Scandal 2:09: I slept on Becky, y’all*

Well that’s not entirely true. I was looking at her sideways when Huck was showing her his favorite past time (stalking an entire family), and her response was, “Let’s makeout!” I asked myself, “Why isn’t she freaked by this?” But between James trying to get himself killed by investigating the voting machines and Fitz getting shot, I fell asleep on Becky.

Huck got played, and his denial was sad to watch. His Normal cracked and shattered and revealed what stood behind it: his old life. Looks like a background check on Becky would’ve come in handy after all.

What was gut-wrenching was that family’s death. Oh my God. Becky killed every.single.one because Huck tried to trick her. It seems the dad died while he was sleeping, but what got me was the mom. She died shielding her daughter. The little girl died, barricaded between her mom and the counter. 😦

They did not know what was coming. Becky most likely killed them one at a time, which means they had to watch as their loved ones died…..for no reason at all. Considering the mess in the house, I’m pretty sure she did the job in person.

I was also sad for Huck. If that isn’t a clear example of, “Everything you touch dies,” then I don’t know what is.

Becky played to his, “I’m not good enough. I’m not real,” fears by telling him he’s just like her; he’s not better than her; he’ll never have what the family has; he’s shot three world leaders, etc. And her words got through to Huck. It wasn’t hard, considering he’s been teetering since he tortured the other spy last season.

“Do I tell you who to love? No. So Don’t tell me.”

I’m so happy Huck got a sex scene!!!!!

I think there’s something to the fact that even though he agreed to run away with Becky, he was still trying to have a Normal. He was trying to create a, “We’re assassins, killers, but we have a sincere relationship with each other, at least.” I believe that’s why he asked Becky for her real name. He was shut down when she told him that it doesn’t matter.

President Sally Langston

Sally was played for a fool after Fitz won the election, and now she has the power to go after all the people who stood before her with wide-eyes and upturned hands when she confronted them about screwing her over. Her first order of business was to get Verna’s butt off the bench, and she tried to do so by threatening Verna with the latter’s worst nightmare. Damn, was it a good threat.

What Sally didn’t count on was that when backed into a corner, Verna’s claws come out, and boy did she scratch the crap out of Olivia’s face by giving Sally Huck’s name. Reminds me of what Mellie told Cyrus: one word about Defiance comes out, and she will look out for herself. These people will not let go of their spot on Mount Olympus. That includes Hollis, obviously and, I believe, Cyrus.

Olivia could’ve done a better job with her poker face. Verna says the person on the sketch looks a lot like Huck, and her response is “Huh.” Maybe planning Fitz’s funeral got her messed up.

I’m of the opinion that Olivia was easy on Sally in One for the Dog. She just let her into her office. Did she even side-eye her when she revealed what she did? I realize that business needed to be done, and you don’t walk around Washington cussing out the people who threw you under the bus. I mean look at Sally. Look at Mellie. But that’s for the next review.

James/Cyrus

I like that Cyrus’ automatic conclusion when he found out that James had lied to him about visiting his dad was that he was cheating on him. Looks like Cy realizes that the baby issue (plus his age and his job) could drive James away. It was endearing.

“He’s much younger than me, and very handsome, and a bit of a slut. Before he met me he was a bit of a slut, which I found very sexy.”

Cyrus did what any rich person with resources would do if they suspected their significant other of cheating. He stuck a PI on him. And so begins Cyrus and James’ little game.

Cyrus tried to buy James off with a baby, and just when it seemed like James was falling for it, we learned that he was simply playing along. I was so proud of him!

As for the miscellaneous observations:

  • Liv looked like she was going to throw up when she saw the gun that shot Fitz.
  • Olivia saying Fitz had nothing to do with how he got elected cracked me up. It just reminds me of how clueless and ineffective Fitz is as a standalone character.
  • Abby stuck three fingers into David’s mouth. WHERE THE HELL THEY DO THAT AT?! No really, where? I have never seen that on any television show, nor have I ever read it in any book. It was not sexy. Because it’s Abby/David. I’ve read about people sexily slipping one finger in, but Abby straight jammed three fingers into his mouth. Isn’t it great how her fingers didn’t clash against his teeth? TV magic. A Mark Wilding wrote this episode. Sir, where did you get this three finger thing from? How did you sell it to Shonda? Smh.
  • When Abby for up and David didn’t move, I thought she’d knocked him out. I thought maybe the sex was a ploy. But no.

This episode was a nice follow-up to Happy Birthday Mr. President. The tone of the show was still somber. The opening shot with the camera panning from room to room as the Associates slept while the  news developed in the background was beautiful.

On to One for the Dog!

*Episode Title: Blown Away

5 thoughts on “Scandal 2:09: I slept on Becky, y’all*

  1. I think Huck might have run away with Becky until she refused to give him her name. She made it obvious then that they could never have anything real or normal, and that’s really the only thing he wants.

    How easy Liv made it for Verna to know it was Huck hurt. Because it meant that she trusted her and didn’t think that she’d use that info against her. I don’t fault Verna for looking out for herself but I do think she had some gall to then show up at Liv’s in the next ep.

    Yeah, Cyrus’s fear of James cheating and that scene with Liv definitely made him more human. James is awesome for playing him but I wonder if he’s really thought this through. He’s hiding what he knows from Cyrus because it’s a possibility Cyrus was in on rigging the election but has he thought that okay once you go public with this, your husband goes to jail? All your dreams of a life with him and a baby are going to be gone.

    LOL the fingers were so unnecessary. Shonda why. I think Darby said it was her idea so we can’t blame Mark. But I don’t think it was supposed to be sexy at all. I think that was just part of her trying to get David to show her “who he really is” and hit her. And then the 30 second sex because she’s conflicted.

    I’m still waiting for you to finish this week’s episode smh.

    • I think Huck might have run away with Becky until she refused to give him her name. She made it obvious then that they could never have anything real or normal, and that’s really the only thing he wants.

      I think he still would’ve, because he went to tell Olivia goodbye. I think her not telling him her real name had a hand in him not running with her, but his going to see Liv to say bye showed me it wasn’t a deal breaker. I think it was a combination of his convo with Liv + Becky not telling him her real name that made him change his mind.

      How easy Liv made it for Verna to know it was Huck hurt. Because it meant that she trusted her and didn’t think that she’d use that info against her. I don’t fault Verna for looking out for herself but I do think she had some gall to then show up at Liv’s in the next ep.

      I don’t fault Verna either. Olivia not ruffling Verna up for ratting Huck out reminds me of the….Cyrus situation -____-.

      Does he really think Cyrus is involved? I haven’t seen him side-eye the guy yet. At the same time, if he doesn’t think Cyrus is involved, then who does he suspect? No doubt Fitz and Mellie, but who else?

      I think Darby said it was her idea so we can’t blame Mark.

      Darby, why? Smh.

      And then the 30 second sex because she’s conflicted.

      LOL!

      I am sorry for my slowness!!!! Lol. Just need to review the next ep and finish editing the TVD 4.09 podcast and I will be caught up with my Fandom responsibilities. *Wipes brow*

      • That’s true.

        It’s weird because even though she asks people to have faith in her when she needs them to act on her command, she doesn’t seem to ask for loyalty. Yes, she broke up David and Abby but she didn’t even destroy Abby or confront her for betraying her. She hasn’t done that with Cyrus or Verna now either. The only person she’s confronted so far was Fitz. I really wonder why that is. Maybe it’s one of her issues that need fixing; they all have ’em.

        But Verna, as much as she was looking out for herself, almost took Liv down with Huck. One of Sally’s workers mentioned how they let Liv slide on it and Liv’s her friend regardless, at her hospital side and everything.

        He has to suspect him. Why else wouldn’t he tell him? But either way, it’d affect the marriage. Cyrus will lose his job and, if nothing else, be implicated by association.

        Oh lol no. Darby said it was all Shonda’s idea so we can’t blame Mark.

        Hopefully you get done with all of that soon!

        • It’s weird because even though she asks people to have faith in her when she needs them to act on her command, she doesn’t seem to ask for loyalty. Yes, she broke up David and Abby but she didn’t even destroy Abby or confront her for betraying her. She hasn’t done that with Cyrus or Verna now either. The only person she’s confronted so far was Fitz. I really wonder why that is. Maybe it’s one of her issues that need fixing; they all have ‘em.

          This is true, and it really is pretty weird. It reminds of what she told Artie when she thought he was trying to rob her. “I don’t have many friends.”

          Yeah, she did almost take Liv down, so Liv not commenting on it (not even giving her a pass, she just didn’t comment on it) is weird and kind of frustrating. That’s pretty much two people she’s let walk over her.

          That’s true, it would/will affect the marriage regardless. So far, James isn’t acting like he has real connections to the thing he’s investigating. As if he’s just a journalist and isn’t married to the chief of staff who happens to be best friends with the president. Also, Cyrus called Fitz his best friend. Not.sure.I.see.it.

          Oh lol no. Darby said it was all Shonda’s idea so we can’t blame Mark.

          Ooooh, I thought you meant it was Darby’s idea. Smh @ Shonda.

          I have to, before Thursday!

Flail or vent

