Episode 78: TVD’s Heart of Darkness

Episode 78

Excuse me a minute while I freakout over Bonnie/Jaime in tonight’s episode.

Spoiler Chat: 05:09.750-36:58.500

Anyways! When it comes to Heart of Darkness, “It’s like they were so concerned with making sure Delena worked and went off without a hitch, so concerned and so worried about that that they put all of their energy into their scenes and their dialogue, and forgot about everybody else. And it worked! Delena went off without a hitch. [….] Everybody else? Fell flat. No one else had any depth.”

This episode had dry, stale, and static dialogue. Everything not Delena felt like filler until we could hit the next Delena scene. We have Rebekah who gets tricked three times, Stefan and Alaric who sit in a cellar and talk, Caroline and Tyler sleep together and talk, and Jeremy is used as a plot device. I have an epiphany about compartmentalizing Elena/Delena and how I no longer care about Elena’s relationships outside of the Salvatores, and I go on a rant about Jeremy, Jeremy/Elena, and Bonnie/Elena.

Quotes of the podcast: “Team Triangle, and the Elena/Jeremy relationship and the Elena/Bonnie friendship can pretty much burn in hell. Really. That’s where those relationships are anyway; they’re rotting away in hell.”

“Why were Matt and Rebekah in a car together? Only on The Vampire Diaries would this happen without it being a hostage situation. Only on The Vampire Diaries would Matt kill Rebekah’s brother and then Rebekah and Matt end up in a car together, and it’s not because Rebekah’s holding Matt hostage.”

Episode 22 Summary

First look at the finale

Esther comes back with a vengeance

Klaroline, Rebekah, and Bonnie tidbit

JP talks about episode 20 (and episode 19)

May Sweeps poster

JP interview

No White Noise reviews episode 19

21 thoughts on “Episode 78: TVD’s Heart of Darkness

  1. LOLOLOL. I LOVED the first 5 episodes. I got hooked on the show in ep 1. I never got hooked on a show that first. I loved the creepiness of Stelena and Stefan. I mean, there is this weird creepy supernatural guy basically stalking a teenage girl. I loved Damon’s lack of emo-ness. I miss Elena’s brain. I miss Caroline being an actual character and not this plastic doll with shallow emotions. I miss EVERYONE being an actual character.

    • Scandal is the first show where I got hooked on the first episode. I think I was in that episode 1-episode 6 block of people. I just knew it had to get better, and I think episode 2 (where Bonnie realized she’d predicted Tanner’s death) made me think I might’ve made the right choice, and then Haunted sold me on the show. I think that was episode 7.

  2. This is making me worried for Scandal. I wonder what the bloggers are saying about that show. I haven’t looked yet. OMG! DNW shows written by random people (mostly shippers lbr) who are not writers.

  3. I haven’t listened to the podcast yet, but I’m going to comment on the spoilers.

    Can IS string together a sentence anymore? I’m not even sure what he’s trying to say. Anyway, I hope like hell that Stefan leaves town. It would be a repeat of last season, but it would be more interesting than repeating last season and pasting Damon in his place. Plus, I no longer care to do the will they won’t they dance with Damon/Elena anymore. It needs to happen. Because it’s not like the love triangle is really going to end and I just want to be able to care about other things.

    This show makes my brain hurt. I’m not sure I can make it to the end.

    • Can IS string together a sentence anymore?

      Right? He and JP seem to have the same problem. They have trouble finding their point and answering the question directly. I hope you’re referring to the tidbit where he commented on fans’ reactions to the Delena kiss? Because that’s the most recent one that had me shaking my head.

      I have a strong feeling that it’s going to be Stefan. Just because they did it last season, so they might be getting into the habit. It’ll be poetic.

      I just want to be able to care about other things.

      Word.

      • I just read the “full circle” quote and that gives me hope that Stefan is the one who is leaving because he is always the one leaving or attempting to leave and I just don’t think Elena and Stefan should get back together or that Damon should leave town so I who knows. I’m just over Stelena and the triangle.

        Where’s what he said about the Delena kiss? I only saw the stuff about finale?

        By the end of the episode, Elena had pulled back from Damon, even though the audience (along with Jeremy) had heard ghost Rose’s passionate plea for why she should choose Damon.

        This is the dumbest thing I’ve read in regards to Rose’s appearance in the last episode.

        • I’m over Stelena too. Like I said in the podcast, I’m more interested in Delena, and if Stefan must be involved, then it should be in triangle form, not just him and Elena, because I’m not sure what Stefan is anymore :(.

          NN234: On TVD, anything on the love triangle? Anything at all? I’ll take anything!

          Well, as you saw in last week’s episode, Elena and Damon are just getting started with their, um, let’s call it exploration of feelings. And Ian Somerhalder is girding himself for more backlash, since just one kiss launched a million fan wars on the Internet. “I think a lot of them were really excited and a lot of them were really angry,” he tells us about Elena and Damon’s make out session. “It was like a minefield, the Internet, the twitter-verse and everything. I think it became like a minefield. One kiss.” What’s going to happen if Elena chooses Damon in the finale? Play nice, TVD fans!

          Read more: http://www.eonline.com/news/watch_with_kristin/spoiler_chat_daily_scoop_on_house/311000#ixzz1tB6Ola1B

          I can just imagine his gesticulations. Lol.

          Elena didn’t even pull back from Damon.

          • I was talking with a friend about it the other day and it hit me that my biggest issues with this ripper!storyline is, outside of it not being well written or having direction or follow through or even plot relevance to Stefan as his own character, that Stefan isn’t in character and so many elements of canon established in s1 have been retconned to make this storyline work (Lexi, Stefan and Damon being in and out of each other’s lives, Stefan choosing to go off of blood on his own, everyone’s knowledge and memory of Miss Mystic Falls) and I just can’t with it anymore. I have issues with the word ripper and how the way the storyline played out turned Stefan into a shell of an animal. How does he function? Is this question I keep asking myself and no amount of head canon can make this work.

            I don’t have a problem with Stefan having had a dark period, where he did kill people, or even having slipped up a few times but my friend helped me put it into perspective that the ripper!storyline is barely a step above mustache twirling for Stefan. I would have preferred a storyline that was actually thought out, still with elements of what has occurred in the show (Klaus and Rebekah and aspects of The Dinner Party, though I would change it so he went slightly off the rails after Damon left or just because he’d had blood and he liked it and he actually left Damon. Something more than what they gave us) only with less of a focus on body count and gore and more of a focus on motive. I wouldn’t have had to see Stefan kill one person, but if he had talked about killing someone or feeding, in a way that suggested it had been a long time since he was able to talk about it and he missed it and he wanted it and he was enjoying it, that would have been just as effective. I would have enjoyed that more. It would have knocked Stefan off of his pedastal, but then maybe we would be watching him recover and get an idea of how he managed to the first time. Why he did it the first time…instead of what we’ve gotten.

            I don’t know why I blathered on and on about it, but I’ve just been thinking a lot about what has bothered me about Stefan’s storyline this season and mostly it’s because it turned into exactly what I thought it would turn into, a vehicle for Delena. I had a point at one point, oh yeah, Stelena would be a step back for both Stefan and Elena, but especially for Stefan.

            IS needs to be less into this. I mean, I don’t know how happy he is with his storyline, but his interviews always seem really…I don’t know “haha, the people who watch this show.”

            • everyone’s knowledge and memory of Miss Mystic Falls

              Sadness.

              You’re right though. When you stop giving the writers credit, when you realize that nothing links these new infos about Stefan back to what we knew of him in season 1, there has been retcons all over his story. Starting, I believe, with when he and Lexi first met. Damon knowing why Stefan doesn’t drink blood might tie though.

              but my friend helped me put it into perspective that the ripper!storyline is barely a step above mustache twirling for Stefan.

              That’s very true. My brain never completed the thought, but I think it was most noticeable when Stefan was basically a walking one-liner, i.e. the period when he was under Klaus’ compulsion and had to protect Elena. He’d walk into a room, say something snarky, and walk out (but not before he smirked in a deranged way). A lot of people were enamored with the snark and were saying he’s a better badass than Damon, but there was barely anything there. You’re right that there was no internal motive. And then they tried to give him one with that “Klaus took everything from me” crap.

              Needless to say, I prefer your version. The writers went for flash and things that would make people go, “Is this really the thoughtful and caring Stefan that we know and love?” Ugh.

              Like I said somewhere, it’s ridiculous that Stefan has regained his humanity right when Delena is taking off.

  4. starting it off right with the music.

    lol NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

    This is them trolling. Now about the somber music. lol

    Spoilers:

    Is Jeremy going to die? *not excited* Jeremy could kill Alaric.

    To bad Stefan and Damon aren’t leaving for good.

    Tyler and Bonnie’s scene will get cut. 😡

    omg death threats. lol

    victim blame tyler why dontcha.

    Damon’s going to make “cute” jokes about Bonnie and Jamie. My headache is coming back.

    It’s problematic if Ester is possessing Bonnie. I would rather it was Ayanna or Emily again. Someone from Bonnie’s Family. Someone who looks like Bonnie.

    This is pisses me off because they killed Gina Torres in one episode … GINA TORRES!

    Bonnie and Jeremy is in there too.

    Jeremy kissed Elena when she came back from being kidnapped by elijah/rose

    This sounds like what Stefan and Elena would do.

    dry and stale because Steven is tired. Elena want’s to know what rose said about her and damon so she can know what lie to give Jeremy.

    Jeremy was on a Bonnie making Caroline a ring level … except worse. 😉

    It’s the compulsion. That’s why he can’t believe Kol is a vampire.

    “Matt to die – oops!” LOL

    Stefan needed to be in this episode because he is a MAIN STAR. He needs to be in all the scenes.

    that was a long pause.

    Bonnie will forgive Elena for some screen time.

    Jeremy would endorse this relationship now because he hates Elena. *shrug*

    When you’re in high school with a vampire … LOL

    Random wind. lol STOP

    Stefan is the more interesting brother because we know fuck all about him and what’s going on inside his head.

    My precious. HA

    I think Damon would relax more but I don’t think he could let elena kill herself for anyone else. I think if he were with her he would get more comfortable with Elena’s friends and what’s left of her family. He would think he could poke more at Jeremy because he they’re practically related now that he’s “banging” Jer’s sister. He could get comfortable because Elena would have his back over the people she’s know for most of her life. I mean more so than now. 🙄

    Damon’s not going to lash out because it’s not Bonnie’s mother this time. >_>

    Plot?

    what about the vampires … but maybe Mikhael never turned anyone. just killed vampires. who knows IDC

    “My sprirt.” Awww the say you say that makes me want to give you hugs

    “up and wet” omg lol

    Paul Wesley. :X

    Careful Alta, you’re writing Caroline, Stefan stories. I think that will happen and end came will probbaly be Caroline/Stefan I don’t care though.

    Even if Elijah turned a hand full of people when he was new those vampires could have tuned load of other people and so on so I think it would still count.

    I think that if Alaric still wears the ring that the other version of himself should take over. It would be like a poision (or a cure) and the more he wears it the more he irrevocable changes.

    these writers have not idea how what works? pormentues?

    lol “other him.”

    lol poor Paul Wesley.

    this scene, I still haven’t watched the episode, but I feel like this scene and it’s dialogue belongs between Tyle/Klaus. I thought this was about breaking the sire bond. smh

    If Rebeca and Matt’s genders were switched it would have been a hostage situation.

    We can comfort each other about the Bamie thing.

    • *Sigh.* I’m going to be so scared tonight.

      Tyler and Bonnie’s scene will get cut.

      Lmao.

      Jeremy kissed Elena when she came back from being kidnapped by elijah/rose

      Oh that’s right, but that was a relieved kiss. I think it’s different.

      Stefan needed to be in this episode because he is a MAIN STAR. He needs to be in all the scenes.

      Smh. I think this is the second time I’ve wondered why Stefan is in an episode. And there was an episode this season where I felt Elena was not needed. I wonder when Damon’s turn will come.

      that was a long pause.

      I don’t know which part this is in, but at one point (because the podcast had so many tracks what with the music), the sound waves disappeared on one of the tracks where I was talking, so I couldn’t see them in order to that particular track. I had to guess *_____*. That could be where there’s the long pause. I only edited the unnecessary sounds so I wouldn’t mess it up.

      I think if he were with her he would get more comfortable with Elena’s friends and what’s left of her family.

      I can’t picture this happening. Smh. I feel like Elena’s all Damon needs, not the other components in her life.

      “My sprirt.” Awww the say you say that makes me want to give you hugs

      Lol. *Hugs.*

      these writers have not idea how what works? pormentues?

      Portmanteau’s. The mashup of names: Beremy, Delena, Stelena, etc.

      You’re so right! That scene would’ve worked better between Tyler and Klaus. In theory anyways since the Hybrid story is not all it could be. Not even close.

      Ugh.

      Yes! I’m going to need all the comforting I can get.

      • Smh. I think this is the second time I’ve wondered why Stefan is in an episode. And there was an episode this season where I felt Elena was not needed. I wonder when Damon’s turn will come.

        What’s weird to me about these three always being the episodes is, all the other regulars are signed for the same amount of episodes, more or less, and they miss episodes all the time and yet, the show isn’t called Damon/Elena/Stefan and Stefan and Damon aren’t the only vampires so…I don’t get making them work.

      • I can’t picture this happening. Smh. I feel like Elena’s all Damon needs, not the other components in her life.

        I can see Bonnie there doing a spell at Elena’s or somewhere and Damon there figuratively patting her on the head like nothing ever happened. :X

        Portmanteau’s. The mashup of names: Beremy, Delena, Stelena, etc.

        You are so smart. *envy*

  5. I lost half of my comments because Chrome crashed, but I wanted to say that just the other day I was charmed and seduced and confused by a dangerous young man.

    What would be the point of Tyler not breaking the sire bond? He’s been gone for about ten years.

    Those are huge spoilers about Rebekah. I don’t even need to care about Rebekah or Esther or anything. No suspense at all.

    What are people talking about? Bonnie’s smiled before.

    Caroline needs to shut up. I don’t know why she’s still on team Stefan. I don’t know why the show is still trying to sell their friendship. They’ve spoken once this season. This needs to stop.

    The poster is hideous.

    I hope Elena doesn’t become a vampire. I would hate that.

    I wish we saw them in school. Because none of the stuff they do outside of school works for me.

    Vicki was a vampire when she died. And John was human. I don’t know. Maybe Vicki was going to be in the flashbacks.

    They can do it “A lot” because they don’t plan shit and never think about bringing characters back instead of changing the entire plot of the season.

    The original Klaus plot sounds better than what actually happened. I think Joseph Morgan could have pulled that shit off, judging from his scenes in the last two episodes of s2.

    The stories are probably the better show we all wish we were watching.

    JP is a bad writer and storyteller. That’s why the show keeps doing what it is doing.

    I really can’t stand her. I really can’t. I just want to curl up into a ball and give up because she is so uninterested in telling character-driven stories and that’s a huge part of why I got into the show.

    +++

    Everyone else’s lines were filler. I mean, why was Forwood even hanging about?

    “Like he just got here.” I’m dying.

    Stefan giving his permission is a dumb mess.

    Who knew Rebekah was so invested in Caroline not seeing Tyler?

    Jeremy has kissed her before. With slightly more pressure to, but I can’t remember which episode this occurs in. I remember he was holding onto her too.

    This podcast is hilarious!

    None of the actors want to be there anymore.

    I wish they’d done something with Kol and Jeremy. I also think they should have just spaced these Originals out, so instead of being a collective who sometimes spent time in coffins. They could function as minor villains.

    They should have just said that when people come back from the dead they can see ghosts.

    You kinda want Matt to die maybe? Or to leave for awhile.

    I know what you mean about Elena. I no longer care about her other relationships. Though I can’t be bothered to care about Stefan as a component of the Triangle.

    I’m going to disagree on the Stefan/Caroline front. They haven’t had a real scene since last season.

    The thing is an on screen explanation shouldn’t be necessary. The relationship should happen. Unless of course there’s some character specific reason for the attraction.

    Someone has to pay attention to Stefan! Why would Elena experience anything with Stefan? His love is pure. Or something. The thing is all this happened in s1. It happened in s1. Like some of their conversations were about this in s1.

    Damon often gets lines that contain more characterization than Stefan’s arc this season.

    He would be worse. Or he’d relax…not so far as not killing someone;s mother.

    It’s because Stefan’s his brother! I can’t even with Damon having so many connections to the Originals. I can’t with the connections to the Originals.

    Wish Stefan had just started beating Alaric up on his own, as like a “Surprise, I’m gonna hit you!”

    I can’t even with Stefan’s storyline. Or his dialogue. Or his anything at this point. Or this addiction business. Nope. I can’t even rewatch that scene.

    They could make the blood thing a part of him and then have his thing be “we’ve got to reign Stefan in”.

    Why would Alaric understand? What is she talking about? Why didn’t she just tell the truth? Alaric isn’t even present at the moment.

    • I lost half of my comments because Chrome crashed, but I wanted to say that just the other day I was charmed and seduced and confused by a dangerous young man.

      I bet you don’t know how you feel about that. Because you just don’t know these things.

      What would be the point of Tyler not breaking the sire bond? He’s been gone for about ten years.

      The same point as Jeremy going to Denver for safety.

      Smh. People love to act brand new wrt Bonnie.

      The only reason I can give for why Caroline’s on team Stefan is that she’s perky. No, it makes no sense, but neither does her being on any Salvatore team.

      The poster is hideous.

      Lmao.

      I remembered Vicky died as a vamp as I was editing that part. And yeah, I think they were going to have her in the flashbacks too.

      I just want to curl up into a ball and give up because she is so uninterested in telling character-driven stories and that’s a huge part of why I got into the show.

      I don’t know how many times I can say “It’s frustrating,” before it comes off like I’m not actually interested, I’m just saying words. When that’s not the case at all.

      Who knew Rebekah was so invested in Caroline not seeing Tyler?

      Not the writers. You just reminded me that this would fit, somewhat, if they’d kept the whole Rebekah wanting everything Caroline has thing, including Tyler.

      There were two instances, and Cana reminded me of one. There was when she came back from being kidnapped by Rose. The first instance was after Jenna got stabbed. In the hospital, he promised her that they weren’t going to let Katherine get away with it.

      I also think they should have just spaced these Originals out, so instead of being a collective who sometimes spent time in coffins. They could function as minor villains.

      That makes too much sense and reeks of knowing the limits of your story.

      Nah, when I said Matt, I was thinking of Matt Davis, not ZR’s character.

      They haven’t. I was just thinking that simply due to the absence of fuckery (as in hurting each other, not the Ripper thing and Caroline losing her mind on that front) that they were more alive. But maybe they shouldn’t even be part of the conversation.

      The thing is all this happened in s1. It happened in s1. Like some of their conversations were about this in s1.

      Yes!!!

      as like a “Surprise, I’m gonna hit you!”

      *Dead.*

      Alaric isn’t even present at the moment.

      So much truth.

Flail or vent

