only male POC in the show).
    The show deals with fae. The lead is a fae. Fae include all supernatural species from succubus, werewolves, amazons to sirens, vampires, kitsune.
    I like it. I think it’s alright. You should definitely give it a try. Btw, it’s canadian lol.

    • I don’t know who Elena’s worst enemy is atm

      Lol. It’s weird to realize that she’s doing all of this but they haven’t stated a clear reason why.

      They need to stop trying to convince us that he cares about her and they have some kind of friendship, because it’s not true. Bonnie is expandable to Stefan.

      Yes! We started the season with, “What are you really doing here, Stefan? You’re not the drop by kind of guy” to Stefan having the privilege of telling Bonnie about the death of someone she loves really cares about and there was absolutely no growth in between. It’s just something that is happening.

      Concerning the fandom’s part, I can see when the writers are screwing up a character I like for the sake of plot/shipping, so I don’t really blame the OOC on the characters’ part.

      I do and I don’t. A good example is Jeremy cheating on Bonnie. I hold him accountable because it happened and it hurt Bonnie and there was fallout etc, but at the same time I was open to coming back to the ship because Jeremy’s cheating was so ooc and clashed with where he was by the end of season 2.

      What’s sad about Bonnie is that she really trusts anybody lately…that is not Bonnie Bennett, the same Bonnie that considered turning on her own friend because she killed someone. Bonnie’s not that person who puts her choices inside somebody else’s hands. It’s not her.

      I know! It’s so frustrating and quite sad. It’s like she’s lost the ability to stand on her own. She was stronger as a character at the beginning of the series, though I suppose that’s true for all of them. But where Bonnie is right now doesn’t feel like it’s where she should be. It’s like I asked in an earlier podcast: how come she was less suspicious of Shane when he was going, “Do you practice?” then she was at the Martins when Jonas simply asked, “Is your family from Salem?” I don’t get it.

      Of course, she will focus on Bonnie’s failure as an ethnic magician to look after one of the white characters.

      Ugh. Like, I liked it when they mentioned her failing in episode 11 (I think it was), but it didn’t work for me in this episode because it was the writers once again doing their best to ignore Bonnie’s vulnerability. Look at how long it took them to show us Bonnie feeling sad in her own house.

      You know I ship Beremy, so I don’t think I need to reply to what you said since you know where I stand and heard me on the podcast, lol. But I want to mention this:

      Ever since he found out he’s a hunter, Bonnie’s been the crutch Jeremy’s been leaning on and she’s been a supporting character in his story.

      I don’t see how that happened. And even while I didn’t see that I also don’t think one character being a supporting character in someone else’s story is inherently a bad thing. For me it’s bad when that’s all they are (especially if they’re female characters), when they don’t have a separate story of their own. I think that was the problem with Forwood (only I feel that Tyler’s the one who took the hit). But with Bonnie and Jeremy and this hunter thing, Jeremy’s feelings for Bonnie were the answer to a problem he had but after that one episode they both literally occupied separate places. He stayed at the lake house and trained and was chased by vampires, etc, while she dealt with her dad butting into her life and the revelation about Shane, etc.

      Since it’s a teen show, I fear what they might do with the friendships.

      I have hope because of PLL. They’re excellent about the friendships on that show. The four liars make Bonnie/Caroline/Elena look like strangers, not friends.

      I didn’t read the books, but I hope the third season of GoT is better than the second. The second season lagged with a lot of the stories.

      I’ve heard about Lost Girl, and someone else told me I’d like it, too. I have so many shows on my To Watch list. Lol.

Flail or vent

