Episode 89: TVD’s The Killer

Episode 89**

Co-hosts: Cana and Olu

Spoiler Chat: 12:28.844-45:55.531

In this episode, we bid goodbye to Connor and question the hunter mythology as well as the exact purpose of the map. For the first time this season, Stefan was enjoyable in all his lyin’, manipulatin’, secret-keepin’, sketch glory. Elena buries her first kill as Bonnie attempts to feel confident in herself, and we make a case for why Matt should’ve gotten the mark instead of Jeremy.

 Quotes from the Podcast:

On the tattoo driving the hunters to kill, “It takes the choice away from [Connor]; it makes him a victim. You know, it’s not really his fault just like it’s not going to be Jeremy’s fault. It’s the tattoo. It’s the tattoo; it’s the blood [for Stefan]; it’s the ring [for Alaric]; it’s all this stuff. It takes accountability out of the characters’ hands.”

“Why should we believe there is a cure? Why should we care that there’s a cure? We’re not gonna start watching The Human Diaries.”-Olu

On Elena, “Her ability to survive is not on the same level as her ability to handle herself.”-Cana

JP and Narducci Interview Post The Killer, sent by Kathrin.

JP Answers 13 Questions

Episode 9 Synopsis

Casting News

**Apologies about the sirens and Olu’s roommate!

16 thoughts on “Episode 89: TVD’s The Killer

      • I wrote that because the idea cracks me up. But, honestly, I wouldn’t care too much if it did happen. I have such low expectations. Hell, Shane might be the witch version of Klaus and become the first witch-vampire hybrid. Does it make any sense? No. Is the idea so insane and stupid that it might make you concerned for the writers’ health/well-being? Yes. Will it happen? Maybe. I am just happy that Stefan might become even crazier in his quest to “save” Elena. I will have one thing that makes some sort of sense on the show. This season also had Connor so it has two things going for it.

        • If Shane/Silas is a vampire anything, I will lose all interest in him. And then what will I have? Connor is dead ;____;.

          I am looking forward to a single Stefan. It’s the first time he’s been single since he appeared in season 1. The fact of it seems ridiculous to me, in light of all that’s happened, but there you have it.

            • They were having a fight, but they were clearly still about each other. This is the first time where they’re just done. Not having a spat because Stefan called her a blood bag or because Katherine “won” (in season 2). They’ve FINALLY decided that the circumstances are too much for them. And after all this time, those circumstances are summed up in, “Elena’s feelings for Damon are magnified.” K.

    • “Slave master, Stefan” OMG I’m dying!

      “Stefan you’re not going to order any take-out, you eat squirrels” lol

      Olu’s roommate is trolling. 🙂

      crickets. LOL

      Bonnie is the magical negro trope. not flipped.

      “duo with a spare” oop

      shouldn’t the cure be int Italy, because that’s where the hunters were?

      If I have no joy then everyone must join me in the NO JOY Room!

      “I don’t think (Shane) trying to take advantage of her” gurl.

      We will see. *files nails in the hater room* I don’t trust JP. nope.

      Alta and your eating moment.

      Really good editing on the podcast.

      The fact that Elena went back for a shovel boggles my mind. she should have been digging that grave with her bare hands.

      I love it when Stefan is gross. 😉

      You really want this hypnosis kink. Alta.

      Coming for it Alta. I have no more ships. I have nothing to lose! MAUAHAHAHAHAHA *sobs*

      • shouldn’t the cure be int Italy, because that’s where the hunters were?

        That makes too much sense.

        If I have no joy then everyone must join me in the NO JOY Room!

        -____-.

        “I don’t think (Shane) trying to take advantage of her” gurl.

        Nope.

        You really want this hypnosis kink. Alta.

        I do!

        Coming for it Alta. I have no more ships. I have nothing to lose! MAUAHAHAHAHAHA *sobs*

        -____-.

  1. So April is the new Jenna? Okay. For some reason it makes me laugh to think that JP is calling April the new Jenna – but is also quick to reassure us that Meredith isn’t the new Alaric because Alaric is irreplaceable or sth like that. (Btw, where’s Meredith anyway? She seems to have disappeared.)

    I’m not commenting much these days because I inadvertently quit the show, lol. I just wanted to skip ep 2 – and then I skipped everything. I’m still listening to your podcasts and reading recaps, though.

    It just occured to me … What if Elena’s line “You told me to kill him, Damon, and so I did.” is actually foreshadowing and the writers are now doing the DE sire-bond SL we were all speculating about during the summer hiatus? I thought that we wouldn’t get that SL since they didn’t do anything in the first couple of eps. But what if they only saved it for later? I don’t know. This line and the new spoiler about Elena’s intentions perhaps not being pure make me reconsider. Plus, this shows looooves to do SLs where the characters do ~shocking things but have no agency.

    • > For some reason it makes me laugh to think that JP is calling April the new Jenna – but is also quick to reassure us that Meredith isn’t the new Alaric because Alaric is irreplaceable or sth like that.

      I know, right? Ugh.

      Don’t say her name. That will bring her back!

      I thought maybe you were hanging out more on FanForum. I miss you around these parts!

      You could be right. If that’s what they’re doing, then this is the most subtle clue these writers have ever laid out.

      • Aww. Yes, I’m more active on FanForum, I’m still going there from time to time to rant about TVD despite not watching the show anymore. Although I should put an asterik to that – I caved in and watched the latest ep. Still side-eyeing myself for that tbh. I was freeeee (free like Klaus in the Andes where he saw that hummingbird, lol).

        So it looks like they are really doing this sire-bond SL. And are introducing it in the worst possible way, too, i.e. with consent questions concerning the DE sex. What is wrong with this show? I guess I’ll take the rest to the episode reaction thread. Another rant is brewing.

        • free like Klaus in the Andes where he saw that hummingbird, lol

          Oh my goodness. I legit paused the episode when he said “hummingbird” because I started to laugh.

          This show is sick.

Flail or vent

