Julie Plec to livechat tonight’s episode.

And this is basically the post for tonight’s episode so feel free to chat after you’ve watched it!

Details

Seeing as she’s doing it in conjunction with someone who’s not on the show, the ratchet factor might not be high, but I honestly feel this is in response to the Twitter mess. Otherwise, why is it being announced so late? We’ll see what she says. I don’t know how that website works, but I’m thinking it might be in writing? And that’s unfortunate because I really wanted to analyze her voice. I’m pretty sure I won’t be participating (I mean did you hear the podcast? Lol, I couldn’t write the woman), but I hope the people that do ask (calmly!) about Bonnie, and see what she answers.

‘Cause y’all know there will be a whole bunch of people on there kissing her ass.

*The 3.16 podcast will go up either later tonight or tomorrow afternoon. I haven’t finished rewatching 3.16.

135 thoughts on “Julie Plec to livechat tonight’s episode.

  1. I wonder if it is in response to the boycott. lol. I love how, instead of apologizing, she is going to fight back. Like she doesn’t have enough power already. No wonder her show is all from the perspective of powerful villains and their ~humanity~

    • I definitely think it is. There’s no other reason it would be this late. I wonder what she’ll say during the Bonnie scenes.

      Or she could prove me wrong and not say anything. At all.

      • I really think you should go on the live chat. I am always impressed with how you handle trolls on your tumblr account. I am sure you will be fine and you have probably thought about Bonnie more than anyone else in fandom.

        • Ugh. I’ll probably look to see what’s being said, but even I have limits. For all we know, she will completely ignore any Bonnie fans that pop up.

          • There will be nothing to ignore if no one is there.

            I am tempted but, honestly, I have a terrible temper at the best of times

          • “For all we know, she will completely ignore any Bonnie fans that pop up.”

            I didn’t even try… I suck at figuring out timezone differences, for one. 😛 But mostly, I figured there’d be a moderator screening questions and it would be nothing but a lovefest. There’s no way they’d let any tough negative posts through to hurt Plec’s feelings. She probably only scheduled this chat for an ego-boost. 😛

  2. Thanks for the info about the live chat … It looks like it is in-writing because I clicked at it and you can only write in comments which she will probably answer per writing in too.
    But who knows.

    I really don´t know what to think about this but I believe that this is a reaction to twittergate, because wouldn´t they announced this earlier? Looks like a spontanous decision.
    She will probably get praise from the fans and encourage and in the end the Bonnie fanbase will look like the bad people.

    Perhaps she will be promoting the Jamie/Bonnie rl and try to make us believe how awesome the “build-up” will be over the next five episodes.

    I wanted to watch live and I´m searching for a livestream … it airs one hour earlier because of the time change, right? Just to make sure.

    Btw … does anyone know if Kat gave any interviews about the Abby/Bonnie situation? Because I only saw the ones of Candice and it makes me believe that the sl really won´t be about Abby/Bonnie but more about Caroline teaching Abby to be a “good” vampire.
    But I hope they prove me wrong.
    Nevertheless it is strange that the publish all these Candice interviews about the situation but forget about Kat who plays the daughter … shouldn´t she be the priority? And I know that Carina also interviewed her during Paleyfest … so where is that interview.

    • Perhaps she will be promoting the Jamie/Bonnie rl and try to make us believe how awesome the “build-up” will be over the next five episodes.

      Please. They’re shooting or just finished shooting episode 20. I’m sure the damage in terms of buildup is done. Probably all she can do now is make promises.

      I was about to say it’s still the same time, but I remembered you’re in a different timezone. Yeah, I think it would be one hour earlier for you. We jumped forward one hour, so I’m not sure how that transmits for your timezone.

      Nope, only Candice. No word from Kat since 3.15. Ugh.

  3. Claire Holt tweeted that people should watch so that folks don’t lose their jobs. Whut? I’m so happy people are taking this boycott seriously, but even the cast? Geez, lmao!

    Claire Holt ‏ @MissClaireHolt Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    Pretty please watch #TVD tonight at 8pm so everyone can keep their jobs. Thanks! 😉

    It’s awesome, if I’m being honest.

    • Oh dear God! Things have really gone out of hand.

      I am not looking forward to the aftermath to all this tomorrow. If the ratings increase, people will say this proves that Bonnie fans don’t matter. If the ratings decrease, people will say that we are the devil because jobs are going to be lost. There is no fucking way that this is anything but spin. This is the CW we are talking about. TVD is their highest rated show. There is absolutely ZERO chance that the boycott will lead to the show getting canceled and anyone losing their job. Way to demonize a portion of your audience Claire Holt.

      • If the ratings increase, people will say this proves that Bonnie fans don’t matter.

        They will. Even though their asses were panicking. Eh. At least we’ll be able to see their threats to boycott never got JP to do damage control.

        If the ratings decrease, people will say that we are the devil because jobs are going to be lost.

        I honestly don’t curr. I’m not the one who created this situation. Just reacting to it. Maybe if they’d joined us instead of making fun, ignoring, or patronizing us, we would’ve gotten to JP a long time ago, and this wouldn’t have needed to happen (their panic, I mean. This boycott thing is probably not even that serious. But it’s great that they think it is).

      • I agree with this whole post but I´m really looking forward to the ratings, when do they come out?

        Btw did you see that Carina had to insert herself into the boycott too. She was judging the fans who don´t watch and the ones who wanted a livestream but didn´t watch live on TV.
        Can this woman please stop talking … but it looked like she wasn´t to happy about the episode either. But who knows.

        • I’m not sure, but they’re going to be posted on spoilertv when they do.

          I didn’t see her inserting herself in yet another thing that has zero to do with her, but I did see she wasn’t happy with the episode.

  4. I think what I find funny about this whole thing is the fandom on numerous occasions saying Bonnie barely has fans and now here we are with people tweeting away and and panicking about the boycott erm I thought Bonnie didnt have fans so who cares.
    This is the first time that JP has paid any sort of attention to Bonnie even though it is outside the show lol.

    I am wondering what the cast knows, I was amused by Claire’s tweet, it is not that serious. I do not think the ratings will be affected.

    Also Im surprised Kat hasnt said anything yet, I just hope she is alright and no one is even trying to blame her considering she has nothing to do with this. It was JP and Matt.

    • I agree. It’s hilarious.

      I’m glad she hasn’t said anything. They brought this on themselves, so they can deal with it. Plus I wouldn’t be surprised if JP told her not to say anything in fear of her fueling the fires.

  5. I shouldn´t have read the canadian spoilers for the episode … now I´m even more furious.
    Please stop me from joining this conversation later … because it won´t look pretty.

  6. Here’s a small interview of Kat Graham at Paleyfest. You can tell her enthusiasm is waning:

    P.S: Alta, I love your podcast and insights! I wish TVD producers would hire you to write for Bonnie. Keep up the good work:)

    • She does seem to be losing her enthusiasm. It’s weird to know, after seeing this episode, that she was basically making half this shit up about Bonnie/Abby.

      And thanks! Thank you for bringing this over.

      • Hmm thinking about it this could this also be another reason she was quiet at Paleyfest,I mean what could she say exactly? Bonnie barely has screentime and a sl. She didnt seem like her usual bubbly self especially when you see her in this interview and Paley fest yet when you see her outside with the fans and leaving with her bf she seemed way more happier.

      • She does seem to be losing her enthusiasm. It’s weird to know, after seeing this episode, that she was basically making half this shit up about Bonnie/Abby.

        Sad but true. That was probably also the reason why she didn´t say much at all when the interviewer asked her during the panel about it.
        It´s unbelievable … but now we know why Candice gave so much interviews about this Abby/Bonnie situation because it was practically her own sl. Urgh. And JP asks us why we are complaining … somebody help me to stop this show. I can´t deal with the disapointment I have to endure every single week.

        • but now we know why Candice gave so much interviews about this Abby/Bonnie situation because it was practically her own sl.

          Yup. She had plenty to say because her character had plenty to say and do. And all she could say about Bonnie is that she’s not mad at Elena, because that’s pretty much all Bonnie did: not be mad at Elena.

  7. JP just shat on everything. I don’t think I can watch anymore. Bonnie’s magic happened off screen (except for the flower bit … that was pretty) and Caroline Explained the rest. Caroline talked to Jamie and Abby ALONE and Caroline got last words with Abby.

    Bonnie hugging Elena … I burst into tears because it was just like History repeating. Bonnie was in the same house as Damon .. Bonnie did a spell for them to save Alaric.

    it’s all a slap in the face.

  8. If I didn’t know any better I would think this episode was made after twittergate. If the Bonnie fans aren’t watching than no one will notice how they took Bonnie out of her own story. I feel like we just got punished but it wasn’t punishment because they made this episode months ago. So it is just the normal stuff that happens with Bonnie and Her many storylines.

  9. Lucy and Bonnie had more in their last scene than Abby/Bonnie have had in these episodes. Why didn’t they just say Bonnie’s mom died when she was little? It would have saved them a lot of trouble since they’re not interested. I hope the ratings for this episode tanked.

  10. One of the things that I’ve always been afraid of happening IS. They are watering Bonnie down to make her more acceptable/likable. The fandom liked Bonnie in this episode. She isn’t blaming anyone or being judgmental. She is just doing whatever Elena wants her too,or Damon or Alaric.Where is my favorite character the one I have supported since season1 cause I don’t see her. Combine that with the fact that Julie does not give a shit about Bonnie or her fans her real fans we get this Bonnie we don’t recognize but that the fandom likes.

    • *Sigh.* I hate it. And I don’t know how much I’ll put up with because once again I liked the TSC episode and once again I’m looking forward to the next one. The show’s momentum seems to be building while TVD’s is stalling.

    • This, I agree with you they are definately doing that, an example was when she found out about the kiss now I was not expecting Bonnie to rant/rave about the kiss but I was also not expecting her to ask how it was. But yep look at the fandom being so happy that Bonnie was the supportive friend and was not judgemental and bitchy lol.

  11. Did she say anything about Bonnie?

    Someone asked if Bonnie was going to confront the Salvatores, and JP said Bonnie would be, “holding a grudge for a while.” I wish I was lying. But this will probably be over by the season finale.

  12. lol did Bonnie take something? iDK she seemed kind out of it/too happy and ok with everything.
    Bonnie as always was in the background and all her scenes was about Caroline and Elena. Are we sure Bonnie/Jamie is happening? Because after this ep I was sure Caroline/Jamie could be a possibility lol. Also I found Jamie boring and useless basically if you took him out I do not think I would have noticed his 3mins of screen time should have been given to Bonnie oh sorry I meant Caroline.

    Elena is so self absorbed, Bonnie obviously was busy and needed time away but who cares Elena needs her because Ric is in trouble and there is Bonnie coming running.

    And the white oak tree sl is so bad that it is funny, the sooner they kill the original or fail to kill them the quciker they can move on to the next sl/villan because it is even way worse than the moonstone.

    Sage being able to get into vampires mind and not just any vampire but an orignal was soo stupid, the writers are not even trying anymore.
    Sage is so lame.

    The best thing about this ep seeing Steven and his sexy self lol and the flower scene.

    • She looked like she’d cracked. She was almost as chipper as Caroline.

      Word about Jaime.

      I felt like Caroline was an interpreter to make the scenes with all these Black folks more palatable for the White viewers. I can’t think of one scene were she was needed. Not one. All she did, Bonnie could’ve done, and we could’ve had Abby try to attack Bonnie instead of Jaime, and Bonnie would subdue her. The end.

      The people Elena loves is more important than the people Bonnie loves.

      They’re not trying. No explanation. Reminded me of Lexi’s out of the blue powers. Sage is lame, and it’s a shame because of Cassidy.

      I wasn’t even excited to see Jeremy. You see what they’ve done to me? I was surprised to see him, and I didn’t even think he’d be in this ep. I thought the camera was going to pan out and reveal he was doing something interesting, but nope! He’s really just in Denver going to school. Steven McQueen must be thrilled out of his mind to come back. I’m sure Jer will come back to MF because Elena calls him to come back. That’s how exciting it will be.

      • I caught the part when Elena called Jeremy. When they hung up, I cracked the hell up. The girl knows that her brother is still wearing the crazy making ring. I was so sure she was calling him to tell him to take off the ring or was going to ask him to pass the phone to the people he lives with so she can ask them if he has been acting strangely. LOL. It seems like she only called him to make herself feel better because she had a tough day. Elena is so ~selfless~.

        I can’t watch more of this ep.

        • Lmao! I didn’t even notice she didn’t tell him to take off the ring. Did she keep quiet because she now knows there’s a way to fix Jer if he goes crazy? Lawd.

          • It made zero sense is what I am saying. This is why everyone hates Elena. She floats through the story like a leaf in the wind. The few times she actually does something like collaborating with Esther are quickly undermined. Are they doing this on purpose? Is Elena supposed to be this unlikeable?

          • Hold on. Maybe she was checking if he was still in Denver because if he had gone crazy, he would be in Mystic Falls. All the Council members are in Mystic Falls. But still, she won’t try to do anything to prevent that?

            • Here’s the thing I don’t get… is the ring specifically *only* making the wearer kill Council members? Why’d it take so long to kick in? So is Jeremy safe and not gonna become a psycho-killer as long as he’s not in Mystic Falls? ‘Cause I thought he’d start killing people in Denver without realizing it. Didn’t Elena & Stefan find a bunch of photos of non-Council-members that Alaric killed? I probably wasn’t paying close enough attention. 😛

              It would be such a cop-out if Elena & Damon mind-wiping Jeremy & sending him off got justified this way. Hey it’s a good thing they took away his free will! If *they* hadn’t, the ring would’ve and that would be worse! 😛

                • “weird that the killer only goes after Council members.”

                  Hmm…maybe this is how TVD will get rid of the show’s remaining parents/adults? You know they want to. 😉 Goodbye Mayor and Sheriff! Vampires run this town now anyway. 😛 Ooh! I bet Klaus will take over as Mayor… he was schmoozing with her before. The Original Family will lord over Mystic Falls like a bloody (hee) monarchy. Caroline can “inherit” her mom’s job (hey, Mayor’s Wife already inherited her dead hubby’s job, without an actual election, so there’s a precedent for this sort of thing!)

                  Wacky hijinks ensue where SheriffCaroline is cute and ineffectual in policing MayorKlaus’ rambunctious ways. Then they get married! Squeee!

    • lol did Bonnie take something? iDK she seemed kind out of it/too happy and ok with everything.

      I don´t know what is happening … but I really noticed that Kat isn´t feeling this whole sl, especially the one with Jamie, not only the dialogue looked awkward but also the acting.

      I don´t know if it also because of Richard but his acting was pretty dull, but I can´t blame him so much because his character is dull too. JP doesn´t care about him like she doesn´t care about Bonnie.

      Elena is so self absorbed, Bonnie obviously was busy and needed time away but who cares Elena needs her because Ric is in trouble and there is Bonnie coming running.

      This. I wanted to punch her in the face when she demanded Bonnie to help them. I couldn´t watch the last scene between them …. again it was all about Elena and her feelings, Bonnie was there but not even a character. I love when they hug, but I looked so weird and I hope that Bonnie was thinking about ways to kill this whole Triangle at the same time. I never wished more for her to go dark, but it won´t happen I´m sure.

      And the white oak tree sl is so bad that it is funny,

      The moment they spoke about the bridge being built out of the wood of this tree, I knew that the sign was too, so that reveal at the end was lame as hell. And Damon´s
      last line, I was rolling on the floor. If they kill someone next week it will be Finn and he wanted to die anyway. So who cares.
      I think it is clear that Bonnie will try to unbind the siblings next week.

      The best thing about this ep seeing Steven and his sexy self lol and the flower scene.

      I agree, but they could have made more out of his appearance … I expected to see pictures of council members or the Scooby gang on the bed with their faces crossed out. That would have been creepy.
      That flower scene was beautiful. But it looks like for including this they had to cut out the scene where she does the spell for Alaric. Was this the “unusual” Kat spoke about Alaric and Bonnie would have? Because if so, there is nothing unusual about it … because it happened off-screen like always.

      • “I can´t blame him so much because his character is dull too.”

        But we learned a lot about Jamie! He chops wood. Great continuity, right? Way to go, show! 😛 In every ep we’ll see him chopping and/or carrying firewood. Then he and Bonnie will light a bunch of candles instead and have a symbolic sex scene. Oh! Conflict! Jamie wants to use the fireplace… Bonnie prefers candles. I see a lot of dramatic potential here. 😉

        “But it looks like for including this they had to cut out the scene where she does the spell for Alaric. Was this the “unusual” Kat spoke about Alaric and Bonnie would have? Because if so, there is nothing unusual about it … because it happened off-screen like always.”

        Haha! More continuity! Bravo, TVD. I was kind of dreading Kat & Matt interaction, but morbidly curious as well. I wonder if they cut the scene because of TwitterGate? Would there have been time to do this before the airing?

        • But we learned a lot about Jamie! He chops wood. Great continuity, right? Way to go, show! 😛 In every ep we’ll see him chopping and/or carrying firewood. Then he and Bonnie will light a bunch of candles instead and have a symbolic sex scene. Oh! Conflict! Jamie wants to use the fireplace… Bonnie prefers candles. I see a lot of dramatic potential here. 😉

          *dead* I can´t that must be the JP logic we all fail to see.
          Btw I´m not the biggest expert when it comes to firewood but shouldn´t he have hack it in smaller pieces? At least that´s what we do when we try to make a fire at home.

          Haha! More continuity! Bravo, TVD. I was kind of dreading Kat & Matt interaction, but morbidly curious as well. I wonder if they cut the scene because of TwitterGate? Would there have been time to do this before the airing?

          Lmao. truth bombs everywhere.
          I was curious too. I don´t think there was enough time … at least in my opinion but if this really was “it” and nothing comes after this between Bonnie/Alaric then I think they cut it out because of Twittergate. If so then thanks to Matt Davis dumb *** we got even less Bonnie screentime.

        • But we learned a lot about Jamie! He chops wood. Great continuity, right? Way to go, show! In every ep we’ll see him chopping and/or carrying firewood. Then he and Bonnie will light a bunch of candles instead and have a symbolic sex scene. Oh! Conflict! Jamie wants to use the fireplace… Bonnie prefers candles. I see a lot of dramatic potential here.

          LOL!!!! You’re too much!

          No, there wouldn’t have been time. That episode was edited and ready to air. Remember that the editor woman, Nancy, was just working on ep 19 (?).

      • Yep, both Bonnie and Jaime were dull in that scene.

        I love when they hug, but I looked so weird and I hope that Bonnie was thinking about ways to kill this whole Triangle at the same time.

        Lmao. That, at least, would tell me she’s able to get that she’s been hurt by these people.

        And Damon´s last line, I was rolling on the floor.

        Damon’s last line was so damn ridiculous that I don’t know how Sonnenshine could write it with a straight face.

        I want Bonnie to succeed in unbinding the siblings simply because I want a spell of hers to actually work in this first half. Even though it won’t make sense that she can unbind the siblings all by herself when putting a spell on a damn sage was too hard for her. Then again since when did Julie Plec care about portraying Bonnie’s magic?

  13. Lmao @ the possibility that Caroline/Jaime might have been the first Caroline ship that wasn’t problematic. I mean he yelled at her, but it lacked the je ne sais quoi of what Matt/Caroline became, Tyler/Caroline, Klaus grabbing her and shaking her while she looked frightened, and there’s no need to mention the other one. Plus he didn’t grow up with her so he wouldn’t automatically call her a basket case or a “bitchy little twit.”

    But my OTP for Jaime is still Jaime/Elena. She wanted to eat him in 3.12.

    • So do I. It’s like her character left the building. I felt nothing from Kat, especially during that scene where Bonnie was comforting Elena. And I don’t blame her.

      • I felt nothing from Kat, especially during that scene where Bonnie was comforting Elena. And I don’t blame her.

        She really is not feeling it and like you I can´t blame her. It´s so sad and we know how much fun she had in season 2 and how much she promotes this mess every single time … and that´s what she gets for this. I can´t.

      • That’s all Elena needed. To get Bonnie in the same room as her so she could work her own doppelganger magic on Bonnie and keep her from leaving.

        I despised the blocking of the scene. the way Elena was just standing there flailing her arms and Bonnie took the step to comfort her.

        No blame Elena, you get no blame. When I am in the same house as the thing that murdered my mother, when I am protecting a man who has murdered people of the town because a ring that doesn’t even belong to him. I don’t blame you for calling me when you need magic, or to bring me over there to make you feel better …

        I wish Bonnie would ask Elena why the hell she even wants to be friends with her when she won’t give up anything … to maintain their friendship. UGH!

        • when I am protecting a man who has murdered people of the town because a ring that doesn’t even belong to him.

          That´s something that really bothers me … so there won´t be any punishment for Alaric? And what is even more awful. We know that there are only a few days between now and the day when Bill died, but here you have Elena phoning Caroline the daughter of one of the victims and pressuring her to get Bonnie back in town so that the man who killed her father can live a normal life again. It´s so gross. The writers don´t even think about what they are writing. The Salvatores killed Bonnie´s mom – she still has to hang out with them because Elena hangs out with them. Alaric kills Caroline´s father but she still has to hang out with him because Elena has a connection to him and doesn´t want to loose him. I can´t with this show. I seriously can´t.
          They should have killed Alaric because of his dumb ass not being able to ask Bonnie in the first place after the ring didn´t work properly. I will mention this until JP comes and describes me Bonnie´s character in more than one sentence.

          • We know that there are only a few days between now and the day when Bill died, but here you have Elena phoning Caroline the daughter of one of the victims and pressuring her to get Bonnie back in town so that the man who killed her father can live a normal life again.

            This! I think the ball happened one day after Bill’s death? Either way, 3.15 happened the day after 3.14, and 3.16 happened the day after 3.15, and I think 3.17 took place the day after that which is why Caroline said something about Abby transitioning “for the past couple of days.” It’s been at least 5 days since Bill died, but Caroline had no reaction to finding out who had killed him. Instead they decided to insert her issues in Bonnie’s scenes. It’s like Julie Plec and these writers’ brains lock every time it comes to showing Bonnie’s perspective or letting her breathe, so they just naturally give the dialogues to Caroline.

        • I wish Bonnie would ask Elena why the hell she even wants to be friends with her when she won’t give up anything … to maintain their friendship. UGH!

          This. Everything worked out for Elena in this episode. “The people she loves” are still here. Meanwhile Bonnie’s mother ran off while she was slaving away for Elena, but in ep 20 she’ll be dancing the night away.

    • Thanks for posting.

      I knew about the first one already, because someone asked her on twitter last week or so and she gave the same answer … but I think she added girlpower scenes to Caroline and I had to think about what you said in one of your podcasts about Elena and Caroline having girlpower moments.

      The second one. Urgh. I can´t handle this bs.

    • “Alaric is my favorite right now. Matt Davis is the best suck-up…er.. actor! But I regularly make my actors parade shirtless for me, so don’t worry guys, you all have a chance to earn more screentime. I’m a tough boss…but fair!”

      • I realized that after I woke up: that she probably said Alaric because Matt Davis was an ass on her behalf. Because the writing for Alaric certainly does not show that he’s her favorite. Not even during this killer “arc.”

        • Except that it looks like Alaric won’t suffer any consequences for being a serial killer. :/ I’ll be shocked if he voluntarily turns himself in to the police. Or even refrains from dating Meredith in the future. 😛 Hey, after all, it’s not really his fault he killed people… he wasn’t in control! I expect Alaric and Stefan to bond after this…they have much in common (including a secret lust for eachother’s love interests ;))

          • I love that Stefan continued to not give a crap about Alaric. “If Alaric’s going crazy, then there’s nothing you can do about it.” Lmao.

            Yeah, I’m sure Liz and Carol will stop caring that two Council members were killed with no conflict whatsoever. She’ll just accept it.

            • Bwahaha! Good point! Elena’s compassion must be rubbing off on Stefan. 😉 Stef just wants to make sure Elena devotes herself to *his* reform…she’s been way too concerned about Alaric lately. Stefan is possessive. Even when he’s supposedly tortured about not being good enough for Elena, he thinks he has a right to tell her what to do/who to talk to/kiss. I love how he jumped on Damon and was like “what did you tell Elena about me?! Are you sabotaging our relationship! Don’t do that! I can do that all by myself!!!” 😛

              • I don’t think it’s Elena. Since season 1, I mentioned in an episode’s podcast that Stefan totally doesn’t like Alaric. It’s when he was questioning him on he sidewalk about who he is/why he wants to go after Damon.

                • I don’t remember the Stefan/Alaric interaction… maybe I *should* rewatch episodes. 😉 Nah.

                  I do think Stef’s possessive though. Maybe he’s jealous of Alaric bonding with his brother. And living with Elena. (And dating his real-life wife ;)) AND serial killing. It’s like he’s stealing Stefan’s identity! 😉

                  Stefan doesn’t really like anyone, does he? No real friends. Despite brief scenes bonding with Matt, Caroline, Klaus, Rebekah in the past… oh and Bonnie. I can tell he still likes Bonnie a lot. 😛 To strengthen their friendship, Bonnie should torture Stefan, like his best bud Lexi did. (What? TVD has truly convinced me that torture is love, okay? ;))

  14. I wasn’t looking forward to this Alaric-centric ep, and I’m sure you can all guess why. Although Matt Davis is better when he’s playing a villain… like when Klaus possessed Alaric before. Yup, MD’s convincing as a Bad Guy, but now we know not to credit that to acting talent. Maybe TVD will give him the opportunity to spout pseudo-intellectual “poetic” nonsense before he attacks someone. He can be one of those really irritating villains who won’t shut up, and his victims beg him to just kill them already.

    Was debating with myself whether to watch at all, but I wanted to snark with you guys, so I caved in. The good news is I don’t watch on TV and have no effect on the ratings, so… less guilt about watching.

    Naturally, Caroline had more scenes with Bonnie’s mom and Bonnie’s love interest, than Bonnie did. Caroline/Jamie seemed more likely than Bonnie/Jamie. Probably because Bonnie was too nice to him. It makes no sense that Abby would choose to transition, in order to be with her daughter and stepson (foster son? Can’t remember.) and then just abandon them anyway. Well, after all, Abby had no love interest, so she had to go. Too bad…show could’ve made Abby chase after Kol or Klaus, a la Sage/Finn. What a waste. 😉 But I’m glad Caroline was allowed to get emotional and mad at Jamie & Abby. But what if the fans turn against her for being too bitchy and judgmental?! 😉

    Sage showed disdain for her own gender again. Girls. So lame! Like the ones who pine for hundreds of years over a guy who doesn’t give a damn. And ESPECIALLY the ones who threaten to rip off Damon’s head, and yet inexplicably refrain from doing so. Girls really *are* pathetic. 😛 Seriously, Damon lied to her and said he’d kill her “true love”, but Sage does nothing?

    I wondered how long it would take for Elena to contact Jeremy about the crazy-making-rings. Every scene where she worried about Alaric I was like, “umm, your BROTHER!” Even after finding CrazyAlaric’s (unsent? wtf?) letter to Jeremy about carrying on the killing tradition… Elena felt no sense of urgency. She finally called him at the very end. And…. didn’t even mention the ring thing. How stupid can she be? “Well, Jer’s doing normal-friend-things, so everything must be okiedokey! I’ll wait til he tells me all his friends have mysteriously died …then I’ll worry. And lay the biggest most traumatizing guilt-trip on him ever!” Guess the writers want to leave Jeremy alone and bring him back as a killer later – which will be such a shocking development! I love how Jeremy didn’t miss Elena at all. Just had a “my sister’s such a LOSER” expression on his face. That never gets old. *Somebody* has to not worship Elena. (Hey! There’s no Gilbert on the Council anymore… Elena should totally join and carry on her family’s tradition. Plus there’s some openings now, thanks to Alaric. Go for it! 😉

    • Well, Jer’s doing normal-friend-things

      The “friends” part was suspicious to me. Jeremy has no friends. He attaches himself to an “exciting” girl and makes her his whole world. lbr

    • It makes no sense that Abby would choose to transition, in order to be with her daughter and stepson (foster son? Can’t remember.) and then just abandon them anyway.

      Once again they only scratched the surface with this story. Instead of showing the transition aftermath, they should have shown us her struggling with whether or not to transition.

      But what if the fans turn against her for being too bitchy and judgmental?!

      Gurl.

      I’m not sure why they gave Sage the same love background as Damon. This show seems to only have a basket of personality types and histories, and they recycle it from time to time. I bet the next female vampire to show up will be like Lexi.

      “Well, Jer’s doing normal-friend-things, so everything must be okiedokey! I’ll wait til he tells me all his friends have mysteriously died …then I’ll worry. And lay the biggest most traumatizing guilt-trip on him ever!”

      Smh. Maybe she could tell from his voice that he hasn’t been killing. ‘Cause you know, it’s not like part of the package is having periods of time that you can’t remember.

      • “This show seems to only have a basket of personality types and histories, and they recycle it from time to time. I bet the next female vampire to show up will be like Lexi.”

        Or like Rose! Maybe Sage will morph into a Rose-type. I could see it… on this show where characterization always makes sense. 😉 Tough!Boxer!Sage didn’t even box Damon’s ears for lying to hear and promising to kill Finn. Soon she’ll be crying on Damon’s shoulder because Finn rejects her. Or she’ll rip Finn’s head off and go crazy with guilt! Then Damon will go into her mind and give her a happy vision to live in for eternity…of Sage & Finn frolicking in a field, throwing decapitated heads back and forth like frisbees. Heartwarming stuff. 😉

        “it’s not like part of the package is having periods of time that you can’t remember.”

        Hehe…Elena must’ve forgotten that part. She’s just so happy that Jeremy seems to be living a Normal Life. Awww. If it turns out he’s a psycho-killer, no big deal, Damon can give Jeremy a pleasantville vision to live in too. Forever frolicking in a field with his dog… A dog who digs up the bones of Jeremy’s victims!!!! And the dream becomes a nightmare! Aieee!

        • Must we have the “I’m older than you” talk pretty much every.single.time a vamp older than the Salvatores shows up? Talk about recycling (and also Damon always tries to threaten them). Starting with Lexi, then Pearl (I don’t think Anna ever said it. They matched, for some reason), then Katherine(?), then Rose, then Elijah, I don’t remember about Klaus and Rebekah, and now Sage. And it’s always Damon involved, lmao. Boy can’t remember.

  15. Btw did you notice the praise Caroline got for being such an awesome friend? And this from a person who doesn´t even know her.
    That kind of thing never happened with Bonnie.

    Just wanted to point that out … it reminded me of Matt saying the same thing to Elena on the bridge in episode 11.

    • Good catch, Kathrin… and Caroline was making it all about herself and her daddy issues, just like Elena made it about *herself* and her dead parents when supposedly comforting Caroline over Bill’s death. But that’s what makes them both such good friends. They can relate! They understand! And understanding = compassion/empathy/self-absorption…. or something.

    • The last time that happened to Bonnie was the second episode…..of the entire series. Then again the last thing I want is praise for how great a Mammy friend Bonnie is.

      • I just want Stefan to say please and thank you when Bonnie helps him, instead of giving her orders. And Elena should probably thank her for not setting the Salvatores on fire. I’m sure the writers could find a way to have Bonnie torture D&S out of love and concern for their well-being. 😉 Go on, Bon…join Bill and Lexi’s TortureTherapy club!

  16. I just saw the ratings for last night’s episode and they were up by 100,000 viewers. Julie Plec in all of her sweetness and kindness *cough* was nice enough to leave a link on her twitter page for the “US viewers” who missed the episode to watch it online. Why does evil always seem to win out! Now, poor Bonnie will never catch a break on this f-ing show. Well, at least I didn’t watch and I plan to continue to not watch, even online. Julie Plec has ruined this show for me; this was the first television show that I actually became crazy over and I’m going to miss it. But, I refuse to accept what they are doing to Bonnie/Kat and I will not give them my support.

    • Not only that but she linked to a CW press release on the ratings. Apparently, they are really solid when it comes to women 18-34 or something. It is a press release so it is obviously spin but it is interesting that JP would link to it. Has she ever done that when Delena and Stelena fans threatened to boycott?

      • Nope. I think part of it might be her ego wanting to rub it in the boycotters’ (which are all Bonnie fans since We Are One) faces.

        But this show’s ratings for the past two episodes have been so poor! Lawd, I didn’t realize they were only pulling 2 million. Of course on the CW that amounts to 6 million *_____*.

        • The 18-49 demo for the ep before this was 1.2. For this ep, it was 1.3. That is lower than the NBC comedies that famously get poor ratings. It is also lower than PLL’s ratings which is on cable. What is going on at the CW if this is their highest rated show? It is not like they produce interesting stuff like NBC or anything. When was the last time they had a critically acclaimed show? I guess TVD was critically acclaimed until recently?? *shrug*

          • I think their last critically acclaimed series was Life Unexpected… I remember a lot of reviewers comparing it to the golden age of The WB and saying it didn’t fit in with the rest of The CW’s shows. From the start It was marketed as a higher quality family drama (like Everwood or Gilmore Girls), as opposed to a teen soap. But then the showrunner compromised the quality, agreeing to a lot of stupid changes in order to get renewed for a second season. Tons of network interference forcing soapy plotlines on the writers. If you look at the TWOP forum posts it’s kind of hilariously sad how the tone shifts from one extreme to another, from season 1-2, with pretty much everyone being disappointed in the end.

            TVD’s pilot was mocked by most critics…then it got better. Definitely better in season one than now. And I’m glad the ratings are dropping to reflect that. Julie Plec shouldn’t gloat ’cause each season is losing viewers. If this latest ep increased a bit… I don’t think that means Bonnie fans don’t matter. Numbers don’t tell you *why* people watched. Maybe TwitterGate helped the ratings because people tuned in, curious to see if Bonnie & Alaric interact. Maybe people were hoping Alaric would get killed off in this ep? 😛 Or it could be due to Smallville fans watching for the actress who plays Sage. From what I read, she was considered a good actress on SV…kind of a fan favorite.

  17. I actually enjoyed Price Peterson’s recap this time

    I know a lot of people are wrapped up in the romance aspect of the show (probably a bit too much if we’re being honest), but at some point this teen drama went off the deep end and it’s now wandering around downtown wearing a hat made out of a dollhouse and yelling at its shoes.

    LOL. I’ve been feeling the same way for a while. I think I wrote something similar in comment section of the last TVD ep podcast

    http://www.tv.com/news/the-vampire-diaries-bridge-to-oblivion-photo-recap-28192/

    TVD is not just bad, it is INCOMPREHENSIBLE. Just bad is something else – maybe GG. It is like an experiment in abstract storytelling. I mean, GG is comprehensible, just terrible and horrifying. TVD actually is like a blathering crazy person. There was some sense in season 2 – however flimsy. That has gone out the window now. TVD is just post post modern now lol.

    I love the idea that it’s an artistic experiment

    • I read the recaps on AVClub and nowhitenoise(or whatever it’s called), and they both said pretty much the same thing. And Carina McKenzie’s recap might say the same thing. Smh.

      Does any character on that show judge anymore? At all? Even when it comes to their family members being murdered? Meredith didn’t bat an eyelash at Logan Fell being murdered. More than that she conveniently has no probs with vamps. No need to even talk about the nonsense with Bonnie.

      Lol @ the spelling mistake in the newspaper article Elena found.

      • Did Tyler ever confront Damon for killing his Uncle Mason? I honestly can’t remember. 😛 Elena may not have a chance against Klaus but she hasn’t even expressed the desire to avenge her Aunt Jenna. Of course Meredith’s not gonna care about Logan (or anyone else Alaric killed)… I bet that Alaric trying to kill *her* will only cause a temporary glitch before they start dating again. 😛 After all, Elena hasn’t given up on Stefan…who cares that he threatened to kill&vamp her, or Ripped countless victims. And Damon didn’t kill Jeremy for keeps so… 😛

        Stefan, Damon, Alaric, Klaus … any guy Plec finds drool-worthy… can be absolved of all sins. Why aren’t we as enlightened and benevolent as JP? Shame on us for being too judgy!

        • Did Tyler ever confront Damon for killing his Uncle Mason?

          Nope. Not Damon and not Bonnie. Instead he spoke about Damon’s feelings for Elena. Riveting.

        • Did Tyler ever confront Damon for killing his Uncle Mason?

          No, he confronted Caroline…as people do on this show. 😐 Whenever, someone is like, “Oh No! Vampires (Salvatores) are afoot doing evil”, they come for Caroline.

    • Oh, but if there’s someone Price Peterson finds hunky, then to hell with any writing flaws & contrivance, or over-emphasis on romance. I’m thinking of the way Price drools over that block of wood haughty-model guy on The Secret Circle. Price has praised TSC *way too much* since that “actor” joined the show. I had to stop reading those recaps.. I’d already given up on his TVD ones. I don’t think he’s critical enough of either show. Either he’s too afraid of pissing off the showrunners ’cause he wants to be their buddy & get exclusives… or his judgment is so impaired he actually thinks a bad actor is a good actor (probably just wants to meet & interview him).

        • THANK YOU! The guy who played Nick had more promise, especially in his last ep where he showed a range of emotions. Chris is awful…so stiff and remote. Jake comes across as arrogant and totally unsympathetic. That one scene (I believe it was when Cassie was kidnapped by the witch hunters…the first time. :P) where he was trying to act emotional and threw a tantrum in his bedroom? Haha! From wooden to hammy.

          Price is just going along with the show’s/press’ party line…that Chris/Jake is soooo hot, and single-handedly made the show more interesting. Meh. Jake’s annoying. I watch ’cause I like some of the actresses and their interaction (Melissa and Diana are my favs).

          • Nick was more interesting than Jake. He wasn’t drop dead gorgeous, but he looked better. I can’t take Chris’ acting more than half the time. It’s painful to watch him be angry/happy/sad/confused/everything, lmao. When he cornered the head witch hunter in his bedroom and was yelling at him? Lawd. Also, when he was walking through his memories? Jesus.

          • Oh, idk, Everything he writes seems so sarcastic. It is like he secretly hates the show but he has to write these recaps so he tries to act like he loves it. He seems like he just straight up would never watch it if he weren’t writing about it. That is why I get a kick out of his recaps. Sometimes he has his hate under lots of control and sometimes he doesn’t 😛

            • I dunno Susan… sometimes I spot the sarcasm… other times his over-the-top enthusiasm just seems like sucking up to the showrunners & network. They *do* grant him exclusive interviews, after all. Ever since that one TVD recap he did, where he mentioned learning that Julie Plec actually reads his recaps OMG! …they’ve seemed tamer to me. Full of reassurances that he loves TVD, even as he mocks certain things about it. This tone of “don’t worry folks, it’s all in good fun…I’m not *really* criticizing the show you/we adore!” Honestly, I was surprised that a paid recapper at an official site like that (as opposed to a fan’s blog) was ever as critical as Price was when he started. I guess it couldn’t last forever, once he got on the bigwigs’ radar. I bet *anything* his bosses told him to tone it down. But I’ll go check out his latest one, on your recommendation. 🙂

              • Nah, don’t on my recommendation. It is what you describe. I take it for what it is. He *is* always kissing ass. I guess I am just entertained by it because there is a certain tension to it.

                • But you’re probably right that he secretly hates the show. 🙂 And now you’ve got me wondering if maybe he doesn’t have a crush on Chris/Jake after all. But I think he does. Authentic or fake drool? Only his keyboard knows for sure. 😉

              • Check out this youtube audio commentary instead. The vid quality sucks but I love the commenter. I am amused by her frustration.

                • I watched that earlier. Sometimes I want to fast-forward scenes too when I’m rewatching. Ugh. But I don’t because I’m too detail-oriented. I just now finished rewatching 3.16. The ep wasn’t too bad, but it was a chore to rewatch. Especially knowing what comes after it.

                  • You know I could only handle 10 mins of this ep. You are made of stronger stuff. I am kinda watching the ep now through the youtube commentary lol

                    • No, I mean I’ve *only* watched the last 10 mins of this ep once. lol. I am hesitant to say I am completely done with the show because (a) I’ve said that before 😛 (b) I am into following the fandom like you.

                    • Actually, now I’ve watched most of the first half of the ep through that terrible quality vid I just posted

                    • I have to in order to give an accurate review! Some eps are easier to rewatch than others, and I sometimes voice that in the podcasts.

  18. Do you remember Rebekah’s ‘borderline supernatural’ instincts? Yeah, the writers don’t either. It’s no longer part of her character. I wouldn’t even have brought them up, it’s just that the Damon/Rebekah SL in this episode reminded me a bit of Stefan/Rebekah in 3.04 and how back then Rebekah was able to tell that Stefan was trying to play her. This show.

    • LMAO! I can’t. The dumbing down and powering down of some of the powerful characters in order to make the others look competent is ridiculous. Like, maybe they should have thought about that before deciding to make it canon that Rebekah has great instincts or Klaus is invincible, or Bonnie has the power of 100 witches and is a quick learner. Or at least work with what the other characters have working in their favor. Oooorrr don’t have Klaus and Rebekah as regular characters. They wouldn’t need to dumb them down if every time they showed up, there was a purpose.

      • Yeah, the writers should really think it through before making these characters so powerful. In case of Rebekah, it wasn’t even necessary to establish that she has ‘borderline supernatural’ instincts. In 3.04, she could have realized what was up with Stefan because his pretense act was super crappy, no great instincts needed. But whatever.

        Anyway, I was wondering why the writers didn’t have Rebekah attend this weird non-threesome threesome at the Slavatore boardinghouse because she still wanted to get the info about the tree from Damon. Damon and Rebekah could have tried to play each other. Why make it all about Rebekah being insecure and desperate? I don’t get it and I don’t like it.

        • In 3.04, she could have realized what was up with Stefan because his pretense act was super crappy, no great instincts needed.

          Exactly.

          And also this. I don’t get why she just could not be smart in that situation at all. She even fell asleep surrounded by two people she either doesn’t like or doesn’t trust. Wow.

Flail or vent

