I came so freaking close to being rid of him!!!!!

I should try going a couple of weeks without watching TVD. I should. Too bad the season’s almost over. I wish 3.21 and 3.22 could air in a two-hour block. Stick a fork in this rank season. It’s done.

Cana said the scene of Alaric feeding on Bonnie and then letting her body drop was…interesting, considering TwitterGate.

All my Thursday shows are done, and I’m still at a loss for words. I just don’t feel like talking about TVD or Bonnie or any of the stuff that happened tonight. This episode was a worst runaround than 3.19. Yeah, Scary Mary was filler, but we got the Delena scenes. They moved forward. Who the hell moved forward in this episode? They wasted our time with an Alaric plot they knew wouldn’t end with his death, even had all of the characters, including the ones Alaric never even affected (Bonnie, Tyler, Matt, and hell even Caroline), come to say their goodbyes. And it was all for naught.

Steven couldn’t cry over Alaric to save his life, because the writers forgot to give his relationship with Alaric substance. I have no idea why he was up in arms about him dying.

Klaus needed to stfu and just burn Esther’s body and end it all. Really? Here’s yet another dangling plotline. Why doesn’t Klaus just burn the body? His unhinged monologue was good, but it was lacking common sense.

How is Esther still active? What does her connection to the Bennetts being broken mean exactly?

I must ask again: What is a Forwood?

When did Bonnie have it in her to invite some boy up to her bedroom? Season 1 Bonnie pre-Sheila’s death? Absolutely. Closed off Bonnie post Sheila’s death and with all of her stress? Hell to the no. What does she see in Jaime? Why the hell is he worried about how she’s surrounded by special people while he’s just human? Why is it so deep?

Where was Jeremy having something to say about Bonnie/Jaime? Did they cut it?!

Why is Bonnie such a damn Mammy? I rolled my eyes to high heaven when Stefan tried to “help” her. His thanks or whatever the hell was bullshit. Bonnie saying she didn’t do it for him was bullshit.

Damon stripped Bonnie of her dignity right then and there when he let her know that she was at the bottom of the totem pole, and her ass was going to stay there. He feels no remorse, and all Bonnie can do is tighten her jaw. Tighten your jaw all you want, Bonnie, but in the end you’re just offering the other cheek.

****I think this is enough for an opening post. I remember when Susan first started commenting, she suggested I make parts of me episode reviews in written form so that the podcasts wouldn’t be so long (back when she wasn’t used to the length. Lol). Well I’m considering reviewing this episode in writing. Right now, I don’t think I have the energy to a)actually rewatch it or b)talk about it out loud. I’ll see if that changes over the weekend, but let me know what you guys think.

100 thoughts on “I came so freaking close to being rid of him!!!!!

    • I never saw these promos/photos, so I thought Matt Davis was actually leaving the show. So cruel, getting my hopes up!

      In my parody-obsessed-head, Alaric slams Elena against a wall and she simpers up at him with dewy eyes, “Oh, Ric! I’m so glad you’re back to take care of me! How ever would I survive with only *two* vampires obsessed with me…well, three if you count Klaus needing my blood.” Also, slamming people up against walls is code for “sex scene” on this show. So I guess Alaric really will join Elena’s harem.

  1. So is that the Bonnie/Tyler scene Micheal was talking about.

    So this episode was everything I never wanted.So I need this season to end so I can pretend it never happened.

    I know how excited you were for Alaric to die but they gave away previews of him being in episode 21 weeks ago.

    Once I saw where Alaric was I knew Bonnie and Damon were at the same place in the promo so I just kept waiting for her to show up. I remembered the picture with her bleeding and put it all together at about 8:30.
    Ester was going to do something to Bonnie she was going to go to Alaric and feed him/let him out.
    So her and Damon are going to be passed out all night.

  2. I feel nothing about this show anymore I’m not mad I’m not disappointed. It just is what it is. I’m not even happy about Bonnie anymore once she can’t save a episode for I’m out. Last time I felt this way about her was 3×17 and I was pissed and now I just don’t care.

    Surprise Jamie/Bonnie didn’t bother me at all. He’s like a wall or he might as will be I’m not feeling him at all. When they were kissing and the scene in her house he does nothing for me. I didn’t see any chemistry between them. He’s just there.

    • OMG! when you said Jamie is a like a wall you gave me the idea that Jamie is Bonnie’s projection. Something she conjured up to keep her company, to make her feel not alone or abandoned. Jamie’s not real. He is like a wax doll that Bonnie made to love her!!!!! THANK YOU!

    • I’m not feeling anything towards Bonnie either. I was side-eyeing her up and down this episode. All of her lines to Damon fell flat because she’s just going to keep the same lifestyle. Her line to Stefan meant nothing. I have no idea why she’s into Jaime, and I have no idea why she and Jeremy wouldn’t talk to each other before this. Klaus threatened Jeremy in front of her….and when she sees him the first thing she mentions is his ring. That line becomes more random the more I think about it. As for Jeremy, surely he knows what happened to Abby, but he’s not going to search Bonnie out and talk to her.

      And this is on top of Caroline telling us that Bonnie has a date, that Jaime wanted to see Bonnie, and on and on. Jaime and Bonnie didn’t even talk about Abby! WHAT KIND OF STORYTELLING IS THIS?!!!!! The one fucking thing that links them together and they don’t talk about it. They don’t talk about the letter that Abby left them, they don’t talk about the fact that she abandoned them both. They don’t worry about where she is. There’s nothing. Everything is roses and sunshine in their lives.

      Jaime’s compliment to Bonnie meant absolutely nothing because he doesn’t know her, or her life, or how often she does this, or how long she’s been doing it. He also doesn’t know how hard she’s had it or how she feels about it. So why the hell is he impressed by her? It literally came off as the writers giving Bonnie fans a bone. “Oh here’s this random character who will parrot the same things you guys feel about Bonnie.” No.

      He’s just there.

      He’s also not cute.

      I’m starting to see what Olu said in the speculation post for this episode. As of this episode, it’s really getting to the point where I’m doing too much work, too much head!canon, to keep the essence of Bonnie’s character alive in the face of the writers butchering her. She said that not enough head!canon can make Stefan’s Ripper storyline make sense. Well, not enough head!canon can make sense of Bonnie’s conduct in this episode.

      This episode leaves me cold in a way 3.17 didn’t. I’m complaining right now, but there’s no passion there. Which is why I don’t think I’ll do a podcast for this episode, just a written review. And like an idiot I got happy because of 3.18. Because she cried. I knew it wasn’t perfect, but it was something. Now with this episode, they basically told my happy ass to calm the hell down. This is The Vampire Diaries.

      Sorry for cursing.

      • Jamie is like pseudo Matt from outta know where. He’s safe enough to give to Bonnie because of reasons in the creators eyes … >_>

      • Your right about the last Jamie/Bonnie scene. What he says means nothing I think that’s why it fell flat to me. I know people will complain about Bonnie fans not liking it. Because we want someone to recognize all that Bonnie does and when we get it we don’t like it. But it’s not about what is being said as much as WHO is saying it. To have this person who has never seen Bonnie do these things, someone who doesn’t know she does this on a daily it kind of lessens the gravity of it . Bonnie fans wanted an acknowledgement but it was all wrong.

      • “And this is on top of Caroline telling us that Bonnie has a date, that Jaime wanted to see Bonnie, and on and on.”

        God, yes, I’m so sick of Caroline being used to exposit what’s going on with Bonnie… even when she’s right there in the same room/scene?! Ridiculous! Let her speak for herself, Plec!

        Jaime was very clearly the writers’ mouthpiece as well… meant to appease us fans with some acknowledgement of what Bonnie’s going through. Look, Jaime recognizes it/her! Therefore, so do the writers! Now we should all stop complaining about the way they treat Bonnie. 😛

        • She also did it for Jeremy and Matt (and she had Elena’s help for the former). “Look at them! They have a bromance!”

          Jaime was totally a mouthpiece. Since everything got taken back, did anything important happen for these characters? The only ones who had a story were Ric and Esther.

          • ““Look at them! They have a bromance!”

            That’s great writing, alright! Tell, don’t show. Or, even better, tell AS you show at the same time. 😛

            Something important happened! Elena and Stefan got back together! And in a deleted scene, he serenaded her with George Michael’s “Father Figure”. It was so sweet.

            • Or, even better, tell AS you show at the same time.

              Oh my God, that might be even worse than telling instead of showing. Like Stefan’s line as Bonnie and Jaime were dancing? “Bonnie looks happy.” I screamed in my mind, “STFU!” And of course he and Elena proceeded to have a conversation about Bonnie, telling us how she feels and how Elena would understand if she didn’t forgive and all that crap.

              • Haha…well all that matters is letting us know that Stefan and Elena are GOOD PEOPLE who really do care about Bonnie! See? They care! They notice her emotional state and take satisfaction in her happiness. They’re not self-absorbed users after all! Don’t we feel silly now? 😛

                Please tell me someone out there is writing parody fanfic for this show. It would be so easy. And so much more fun than watching the real thing.

              • Bet you’re hoping that deleted scene leaks, right? 😉 I’m just creeped out by Stefan’s paternalistic vibe with Elena. He’s gonna take care of her. Oh boy. I know I’m harping on things that the show wants me to forget but…seriously…why doesn’t she care about his Ripper Wall of Shame/Pride? …or that wild ride down to Wickory Bridge? No, Elena feels safe and comfy with Stef. Okiedoke then. Put your tiny hand in his. Til the end of time. Pffft.

                • Yes, that stuff was creepy as hell. And then there was this JP interview in which she said that that final Stelena scene made her cry and how “Stefan is holding Elena in his arms, he’s not holding me in his arms, I’m all alone.” (paraphrase) D-:

                  • “he’s not holding me in his arms, I’m all alone.”

                    O. M. G.

                    Please. No she didn’t. This makes me almost want to pity her instead what I usually feel when I look at her wannabe fantasies played out via Elena and Caroline being fawned over by Klaus/Rhett/Damon/Stefan and every other man onscreen blinded by their besuty complete with Bonnie as her modern day Mammy/Prissy with a cauldron.

                    • Oh, she totally did. Of course, she said it with a laugh. Anyway, that was all I could think when watching that scene.

                    • “All I can say is that I’ve watched the episode five times now through the editorial process, and every single time I end up crying like a baby with Elena. I’m not in Stefan’s arms. I’m alone,” she laughs. “But it’s a pretty powerful episode. We’re really proud of it.”

                      Wow. Out loud. She actually said it out loud. She either has some major cajones or major issues. No comment which way I’m leaning.

                  • LOL @ your face of horror! But I forgot about that interview! Whenever JP says a scene made her cry, it always flies right over my head when it aired. For example, it wasn’t until I was doing this episode’s podcast with Cana and Olu that I remembered she said a scene in this ep would be the most emotional moment of the season, and it would involve all of the characters. She was talking about Alaric’s vigil………….

  3. Urgh I can´t deal with this nonsense … what are they doing to Bonnie? This whole episode was a mess.

    Why is Jeremy suddenly so connected to Alaric … they didn´t even have many scenes together this season? That scene with the whole cast was so weird. I just thought, why are they doing this Alaric isn´t going to die and why do these people look like all dressed up with nowhere to go. They had no connection to Alaric.

    Bonnie/Jamie was a mess … I just can´t.

    Never cared for Dalaric so that final scene was a bore.

    Elena “it´s all my fault” Gilbert I don´t even know what to say.

    What is a Forwood and what is a Klaus?

    It looked so brutal when Alaric bite into Bonnie´s neck and with all the blood. Disgusting. I can´t deal with this after Twittergate.

    But was I the only one who lol-ed so hard when Esther said “The ultimate weapon for the ultimate hunter” and with dramatic music in the background. This show is a mess. And JP is thinking she is doing such a flawless job. Urgh smh.

    And here I thought I would be calmer after I got up early in the morning went to gym and finished my work for school so that I would be more relaxed when I start watching it and now I´m so diappointed again. Why am I not able to stop watching this.

    Btw I would love to listen to your commentary about that episode because I can´t voice it out … but do what you think is better for yourself.

    • Just wanted to add something. Since when do the Salvatores have a mausoleum/tomb and why does it have to be connected to Esther´s death? All this convenient crap.

      I´m not sure if I remember correctly but back in season 1 (hah what is a season 1?) to find Emily´s grimoire the Salvatores and Elena I think exhumed Guiseppe, right? And that wasn´t near a tomb or anything at all especially not near something with the name Salvatores on it. That was in the “free” field/forest.

    • a candle vigil for a guy who killed more humans than he did vampires … 🙄

      any scene Matt and Kat have … I can’t. I hope she kills him and that’s the terrible decision or whatever.

      I laughed too! Esther was trolling and I hate her.

      Why am I not able to stop watching this.
      because of the podcast. LOL

    • Why is Jeremy suddenly so connected to Alaric … they didn´t even have many scenes together this season? That scene with the whole cast was so weird. I just thought, why are they doing this Alaric isn´t going to die and why do these people look like all dressed up with nowhere to go. They had no connection to Alaric.

      All of this. And Steven McQueen knows Jeremy had no connection to Alaric. That’s why he couldn’t cry. Using glycerin to make him cry drove home how fake the scene was and Jeremy’s reaction to losing Alaric was. He was more emotional over Ric dying than he was over John and Jenna dying at the same time.

      Dressed up with nowhere to go. I think that’s a metaphor for the state of the show right now.

      It’s both funny and unrealistic how quickly Elena summarizes that it’s her fault whenever something tragic happens.

      It did look very brutal. But don’t forget that Bonnie is both a woman and a person of color. Remember how Gloria died? Or Abby? Abby’s death looked brutal too.

      But was I the only one who lol-ed so hard when Esther said “The ultimate weapon for the ultimate hunter”

      Nope, you weren’t. I was like, “Wtf? This better be one of those things where they’re buttering up a character because they’re going to kill it off.”

  4. Lol this is exactly why I didnt watch the ep, I havent watched the eps since the show came back from one of their million breaks and it looks like I havent missed anything lol.

    ”He’s also not cute.”
    Yep I agree, he is meh, seriously I am bitter right alongside Steven lol.

    Also about the scene with Alaric and everyone being there, I get what they were trying to do, also I get why the gang was there, if anything why was Meredith there? lol.

    About Bonnie just jumping when the others say so Im wondering if she may be like ”Im done” and go dark. Or I am wondering if they are making her like this because well it seems to be easier when everyone is following the Salvatore’s orders. This entire season Bonnie has just been doing what she is told by the others and hasnt said anything back.
    Also I find it interesting that some people that dont like her have been liking her a lately hmm I wonder why:rolleyes:

    • seriously I am bitter right alongside Steven lol.

      Lol.

      I have no idea why Meredith is in the show, period.

      They’re doing it because it’s easier. These writers hate conflict because they’re bad writers.

  5. This episode sucked. I can’t find any eloquent way to put it and since I agree with all the comments regarding Bonnie, it’s hard for me to find something new and insightful to add. I have sat through some utter bull-ish in my years of tv viewing, but last night’s was the ultimate. Twitter verse was going apeshit over Alaric’s “death” and I wanted to barf. The effects of post-Twittergate I am SURE has me at an extremely high level of anti-Alaric that I will never come off of.

    Bonnie and Jeremy’s reactions to each other didn’t make sense especially considering the hug and the looks they gave each when he left….and considering she did Klaus’ bidding to protect Jer’s sexy ass!

    To quote another poster regarding Bonnie and Jamie all I can say is I just can’t. Oh, and they look forced and pathetic. And the dry humping in the classroom?! She didn’t even dry hump her REAL boyfriend! Come on!

    I didn’t mind the Bonnie/Stefan moments. He seemed genuinely contrite and I believe him. Of course, his words blew right over Elena’s head. She has to be the WORST BFF EVER. I’m guessing she didn’t even tell Jeremy about Abby. This is Elena we’re talking about and we can’t mention Elena without Damon. That scene with Bonnie and that crap that came out of his mouth was low even for him. And that’s saying a lot. How Elena could be conflicted over him boggles my mind. A man needs more than sexy to be worthy.

    The only good thing I can say about the ep is it pissed me off so much that it inspired me to start a Beremy fic. It’s obvious Julie Plec isn’t capable. And I hope I can ignore her version of Damon to keep going with my Bamon fic. Sometimes bad TV is inspiration. Sometimes it kills it.

    Dang, that was long! Oops!! 😉

    • I can’t take people getting emotional over freaking Alaric.

      Bonnie and Jeremy’s reactions to each other didn’t make sense especially considering the hug and the looks they gave each when he left….and considering she did Klaus’ bidding to protect Jer’s sexy ass!

      It didn’t make sense, and that’s exactly why they did it. I need to calm down enough to write fix it fic. There was no continuity for Beremy, or Bonnie, or Jeremy.

      She didn’t even dry hump her REAL boyfriend! Come on!

      Fuckery. I’ve been stopping myself from saying it, but I’m just going to say it. It was out of character. It’d be better if they said Bonnie just wanted to hump anyone because she wanted an escape. But no, her and Jaime have something real or whatever.

      Stefan’s words mean nothing to me because he got what he wanted. His precious Elena is alive, and Bonnie’s beared the sacrifice. Of course he can now stand in front of her and say sorry. And boy did he take his precious time getting to it. He didn’t even go to her house or seek her out. They happened to be in the same room, so he figured, “Why not?”

      Sometimes bad TV is inspiration. Sometimes it kills it.

      True words.

      I hope you complete your Beremy fic! I’d like to read it.

      • I can’t take the emotions over Alaric either. There was a time when I liked him. He provided comic relief, but since Twittergate, he’s hard to look at.

        There’s never continuity to any of Bonnie’s stories. We still don’t know why she broke down in the parking lot after undoing Esther’s spell for Klaus. What was that?! She couldn’t have been broken up over seeing Damon hanging from the rafters. I don’t buy it. There’s so much of Bonnie that we don’t see played out and it’s such bull. I’ll leave it there before I go apeshit, too.

        ITA. Bonnie’s too classy to dry hump anyone in public and she definitely wouldn’t do with a guy on a first date! Look at how she reacted when Jeremy tried to kiss her the first time and their first real kiss got a “WOW!” from her. Last night’s Bonnie was a straight up ho. I don’t know who that chick was, but she was not the Bonnie Bennett I know from Seasons 1 and 2.

        Stefan couldn’t go to Bonnie’s house because Plec can’t waste precious time and energy on an exterior set for the Bennett’s. Come on!!!! You know better. lol

        I guess I’m more forgiving of Stefan because of out of everyone on last night’s ep, he was the only original character who actually gave a damn about Bonnie’s well-being. He looked at her and commented on her. Hell, Elena didn’t even bother to spare a glance in Bonnie’s direction. And the fricking staging directions didn’t allow us to see Jeremy’s face when he interrupted her dance with Jamie. We only got his back. If Steven gave us Beremy folk anything in that moment, we missed it.

        @##% Plec.

        I posted the first chapter of the fic on Fanfiction.net. It’s called, Absolution. Whenever I figure out Live Journal, I’ll post it there, too. Here’s a link: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/8064176/1/

        • I’ve wanted Alaric dead since late season 2. I was tired of watching him do nothing.

          I think she broke down from the duress. After her mother was murdered, some guy was threatening to tear her to pieces and bring it to her. But of course the heaviness of the moment is pretty much ruined by her happy-go-lucky attitude in this episode.

          I don’t think it has anything to do with class or being a ho. I think it has to do with the mindset she’s in right now. She would not be kissing Jaime. And like you said, she was floored by her first kiss with Jeremy so unless it was just something physical and she just wanted to forget her problems (and that’s not what it was), I don’t know why she’d want to make out with Jaime. She should be closed off like heck right now, unless, again, she just wants something physical.

          Stefan couldn’t go to Bonnie’s house because Plec can’t waste precious time and energy on an exterior set for the Bennett’s. Come on!!!! You know better. lol

          How could I forget? Because you know that scene would’ve had to take place outside because there’s no way Bonnie’s invited Stefan into her house. He’d have to visit her for that to happen *_____*.

          Nope, I’m not even impressed with Stefan. He didn’t care about her well-being when he was killing her mother. He didn’t even go out of his way to see her. He just happened to be at the same place as her in this episode. His main concern was whether or not Elena would be upset at him and Damon for killing Abby.

          Thank you! I’ll check it out and leave a review! I’m “charrrmed” on there. But I’ll let you know it’s me so you don’t have to remember that. Lol.

    • Are you kidding? Once again I rely on you all to tell me what’s going on in TwitterLand. People were getting emotional over Alaric?! Why on earth? What’s so great about his character… or the actor? And besides, he’s not gone! The show copped out…again. Don’t tell me the writers are afraid to truly write him off the show because of twitterpated fans all atwitter on twitter? Bunch of twits.

      • Don’t tell me the writers are afraid to truly write him off the show because of twitterpated fans all atwitter on twitter? Bunch of twits.

        Lol! Nice one!

      • I wish I was joking! I clicked on #TVD as punishment and got a megafest of boo-hoo over Alaric. I found only ONE tweet saying they didn’t have any sympathy because of Twittergate. Only ONE! I added my thoughts so there were two of us.

        Twits indeed!

        • I clicked on #TVD as punishment

          Lol!!!

          I don’t have any patience for people who are into Alaric’s character like he’s any big deal, or for people who think Damon cares about Bonnie, Stefan cares about Bonnie, etc.

    • I agree. I don’t think Elena told Jeremy about Bonnie.

      Bonnie should tell Jeremy about his compulsion. About how he was compelled not to care about her and not to worry or even thing about her. Does Jeremy even have any feelings for Bonnie now? >_>

  6. I’m with you all. So freaking close to being rid of him, indeed.

    I really enjoyed that hiatus and had a hard time forcing myself to start watching this show again. And now… arrghh. I want to quit. I can’t wait for the season to end.

    What was the point of killing Esther, only to bring her back (in her own body) right away? What was the point of “killing” Rebekah, only to immediately kill all suspense about whether she died in Esther’s place or not? What was the freaking point of that drawn out “oh we’re gonna mourn and miss Alaric sooo much” crap, only to keep him around after all?! And of course Bonnie “saves” him. I hate this show so much.

    I honestly laughed at all the “poignant” farewell-to-Alaric scenes. Of course Meredith is there to say goodbye to her would-be-murderer. Of course Jeremy and Matt toast Alaric because what better way to pay tribute to the town drunk who was *such* a great guardian to the Gilberts. 😛

    And yes, Elena, it’s all about you and who’ll take care of you and oh no, now she has nobody! Except Jeremy. But nevermind him. That’s Stefan’s cue to say “you’ll always have me” and be all paternalistic and annoying. Ugh.

    One last thing: WE WERE CHEATED OUT OF A JENNA APPEARANCE! Am I supposed to be grateful she was finally mentioned? Was that a shout-out to me for ranting so often about how Elena doesn’t give a crap about avenging her Aunt Jenna? 😛 So now Esther lays some guilt on Elena, which doesn’t count, natch, ’cause it’s coming from EvolEsther. Whatever. Why couldn’t Alaric just DIE!!!!!!!???!!!! I was expecting the cheese to reach it’s natural conclusion… after everybody says buh-bye to Alaric, he dies and we see GhostAlaric and GhostJenna reunited. Hey, at least JennaActress would finally get to come back on the show like everybody else who’s died. This is the only thing that would’ve made it worthwhile to me, suffering through an Alaric-centric ep with everyone fawning over him. Damn you, Plec. Damn you to heck.

    • What was the point of killing Esther, only to bring her back (in her own body) right away? What was the point of “killing” Rebekah, only to immediately kill all suspense about whether she died in Esther’s place or not? What was the freaking point of that drawn out “oh we’re gonna mourn and miss Alaric sooo much” crap, only to keep him around after all?!

      All of these things happened because they needed to fill up 42 minutes. Esther really possessed Rebekah just so she could get close to Alaric?

      Jeremy and Matt should’ve toasted over Vicky way back when.

      That’s Stefan’s cue to say “you’ll always have me” and be all paternalistic and annoying.

      I hate when characters do that. And in my tv experience, it’s always a guy saying it to a girl. You’re not her family! Your romantic love doesn’t make for her lack of parental love!!!!

      So now Esther lays some guilt on Elena, which doesn’t count, natch, ’cause it’s coming from EvolEsther

      Elena derailed the conversation. Of course. I have no idea what Elena’s stance was in this scene. Her indignation seemed to come out of nowhere.

      • All of these things happened because they needed to fill up 42 minutes. Esther really possessed Rebekah just so she could get close to Alaric?

        and so she could get klaus to show up at the party.

        Jeremy and Matt should’ve toasted over Vicky way back when.

        truth and tyler could have been there but that probably would have been a little gross.

    • Jeremy and Matt were cheering over the fact that it wasn’t them. 😀 Also even though Alaric is an OV he shouldn’t be very strong because he is new. Right?

      • Nope, he shouldn’t be. He’s a new vampire. His hatred should not translate into strength, just violence. But Caroline once overpowered Damon because she was angrier, so……I also don’t remember if Esther put anything to make him stronger. She only made the stake strong and indestructible.

  7. I watched this ep because of all the Bonnie pics that came out recently. It was a bad decision. This ep made me physically gag. Worst television ep I’ve ever watched and I watch reality shows. The Bonnie/Jamie scenes in the Bennett house were ok I guess. I have nothing else to add to everything that has been mentioned already.

      • I don’t understand the candles and posing scene. They were supposedly there because they care about Alaric but they just stared at him from a distance. Is this a thing? Candle light vigils usually happen *after* a person is dead, right? Everything was painfully fake. I think Alaric’s “death” would have worked better if they didn’t include that and kept it to only Elena, Damon and Jeremy.

        The Bonnie/Jamie stuff was a rollercoaster of emotion for me. I almost threw up when they kissed. But then, I liked that Bonnie got to reflect on the events of the evening at her house with him. That sort of thing doesn’t happen often. When I saw them in bed together, I let out half a scream before my brain registered that they had their clothes on.

        • Haha, yes, the candle-posing scene was so staged and artificial. Everyone just stares at him from a distance. My favs are Caroline smiling (?!) and Matt’s utterly bored expression. 😛 Then Alaric shuts the gate thingy and oooh it’s all so dramatic, like, we’re never gonna see him again, except we do see him again, so whatever with your super-clever gate-symbolism, show. I can’t stand the complete pointlessness of this whole thing! Can someone (who’s not black) please DIE for real and never come back, please?

          • I would have understood the candles thing if they were praying for him but religion/spirituality is never brought up in this show.

          • I didn’t pay attention to Caroline, but it wouldn’t surprise me if she was smiling. I couldn’t not pay attention to Matt! He was legit leaning! Lol! I should’ve paid attention to Stefan too, but the scene was way too damn dark.

            You know what I just realized? If the scene was worth anything? If it was actually sincere? They would’ve shown us a close-up of every character’s face. We got one for Jenna and John’s funeral. Instead they went for the “pretty” wide shot. It’s like they subconsciously knew that that scene was superficial.

            And let’s talk about it from Alaric’s end also. He only cared about four of the people who were there: Elena, Damon, Meredith, and Jeremy. In.that.order. Alaric shouldn’t have been moved by Bonnie, Matt, Caroline, Tyler, and Stefan coming to see him off.

        • Were there really candles? Where did they find them? And yeah, they stared at him from a distane. Most of these people wouldn’t know what the heck to say if they had to give a eulogy for Alaric.

          You just made me think of a scenario where Elena calls Jeremy to tell him Alaric’s dying, and we see his phone light up and vibrate on a dresser. Bonnie’s pops up, and we can tell from the bareness of her chest that she’s naked. She’s breathing hard and she picks up Jer’s phone. She says, “It’s Elena,” while frowning a little, and we pan down to find a shirtless (naked) Jeremy under her. He tells her to ignore it and grabs her neck to bring her in for a kiss. And scene.

          I know you don’t like Beremy, but the thought popped into my head when you brought up the vigil.

          When I saw them in bed together, I let out half a scream before my brain registered that they had their clothes on.

          LOL! When she asked him to stay, I was deathly afraid that they were going to have sex. They hugged, and my fear grew because I thought they’d do the “look into each other’s eyes” thing. I didn’t relax until the scene cut away.

          • I know you don’t like Beremy, but the thought popped into my head when you brought up the vigil.

            Beremy is looking better and better now. I guess it is part of Bonnie’s character to like guys who are close to her “family” (she did call Elena her sister and she would do anything to protect Elena) because she has no real family of her own. Elena’s brother>>>>>Bonnie’s foster(/adoptive?) brother

            • Bonnie’s foster(/adoptive?) brother

              I’m pretty sure he’s her foster brother. They never said Abby legally adopted him. Jaime just said Abby took him in. But of course the show doesn’t care to really clarify.

          • You just made me think of a scenario where Elena calls Jeremy to tell him Alaric’s dying, and we see his phone light up and vibrate on a dresser. Bonnie’s pops up, and we can tell from the bareness of her chest that she’s naked. She’s breathing hard and she picks up Jer’s phone. She says, “It’s Elena,” while frowning a little, and we pan down to find a shirtless (naked) Jeremy under her. He tells her to ignore it and grabs her neck to bring her in for a kiss. And scene.

            you should have seen my face as I made this headcanon. Utter approval.

            Ugh! I really wanted Bonnie to tell dude she was okay so he would leave! I really wanted Jeremy to be the one to turn the light on in the room Bamie was making out in.

            Damon’s finger twitching… GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

            • Damon’s finger twitching… GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

              And Bonnie following.

              Why did Jaime thank Bonnie for saving him? She didn’t save him. Not really. She just did what Klaus said. Why wouldn’t she? I get the thank you, but I don’t get labeling it as a save. She more helped him than saved him.

      • Damn straight he should’ve died! After all that build-up….! Geez, what *more* of a send-off can they give Alaric? This was more of a tribute than he deserved anyway. How can they “top” it? Does this mean he’s *never* leaving the show? Dammit.

        I don’t watch reality shows, but I can see how TVD might be even worse with it’s repetitiveness and pointlessness. I sense that we’re all burned out here. Time to kill TVD and put us out of our misery. And no take-backs!

        • He’s probably not going to die. If he does, it won’t be as powerful as it could’ve been in this episode. Had Alaric died in this ep, I legit would’ve thought he went out in an interesting way.

          Time to kill TVD and put us out of our misery. And no take-backs!

          Ugh. The White man rises again.

          • Exactly! I wasn’t moved, ’cause I don’t care about Alaric (and actively dislike Matt Davis now), but it should’ve been moving (and I can appreciate the other actors doing a good job reacting to his death) and these things definitely lose their power and effectiveness when the writers are too chicken to follow through… and then keep recycling. Just DO IT. Commit. And don’t dilute through repetition. TVD has ruined death with all the resurrection. I’m not religious, but I imagine people wouldn’t be so impressed if Jesus kept coming back like it was a parlor trick, right? 😉

            Adding insult to injury, Bonnie was used and abused in order to bring back Alaric. What farfetched excuse will they give us for why she neglects to brain-fry him in the next ep? Hey, if he goes after the all-important Elena, Bonnie should definitely bring him down, right?

            • I’m not religious, but I imagine people wouldn’t be so impressed if Jesus kept coming back like it was a parlor trick, right?

              Lol!

              Considering how many times Alaric has died this season, so many times that I roll my eyes whenever it happens and am sick of it, this would’ve been a good final death.

              She loves him and cares about him and doesn’t want to hurt him. Even though she was ready to kill Klaus in Alaric’s body last year and would’ve done it if Klaus wasn’t invincible.

              • “Even though she was ready to kill Klaus in Alaric’s body last year and would’ve done it if Klaus wasn’t invincible.”

                Oh that reminds me of another scene that was powerful but didn’t have it’s proper conclusion…Bonnie preparing to sacrifice herself and giving that “last look” to Elena. Kat did such a great job there. I didn’t *want* her off the show, but I remember thinking it was a shame, in a way, that it wasn’t her big heroic send-off.

                Yeah…Alaric is bigger than Jesus. And the Beatles. If fangirls are screaming and tearing their hair out for him on twitter…which I still can’t believe!

  8. I just wish that we can start this season over with someone other than JP in control. She lets her love of the actors dictate what goes on with the show. It was funny on Twitter when KW said something like he has the TVD season finale in his hand what should he do with it. The first reply was rewrite. I laughed so hard at that.

    When I saw the spoiler for Bonnie/Alaric I cringed. I just really didn’t want to see it. I love how Esther shows her appreciation to Bonnie by feeding her to Alaric and not doing a damn thing to protect her and her mother when she was using their power or whatever.

    I thought it looked so ridiculous when everybody was saying their goodbyes to Alaric. Nobody had actual tears come out of their eyes, but Bonnie. They couldn’t cry even if they wanted to. They were just giving Steven something to say.

    When Klaus was going crazy yelling at Esther in that casket I lmao! Is Rebekah really dead now? I hope so.

    I guess she is solely using Bonnie now? I don’t understand how it all works anymore.

    Forewood is wasting screen time.

    I couldn’t believe that we actually saw Bonnie’s house let alone Jamie in her bed. I was scared on the part where they were talking and he said she was amazing or something, but he was staring at her like he was crazy. All of their scenes bothered me. How is he so okay with all of this. Klaus choking him out didn’t scare him off. Bonnie can’t protect him from Klaus.

    It probably did. You know JP can’t have anyone actually care for Bonnie.

    I can’t with Bonnie/Stefan. That better not be the end of it.

    I wish with Bonnie/Damon that they would’ve been allowed to finish their conversation instead of being interrupted by Klaus. Maybe she just doesn’t care anymore. Did he break her? Did I miss that part or did she really leave with KW and this one is a clone? I don’t know what to say about this.

    Is it the actors fault or Esther’s character that drains my energy and completely takes me out of whatever scene she is in when watching her? I think Bonnie/Kat did a way better job w/o having to say anything over Rebekah/Claire.

    • She lets her love of the actors dictate what goes on with the show.

      I’m trying to figure out which actor benefits from that. Matt Davis? Because Ian doesn’t. Not really.

      It was funny on Twitter when KW said something like he has the TVD season finale in his hand what should he do with it. The first reply was rewrite. I laughed so hard at that.

      Lol!

      I love how Esther shows her appreciation to Bonnie by feeding her to Alaric and not doing a damn thing to protect her and her mother when she was using their power or whatever.

      Yes!

      They were just giving Steven something to say.

      Word.

      Rebekah’s not dead. *Sigh.* I just want them all to go away.

      I guess she is solely using Bonnie now? I don’t understand how it all works anymore.

      The producers don’t understand how it all works. They make the idea happen and think up a half ass explanation later.

      Klaus choking him out didn’t scare him off.

      Alaric being a psycho didn’t scare Meredith off. She came to his candlelight vigil. These characters stopped being realistic a long time ago which is why Bonnie stuck out like a sore thumb. But I guess she doesn’t anymore. She’s now as unrealistic as the rest.

      It didn’t escape me that we didn’t get a full shot of Bonnie’s house. They probably used a corner of the set. Literally a corner. The decor of her house seems to be red though.

      Bonnie’s completely broken.

      Her delivery is very robotic. And yeah, KG did a better job than Claire.

  9. What a nightmare.

    Like some of you, I had to totally forgotten that we had already seen Alaric in the promo for ep 21. So I got my hope up during the ep that Alaric would finally die, especially after the posing scene in front of the mausoleum. After that scene, I thought, “He’d better die for real this time.” But no. Not only didn’t he die, now he’s immortal too. Noooo. You guys, I feel so trolled.

    And I can’t with the propping of one side of the ToD by other characters. Last week it was Rose, this week it was Caroline. But at least Rose is a guest character who we’ll probably never see again. I find it even more insulting when they do this to another regular char. These writers have no respect for their characters, especially not for their secondary characters. Btw, what was up with Caroline telling Matt that Elena “was spoken for” and (basically) to stay away from her? What was that even?

    Forwood and the jealousy triangle is so ridiculous, I feel so sorry for all the actors involved in this SL. No, lbr, at this point I feel sorry for *all* the actors on this show.

    I feel like the Evil!Alaric stuff (or whatever you want to call it) is rewritten almost every single episode. In “1912”, it was implied that him killing council members was directly tied to the ring, since Samantha Gilbert was killing council members, too, and Alaric wrote this weird letter to Jeremy, the other ring-owner, implying that the ring would affect Jeremy the same way. It seemed like a possession. Then it was all about Alaric’s inner “dark side” and about him subconsciously vampires or whatever. Anyway, it seemed more like a Jekyll/Hyde situation opposed to a possession (and, I guess, it still was in this ep?). And now it’s about an external influence – Esther who has been influencing him from the other side whenever he was dead. But how does this match up with “1912” and Samantha Gilbert and the letter to Jeremy? And why switch from something internal to something external? This is one of the storylines where I don’t understand *anything* and whenever I think that I might have a grasp on it, the writers seem to change it up.

    But parts of the episode were actually funny to me because it was just that bad. “The ultimate weapon for the ultimate hunter.” Bwahaha. Or the scene when Klaus realized that there was a barrier in front of the gym and was like, “What is this?” And Stefan appeared out of thin air and went, “Yeah, your mom did this.” And then cut. What? Again – bwahaha.

    • That scene with Caroline and Matt came out of nowhere. Her worrying for him came out of nowhere. And it’s funny that she’s saying this to Matt and not Bonnie. Never even had the conversation with Bonnie.

      No, lbr, at this point I feel sorry for *all* the actors on this show.

      Word. Except for Matt Davis. They’re trying to make his character happen right now.

      What happened in this episode was a retcon of 1912. There was also a retcon last episode when they started splitting Alaric into two people. To me, it was never a possession. It was him and his psyche was deteriorating because his human body kept doing something that’s not natural for mortals: it kept coming back to life after being killed.

      Or the scene when Klaus realized that there was a barrier in front of the gym and was like, “What is this?” And Stefan appeared out of thin air and went, “Yeah, your mom did this.”

      Lmao! It’s like Stefan was waiting for Klaus. Lol! But I found Klaus’ reaction funny too. I love it when he just can’t believe something is happening. He takes his precious time to be surprised and let the disbelief sink in.

      • “That scene with Caroline and Matt came out of nowhere. Her worrying for him came out of nowhere. And it’s funny that she’s saying this to Matt and not Bonnie. Never even had the conversation with Bonnie.”

        I thought it was so gross that the show had her basically say that Elena is chained to the Salvatores. “Either way she’s spoken for.” As if there is no other option for her. As if she had to choose one of them. Yuck! I mean, we, the audience, know that the ToD will be there for the rest of this series but the characters don’t know that. And I can’t help but wonder if this scene was there to revive Matt/Caroline or for Matt/Elena purposes (twist in the finale).

        Yeah, I loved Klaus’ reaction too. You wouldn’t think that this guy has been alive for a thousand years.

        • This is the same girl that said, in reference to herself, “I’m spoken for” when talking about her relationship with Tyler. She does love the old South, afterall *______*.

    • Esther influencing Alaric to be evil was dumb as hell. No character is ever responsible for their own actions. This ruins every storyline.

      ia that parts of the ep were funny. I lmao at the giant circle of salt. All the students walked over it like it was no big deal. There must be piles of salt around their school everyday. No one tried to even move some of it. It would have been funny if Jeremy rolled his eyes and kicked it only to hurt his foot. Unfortunately, this show is rarely intentionally funny.

      What is a Caroline or Tyler at this point? I loled when Tyler said that he wanted Klaus to die because of jealousy or something. What? He really doesn’t mind dying because Caroline smiled at Klaus a couple of times? Where is his mother? Parenting fail.

      • “Esther influencing Alaric to be evil was dumb as hell. No character is ever responsible for their own actions. This ruins every storyline.”

        Yes. I feel like it could have been interesting if this SL had been about Alaric subconsciously hating himself/all other vampire sympathizers. And this could also have been the reason why he stabbed himself that one time.

        “What is a Caroline or Tyler at this point?”

        Too true.

        This reminded me of another stellar line from this ep, Klaus’ “I don’t have to prove anything, love. I am the alpha male.” ?! Lol. Btw, I’m never sure when it comes to Klaus: Do they write him so ridiculous on purpose or by accident?

        • I don’t know how Alaric went from just killing people, to killing vampire sympathizers, to wanting to kill vampires. His list in 1912 did not include the names of any vampire. And if he hates vampire sympathizers, why has he kept from killing Elena?

          Poor Joseph Morgan. There isn’t enough talent in the world to keep Klaus from looking pathetic every time he’s affected by Caroline’s rejection.

      • No character is ever responsible for their own actions.

        It’s TVD’s motto. Even in this episode, Damon was like, “It’s Elijah’s fault your mother got killed.”

        Did they think it was snow or something? And yeah, how did no one walk through the circle of salt and break it?

        Where is his mother? Parenting fail.

        LOL!

        Tyler was in a gym angsting over his murderer flirting with his girlfriend. What stupidity.

Flail or vent

