Episode 86: TVD’s Memorial

Episode 86

Take a listen to Olu’s head!canon about Matt and Bonnie in this outtake! Olu’s Head!canon

Co-hosts: Cana and Olu

Spoiler Chat: 01:35.750-17:01.656

Connor is a big hit on the podcast! April, however, is not. And neither is Stefan in this episode that has Elena regurgitating blood all over the place and compelling someone “out of compassion,” Bonnie depressed, Caroline being the slowest vampire ever, and Tyler being the biggest fool ever. Matt is still hung up on being alive; we tackle the fresh mess that is the retcon about blood-drinking, and Cana won’t leave me alone about Japril. This podcast was brought to you by the word “Heightened.”

Quotes from the Podcast: “But the thing is, the way Stefan reacted, it was like Elena had sex with Damon. And I’m like, why is it intimate? What degree of intimacy is it? Is it like a kiss? Is it like a hug? […..] Why is this a rule for all vampires? Why do all vampires, I’m guessing, think this is intimate?”

“Elena basically tells her to forget that Connor is a danger. ‘Cause let’s be honest: if Connor stabbed me […], I’d wanna remember that any time I saw Connor, I’d wanna turn the other way. So she compels her to forget that Connor’s a danger. And then she essentially compels her trust, so April ignores the potential danger that is Elena and her life.”-Olu

“Stefan Salvatore, as he could exist on the show, is my favorite character, potentially one of my favorite characters ever. But [Stefan Salvatore], as he exists on this show, is a vile, reprehensible, completely disgusting, should’ve died three seasons ago,….Like, why does he exist? Why are we supposed to buy into this idea of him coming over to Bonnie’s house to ask for a favor, one of many, one after he has previously been a party to killing her mother, and was completely willing to kill her, actually brought up the suggestion that he is going to offer her comfort?”-Olu

Episode 4 Tidbit

Episode 5 Synopsis

24 thoughts on “Episode 86: TVD’s Memorial

  1. I know more spoilers have come out since the two that I have here, but we had already recorded the podcast. The newest spoilers will be featured on the next one!

  2. as of now Matt, Tyler, Caroline, Jeremy have had more episodes this season than Bonnie. O_O

    What is the name of the other caps review guy? What guy who actually likes Bonnie? I don’t like when price caps Bonnie’s spell scenes with “yammering”

    Japril TROLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLLOLOLOOOOO!

    Mathious?I thought i was short for Matthew

    Damon morns for a long time. He was on Kat’s gat for over 100 years. He’s still crying over alaric. smh

    I hope Shane is just a professor who knows about (the) magic of cunnilingus. Get it Bonnie.

    this stuff is like stolen from Supernatural and BtVS. (Watchers) Councils and Hunters (Slayers)

    Least favorite line: “Bonnie can I come in please?” *nods head* I screamed. When Matt mentioned Vicky and when Jeremy mentioned Anna. 😦

    LOL I love the sound of those bullets. OW! ded!

    • Is there a recaps review guy who actually likes Bonnie? Are you talking about the guy over at thewhitenoise?

      Mathias. Olu made it up. We talked once about the kids’ full names.

      Lmao @ Shane. I know, right?

  3. Listening to you guys. I have to apologize to Elena. I called Elena a bit of a slut on Tumblr. But that was because I was applying actual vampire mythology to these punk ass fake ass vampires. So I was thinking Elena drinking Damon’s blood as a very psychological and sexual thing. So I will say, sorry Elena. I have to explain when I say slut. Even though I don’t like Stefan, Elena has proclaimed to love him. And they are together (exclusive). And I saw the act of drinking Damon’s blood as her “Vampyrically” slutting around with her boyfriend’s brother, after I had to watch that dumb scene with them essentially promising forever to each other. Sorry Elena.

    I like when Damon was kinda like “WTF?! I don’t kill people with fire. I eat people. Did anyone get eaten? NO. Then get the fuck on.”

    I was kind of cool with the Bonnie/Stefan scene until it ended and I thought about it and then I was like “WTF was that.”

    About the memorial when it came to Bonnie I feel like she was very much in character. Because I feel like she depends on these people to give her some kind of self worth. So being around them even when doing dumb shit is what completes her. For me, even though I love Bonnie, I have began to view her as a battered spouse. Like I was watching Criminal Minds last night and this woman shot her husband in his sleep. Then she proceeded to clean up the blood. Not because of the evidence, but because she knew that her husband wouldn’t approve of blood being all over the room. She thought she was stupid and an embarrassment to her children, because her husband had nailed that in to her head. And I immediately thought of Bonnie. Bonnie’s behavior is patterned to ‘ask me anything.’, ‘I will do it’, then she succeeds, then she doesn’t receive thanks (because to them she was supposed to do it, therefor she did it), then they betray her, then she goes off to never-never-land, becomes ‘stronger, comes back rightfully angry, and then she is included in an event, then she forgets why she was mad, and the cycle restarts. They have Bonnie trained (or in Julie’s case, written) to be this battered wife. And I feel like it is a way to make up for the fact that she can not be compelled. So it is viewed (to me) like they have said “we can not compel Bonnie to forget our behavior, so we must train her to accept and/or enable our behavior”. So if Matt and Jeremy having stayed and participated in the memorial was OOC. However Bonnie being written to continue her character’s behavioral cycle for the sake of mild acceptance, isn’t.

    I want to jump Conner. And I feel like y’all Bonnie should take no part in bringing him down. In fact she should be silently rooting for him. Because like all battered wives, she intensely hates her husband (in this case our ‘heroes’) and she wants all of them to just die. But she can’t say that out loud. So she should build a shrine to Conner in her closet and pray to the witch god to watch over him and spell him with the ability to succeed.

    Question, is Bonnie and this Shane character supposed to go anywhere ship wise? Because I seen him and thought he was cute. And then I said to myself, “Maybe all Bonnie really needs is some ‘grown man’, to get her life right.” Like a lifetime movie, the wife never leaves until she meets a “MAN” whose about something. Obviously she can’t do it on her own, so maybe she might need something else.

    • About the memorial when it came to Bonnie I feel like she was very much in character. Because I feel like she depends on these people to give her some kind of self worth. So being around them even when doing dumb shit is what completes her.

      I agree with this. She needs help.

    • I like when Damon was kinda like “WTF?! I don’t kill people with fire. I eat people. Did anyone get eaten? NO. Then get the fuck on.”

      I know, right? He was the smartest one in those conversations.

      I was kind of cool with the Bonnie/Stefan scene until it ended and I thought about it and then I was like “WTF was that.”

      It was out of place. The thing about every single relationship on this show, except maybe Delena funny enough, is that they would be more interesting if there was an acknowledgment of wrongdoing. Instead everything, every issue, everything that could make the friendships interesting, gets swept under the rug. Bonnie/Stefan. Bonnie/Elena. Bonnie/Damon. When they interact, they’re like pod people. Their interactions in whatever episode does not take into account their previous interactions. And that’s what was wrong with that Stefan/Bonnie scene.

      So it is viewed (to me) like they have said “we can not compel Bonnie to forget our behavior, so we must train her to accept and/or enable our behavior”.

      That is such a good way to put it. And yeah, ever since I saw the trailer for episode 1, and her doing this for Elena whereas she didn’t even think to do it for her mother, I started viewing Bonnie as someone with really low self-esteem.

      So she should build a shrine to Conner in her closet and pray to the witch god to watch over him and spell him with the ability to succeed.

      I know, right? Lol. I think she should silently root for him too.

      Question, is Bonnie and this Shane character supposed to go anywhere ship wise?

      Nope. So far every single article that talks about him says he’s her mentor. They don’t even speculate that he might be her love interest.

      • That’s a shame about Shane.

        “Bonnie/Stefan. Bonnie/Elena. Bonnie/Damon. When they interact, they’re like pod people. Their interactions in whatever episode does not take into account their previous interactions.”

        If you think about it, Bonnie and Damon have a very consistent relationship. If I go by the show, Bonnie and Damon text each other, call each other, go on trips with each other, devise plans together, give each other advice, and all kinds of things. It doesn’t matter that they’ve tried to kill each other and Damon has been the cause of death for more than one person that she cares about. Damon is the most least complicated relationship that Bonnie has. And I don’t even ship them. I’m just making an observation.

        • Bonnie isn’t consistent in her interactions with Damon post-Abby’s death though. Like yes, Damon for sure is consistent. But Bonnie isn’t. She’s a pod person. I have no idea why she didn’t kill Damon or at least hurt him. Bonnie holds grudges. She doesn’t forget. So wtf is this? Why is she now joking with him?

    • 😦

      Thanks for bringing this. We questioned it, but we didn’t talk about the interview.

      Did the final scene with ghost Alaric sitting at his grave with a grieving Damon make her cry, too? “Yes. I cried when we pitched it. I cried when it was written. I cry every time I see it,” she says. “I miss Matt Davis so much, as does everybody on the show. This was our opportunity to just show him some of that love, and tell him he will never be forgotten and that he always has a home in Mystic Falls.”

      Of course she cried. Like hell, Paul Wesley misses Matt Davis. Lmao.

  4. So many people being absolutely ~appalled~ at Connor’s behavior with regard to April is funny as hell. It i also so very lame because it was the best part of the ep imo. I mean, they were in a place of worship, a virgin got sacrificed, the blood of the sacrifice dripped into the holy water which drew out the “evil”

  5. You guys are missing the brilliance of Damon’s race lines. He is racist and he knows it. He is always aware of how gross and evil he is. He just pities those who pretend that they are not just as gross. That is why he can be racist AND point out cultural appropriation in the same ep. He just wants them to be aware of their racist/cultural appropriating ways. Don’t you see how their hypocrisy can be so frustrating for him?

    LOL at this show

  6. I have something to address about Caroline, as far as Matt. At one point Caroline said Matt was the most important person in her universe. And that was before she was changed into a vampire. So if when you become a vampire everything that you once thought, sensed, and felt is heightened, then her “love” for Matt should still be an issue. It took Damon and Stefan over 100 years to get over their affections to Katherine. Even after they realized that she compelled them. But after Caroline and Matt broke up, Caroline cut off all emotion towards Matt completely. She angst for two minutes and then it was over. If I go by the shows logic she should still be hanging out across the street from his house.

    And it is because I have this living in my head, that I have never bought the love and chemistry of Forwood. Because essentially Caroline should be stalking Matt and Tyler should be doing whatever he was doing before he became a character, but only to the 25th power.

    • It took Damon and Stefan over 100 years to get over their affections to Katherine.

      It took Stefan a long time, but I don’t know if it was 100 years. Either way, Damon always knew the deal about Katherine being a vamp, so that doesn’t apply to him. Though we have no idea how he feels about the fact that Katherine compelled him once (and maybe more than once).

      But after Caroline and Matt broke up, Caroline cut off all emotion towards Matt completely. She angst for two minutes and then it was over. If I go by the shows logic she should still be hanging out across the street from his house.

      That’s true. But also by the show’s logic, Caroline should have felt even more insecure towards Elena, and we know the show swept that under the rug.

Flail or vent

