Ugh. Episode 21 was better.

Everything that happened tonight happened already.

Someone’s turning into a vampire? See: all of season 3. Also see: season 2, episode 21 with Jenna. This is supposed to be special and “out there” because it’s Elena, but people have been trying to turn her since season 2.

Bonnie saves an enemy’s life? See: season 1 finale. She saves Damon’s life (as well as Stefan’s), and then makes a declaration. Been there, seen that. At least last time “I know who I am now” went somewhere for a while, and the line held a lot of weight.

Klaus is in someone’s body? See: The time Klaus possessed Ric.

***Someone asked how Bonnie could transfer Klaus’ spirit in Tyler’s body, considering it took both Greta and Maddox to do it, and Greta was more powerful than Bonnie. I think the fact that it happened offscreen is the answer. She could do it because it’s convenient and fits the story JP’s struggling like a mofo to tell.

Car crash? See: the episode before Bloodlines where Elena crashed her car. They also parallelled it with her parents crashing, which…been there, done that.

Elena gets tricked? See: The Vampire Diaries.

Jeremy turns around, and there’s a ghost? See: season 2 finale.

Tyler loses his free will? See: the freaking story they just told.

As for dark!Bonnie:

I didn’t see anything. Bonnie talked in a mean manner to Klaus. I’ve seen her mad before. She saved Klaus’ spirit. So? Like I said before, she saved Damon in season 1. And that line she said? Means nothing. She had no choice. They never said she was willing to let her friends die, so…….the line means nothing. Not until we see her resist the Salvatores and actually take matters into her own hands. Are we even going to get the witches being mad at Bonnie?

92 thoughts on “Ugh. Episode 21 was better.

  1. Dont even know what to say, was this really the season finale? It was so underwhelming, with all the interviews/spoilers that came out I think nearly everyone put togther what would happen.
    Klaus still around, check.
    Orginals still around, check.
    Elena choosing Stefan, check.
    The triangle still going on until nxt season check.
    Elena turning into a vampire. Check.

    Was quite bored and kept checking people’s recaps. With JP mainly talking about the last 10min I knew the rest of the epsiode would be underwhelming.

    • It really didn’t feel like a finale. Worst finale yet. It was completely underwhelming. And confusing. What was the plan? What was Bonnie supposed to do to Klaus’ body before she changed her mind? What does Damon think she did? How did she meet up with Tyler? He was just supposed to call her. Did Tyler know what she was going to do or did she trick him?

      I don’t know why Elijah was in this episode.

    • who’s Blood will Elena transition with? and there goes the Piece/Patrova line, unless there are unnamed babies elsewhere.

  2. I think I might be done with this show. On a serious level. Like if this is what the actors shot I can understand why the only person who is excited is Michael Trevino.

    I do not enjoy the idea of Klaus in Tyler’s body. I don’t like what it will mean for Caroline. Who knows where Caroline is. I’m not terribly interested in what it will mean Klaus. (And this is just a fandom pet peeve but I am completely uninterested in whatever clusterfuck of a mess will happen with Klaus/Stefan/Caroline once the truth comes to light. Namely how Caroline will get to respond to it and just not being terribly impressed by any scenes that PW and MT have had in the past.) I hope I’m making sense. I’m just really disappointed in the episode.

    Elena’s going to find out that she met Damon first, I guess. Stefan will probably find out mid-season that she chose him. But, as a vampire she’ll chose Damon or something. KNowing that she met him first will change her entire perspective. She’ll remember that Damon told her he loved her over a season ago.

    I’m just ranting now. I’ll come back with clearer thoughts in a minute.

    • urgh I am soo cringing if the writers go there, that would be so gross and honestly that would really destroy Bonnie’s character if she doesnt at least tell Caroline. klaus is so lame I can already see him cozing up to Caroline while in Tyler’s body urgh please no.

      They should have him jumping bodies maybe next season, I mean what is he going to do just stay in Tyler’s body, trying to act like him and take over his life, that would be so ridiculous and lame.

      I said the exact same thing, the triangle will never be over, yes Elena picked Stefan but her being a vampire means the triangle will start all over again and back to Elena probably being more confused.

      • I’m worried they’re going to go there by having Bonnie not say anything to Caroline.

        Ugh. I would actually be into Klaus jumping bodies more than once next season, but like other than him jumping into Matt or Stefan there is little narratively that they can do with that type of set up. Nor would they know how. So I imagine next season is going to be a mess of Tyler!Kluas/Caroline.

    • Michael Trevino and Robert Ri’chard. LOL

      I don’t understand how this works. Just because his soul or what ever was transferred it should only matter that that physical body was destroyed.

      • How Klaus is still alive or how Tyler is still alive? I think you’re right. The suggestion last season was that Klaus actual body needed to be protected, which was why he possessed Alaric anyway. But why would they remember that.

        • I can’t. Klaus shouldn’t be able to go back to his body because it got destroyed. So when Bonnie gets him out of Tyler in episode 10 (you know that’s when it’ll happen), Klaus should be dead. Or will she put him in yet another body. Why didn’t the writers have her do it to Elijah? Ugh.

    • I do not enjoy the idea of Klaus in Tyler’s body.

      Did the show say what Bonnie did with his soul? Is he dead, in Bonnie’s purse or sharing his body with Klaus?

      • Nope. The suggestion was that Klaus had taken over. We didn’t get to see Bonnie do the spell. We only knew that she performed it. I’m going to assume he’s sharing his body with Klaus. Though who can really say? The writers will probably say a dozen things over the course of the summer and then forget them once the season starts.

        • In any case, I am not looking forward to seeing MT attempt to be JoMo’s Klaus. As much as I hated Klaus, JoMo is a really good actor. I didn’t like his portrayal at first but he figured out Klaus’ silliness eventually.

          • The thing is, if he’s not playing JM’s Klaus that means Klaus will undergo another personality transplant and I’m not sure how into that storyline I’d be. I hope it doesn’t last long. At least not with MT playing Klaus in Tyler’s body as it would be a crappy end for Tyler and particularly boring to watch on screen.

                • Apparently, I’ve run out of fucks to give about TVD. I haven’t even watched the last eps yet so…What did you make of how quickly Fitz got attached to Olivia? It seems like all it took was her introducing herself and making a forceful suggestion about his campaign. Then he went straight to firing her because he couldn’t contain himself around her? Maybe it was a sign of how practiced he is at seducing women or identifying possible mistresses? I do envy his game though. I love the bit of reverse psychology he used on Olivia to get her into his room. LOL. I thought their chemistry was going to cause me to spontaneously combust tbh

                  • Lol.

                    It was pretty weird/weak writing how he wanted to fire her as soon as she spoke up. Because no time went by between her saying he and Millie don’t look like they have sex and him telling Cyrus to fire her, right? But I feel like the rest of the scenes/interactions made up for that.

                    Now that you mention it, I wonder how many affairs he’d had before he met Olivia.

                    I didn’t think it was reverse psychology. Their chemistry was freaking INSANE though. I still need to watch the finale.

                    • Fitz got together with Amanda because she was available and Olivia wasn’t. I am sure he has had affairs before. I think he barely considers himself married.

                      The beginning of the finale is pretty brutal. I had to pause for several mins when I realized that Quinn was going to do something really dumb that was going to make things worse.

                    • I’d like to know exactly how/when his marriage with Millie soured. I know the claim that she was having an affair turned out to be a lie, but I wonder if she has.

                    • I don’t think that their relationship soured because of Mellie having an affair or Fitz having one for that matter. At least, I hope not. That would be too easy and not that interesting. It seems more like a personality conflict? I think Mellie is living her ambitions through Fitz because, as a women, she didn’t think she would be able to achieve them. She did come first in her class in college or something iirc. Maybe carrying all of her hopes and dreams was a burden he couldn’t carry. Or maybe, resentment grew between them because she had to shutdown her own aspirations to support him.

                    • Yeah, it would be too easy which is why I was happy they did a fake-out with the claims that she was cheating. I do want a timeline though because it’s hard to believe they were cold to each other from jump.

                    • Or maybe, it is not so much that she didn’t think she could achieve her goals but that she was raised to be a traditional wife and mother. Maybe she was fine with that in theory but, in practice, she finds it stifling. I like how she uses that identity as a weapon though. However, I hope she comes up with a new solution to the next crisis. If not, she will end up having 5 more kids and about 12 more “miscarriages” by the end of Fitz’s second term.

                    • I definitely agree about a timeline being needed when it comes to Fitz/Mellie. I am just speculating based on her line about doing her “job” and others, like Olivia, not doing theirs.

    • But here the issue with her remembering that stuff, it should not even impact her decision because she already knew Damon was in love with and was aware of it prior to his actual confession. And she met Damon first? and reply to that is so what? Wasn’t Damon still on Katherine’s ass so, how was a relationship going form from that? These writers. It wasn’t even a moving scene she could talk to anyone and they tell her same thing. Hell, Bonnie even told her that in the other flashback.

      Also as much Klaus annoy me because he was horrible as a villain, it lame that Trevino is playing him talk about awkward acting. Also laugh my butt off at two POC talking as I am not sure if Tyler is considered one because despite Trevino being a hispanic, hispanics are infamous (or at least J.Lo is and Martin Sheen) for playing White characters.

      I however have to give my acting hat off to Claire Holt, Zach Roerig and Candice over their despair over the lost of their ones. While I would say Nina too, Elena’s tears stop moving me as she gets over it in like two seconds.

      • She didn’t know know. She only had Isobel’s word and then Katherine came back and confused things. She knows now without him telling her, but who knows how she’ll react to him telling her earlier and then taking it back metaphorically. I’m trying to think along the lines of the writers. Her meeting him first will mean something They wouldn’t have mentioned it so much. She’ll also remember him saying he hoped she got everything she wanted.

        It just occurred to me that he didn’t question why she looked like Katherine at all. He was just like “I believe you.” Whereas, and it will probably be retconned later, Stefan talked about how he watched her, probably longer than he needed to, because he had to be sure she wasn’t Katherine. Hate this show.

        Trevino’s acting is pretty awkward. It’s very clear that he’s acting and the posturing he usually uses for Tyler hasn’t disappeared from his performance. So we’ll see how that goes.

        • Well my point is when she made that decision she was highly aware that Damon is in love with her. So again her remembering the first time he said it logically and even emotionally should not impact. And I have a bone to pick about the compulsion as she should have remember when she first died like Jeremy claimed to remember what happen to Vicki when he first “died” and was brought a la gilbert ring.

          I am aware they are going to make a big deal out of if I met you first line which is just dumb and makes Elena really shallow. I mean had Elijah happen upon her first does that me he her true love.

          And yeah it was strange Damon did not question her either but that is JP rewriting history.

          For me Trevino was trying to be JoMo and it wasn’t working. Dimples is a hard actor to follow. However this body switch crap needs to stop. It was cool when it happen to Alaric, but it beating dead horse.

          EFF THIS SHOW AND FREE KAT GRAHAM! HELL FREE PAUL TOO.

          • like Jeremy claimed to remember what happen to Vicki when he first “died” and was brought a la gilbert ring.

            Jeremy doesn’t remember what happened to Vicky. He said so to Matt earlier in the season.

            They keep repeating the same tricks. It’s beyond tired.

        • Elena does know. Damon blurted it out in 3.14.

          Damon’s behavior in that flashback was a retcon. He was way too nice to Elena. And, “I hope you get everything you wish for?” He wasn’t even drunk. Why would he say that?

      • And she met Damon first? and reply to that is so what?

        Seriously. Like, that’s all it would have taken? For her to have met Damon first? That’s the only thing?

        Tyler is White.

        Candice’s crying in that scene was her worst one yet, imo. They should give her a break because she’s losing the ability to sell it for me.

        No-one impressed me, acting-wise in this ep. Damon was the character I enjoyed the most though. Actually, I guess I’d say Ian did very well in the phone call scene. Trevino did not impress as Klaus.

    • I don’t care about anything that happened in this episode. Not one bit of it. Nothing shocked me, nothing surprised me, nothing impressed me, and nothing excited me. Bonnie’s anger towards Klaus is….misdirected.

      Trevino’s excited? I wouldn’t be if I was him. You know once they get Klaus out of Tyler’s body, he’ll only get a minuted to reflect.

      Literally everything that happened in this finale….happened before. Including someone turning. We’re supposed to be excited because it’s Elena, but I’m not excited.

      • It’s hard to care about anything that happened in this episode. I’m so incredibly tired of twisting and weaving and constructing to make my experience as a viewer work. I’m so tired of how exciting and surprising everything, even when it repeats, is supposed to be. I would take a much calmer show. If it meant true surprises based in character development and narrative consistency (loopholes being built into the plot instead of thrown in). I don’t know. I’ll probably keep watching. I’m just bored right now.

      • Bonnie’s anger towards Klaus is….misdirected.
        if Bonnie had swapped Klaus/Damon it would have worked better for me. then that scene where she’s with the Klaus and Damon would have been more layered. And Damon would have been punished for what he did to Abby.

  3. I’m with Olu, I can’t anymore I knew I wasn’t coming back awhile ago. This episode just confirmed it for me. Everything that is wrong with show was on display in this episode.

  4. well i give up. whatever show. did they rip book bamon off and turn it into a DE scene? Also that Bonnie line about being pushed around is like a season too late.

    Oh well I still have Community.

  5. It’s amazing how horrible this episode was in comparison to the previous one. Before Sunset hit the ground running and The Departed sunk before the first 15 minutes. Since Kevin Williamson’s pilot was picked up, there’s no hope of him returning to fix the mess that Julie Plec has created.

    A season finale should end with the fans wanting more. Not with them gagging in disgust. I can only think of two things that were fairly interesting: the Klaus/Tyler switch and Bonnie. But considering Plec’s track record with Michael and Kat, it’s pretty much guaranteed that neither storyline will be explored to its full potential. Well, maybe the Klaus/Tyler thing, but definitely not Bonnie’s. It’s a sad, sad thing watching everyone talk “friends” and Bonnie’s name not mentioned once.

  6. Also I am going to call bullshit on the compulsion scene after re-watching it as there is no way season 1 Damon would have been nice to her particularly when he thought Katherine’s ass was waiting in that tomb for him. I mean even in season 1 when he first meets her he comes across as a douche.

      • Pretty effing much. And Olu pointed out it was odd he would just believe she not Katherine. so for me it was forced scene and lazy acting on Ian’s part.

  7. Damon threatened to turn Elena in season 1.

    And Stefan couldn’t save them both at the same time? <_< okay. lol

  8. I just rewatched the final … and does anyone knows when Klaus started possessing Tyler? Because in that scene with Caroline in the Lockwood dungeon it looked like it was already Klaus who put up a show so that she would leave and think that he is dead. I just can´t figure it out … how are they going to bring him back. Everybody will have to question it if he shows up on Caroline´s porch.

    And I didn´t even realize it the first time … but they closed the coffin after Alaric took the stake out of Klaus and of course he started to burn … but then in the next scene the coffin looked just fine – shouldn´t it have been lit on fire from the inside? So this means Klaus body probably is still there and not burned to ash.

    Smh … for 1,5 seasons they tried to kill Klaus … and we started this season with one Original but in the end we got four. What is JP doing? Does she really think this is good writing.
    What about her “heroes” and them failing every. single. time.

    I tweeted some questions for JPs interview tonight but I don´t know if I´m able to listen to it … I just can´t deal with her after this mess.

    Instead of focusing on Tyler/Bonnie – did Tyler even knew about that spell Bonnie was using? – and their decisions and why they did what they did and how Bonnie even did the spell, they need to have all those twisty twists that we can´t even figure out in the end what really was going on … I predicted that Bonnie wouldn´t get that much screentime this episode … and I also predicted that now everything would be Klaus fault, this show is so urgh.

    I agree with Olu about the problemetic Klaus!Tyler/Caroline situation and I seriously hope Bonnie tells them everything … Bonnie wouldn´t let her best friend be with Tyler when she knows that´s not Tyler, that would be total character assassination … which JP is famous for that´s why I´m so afraid.

    Don´t know how to deal with this ToD nonsense but this for sure wasn´t season1!Damon in the flashbacks … and Elena looked pretty dumb telling a creepty looking stranger everything about her feelings.
    I knew when Elena said perhaps if we had met first … that the ~epic DE-scene would be them meeting first.

    Stefan saving them was hilarious tbh … the only thing I could think about during that scene was why Stefan didn´t grab both of them?
    But the music in the background was really good I love Sigur Rós.

    And I don´t know if I´m the only one but Candice and Michael did the worst job with everything in regards to Forwood and their characters tonight. It looked like they didn´t know how to act anymore. At first I thought MT did a good job with that Klaus scene but now after rewatching it I can´t even explain why I thought this, because it looks so bad today lol. Must have searched for something good in this final last night.

    What did you think about Matt and him speaking about marriage and college?

    Lol and of course MD/Alaric will be back we can´t get rid of him for real.

    • “At first I thought MT did a good job with that Klaus scene but now after rewatching it I can´t even explain why I thought this, because it looks so bad today lol. Must have searched for something good in this final last night.”

      It was probably because of the crappy quality. That made it really hard to judge the acting. I only noticed that CA was very OTT. Like damn.

      • That´s probably the reason.

        CA was very OTT

        She really was … I was so not feeling her in every scene she was.

        And I just realized that JP answered some of the questions I brought up in my post in that interview Alta posted.

    • and does anyone knows when Klaus started possessing Tyler?

      He possessed him offscreen. The scene where he told Caroline he’d call Bonnie was the last time we saw Tyler. I feel that Caroline saying she had to call Bonnie was random and had plot device written all over it. After all of these episodes and zero Bonnie/Caroline alone-time, she wants to leave town and the first person she has the urger to call is Bonnie? Not Elena? Yeah right.

      What is JP doing? Does she really think this is good writing.

      Yes. She keeps crying over it.

      I completely forgot about the interview. I spent all of last night packing.

      did Tyler even knew about that spell Bonnie was using?

      This question isn’t important to the writers, so they’re leaving it for season 4. I think one of the reasons I’m not moved by this development is because Tyler’s such a non-character. The writers don’t care about him. Already he’s completely absent in this storyline. It’s Bonnie and Klaus.

      Elena just spilling her guts to Damon felt kind of ooc to me. Season 1 is the time when she had all her smarts, remember writers?

      And I don´t know if I´m the only one but Candice and Michael did the worst job with everything in regards to Forwood and their characters tonight. It looked like they didn´t know how to act anymore.

      Heck yes. A thousand times yes. The scene where they talked about running away was downright cringe-worthy. And Candice was definitely OTT. And I could tell from jump that Michael was not succeeding in portraying Klaus. It’s like Claire Holt trying to play Esther.

      I feel that they butchered Matt in those flashbacks. Maybe that’s a strong word, but I don’t feel they were thinking about his character’s pov at all. All they cared about was portraying Elena feeling smothered. What better way than to have a 16 yr old talking about marriage?

    • He was OTT in both the present and in the flashbacks. He was way too involved with Elena in the present. He was more involved than Jeremy. Like, wtf?

      • “He was more involved than Jeremy.”

        That’s ’cause love interests trump every other type of relationship. Duh! 😉 They couldn’t give us longer flashbacks with her parents either. God forbid we get to know them and care about their deaths. Felt like they spent more time reminding us that Elena used to be a cheerleader. Oh, I almost forgot! We did get one scene between Elena and her mom wherein Mom gives her romantic advice. WHO WILL GIVE ELENA ROMANTIC ADVICE NOW?! 😮 😛 Again, boyfriends are more important than family & friends. Sigh.

        Elena has some gall expecting Matt to be her sounding board about her lovelife… all things considered. 😛 I wanted Matt to go further with his caveman routine and grab her for a forced elopement with him or something. “I know what’s best for you, little lady! Jeremy’s given me his blessing to take you away from all this. Let’s get hitched! I don’t even require a dowry. Although it would be nice, ’cause I’m broke, in case you hadn’t heard.”

        I thought maaaaaaaaybe all the recent Elena/Matt interaction was leading up to a “poignant” death for him in the finale. I should’ve known that Plec would never give up one of her boytoys. She can’t let a single one of these actors she lusts for LEAVE THE DAMN SHOW. Dammit.

        • I expected more from the flashbacks. I’m kind of disappointed. I wanted to see more of her parents and more of her life as a normal teen. But they chose to show us a period of her life when she was angsting. Eh. At least it was really from her pov.

  9. I think the showrunners heard my constant griping about how JennaActress was treated. 😛 They finally brought her back! Her scenes were pretty pointless, but hey, I’ll take it. Best part of the ep for me. 😉

    OMG! Klaus is dead!! Only not really. I wouldn’t be surprised if his original body isn’t even burned/destroyed, like it ought to be. Unlikely that TPTB will let KlausActor truly leave the show.

    OMG! Tyler’s dead!! Only not really. His soul will probably mysteriously return to his body like Rebecca’s did, after Esther possessed her. Where do these souls go in the meantime, eh?

    OMG! Alaric’s dead!! Again. But don’t worry, GhostAlaric will stay on the show to watch over Jeremy. We ain’t seen the last of Matt Davis. Yay.

    OMG! Elena’s dead!! Guess TVD has been cancelled. 😉 Oh wait, she’s got vamp blood in her system – big surprise.

    Don’t you love how they didn’t even bother to show whether Matt survived after Stefan pulled him out of the car? Who cares about Matt, right? 😛 I guess we’re supposed to assume he’s okay. Or maybe *that’s* the big series finale cliffhanger! OMG! Matt’s dead!!

    So, Stefan’s an emotionally manipulative ass, as usual, with his “here’s a kiss in case I don’t come back” playing on her fears because he could tell that Elena was going to break up with him when she said “we’ll talk later”. Once again Elena admits that she basically fell for Stefan because he was the first to show up when she was most emotionally vulnerable. But, oh my goodness…it turns out that Elena actually met Damon first!!! So he’s got dibs. 😛 Gee, I wonder if she’ll remember what Damon compelled her to forget, now that she’s vampirized? I can’t stand the suspense.

    It’s been a lot of fun snarking with you guys here on this wonderful website! I hope to see you all again next season, but who knows…that last hiatus away from the show was sooooooooo nice. I had to drag myself back to watch these last few eps. (And look at me now, watching the season *finale* a day late. Not excited about it at all…except that it’s over.) A longer hiatus might just cure whatever sick addiction I have to this crappy show. Or maybe a break will refresh me and get me ready to snark some more. It could go either way. Oooh! Suspense! Cliffhanger! Goodnight everybody. 🙂

    (I’m off to read all the zillions of other comments now…I can’t keep up with you guys!)

    • Her scenes were pretty pointless, but hey, I’ll take it.

      Snarky comment alert: That was pretty much the case back when she was a regular.

      Where do these souls go in the meantime, eh?

      I think they stay in the body. Just in a dark place.

      Don’t you love how they didn’t even bother to show whether Matt survived after Stefan pulled him out of the car? Who cares about Matt, right? I guess we’re supposed to assume he’s okay. Or maybe *that’s* the big series finale cliffhanger! OMG! Matt’s dead!!

      Matt had enough scenes in this episode. I was salty about Bonnie.

      So, Stefan’s an emotionally manipulative ass, as usual, with his “here’s a kiss in case I don’t come back” playing on her fears because he could tell that Elena was going to break up with him when she said “we’ll talk later”.

      Yeah, that scene is sketchy because he first tells her that everything will 100% be okay. Then he makes a u-turn and goes, “Have this in case I don’t come back.”

      Gee, I wonder if she’ll remember what Damon compelled her to forget, now that she’s vampirized? I can’t stand the suspense.

      Lol.

      Or maybe a break will refresh me and get me ready to snark some more. It could go either way. Oooh! Suspense! Cliffhanger! Goodnight everybody.

      Lol! See you in the fall! Unless you check back for the podcasts revisiting season 3.

      • “Snarky comment alert: That was pretty much the case back when she was a regular.”

        I know. 🙂 But the actress kinda rocked her big dramatic scenes before Jenna died. Made me mourn lost opportunities y’know? (I know you know…that’s what the show’s all about…wasted opportunities) And if they’re gonna bring everybody else back and make death meaningless, then be fair and bring back Jenna too, I say. Got what I wanted and now I forgive TVD for everything! 😉

        I agree that Matt had enough screentime… he’s not exactly a fav of mine anyway. Just thought it was funny that they didn’t care to show us whether he lived or not. 😛 He could’ve been with Stefan when he was sitting over Elena’s body. That’s what you get when you listen to your girlfriend’s wishes, Stef! Damon would’ve totally disregarded Elena’s hand motions and chosen her to save and left Matt to drown. 😛 (I know it’s been said by others, but honestly…Stefan couldn’t save both of them? He’s supposed to be a super-strong&speedy vampire, after all. Why didn’t Stefan just use his vamp-strength to lift the whole car out of the water or something?) I had to laugh at how long that scene took, btw. Elena motioning. Stefan waffling. I’m always amazed at how long people can hold their breath underwater, in TV Land.

        I see you’re gonna keep busy with podcasts & posts…already I’m way behind! You’re not gonna let me quit this show, are you? 😉

        • She definitely brought it when they gave her the material.

          Got what I wanted and now I forgive TVD for everything!

          Lol!

          Damon probably would’ve ignored Elena and saved her first and then come back for Matt.

          I see you’re gonna keep busy with podcasts & posts…already I’m way behind! You’re not gonna let me quit this show, are you?

          Lmao. Like I said in the finale podcast, I don’t want anyone quitting before I quit. Lol.

  10. Btw did anyone listen to that VRO interview with Julie Plec?

    The secret hero of the episode was Bonnie (as we know) but they also had that line in the script and apparently Klaus!Tyler said it … but they cut it.
    Smh, not enough room for it they had to include another phone call. I counted them: 8 phone calls on screen and probably 2 off-screen (Tyler/Bonnie and Carol/Liz/Tyler/Caroline). This show and its priorities. But JP was sad that they cut it. Please send your thanks to Nancy Forner who edited this episode lol. The spoiler fanatic DE-Fangirl in the crew.

    • I haven’t listened to it yet. Did she say anything else that was about Bonnie interesting? Did she get any important questions? Did she really say they cut it to include another phone call?

      Does JP not know what scenes they cut and what scenes they keep? Did she say around what time that line was supposed to come in? Was it part of the last scene or did they cut out an intermediary scene where Bonnie was doing the spell?

      • The interviewers were very interested in what is coming for Bonnie, they mentioned her at least three times. But it looked like JP didn´t really knew what to say about it … so nothing new. It doesn´t look like she has planned anything for her. But they asked if we would see her dad and JP said yes.
        They spoke about the witches and that they have such a big influence on the story and it sounded like she didn´t like that or something. But that´s what they developed on the show so that´s their own fault tbh.

        Something interesting in regards to the scene where Stefan saves Matt, apparently Paul read the script and called JP and protested against it, because he said that Stefan would never do that he would save Elena, but JP tried to reasoning that this is the big difference between Stefan and Damon, that he respects her decisions and so on. She got very loud in the interview so I would say Paul protested really vehemently against that writers decision. But JP didn´t back down.
        Emily and I sent in a question “When it comes to S3 as a whole, whose character development is she the most proud of?” and it was the first question they asked.
        Her answer was Alaric, which I predicted lol.
        No words about Forwood or Jeremy/Matt, they spoke about the triangle and the fan reaction. And I´m pretty sure she again thought about Twittergate because they asked about the tweets she got and in some kind of way I got the impression that she didn´t mean the Shipper-tweets but the Bonnie fans that hurt her more. At least Emily and I had that impression, perhaps you should listen to it or Emily could post her opinion too.

        Apparently she knows it … perhaps because she has to watch different cuts of the episode. She didn´t spoke about the time they cut it but I have the impression that it was in the last scene and I think I could point out the exact time it happened. On the rewatch I was a little bit irritated with Bonnie´s hair … and so I took two screencaps of the scene. That´s pic is when she says that she is done with getting pushed around http://i50.tinypic.com/j8znua.png and then the next one is after they showed Klaus!Tyler but he didn´t say anything and immediately after that showed Bonnie´s face again http://i50.tinypic.com/4qkg2b.png … it looks different so that´s why I think before they showed he face the last time for this episode Klaus!Tyler must have said it but they cut it out.
        Sorry I should have expressed myself better I don´t know if they cut it out because they had to fit in another phone call but I just thought it was pretty apparent that the main theme of this episode was “phone calls” because I never saw that many calls in one episode. But JP never mentioned that in the interview.

        • I’m not surprised that she has nothing planned for Bonnie yet. I don’t think she has anything planned for anyone yet. What’s disappointing is that there are some for which she’ll figure it out (and even figure it out for the whole season), and some where she won’t.

          Oh crap @ Paul. There was no way he was going to win that argument because JP needed Elena to die in the water to become a vamp.

          She’s most proud of Alaric? I see she still has stars in her eyes from Matt Davis rescuing her on Twitter.

          Ah, thanks. Ugh.

          • I don’t think she has anything planned for anyone yet.

            That´s what I´m thinking too.

            Oh crap @ Paul. There was no way he was going to win that argument because JP needed Elena to die in the water to become a vamp.

            Yep. I feel so sorry for him tbh for all the actors on this show.

            She’s most proud of Alaric? I see she still has stars in her eyes from Matt Davis rescuing her on Twitter.

            Yep and apparently they planned out that sl in August/September which again shows that they don´t plan in the long run because I know they filmed episode 10 already in October and that was the start of his storyline also with the introduction of Meredith.

            Also a funny note, the interviewers asked a totally useless questions about age of the Originals and who was the oldest of them and JP couldn´t even answer that question. They wasted perhaps 3 or 4 minutes on that question and in the end with the help of the interviewers it was like we all could have guessed: Finn, Elijah, Klaus (the poor guy with the “middle child syndrome” – this was mentioned by the interviewers), Kol, Rebekah, Henrick.

            And also she mentioned two things they regretted: Tyler being shipped of so long to break his sire bond because it was similar to last season with him being away so long (I thought she would also mention Jeremy but she didn´t) and that Mikael sl, they wanted to do more with it but they needed to wrap up the story before the winter hiatus and I don´t know but apparently the only way to do this was to let him be killed.

            • Also a funny note, the interviewers asked a totally useless questions about age of the Originals and who was the oldest of them and JP couldn´t even answer that question.

              I can’t. This is the type of stuff I would work out if I was writing the show.

              and that Mikael sl, they wanted to do more with it but they needed to wrap up the story before the winter hiatus and I don´t know but apparently the only way to do this was to let him be killed.

              So again: No plan.

              Thank you for all of this, Kathrin!

  11. Just realized something in regards to the second flashback with Bonnie and Matt. They speak about cheerleading and how “Caroline Forbes” critisized Elena´s ponytail … that seems to be pretty impersonal not like I would call my friend. Only Bonnie calls her “Caroline”.
    I think the writers forgot that they retconned the Caroline/Elena friendship in episode 14 with Caroline talking about knowing everything what happened between her and Matt and her telling Caroline about their first kiss immediately after it happened. Even after the party she only called her mom and Bonnie. No mention of Caroline.

    I´m disappointed that we didn´t even get a scene between Bonnie and Elena or Caroline and Bonnie in the final. It seems like forever that we got a meaningful scene between Bonnie/Elena or Bonnie/Caroline.

    • Lmao. We mention that on the podcast, how Elena uses Caroline’s full name. You’re so right about the retcon. I forgot Caroline was the one Elena called after she and Matt kissed.

      It has been forever since Bonnie was included in that friendship. I’m sure the writers would disagree though. But we haven’t had anything since….I’ll give them a pass and say 3.15. But Bonnie hasn’t had a real moment with either since the beginning of the season.

  12. I just realized that they had Tyler say this line about a Klaus-free life and just one episode later have Klaus possess him. I bet the writers thought that that was so ironic.

    So I guess all this validating of Elena as the most caring/selfless/… friend/sister/… this season happened because vampire!Elena was in the works and, as per JP, vampire!Elena will be a different Elena.

    • I realized that about Tyler yesterday. I wish there was enough there for his character so that I could write meta, but alas.

      I don’t understand when she says that because we’ve been beaten over the head with the fact that becoming a vamp enhances who you already were. That was the whole basis for turning Ric.

Flail or vent

