Episode 76: TVD’s The Murder of One

Episode 76

**Apologies for my voice breaking!

Spoiler Chat: 07:16.875-33:14.344

Not in the order talked about on the podcast:

The Good: Bonnie (the scene where she sees Damon is one of her strongest of the season, if not the series), Klaus (this episode was a great look into his psychosis), Rebekah (if the poor girl had lived out her human life, she never would have gotten to see how messed up her family could be), Finn/Sage aka the plot, and Damon.

The Whatever: Elena, Stefan, and Alaric.

And the Rant: Caroline (the horrible scene with Elena and the ridiculous scene with Alaric).

TVD poster 1

TVD poster 2

TVD Poster 3

Julie previews the rest of the season

zap2it talks to Steven McQueen

Episode 20 synopsis

Episode 20 stills

Episode 21 synopsis

Candice Accola snippet

24 thoughts on “Episode 76: TVD’s The Murder of One

    • Hi!

      I talked about how I envision a “dark Bonnie” in one of my comments in a post: Bonnie’s already done plenty of shady things, so the word “dark” doesn’t work. It’s too simplistic a label.

      To me, Bonnie means dark means putting herself first. By that I mean, none of that wishy-washy, I can’t do it, Stefan what do you think, Elena what do you think, I’m gonna call/check with Damon, etc. She’d still save people. She’d still help, but she wouldn’t need anybody to ask her. She’d be a one woman army because she can be a one-woman army. She has the grimoire, she has the spells, she has the power. None of them know more about magic than she does, so she doesn’t need them. She’d have a minute entourage in the forms of Caroline and Jeremy, if that. To me it means being more independent and way more strict. Like she was late season 1/early season 2, only angrier, more hardened, and wiser. And as a resolution, it would just taper down. That’s it. “Dark” usually means the person needs to eventually be saved, and that’s not what I want for Bonnie. She’d still want to save everyone (including Elena), but she wouldn’t mess with allies because that’s how she lost her mother in the first place.

      So more things like invading people’s minds for info, using her powers, less patience, roofying suspects, etc. But not the channeling without permission thing. 1)I really don’t think they’ll be bringing another witch friend for Bonnie, fake or not, and 2)I really don’t think she’d do something like that again. Not so soon anyway.

      Can I see the show doing that for an arc? I really don’t know. I see no setup for it whatsoever. One of the annoying things about this show is that they rarely do setups. They have stuff out of nowhere (which then leads them to botch it). So it could still happen, but I really doubt it. That would require focusing on Bonnie to a degree these people have not shown they’re willing to go. I would say 3.20 will tell us whether or not they’re heading for a dark Bonnie, but again, they don’t do setups. Not only that, but it sounds like she’s being a team player in both episode 20 and episode 21. So I guess my answer is that I don’t think they’ll do it. I’ll be surprised if they do, and I’ll faint if they do it well.

      That tweet sounds like another one of her non-answers. I feel like she gives the DE/SE fans more than that when they ask for a preview of a storyline. Heck, she gave a big clue as to what the next Decade Dance’s theme would be when she made that tweet about writing it. Bonnie hasn’t been doing any magic that would lead to consequences for her. Again, that could be coming up, it could be what the “terrifying risk” she and Jeremy take is about, but I doubt it. I don’t think they’re that committed to the character, and I don’t think they’re that committed to exploring relationship and group dynamics.

      Do you think chances are good they’ll do it?

  1. After hearing what’s in store for the next couple of episodes, I can’t help, but beg for Kevin Williamson to come back. I just want to say
    again that I loved the Klaus and Bonnie scenes. I don’t have the strength to talk about everyone else in that episode again.
    I’m interested to see Jeremy and Bonnie interacting again once he gets back in town. I’m also hoping that she’s just using Jamie to get away from it all and is trying to be around someone who is normal and not part of what she’s trapped in. (Not too long ago I watched a video in an interview in where Kat was happy talking about her music and everything, but when asked about what’s going on with Bonnie she replied with, “she’s stuck in Mystic Falls”. It was hilarious to me.)
    I still feel like Bonnie was the only one concerned about Jeremy’s well being when she found out that Elena had him compelled again and vice versa. They looked out for each other and I liked that friendship/relationship.
    I think Elijah turned Rose. I just feel it.
    I lol’d at work when you said that Tyler doesn’t remember who Mason is. With that in mind I don’t understand how he would have an interesting arc in season 4. What is there for him besides Caroline?
    The first 2 posters are completely ridiculous. On the first one why do I see so much of Damon’s chest? Is that a long v-neck or something? Not a good look and that hair looks a fool as usual. Why is Elena overdressed? Stefan looks fine to me. Klaus looks oddly placed like he was just photoshopped in at the last minute. The second one is starting to look like they’re copying off of True Blood with the promo pictures from their last season minus the rest of the characters from the show. When I see promo pictures or posters for various shows I’m used to seeing all of the cast, but I guess there are only 4 people now representing the show and sometimes Caroline. I want to see everyone and not just them all the time. They could at least put them in the background or something.

    • Not too long ago I watched a video in an interview in where Kat was happy talking about her music and everything, but when asked about what’s going on with Bonnie she replied with, “she’s stuck in Mystic Falls”. It was hilarious to me.

      Lmao. Probably the only actor happy with their character this season is Zach Roerig. Maybe Candice Accola.

      I think she was the only one concerned too. The only one concerned about what he would’ve wanted. I hope they touch on that.

      What is there for him besides Caroline?

      Exactly. It’s hard to imagine what a story for him would look like. I read on Tumblr earlier today that MT said in a panel (what panel, I’m not sure yet), that Tyler and Bonnie are going to have a one on one scene. I welcome that very much :D. Then someone said it might be that Bonnie’s taking the vampire out of him (*sigh.* I still don’t get the point of this), and my balloon deflated a little.

      Klaus looks oddly placed like he was just photoshopped in at the last minute.

      Yeah, he does.

      I really wonder when we’ll get promo pics for the rest of the cast. Next season? *Sigh.*

      • I read on Tumblr earlier today that MT said in a panel (what panel, I’m not sure yet), that Tyler and Bonnie are going to have a one on one scene. I welcome that very much 😀 . Then someone said it might be that Bonnie’s taking the vampire out of him (*sigh.* I still don’t get the point of this), and my balloon deflated a little.

        it doesn’t matter because maybe he’ll latch on to her and then the truth about mason will come out … *ugly cries*

          • If Bonnie can take the vampire out of Tyler she should be able to do the same for Caroline. You think she snuck some of Klaus’ blood away or something? I’m tired of thinking for this show. I am so tired.

            • I don’t think he two should be equal. This isn’t a fully-formed though, but maybe Bonnie could use Tyler’s werewolf half to push his vampire half out? Kind of like making his blood poison his body. This is, of course, completely cracky. For Tyler to become undead, I maintain that someone should die in his place. A life for a life. Or maybe that wouldn’t be necessary since hasn’t been dead that long? Unlike Caroline. Ugh! They just should not have made him a Hybrid. But I can’t see them keeping him a Hybrid without Klaus on the show.

              Turning him back into just a werewolf should be a heavy-duty spell that involves a ritual and the moon. I actually thought about writing a fic in which Tyler asks Bonnie if she can turn him back into just a werewolf again.

              • Ugh! They just should not have made him a Hybrid. THIS!

                Whatever I need to do make it easier for you to write that story … *creepy whisper voice* let me know … 😉

                • Lmao. Chances that I might write it have become high since I wrote that reply. But it wouldn’t be a Tonnie story like I originally planned. I just spent the past hour thinking of an AU for Bonnie in episode 20, and I might write it after the episode (because I want her to be dressed in her 20s garb, plus that scene with Damon might tie into it), and the Tonnie scenario would just figure into the fic.

  2. I was joking about waiting forever for the PC. 😡

    description for the this post. LOL

    the fire makes me think of Bonnie too.

    Spoilers!

    yay JP … >_>

    “Steamy Reunion”

    I mean … Bonnie and Jeremy. :\ Steven is forever bitter. The point of him leaving was to get him away from Bonnie and their fallout. Jeremy was def manipulated by Elena inc.

    You better write that fic before you watch it. LMAO music.

    I won’t hear you screaming … over my own tears. there will be actual audio of loud ass tears falling from my face.

    So I guess Matt is dead? Alaric’s chances are looking better and better for permanent death! \o/

    Hey! maybe that’s what those promos were of Alaric/matt looking like and extra from The Walking Dead! 😀 STEFAN DID IT!

    Why is Meredith still around?

    Elena’s cry face, I’m sick of it.

    What if the enemy is Abby … never mind. >_>

    Maybe the party is at Bonnie’s house?

    UNEXPECTED ALLY! *thunder crack*
    DEADLY TURN *car crash*

    The stills are probably not from the show. It’s probably Kat. The format doesn’t even look the same as the other and the resolution quality isn’t the same. Bonnie is magically medicating herself ….

    Bonnie couldn’t be happy with Jeremy because he was Elena’s brother … Jamie has no ties to Elena so … (other than her loving him at first sight) he can’t last long

    YES Rebekah’s dress in the past! I miss that Rebekah. I feel like now she is just viewed through all the men’s filter. that’s why we’re seeing her this way. She’s still a bad ass, the dudes just can’t see and we see what they see … unfortunately.

    DAMON IS THE ONLY ONE! LOL he got uninvited.

    Bet Damon’s gonna get Bonnie’s help because of banter about how she left him to rot. wah wah wah, “my mom” wah wah wha “for Elena” to which Bonnie should respond with a drag queen’s head roll.

    Abby though? smh I thought of Esther. Why would Abby come back?

    maybe stefan and damon are sorry about what they did to abby …prob not.

    But i do like that Abby’s coming back and that maybe she will confront her murderer for what he did to her. That could be a sole abby thing. I mean the choking tweet! D’= I cry cause I know it’s not coming. D’=

    Elena protecting Caroline? *squints*

    what if Jeremy like puffs himself up to Jamie? Like “watch out for her” or something?

    You’re getting your hopes way up. 😡

    How are Caroline and Rebekah on the same level? but then again Klaus went after Stefan …

    The moon stone has more story than tyler ever will … sadly and probably the same for Bonnie. :\

    [/spoiler]

    THE MURDER OF ONE!

    So that’s another reason why bonnie stayed away. she realizes these people aren’t serious about taking Klaus out.

    Alaric talking … stop

    Stefan Saying “WTH” = LOL!

    Dagger lol ugh.

    Rememeber then Meridith made that comment about Isobel because she stayed with Alaric when she put a restraining order out on him. Well Pot/Kettle/Meridith.

    Stefan seems older than Damon.

    CAROLINE/ELENA SCENE BEST SCENE EVER not

    where do you get this music. *snicker*

    Elena inc. is the cause for the cursed and the damn.

    I don’t understand how Elena has friends. *throws hands in the air*

    Everyone’s DEEPEST FEAR is being shunned by Elena Gilbert. a la Jeremy Gilbert.

    I can’t believe that Elena used Abby’s story like that. smh

    “who would I be if I turn my back on any of you?” but what does that have to do with Abby? Have they even talked? Elena doesn’t even know Abby and she’s using her as an excuse for why Caroline should be okay with Alaric … It’s not connecting at all. Elena can’t turn her back on Abby because she never even faced her. So … stfu

    Caroline is placid … poor thing.

    What scene with Klaus?

    I was side-eying that Carter could have been a dad ish. Carter could have been someone’s brother or Son … I guess we can’t see Caroline as a child murderer. She is.

    Elena will give her friends their space … not the Salvatore’s though or Alaric.

    Elena does use people to get what she wants. okaaaaaaay.

    Because Elena and Bonnie can’t have a relationship where she does spells for Elena or listens to her whine about Damon if they are on opposite sides of the savior spectrum. They would have to be not as close and Bonnie would have to be like Gloria was to Klaus or how Damon was to Bree. They would have to have an understanding that certain lines can never be cross if you want to continue the relationship.

    Caroline was more angry at Damon for coming after Bill than she was at Alaric who actually murdered him.

    I bet Stefan’s text triggered Bonnie. I bet Stefan sent out a “bat signal” group text that has Bonnie in it or something. I don’t think he had feeling like … ” oh should I, shan’t I” Nope he was just like “well we have these sticks I want everyone to meet me so I can pass them out.” Lol Surprised that he didn’t have Damon text her to save time. >_>

    omg music again!

    I did like Matt’s face though after they asked about Bonnie. he looked piss, but he always looks pissed.

    Didn’t they have Caroline nudge Damon. That rang false to me. So false.

    Why is Caroline bait and not just “a distraction”?

    Maybe Damon knows about klaus/caroline because Rebecka told him?

    This is why I wish Joss Whedon was writing this or even the peeps from Supernatural.

    LOL the die of sadness. LOL too many disney movies, Care-Bear.

    Caroline said she enjoys killing … I blocked out that whole scene. Even if Caroline said Bonnie was right the fandom wouldn’t give her credit.

    LMAO at Elena thinking it’s weird Bonnie would not take her calls. *squints*

    Wow. Elena doesn’t even know WHAT Klaus did to make her do the spell. Bonnie only says He forced her and that he threatened her mom and Jeremy, but her “friend” is crying. Can you imagine if that scene had been played all from Elena’s side with just audio from Bonnie. We didn’t see Kat on screen, just her voice on the other line?

    (listens to audio)

    It sounds like she’s still there, like she called from the mansion and has to go really quickly before her captors find out she’s sending for help. Elena isn’t pressed for anything but Damon … it makes me queasy.

    “Oh you were kidnapped? … How’s Damon?” pretty much.

    “Not after you killed Abby, I can’t flake on this plan.” The way she said it like the guy who murdered Abby wasn’t asking her the damn question. stop.

    I feel like Damon would try to hurry up and Kill an original and that would be the way to save his brother.

    Bye Elena. ugh

    Damon:

    lol at if he almost set it on fire, the stake.

    I would have loved that if she had turned him upside down. I did like Klaus and Rebekah in that scene. it was cute of them. Joseph and Claire won that.

    Knew it was a dream, but I thought that it was going to turn out to be Bonnie. Like Damon thought it was Elena but then she started to hurt him because of what he did … And I thought it would play like Oh now Elena suddenly has magic powers WHAT! oh no it’s Bonnie OH CRAP!

    I don’t know why she chose that to make him suffer. smh I guess it’s like waking up from a nice dream. *shrugs*

    I feel like with Elena and Damon if he bites her it’s because he makes sure she consents. What the hell is he going to do about food? He’ll still feed from other women. I bet if/went they get into biting it will be played like virgin sex with a sensitive passionate lover. That’s how they always play it.

    Isn’t it funny that Damon is always picking up Stefan’s castaways or whomever he’s been with already.

    They tipped their hand by giving up the stakes and confessing to Finn’s death. That was dumb.

    That’s why immorality is kind of a curse. Those vampires are so cray.

    I have to say that I liked the music in the torture scene. “Shame and Fortune” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs

    Ew! go take Elena to go make a family. D=

    Gurl you know why Esther is still here. You now why. SMH.

    Incest! Maybe that’s why Rebecka is precious because she watched out for him. IDK

    ALTA “daggered/undaggered” gurl. 😛

    That’s hardcore Alta. 😡 I don’t think I’ve ever gone that hard for a show.

    wow I didn’t even thing about Michael … he could have been the vamp who made them. The Salvatore’s. i wish.

    I bet if Abby was turned by another original they wouldn’t even care about her. she’d have to die. And Bonnie wouldn’t be expected to care enough to try to save her or whatever.

    Matt killed an original! That’s cray.

    Bonnie:

    no more nose bleeds cause they don’t care. She did look her best but she was a mess. who knows when Klaus took her.

    I feel like the reason that line read funny is probably because Kat had to do a ADR later because the fire was too loud in the background. lol romantic fire burning and I’m not even a shipper.

    good point about needing Elena’s blood to unlink it. Funny that it’s in Abby’s spell book.

    My headcanon for the tracking spell not working to find Stefan was cause Bonnie probs didn’t do it or even want it to work.

    Klaus really had a lot of personality in this episode. He was scary in this episode. When he said he’d bring Abby back in pieces my mouth may have dropped open. That was a different kind of Klaus, that was villain Klaus and I liked it. I liked that Bonnie throws his arm away from her and the way she looks at him and he’s kinda smirking.

    What you’re talking about kinda reminds me of what Angelus did to Drusilla to a lesser degree. Angelus corrupted Drusilla and made her mad. She was studying to be a nun and he turned he on the way she was taking her vows. O_O

    I’ve watched the scene and when he leans into her space with those lies and eye and in a soft, soothing almost caring tone to his voice. It looks like he grabs her hand with both of his. One hand on her forearm the other touching her fingers/hand. She takes a step forward or he pulls her in… and then he says that unkind thing that snaps her out of it.

    We don’t know what kind of affect Hybrids have on witches (that’s probably going to far, but Klaus was always a hybrid he was just dormant.) Maybe he can affect witches, he almost had a coven. Gloria seemed like she wasn’t buying what he was selling though.

    But in the next cut Bonnie is holding her hand … it’s minor, but it kicked my headcanon into gear. DAMNIT! D’; Bonnie better stop looking in his eyes, cause seriously every time she does it looks like she’s getting caught up. I’m not a shipper.

    Klaus biting into his wrist was kinda weird. It looked like he bit into the heel of his hand.

    “See you in physics class.” <_<

    Damon also thanked Bonnie in Founders Day.

    Maybe in that moment Bonnie just forgot herself. Bonnie has had a breakdown in ever season so far. Then she exits stage left. 😦

    I feel like if Bonnie helped Damon he would have drank her.

    What are you talking about, Alta? Elena and Stefan are so smart they could have deduced where Damon was w/o Bonnie's help. 🙄 /sarcasm

    I like that it seems to say this is what it would be like without her. Also did you get the bit where he says her name? When people were saying he did I and didn't hear it the first times, but he does say it. :\ I'm pretty sure. 😡

    Bonnie is rode hard.

    I love that. I love that her fingers curl at her neck kinda like she's clawing at it to catch a breath. she cries like she is being physically hurt. Talk about trauma.

    Bonnie's gonna do some drugs.

    OT Why do they call it "Bonnie's herbs" instead of her potion? Is Alaric smoking it? STAWP!

    I feel like the ring makes it worse. I love that Emily is trolling from the grave.

    Maybe Jeremy will ask about Bonnie.

    I have no thought's on Caroline. Maybe her best scene was when she "stood up" for Bonnie and didn't let Elena in

    • Oh, I know. Lol. It was just a general acknowledgment in case anyone was feeling exasperated.

      You better write that fic before you watch it.

      It’s so not gonna happen. I was supposed to write the Bonnie/Tyler fic before the show came back for 3.16, but you saw how long that fic ended up being.

      Why is Meredith still around?

      To waste space.

      UNEXPECTED ALLY! *thunder crack*
      DEADLY TURN *car crash*

      Lmao.

      Bonnie is magically medicating herself ….

      With Devil’s Spirit!

      Bet Damon’s gonna get Bonnie’s help because of banter about how she left him to rot.

      I really don’t want banter. Bad enough this isn’t being treated as seriously as it should be.

      I mean the choking tweet!

      It’s too good to be true :(.

      It depends on how they play it. Actually on second thought, I don’t want Jeremy to tell Jaime to watch out for Bonnie at all. He must know there’s nothing serious between them. They could have some words about Bonnie, but nothing about looking out for her. I would expect Jeremy to understand that Jaime doesn’t know Bonnie that well. Certainly not as well as he does.

      Rememeber then Meridith made that comment about Isobel because she stayed with Alaric when she put a restraining order out on him. Well Pot/Kettle/Meridith.

      Seriously! I don’t understand why the show addressed him going to jail, but not Isobel taking out the restraining orders.

      I don’t understand how Elena has friends. *throws hands in the air*

      Me neither, tbh.

      Yes! She was more angry at Damon attacking Bill than at Alaric for killing him. Whatever.

      What scene with Klaus?

      What is this in reference to?

      Caroline did nudge Damon after he twisted her arm hard enough to make her say ow *____*.

      “Not after you killed Abby, I can’t flake on this plan.” The way she said it like the guy who murdered Abby wasn’t asking her the damn question. stop.

      Yes!!!! Like Klaus was the one who killed Abby or something. Ugh.

      I think Damon feeds from blood bags now, not people. And yeah, I think the first time would be played in a sensitive way too.

      Isn’t it funny that Damon is always picking up Stefan’s castaways or whomever he’s been with already.

      That’s because they know the same people. Aside from Bree, none of them know someone that the other doesn’t. Rme.

      Klaus really had a lot of personality in this episode.

      He really did.

      Angelus corrupted Drusilla and made her mad. She was studying to be a nun and he turned he on the way she was taking her vows. O_O

      Wow.

      Klaus biting into his wrist was kinda weird. It looked like he bit into the heel of his hand.

      It did. I don’t think he can affect witches though.

      I did hear Damon say Bonnie’s name the first time. I was like, “This bitch.”

      Maybe the idiot writers think the word “potion” is too kooky.

      *Sigh.* I won’t even hold out for Jeremy asking about Bonnie.

      Oh yeah, she did play that scene well.

  3. It’s so not gonna happen. I was supposed to write the Bonnie/Tyler fic before the show came back for 3.16, but you saw how long that fic ended up being.

    you’re better than me, I have an idea and I don’t get it out before the next episode crushes it, most likely it won’t get written.

    Bonnie is magically medicating herself ….

    With Devil’s Spirit!

    YES I was going to say Devil’s Shoestring and get it all wrong. I hear that can treat cramps though.

    I don’t want Banter either, but that’s what I expect. 😦

    I would really like it if Abby got to do to Damon what’s being implied in that photo.

    Maybe that picture we see of Jamie and Bonnie smiling is from Jeremy’s POV. I’m not understanding it really. Jamie must be hella funny. Maybe he’s bringing some humor that she can’t get with her usual “friends”. 🙄

    I wonder when Bonnie got that text. Before or after her kidnapping.

    Caroline is still relativity young. How long does that “new vampire” phrase last? She should kill alaric and not feel guilty and Elena shouldn’t be able to turn her back on her. lol

    As soon as Elena does something that Damon doesn’t like he’ll be feeding from somebody.

    What is this in reference to?

    Sorry, you said Caroline’s best scene was with Klaus. Speaking of When did Damon twist her arm? In the same scene she nudged him? O_O

    It did. I don’t think he can affect witches though.

    He’s just kinda charming. Bonnie sure was vulnerable this whole episode. Klaus talked more to her than he talked to Elena during her Sacrifice … But then again Klaus had Bonnie for most of the day. And he wanted her power and what she could do for him, not just her physical body like with Elena. Still Gross.

    I did hear Damon say Bonnie’s name the first time. I was like, “This bitch.”

    IKR! Now he knows her name. 🙄

    • YES I was going to say Devil’s Shoestring and get it all wrong. I hear that can treat cramps though.

      Lol!

      Yeah. The only thing is that I wouldn’t want him to then overpower her. Just because. Ugh.

      In season 1, I felt vampires were young until they got past their first century. Just because of how every other vamp reacted to Stefan Stefan and Damon. Those two are supposed to be young vampires.

      She should kill alaric and not feel guilty and Elena shouldn’t be able to turn her back on her. lol

      Lol!

      Sorry, you said Caroline’s best scene was with Klaus. Speaking of When did Damon twist her arm? In the same scene she nudged him? O_O

      Oh, I was talking about the scene when she was dying. He twisted her arm when he told her she’d be Rebekah or something. He moved around behind her and twisted her arm. She said ow, and then she nudged him when he let her go. He probably did that because she said Rebekah must be desperate for sleeping with him. It’s more of that group banter. Whatevs.

  4. The posters are horrible photoshopped. In the first one it looks like the just photoshopped Paul, Ian and JoMo in … and I think we got already a single promo pic of Ian with the same pose. Agree about the hair, the outfit looks awful. I´m not to sure about Nina but this picture of her looks like from season 1 or 2 because she looks so much younger and they only put red lipstick via ps on to make her look older. #Fail
    The second is hilarious because of Nina´s outfit and Ian´s jacket, Emily said he looks like a goatherd. Lmao. And we also realized what a clever promo team TVD has. Look where they are leaning or lying on … a tree and it looks like the White Oak Tree. Our first clue that this tree would be very important this season. The only problem is they released this pics too late. And Emily mentioned another important clue they gave us and this one in the first promo for this season. Klaus bringing in the birthday cake for Elena. Eleven episodes later we learn that he loves birthdays. Coincidence? I don´t think so. Lol.
    I thought the same in regards to the promo pics of Candice. And I saw a interview with Candice, Michael, Kat and JoMo and this was when they shot the promo pics because Candice wore the same outfit we see in the pics. Don´t know why they can´t release them together. It´s a shame.
    Agree on the third poster … I don´t even care about them anymore but most of the headlines are ridiculous.
    Have fun with doing that lol hopefully we get some “good” results.

    Spoiler:
    JP previews the last episodes:
    o Of course she doesn´t mean Bonnie, only DE and Forwood.
    o No idea how Jeremy comes back, I agree they won´t show what happened in Denver, they don´t care about that, don´t know how to feel about him reacting to it
    o Love the music 😀
    o I can´t believe that they will bring back Jamie next season I just can´t and with the last three episodes they can´t let them sleep together, what would that show? JP shouldn´t have acted that way if they really are going to make it happen in this way.
    o Tyler – I think if Klaus dies and he stays a hybrid that he perhaps will become the new leader of the hybrid army because he is the first successful turned hybrid
    o I think Esther will be the new villain for the last few episodes … don´t know if they will bring her back in season 4, her main purpose is to kill her children and if she comes back in season 4 this would mean her children come back too
    o Flashbacks in the final, I´m really looking forward to this and to see Bonnie, Elena and Matt (why didn´t she mention Caroline) before the Salvatores came to town … hope we actually get to see them and not only Elena talking about them

    Episode 20:
    o The tag probably has something to do with Klaroline, everything he can offer her
    o His ally probably is Esther because if he still has the stake then he is her man to kill her children lol
    o That still looks weird, another format and the quality isn´t that good as the other stills and I agree Bonnie never smiled like that on the show
    o Bonnie looks the best but I´m not to sure about her hair, Caroline´s hair looks weird and I don´t like the colour of her dress but it is her colour, don´t know about Elena´s dress in that one shot with Damon and Elena it looks totally unfitting
    o I like Matt´s outfit, Tyler looks like a mafia boss and Klaus like the captain of a cruiser with his white suit, Stefan had a better outfit in the flashbacks
    o Don´t know why they are going to the dance and I don´t know why Bonnie invites Jamie because she knows that MF isn´t the safest place
    o Matt and Jeremy – could it have something to do with them seeing ghosts? I thought Matt only could see Vicki … but you know with these writers the retcon everything
    Episode 21:
    o Day without a vampire – either they are planning to turn every vamp human or they are planning to kill every vampire or something else lol
    o I thought the enemy is Rebekah too but I don´t know anymore … after I saw the promo it could really be Alaric and with him Esther
    o I´m almost certain that Abby comes back because Bonnie is planning to entomb Klaus (perhaps all Originals) and she is the only one who knows the spell, she said in episode 13 that she burned the page with the spell but never got it out of her head … so she probably is here to write it down again – but if Bonnie is really attempting to do it then I´m scared that she will end like Abby … perhaps that is why she is working with Jeremy
    o The writers aren´t that new one of them was a production assistant the other one a uncredited writing assistant but both of them only for season 2. No involvement this season … so I don´t know why they let them write such an important episode
    o I hope Beremy talks about the compulsion too
    o Caroline/Rebekah don´t respect each other … and I don´t look forward to this scenes because they could have done something with them but failed
    o I think they didn´t plan that bloodline sl beforehand and for sure not at the start of the season, because then they would have handled it in a different way

    Episode:

    – Laughed about that scene in Alaric´s apartment and when Elena came to visit him, they probably only wanted it to have some scenes between DE and then that “phenomenal” music in the background, it wasn´t necessary to don´t tell Elena about it if they show her the very next scene
    – This whole story with all the vampires Sage turned dropping dead but we never see a reaction to it from the other people outside of MF or even the group is so lazy, there is nothing that could provide any conflict or changes what the group is thinking or doing – so not exciting at all
    – Love Stefans dislike for Alaric too lmao

    Elena/Caroline scene:
    – I hated that scene from the first watch
    – I wanted to punch her when she mentioned Abby, I just can´t

    Caroline:
    – I liked her scene with Elena in the premiere when they spoke about Stefan and I liked her scene with Elena on her porch in the episode her father died but it was too long so I couldn´t enjoy it that much lol I don´t have many Caroline feelings this season
    – Would have liked that scene between Bonnie and Caroline too because then they could have revisit Bonnie´s initial reaction to her being turned and killing Carter
    – Smh at them calling Carter a man who could be a father
    – Thought I was the only one who didn´t like Caroline´s comments after Stefan left the house or that stupid explaination why Sage died. Smh.

    – I can´t with the reaction of the group in regards to Bonnie not being here and Stefan texting her – it was awful
    – The group dynamic was horrible and Damon and Caroline making bad jokes was so lame
    – I really miss Bonnie and Damon working together tbh especially after you described that scenario

    Elena:
    – That friendship with Bonnie is seriously contagious for Bonnie, there needs something to be done
    – They don´t even check up on Bonnie, they don´t even care and this time we don´t have nice!Stefan who organizes a slumber party for the girls
    – “not after what happened to Abby” I hated her for that … and I agree she is so selfish and it would be okay if the show would accept it and react on it and especially if the producers would stop talking about the “selfless” heroine and I got into a discussion with a Delena fan after I said that Elena is selfish for what they did in episode 17 and that selfishness is one of her character trades and that it isn´t acknowledged , it wasn´t pretty at all in the end I was accused of things I never posted
    – Of course when it comes to Damon or Stefan nothing is more important than saving their lifes
    – Lmao your tolerance when it comes to Delena is higher than mine, I can´t with this pairing at all, I tried but failed miserably, I liked that scene between Stefan and Elena, I liked all the scenes between them in this episode
    – The two Delena scenes I didn´t care at all, the first at the door of Alarics apartment was the same as always, Elena trying to act like she was angry with him and him mentioning that she doesn´t have to act like she hates him because she doesn´t – so why did we have to hear the Salvatores speaking at least 5 minutes about Elena hating them if they know that it won´t happen in the end, second scene was meh
    – I probably like the chemistry between Paul and Nina more than Ian and Nina

    Damon:
    – Loved that he was tortured and really was harmed and that Klaus could compel him
    – rl with Elena will be awkward at the beginning but I think the writers would go with him feeding on her … I don´t know why but they are the “sexier” couple and so they will go with this an probably in the neck and she will enjoy it … I just have the feeling the writers would do that
    – the writers dumb down Rebekah every single time, she really thought that he cared for her, like she thought that Elena cared for her and I agree with you about Rebekah waiting for someone with who she can ditch Klaus
    – liked that scene for the Salvatores too and Klaus acted like he was some kind of messiah for Stefan, especially with the gesticulation lol loved it

    Agreed on your opinion of the Klaus/Rebekah scene

    Plot:
    – I´m with you on Esther, I really don´t like it and her storyline
    – Were they still in MF when Finn turned Sage? She is 900 years old and he must have turned her shortly before Klaus put him into a coffin, right? Or did they say when he turned her?
    – Liked the scene between them in the Grille, the chemistry between the actors was good
    – The plan was awesome, I had doubts when they trained in the woods but it looked good when it played out on screen
    – After you spoke about her crying I agree with you, it would have been better if she just looked at his body in total shock not even able to react to it
    – That scene looked beautiful with the lighting
    – Sage entrance was awesome but she already didn´t look good when she came into the house
    – Don´t know about them turned human and then disconnecting the bloodline … the writers should explain that because I have the feeling they bring back this spell about them turning human again
    – They don´t mind killing the Originals and all the other vampires … and it is even their fault that they are all awake with bringing back Elijah, they could have slept 1000 years and more but they had to wake up Elijah lol
    – Someone mentioned that with breaking the sire bond Tyler would be safe, but that can´t be true, right? Because the vampires die because of the bloodline and not some kind of sire bond. Or am I wrong about that?

    Bonnie:
    – Her hair was a mess, true but like you said I thought it was fitting for her situation
    – It was Abby´s grimoire in which the unlinking spell was? How do you know?
    – I thought that line was weird too and how it came out but I don´t know, perhaps Cana is right about her having to ADR it later
    – Klaus/witches are my OTP (also Klaus/birthdays, Klaus/ponies, Klaus/sketchbooks)
    – He really “touches” like physically touching her? I never noticed … I have to rewatch it again lol
    – Crying at your scenario for them … that would have been really awesome but we saw what we got instead
    – Didn´t care about Rebekah thanking her lol I only thought about them having physics together and that at least two out of the group still go to school
    – Agreed about Bonnie being in denial and her being alone every single time, I really hope Narducci did something with her and the Salvatores I want a confrontation so much and especially with dialogue
    – Don´t have anything to add to your thoughts about Bonnie lol

    Cliffhanger:
    – You´re right about Alaric being the one who never killed a vampire when his alter ego showed up lol but they are now going to make him the big danger for the life of our lovely “heroes”

    • Emily said he looks like a goatherd.

      Lol! And I didn’t even notice the tree. Good catch on the birthday cake, lol.

      Tyler – I think if Klaus dies and he stays a hybrid that he perhaps will become the new leader of the hybrid army because he is the first successful turned hybrid

      That would require the writers to have a plan in mind for the Hybrids…..They didn’t even have a plan in mind for the werewolves.

      (why didn´t she mention Caroline)

      Now that you mention it, what would Caroline in the flashbacks look like? I mean she has no reason to long for the past right now. She does just because of what happened to her father, but she doesn’t just because her reaction has been swept under the rug. Elena has reason to miss the past, as do Bonnie and Jeremy. Matt figures into Elena’s flashback, so that’s why he’s there. Even Caroline’s personality hasn’t hardened. Her disposition couldn’t be more sunny. I don’t know if they’d include her just to have her feel inferior to Elena. Then again, they love giving her lines, so……

      The tag probably has something to do with Klaroline, everything he can offer her

      I actually considered that.

      What if Klaus kills Esther next episode?

      Lol, Tyler does look like he’s in the mafia. I didn’t pay attention to either Klaus or Stefan. No idea what they’re wearing.

      Matt and Jeremy – could it have something to do with them seeing ghosts? I thought Matt only could see Vicki … but you know with these writers the retcon everything

      My God, if they say Matt can still see ghosts, I will scream my head off.

      I´m almost certain that Abby comes back because Bonnie is planning to entomb Klaus (perhaps all Originals) and she is the only one who knows the spell, she said in episode 13 that she burned the page with the spell but never got it out of her head … so she probably is here to write it down again –

      That’s probably it. I don’t know what I’ll do if her powers drift away. They might handle it worst than when Jonas stole her powers.

      there is nothing that could provide any conflict or changes what the group is thinking or doing – so not exciting at all

      Exactly. Even back in season 2 when they heard Klaus wanted to create an army, all they cared about was killing him to save Elena. It took forever for Bonnie to say she wants to save everyone. So if the characters are so freaking selfish, then why do the writers keep introducing these “worldwide” consequences if the characters are going to keep glossing over them?

      I got into a discussion with a Delena fan after I said that Elena is selfish for what they did in episode 17 and that selfishness is one of her character trades and that it isn´t acknowledged , it wasn´t pretty at all in the end I was accused of things I never posted

      Lmao. That tends to happen. An Elena stan came for me a week or two ago on tumblr.

      so why did we have to hear the Salvatores speaking at least 5 minutes about Elena hating them if they know that it won´t happen in the end,

      Exactly. And yeah, the first scene between Delena was ridiculous.

      Were they still in MF when Finn turned Sage? She is 900 years old and he must have turned her shortly before Klaus put him into a coffin, right? Or did they say when he turned her?

      They were still in MF. I think Rebekah said something about going back to the old world (it might not have been in this episode). Plus, Sage for some reason has no accent. Eh. I think she was one of the village girls. She said Finn used to sneak off to meet her.

      They don´t mind killing the Originals and all the other vampires … and it is even their fault that they are all awake with bringing back Elijah, they could have slept 1000 years and more but they had to wake up Elijah lol

      So true! It’s Damon and Stefan’s fault the other Originals are here in the first place! Ugh. And these two are the ones leading practice scenarios. Smh.

      That can’t be true, because the bloodline is not the same as the sire bond.

      Well I assumed it was Abby’s. Bonnie doesn’t usually use grimoires that big. I think Abby’s is the biggest grimoire that’s been on the show (I don’t really remember Gloria’s). My mind automatically figured it was hers because I had head!canon of Abby giving her grimoire to Bonnie. Whoops. Lol. I would think they’d focus on it more if it was Abby’s so I’m probably wrong. Either way, I definitely don’t think it’s Esther’s.

      also Klaus/birthdays, Klaus/ponies, Klaus/sketchbooks

      Lmao.

      Yeah, he touches her. That’s why she rips her hand away.

      I want a confrontation so much and especially with dialogue

      Yeah, I need dialogue.

  5. I have a soft spot for the first poster. It’s so terribly photoshopped that it’s quite charming.

    Spoilers:

    Aww, I like Elena’s dress. I like Bonnie’s best, then Elena’s and then Caroline’s. All three of them look gorgeous, although I’m not feeling Caroline’s hair.

    Charlie Charbonneau is a producer assistant and Daphne Miles a writer assistant. So, unlike Septien/Meyer, they’ve at least worked on the show for quite a while, I guess.

    Tyler’s new SL in S4 – how long do you think it will last? 2 or 3 eps?

    Oh, I believe 100 % that the bloodlines reveal has been in the works since the beginning of the season. I mean, all these meetings of the writers before the start of a season have to lead to sth, lol. I think it’s just that they are so intent on shocking us and that’s why there is no build-up to these kind of twists. I can see them going “Well, we need a big shock in the final third of the season, something to raise the stakes, something to make the audience gasp, something that they wouldn’t have expected.” And I guess, JP thought that the lat S2 reveal that the Sun and the Moon Curse was fake really worked and that they should do sth similar this season. Which is weird since she said after the end of S2 that she regretted not having had that reveal a bit earlier in the season or sth like that. But what do I know.

    Episode:

    I think the comment about whittling was a shout out to 2.02 when Damon mocked Jeremy’s whittling skills. I liked it. And I *loved* the shout out to Soap Gate later on in the episode. Damon’s hiding places are the best.

    Do you think there is a correlation between Caroline being so agreeable now and her popularity boost in the fandom? Since she ruffles nobody’s feathers so to speak?

    Re: Caroline’s best scene. The scene that immediately came to my mind was her final scene in 3.04. When Bill told her that she would never be ok. I don’t know why. I didn’t like her Bill Sl at all, although I think that this scene could have led to something. I guess I really liked CA’s acting in that scene. And then there’s the Caroline/Elena scene in 3.15.

    Oh, I really like your friend’s theory. It does make her scenes way more interesting.

    Stefan texted Bonnie. No words. What is there left to say? And it doesn’t bode well for Stefan getting his due in Episode 20, I’m afraid. I hate it.

    Caroline’s joke didn’t work for me at all. I wasn’t feeling the rapport between her and Damon. Neither did Elena laughing at her joke work for me. It was odd. And yeah, I know it’s part of their banter and her being jealous of Rebekah but eh.

    Yeah, I liked it that Stefan remembered Damon’s anger at him for saving him in ‘Homecoming’ and acted accordingly. It’s good to know that Damon’s outburst in ‘The New Deal’ wasn’t for nothing and led to sth. Almost felt like character growth. But on the other, later on in the ep, Elena says that he “scared her today”. So I guess what CD wanted to convey was that he was in the wrong for wanting to stick to the plan (because he still was in ~scary ~vengeful mode)!? Sometimes I feel like I don’t understand anything that is going on in the show.
    I didn’t like the Stelena scene either. The writing was very bad and I don’t think the actors were feeling the scene. I’m wondering, though: Has CD *ever* written a good triangle scene? Or a good emotional scene for a ship period? I’m asking because I remember 3.14 and how awful all the shippy scenes were; especially S/E but also Klaroline (lol forever), Matt/Rebekah and D/E (“I’m mad because I love you” – that’s not good writing in my book). And 3.03 was also chock-full of terrible triangle scenes, same goes for 3.06 which she co-wrote with JP. Ugh.
    Watching scenes like this, I really miss Mike Daniels. I tended to like his emotional scenes. Maybe now that Pan Am has tanked TVD can get him back.

    Ok, I will comment on the rest of the podcast later. I had made notes while listening to it and apparently have accidentally thrown some of them away, asfkjkl.

    • Tyler’s new SL in S4 – how long do you think it will last? 2 or 3 eps?

      Lmao. Now that you mention it, will it even happen at the beginning of the season or will it be reserved for the middle?

      I don’t understand the logic of letting new writers deal with episodes that are supposed to be closing out the season. Especially for a show as complicated as TVD. Can’t believe I just wrote that, but the show does have a lot going on, especially with the retcons *_____*.

      Which is weird since she said after the end of S2 that she regretted not having had that reveal a bit earlier in the season or sth like that.

      She said that? I read an interview Kathrin sent to me and which I’ll comment on on the next podcast where she said she had regrets but she wouldn’t name them. I’d say that’s smart if I felt like she was going to correct anything. But right now I just want to see if they match with some of the things I complained about. The moonstone being one of them. And you’re right, there’s planning ahead of time and then there’s weaving the story over the course of the season. Instead they’re concerned with shocking us and twisting us. How many times this season were the characters left looking either dumbfounded or like they’d finally found the way to kill Klaus.

      It did remind me of 2.02.

      Do you think there is a correlation between Caroline being so agreeable now and her popularity boost in the fandom? Since she ruffles nobody’s feathers so to speak?

      Yep, and I’ve felt that way since she told Damon he sucked in 2.02 and most of the Fandom lost their minds with pride.

      Sometimes I feel like I don’t understand anything that is going on in the show.

      Lmao. I guess Elena was saying Stefan scared her because she believed he’d let Damon die. But so what?! I just can’t find it in me to care when Stefan is the one character who will never lose their family member. So I’d rather get the character growth you mentioned. At least Stefan got to choose to sacrifice his brother. /bitter.

      What episodes did Mike Daniels write?

      In hindsight, I like the DE dance scene she wrote in Miss Mystic Falls, but….there was no dialogue, lol. What made the SE scene at the end of 3.14 fail hard for me was that I felt like we were ignoring SE’s experiences this season. He traumatized her. And she was acting like she’d die if he didn’t come around or whatever? Ugh.

      I had made notes while listening to it and apparently have accidentally thrown some of them away, asfkjkl.

      Lmao.

      • She said that? I read an interview Kathrin sent to me and which I’ll comment on on the next podcast where she said she had regrets but she wouldn’t name them.

        Yes, she said it in an interview shortly after the S2 finale. She said that they had planned to reveal that the curse was fake earlier in the season but they got distracted/forgot about it and then suddenly it was the end of the season and they were like, “Shit, we still have to clear this up.”

        Oh, I know which interview you’re referring to and I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it. The thought that we got the Original family because of JP’s love for Daniel Gillies makes me dizzy.

        Yep, and I’ve felt that way since she told Damon he sucked in 2.02 and most of the Fandom lost their minds with pride.

        Ahh, I remember that. I remember fandom being *very* anxious about Caroline confronting Damon – and, I guess, being relieved that this confrontation just consisted of her telling him that he sucks?!

        What episodes did Mike Daniels write?

        Killed or Be Killed, By the Light of the Moon, Know Thy Enemy and co-wrote The Sun Also Rises with Caroline Dries (yeah, I know that horrible ep).

        Re: the S/E scenes in 3.14: I will never forget Elena’s line about Stefan ‘letting her make her own decisions’. It will haunt me forver, lol.

        • but they got distracted/forgot about it

          ?????????!!!!!

          I don’t even remember the anxiety, only the outpouring of support.

          I liked Kill or Be Killed a lot. Know Thy Enemy gave us Bonnie saying she was “called to do this!” I remember thinking By The Light of the Moon was boring. I think that’s the ep where Elena, Damon, and Alaric took a roadtrip to go see Isobel’s assistant.

          Lmao. Get ready for tomorrow’s episode because I’ve seen one person wax poetic about Stefan being big enough to let Elena go to Denver with Damon. Instead of arguing with her, he just tells her to be safe.

          • Lol. Coming to think of it, I recall her saying that so much things were going on and that they didn’t have the time. I’m sure she didn’t actually use the words “distracted”/”forgot” but that’s what it basically came down to imo. But I’m sure I remember her saying that they had this “Oh shit, we still have to do this” moment at the end of the season.

            I remember thinking By The Light of the Moon was boring. I think that’s the ep where Elena, Damon, and Alaric took a roadtrip to go see Isobel’s assistant.

            Oh, that was “Bad Moon Rising”. I can’t stand that ep either. “By the Light of the Moon” is the ep with Tyler’s first transformation. It’s one of my favourite S2 episodes.

            I’m so not ready for tomorrow’s ep. Anyway, yeah, I already can’t stand it that Stefan came up with the idea for the trip because ~he wants to give Elena a chance to figure her feelings for Damon. It’s just … ugh. Get out. Are we back to overbearing Stefan?

            • It’s just galling to think the people behind this show that I obsess so much about….sometimes forget about the plot. Lol. There are retcons, and then there’s that.

              Oh yeah. I like that episode. I remember wondering why they’d name episode two that when they could save it for Tyler’s transformation. Bad Moon Rising just fits. But then they came up with By the Light of the Moon, and eh.

              Apparently one of the scenes in the producer’s preview is the Jeremy/Elena/Damon one. I’m already upset. I don’t know what I’ll do if he a)doesn’t find out that he’s been compelled or b)finds out but is okay with it. I can’t.

              I think we’re back to ‘understanding’ Stefan. There’s an undertone to their scene (the last in this episode + the one in the preview), that seems to be “You have my blessing,” and it’s making me roll my eyes. Even the way Elena looks at Stefan, it’s as if she’s asking for permission and wants to make sure he’s okay. That wasn’t there when she told him she kissed Damon, and I was thankful for that.

  6. I think we’re back to ‘understanding’ Stefan.

    And I don’t know how. I don’t understand how we got from very jealous to understanding Stefan. Although I have to say that I just knew it when I saw the scenes of him being very jealous that his ‘arc’ for the rest of the season would be becoming understanding of Delena. Sigh.

    Yeah, that’s what I can’t stand. I guess that’s the writers way of ensuring that the fandom doesn’t hate Elena and making it ok for the S/E shippers (since the show is so embedded in the shipper culture, as JP says). Can’t say it does anything good for his character, though. Sigh. I’ll probably skip that ep. I just can’t with the ToD in general and D/E in particular.

Flail or vent

