Episode 62: TVD’s Our Town

Episode 62

Spoiler Chat: 03:10.094-16:09.562

In the strongest episode of the season, everyone is allowed to exist in their own space! Stefan finally pops up and comments on his arc, Caroline finally deals with her immortality, Elena finally talks about how her life was with regards to how it currently is (more of this please), and we get friction between Bonnie and Elena (long overdue). And Matt was adorable! There’s no helping Klaus and Tyler though.

Klaus/Caroline Tidbit

That’s right. Another new character

A little KG interview

Episode 13 Synopsis

Klaus/Caroline article

15 thoughts on “Episode 62: TVD’s Our Town

  1. Spoilers ….

    I don’t care about Caroline/Klaus

    Elena looks good.

    Matt had his mother and sister … Bonnie had Grams … >_>

    Why didn’t they just bring back Jenna …?

    Ugh Katherine … needs to go away. Could care less

    Bonnie and Abby will be playing backup to Stefan … >_> You don’t want them all to have an Elijah/Martins relationship.

    Matt will be there unwittingly making out with Katherine … I don’t care I’m making all the things up. Nothing has to make sense in this show. Blah

    Don’t care about this Sage either. Show me someone from Bonnie’s past.

    Yes we need all these extra white faces to balance out the black bodies that will be coming on the show for 2 or so episodes …

    Spell Hijinks! Maybe she finally flubs one on screen!

    Think Bonnie and Abby will talk about Shelia and how she probably wasn’t there for the funeral.

    “Filler year!” waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahh

    Elena/Salvatore really takes up a bulk of the episode story. Seeing so much of something that you just become repulsed by it, that is the trio. they need more mystery and that means giving the other characters more screen time.

    She is awkward drunk.

    OMG the scene in the car. He triggered her so bad. He took her to the bridge where he parents died.

    They should have shown a payphone on the bridge.

    Stefan

    If Klaus would have called Stefan’s bluff Elena would be Undead right now. Please write Bonnie’s reaction to that!

    “I lost you the moment I left with Klaus” He gave her up. He wanted the blood more

    Lexi/Stefan. URF

    Think Stefan will want Elena to move on. It seems like that’s all he wants.

    Damon did say he didn’t like Lexi’s brand of rehab. I think he said it to Elena after the ghosts came back. That made me think on why Damon would kill Lexi so swiftly and coldly. Retcon like a mofo but it still made me think.

    Stefan’s still eating people right?

    Klaus can make more hybrids but the werewolves are almost instinct. >_>

    Damon.

    Please just put Stefan in a shower scene please.

    Alta what are “werewolves”?

    Ric still has an apartment? I thought it was the Salvatore house

    WTF with smashing things with a shovel? I’m surprised the thing didn’t splinter or shatter. Every time

    Klaus … why was he looking like a hippy. I stood out like a sore thumb in that party. he looked like he needed to be on a beach at a beach party catching waves or whatever

    I feel like Klaus and Liz and Carol is rushed and they all look like they are drugged or something. They seemed compelled.

    Klaus is protecting the town from him … it’s like Protection racketeering. Though I don’t know why Klaus would need/want to be in cahoots with the council … I mean if he’s such a bad ass. he’s like a politician. Its all he ever wanted to be.

    He’s making a deal with Carol for zoning reasons.

    ALTA! WHO IS BONNIE!? WTH IS A “BONNIE”?

    “They want the story to last …” Season 2

    Alaric

    Normal weapon? he wasn’t staked?

    Alaric is “one of those guys”

    Alaric killing that random … the show is not that deep.

    The guy who died was Brian?

    The Hybrids were there to build the house.

    He doubles over because the knife was in the hands of a Salvatore’s.

    Bonnie.

    “Bonnie doesn’t kill, she keeps the balance” 🙄

    What if Elena kills Klaus?

    Bonnie recoils from Elena. I love it. Love it. Her voice kinda shudders too.

    Jeremy Bings a witch.

    I thought Bonnie would have asked if Jeremy was compelled to cheat on her too?

    Did Bonnie even drink? I feel like she doesn’t. It might mess with her magic or something. I haven’t seen her drink since season 1.

    She might need to sleep off her anger.

    Elena and Bonnie should have more fights than they do.

    Bonnie mentioning being compelled was in my my head too. I wanted her to ask Elena that.

    TOLD YOU! Jeremy was totally compelled in the Anna thing.

    Caroline/Tyler

    The bracelet … For some reason I thought she gave him the charm bracelet and he was giving it back because he was saying goodbye. Or it felt like he was.

    what was the tequila line?

    Carol’s compelled too. Maybe there’s some morbid familiarlity with Klaus/Tyler that Carol kind of missed once her husband died. She needs male figure to have Tyler under his thumb. IDK that’s stretching it.

    Maybe the fact that we as Bonnie fans get less is a blessing because … Tyler.

    “Klonnie” reminds me of a Klondike bar.

    Ha is this the Romeo/Juliette thing they were talking about.

    But he’s a hybrid …

    Damon is a full vampire man. Rose was older. Caroline is a weak baby vampire so of course she’s dead in two minutes after a biting.

    It’s so romantic when couples abide by gender rules and the female is constantly show in a weak submissive role as compared to the male in the relationship. If the man isn’t constantly ruling over her and asserting his superior power over her than it isn’t real love, Alta. duh

    Council’s never gonna do ish.

    KLAUS/CAROLINE YAY!

    If I was Liz I might have brought Caroline thought the door and told him to fix her on the thrushold … >_> … FANTASY!

    Don’t take much to attract Klaus’s attention. Ask Stefan,

    OMG Klaus is a regular or whatever. He is never leaving!

    Why doesn’t Klaus already have this with Tyler? Tyler had father issues too and they were more similar than that trumped up crap they put Caroline through.

    Klonnie shippers LOST THEIR SHIT!

    Also there was Stefan/Caroline. friendship … smh

    OMG Jeremy never said “I love you.”

    It’s because Candice looks like a Disney princess.

    What about Bonnie/Caroline. conundrum

    Stefan was more skilled than an 1000 year old vampire.

    I wonder why Klaus has never made a vampire. I guess he had but then he’s killed them.

    Bill Forbes GTFO.

    They are maybe going to have Bill show Tyler how to fight compulsion or some BS!

    • Think Bonnie and Abby will talk about Shelia and how she probably wasn’t there for the funeral.

      I think they will definitely talk about Sheila. Bonnie might ask why Abby didn’t come to the funeral, but I think it’s a sure thing that Sheila’s name will come up between them.

      OMG the scene in the car. He triggered her so bad. He took her to the bridge where he parents died.

      I think that’s the first time triggering was explicitly acknowledged by the show.

      Stefan’s still eating people right?

      I really don’t think so. Which takes away from the “he’s addicted to blood” angle the show is going for.

      Alta what are “werewolves”?

      Lol!!!

      I feel like Klaus and Liz and Carol is rushed and they all look like they are drugged or something.

      I agree it’s rushed.

      He’s making a deal with Carol for zoning reasons.

      Lol!!!!

      Normal weapon? he wasn’t staked?

      No gurl he wasn’t daggered. I think for the first time they’ll actually say “stab.”

      Yeah, his name was Brian.

      He doubles over because the knife was in the hands of a Salvatore’s.

      Ugh.

      What if Elena kills Klaus?

      I’ll resentfully applaud.

      what was the tequila line?

      When they were talking about camping for Caro’s birthday like when they were little. Matt said, “Except with tequila.”

      Maybe the fact that we as Bonnie fans get less is a blessing because … Tyler.

      I think about that sometimes.

      It’s so romantic when couples abide by gender rules and the female is constantly show in a weak submissive role as compared to the male in the relationship. If the man isn’t constantly ruling over her and asserting his superior power over her than it isn’t real love, Alta. duh

      How could I forget?

      Don’t take much to attract Klaus’s attention. Ask Stefan,

      Lmao.

      Why doesn’t Klaus already have this with Tyler? Tyler had father issues too and they were more similar than that trumped up crap they put Caroline through.

      Word! I didn’t even think about that!

      That’s exactly what they’re going to do wrt Bill and Tyler.

      You like Klaus/Caroline? Are you one of the people who voted yes?

      • I think that’s the first time triggering was explicitly acknowledged by the show.

        Damn and it wasn’t Caroline first? O_O Or even Matt or Jeremy or Tyler…? This show is bassakwards.

        No gurl he wasn’t daggered. I think for the first time they’ll actually say “stab.”

        there’s a notable pause every time I hear that dumbass word.

        That’s exactly what they’re going to do wrt Bill and Tyler.

        … are you serious?

        You like Klaus/Caroline? Are you one of the people who voted yes?

        Eww no!

        I bet you the writers get really excited when they write Bonnie and they make out all these fleshed out side stories for Bonnie that would actually make great episodes, but then Julie Inc. gets her hands on it, meshes it with the crap she writes and steals all the “good” bits, chops then divides them among the other characters (Caroline) in a way that looks like fire-lit poo fanfiction. But somehow EVERYONE LOVES IT! BEST EPISODE EVER!

        not

  2. Hi Alta!

    It´s always so difficult for me to comment on the whole podcast and I envy Cana for doing it everytime so accurate.
    I listened to it and loved all the things you mentioned.
    I will post a longer reply tomorrow, because I have to listen to it again, but I have a theory about that Fells tomb and it has something to do with the books.
    Good to know I wasn´t the only one who thought about that Matt Davis interview.

    A quick question: I can´t comment on something that you said in the spoiler part of your podcast … or could I but marking it with “SPOILER-WARNING”?

    • but I have a theory about that Fells tomb and it has something to do with the books.

      I can’t wait to hear it!

      Yeah, you can talk about the spoilers mentioned on the podcast. Just mark it with a spoiler warning.

    • Sometimes I break the episode up into sections. I review in in word doc or google docs or something I can save it on. Alta’s voice is to soothing. 😉

      • Yeh Cana thanks for the advice! I did it that way this time.

        Alta’s voice is to soothing.

        That´s true. But you also can hear when something really emotional happened and that you are so invested in this show … especially Bonnie.

        Don´t know why but I like when you say “a couple of weeks ago” – probably because of the pronunciation, I remembered it immediately from an earlier podcast 🙂 Lol

        • Don´t know why but I like when you say “a couple of weeks ago” – probably because of the pronunciation, I remembered it immediately from an earlier podcast Lol

          Lol.

  3. I´m back! lol

    I liked the ep, too but my hate for the writers and them taking out Bonnie out of most of the last half of the episode and this Klaus/Caroline thing overshadowed my love for this well-written ep.
    I really hope R.Sonnenshine stays beyond season 3, she really gets the characters.

    SPOILERS:

    – Caroline is the love interest for sure … the show most of the time can´t do subtle, don´t know why the writers or JM and CA try to deny it
    – don´t think that Bonnie will be in ep 14, because the director of ep 13 tweeted a pic of him and her and not long after Kat tweeted about her last day of shooting in 2011 and they finished ep 14 in 2011 and I saw the stills and they confirmed it – I hate it.
    – I think Candice said something like “We all got dressed up and even took ball dance courses” – not all of them , Bonnie won´t be there
    – ep 13: Now we know its Elijah who Damon turns to, the dinner is probably the scene of which Ian spoke with him and three strong men (Klaus, Elijah, Stefan), don´t know who will take the dagger out of who … but it´s probably either Klaus or Elijah, don´t know about
    – don´t know Sage … but I read some things about him, in the books he has a long history with Damon – I loved Cassidy Freeman on Smallville (before I stopped watching it) but I really think they are introducing too much characters. I know some of them only show up in flashbacks, but they take away screentime for characters I´m already invested in, perhaps she is the one with who Finn interacted, who we former thought would be Katherine, that´s why the ep was first called 1912
    – I think that if the writers want to have Klaus in season 4, they will probably kill off Tyler at the end of season 3 – just my theory, I think Matt is safer than any supernatural being on the show, they won´t kill off the only human of the show – especially because I think in the end (series finale) Elena and Matt will be together (unless your idea of “The Asylum Chronicles” doesn´t become canon) … that´s the way the writers are (t)rolling.
    – “when she is weak” – that part of the Kat interview also confused me, don´t know what to think about it – I agree, I love her interviews and her description of Bonnie … but sometimes she over-promotes the writing.
    – in regards to the Original brothers … at first I said the both of them look very basic and that´s probably also how their characters are … but after checking out the guy who plays Kol I´m interested in him, because of his resemblance to Daniel/Elijah, yeah and he follows Kat on twitter 😉

    Episode:
    Elena: Love that she is still training and this sl wasn´t drop after one ep, at first I wasn´t to fond of the funeral scene with Caroline but when it played out on screen I really liked it, that last Matt/Elena scene was my favourite too, Nina and Paul really moved me with that scene on the bridge – awesome job, didn´t feel anything during the Damon/Elena scene but it was good

    Stefan: he could be the best villain TVD ever saw but I don´t think the writers will ever go that way because of the triangle, that´s why I also don´t think that the writers would have made him turn Elena into a vampire, I´m still confused about this whole Stefan sl … even more than all of you, but sometimes this show does him right and we can see this side of Stefan and I loved it … especially loved that scene with him taking this knife and walking through the founders party nonchalant, hoped he would kill this hybrid because he looked dumb

    Damon: liked him this episode, even found some of his lines funny, that didn´t happen in awhile

    Alaric: don´t know why they speak about the ring but don´t ask the “real” expert about it … that makes them even look more dumb, although thought about Alaric killing this guy also because he reacted so extreme with Meredith and her ex-boyfriend, don´t care about Meredith and Meredith/Alaric
    Btw I miss Susan and her posts like “the thing called Dalaric” lol

    Klaus (+ Council): his outfits and necklaces bothered me since the start of season 3 … did he even wear something like that in season 2? And first I thought he compelled Carol and remembered the discussion with Susan about that scene in Homecoming, but we didn´t see anything in her eyes, the council didn´t accomplish anything since UJ in season one … and that was because of the device Bonnie didn´t deactivated, they are useless … and here I thought something would come out of this with Alaric being in the council –nothing happened, that´s why I don´t understand Klaus and I agree with you, he should have gone after Bonnie but the writers don´t want to make him look smart so this is also not happening, it seems like they don´t like the villain Klaus and want to transform him into a proper citizen of MF (probably that´s what they are trying to do to work with him beyond season 3).
    And here I thought after reading that article as a preview of the next half of season 3 and him interacting with the Council would be cool … now it doesn´t work on screen

    Hybrids: that´s a master-race … lol, that scene with the head really bothered me – why did they have to show him with Mindy´s head in the hand, I think Stefan killing her in that cruel way was enough, love your speculation about Klaus weaknesses transferring on to his hybrids

    Bonnie: yes she sounded scared, I think she already worked with her eyebrows in the scene when she opens the coffin and Klaus lies in it and has the necklace in his hands – she raises one eyebrow … and I had to laugh at this bc it looked like she was thinking “Not you again”, agree with your other comments

    Caroline/Tyler: in the first scene the music was to loud and didn´t fit at all – I was totally out of it, I needed more of her and her point of view about outliving all her friends and family, basically the only one she will see for an eternity will be Tyler – good luck with that, I feel bad for Michael and I really think they could do much more with his character but like you said he is only one part of Forwood and now that this is over we won´t see him much and with this whole Klaroline thing he is out of the picture at least for now, Can´t really comment on her last scene … because I can´t watch it as bitter as I am (sorry that never happened before and I wasn´t even shipping Klaus/Bonnie, I only hoped for an one-sided obsession or something like that), not even on the rewatch, the only thing I remembered was that Caroline said “Are you going to kill me?” – and I had a flashback to season one and her scene with Damon with her asking the same question. Klaus reminded me of his character Lysander in “The Immortals” (I think that’s the original title) which I watched at the end of last year – Klaus is pretty much the same character at least in season 3.
    Agree with all things you said and I hate the writers for this. I really should stan Caroline … it´s probably the better way to get a (even a crack)ship in canon.
    Your explanation or the theory of your friend of Klaus seems pretty legit, thanks for mentioning it, it doesn´t make it better, but now I understand it a little bit better.

    TOMB speculation: It was the Fells tomb, right? Because at first I asked myself why they would go to the Fells tomb and not the Forbes tomb … it would be more fitting for a funeral for Caroline. It seems like the Fells aren´t very respected in the town if you go to their tomb and throw a party.
    – In the books the ghost of Honoria Fell (the founder of Fells Church together with someone called Smallwood- the Lockwoods of the series) contacts Bonnie (who is only a psychic in the books) and helps her to find the danger which is coming to Fells Church (first Katherine, then Klaus) and I think she lead them to her tomb … perhaps something like that will happen on the show, with Bonnie and her dreams. But I don´t know how they want to connect the Fells to the Originals. In the books Klaus also wasn´t killed because nobody could, but Bonnie called to the ghosts at the place (I think it was an old battlefield) where they were fighting him and these ghosts came and took Klaus away … and he was never seen again. That´s why I thought Jeremy and his whole ghost sl would lead to something. Yeah the writers didn´t think so.
    Btw Meredith and Klaus are connected in the books … he kidnaps her with her brother and turns her into a half-vampire but brings her back to her parents.

    That´s it from me!

    • Welcome back! Lol.

      I think Candice said something like “We all got dressed up and even took ball dance courses” – not all of them , Bonnie won´t be there

      Yeah, I saw the snippet a couple of days ago.

      Yep. Can I just say that I’m tired of watching dudes negotiate or talk to each other while drinking on this show? It’s not a sign of power or seriousness or of being badass. So they should stop.

      Ah, I forgot the ep used to be called 1912. Lord, it’ll probably be yet another Story Hour with Elena. Oh wait, it’ll be Klaus this time.

      but sometimes she over-promotes the writing.

      She really does. She’s the show’s number 1 cheerleader. Now if Zach Roerig was extolling the show’s virtues like that, then he’d be number 1 because we know the show gives him nothing.

      especially loved that scene with him taking this knife and walking through the founders party nonchalant

      That scene was chilling and amazing.

      it seems like they don´t like the villain Klaus and want to transform him into a proper citizen of MF

      They think they’re towing the line, but they’re not. With Bonnie’s dedication, Damon’s off the walls nature, and even Stefan’s ruthlessness, Klaus should be dead already. Also, I don’t remember him wearing necklaces when JM was playing him in season 2.

      I feel bad for Michael and I really think they could do much more with his character but like you said he is only one part of Forwood and now that this is over we won´t see him much and with this whole Klaroline thing he is out of the picture at least for now

      There’s a recent interview with Mikael. It’s on ONTD. There’s a part where he says he hopes nothing comes of Klaus/Caroline. The poor guy knows where his scenes come from. He saw what happened to Steven McQueen when the show broke Jeremy and Bonnie up. So sad.

      The show always makes Caroline cower in the face of death. She just accepts it and basically waits for the person to kill her.

      At least Lysander was supposed to be a sniveling villain. When I saw the movie I thought he was a lamer version of Klaus. Now the two characters really aren’t so far apart.

      I don’t know how any of that can play out now. They already used the ghosts, and they haven’t mentioned Honoria Fell’s name again. Might it be Esther? Or has the show forgotten about her? I think it’s the new location for the coffin.

      Ugh, I don’t need Meredith and Klaus to interact. Give me a Bonnie/Abby/Elijah scene. Or Bonnie/Elijah. Or Abby/Elijah. Stop letting the same group of people interact!

  4. I liked this episode so much. And I appreciate it even more after this week’s episode which had pretty weak writing in my opinion and felt very disjointed. Can Rebecca Sonnenshine write more episodes, please?

    I really like reading Kat’s interviews. Like you said, she has a good grip on her character and I love the way she teases things. She doesn’t give anything away but she always includes little tidbits that get you speculating, like the bit about the Fell tomb. I don’t think that the other TVD cast members do that in their interviews.

    In Ian’s and Paul’s defense, their hands are pretty much tied. They have to promote their characters as viable love interests for the sake of the triangle and the writers’ take on their characters. Poor guys.

    So many new characters. What is it with this show.

    Yeah, that Matt Davis interview changed my perception of Alaric too. Now, whenever he has an emotional scene with Elena or a Dalaric scene with Damon, I cannot help thinking, “There he is, interacting with two of the mains, not held back by a secondary character like Jenna.” Bah.

    Alaric is totally “that guy.” I like your speculation and I could see it actually playing out that way. The show loves its twists way too much so it’s pretty much a given that Meredith didn’t kill the medical examiner.

    Ugh, the necklaces he was wearing in that scene, the stuff of nightmares. I liked it when Damon just stared at Klaus’ terrible clothes, said “Nice vest” and made his trademark crazy eyes. I literally went, “I’m right there with you, Damon. That’s the only appropriate reaction.”

    If Klaus hadn’t given in, Elena would’ve joined the ranks of the undead. That’s for sure.

    Yeah, I wish the writers would have allowed Elena to say that she hates him. But these writers can’t ever, ever leave the shippers without a glimmer of hope. This goes for both Stelena and Delena. If only they were braver than that.

    Caroline isn’t in love with Tyler. It was very obvious in this ep. But I have a feeling that one of the reasons why it was so plain to see in this ep is that they want to milk the Klaroline angle. But we’ll see.

    I’m feeling for the Klonnie shippers. It is favouritism.

    Yeah, the Klaus/Caroline scene was better on rewatch. During my first watch, I was so perplexed. There was Klaus’ infamous line “On your birthday???” and his strange facial expression while saying that line. I couldn’t take anything seriously that came after that. (Still can’t tbh.)

    Btw, since you were wondering where KW is, I just wanted to say there are two recent interviews with him. I don’t know if you’ve seen them. Anyway, in one of them he said that TVD is now in JP’s hands. I don’t think he has much to do with ‘The Secret Circle’ either. It seems he’s busy with his Fox drama pilot.

    • Yeah, that Matt Davis interview changed my perception of Alaric too. Now, whenever he has an emotional scene with Elena or a Dalaric scene with Damon, I cannot help thinking, “There he is, interacting with two of the mains, not held back by a secondary character like Jenna.” Bah.

      Exactly.

      Yeah, the Klaus/Caroline scene was better on rewatch. During my first watch, I was so perplexed. There was Klaus’ infamous line “On your birthday???” and his strange facial expression while saying that line. I couldn’t take anything seriously that came after that. (Still can’t tbh.)

      Lmao. He just looked so confused that she thought he’d kill her on her birthday. I mean you did kill her boyfriend, Klaus, geez.

      I don’t know whether that’s a good or bad thing. We know he thought the show had too much “witchy woo woo.” My friend told me of another recent interview he gave where he was basically singing Caroline/Candice’s praises.

      • He just looked so confused that she thought he’d kill her on her birthday. I mean you did kill her boyfriend, Klaus, geez.

        But at least it gave us all these hilarious gifs on tumblr. Like the one with 1492!Klaus and the line “Birthdays are a vampire’s greatest weakness.” Lmao.

        Yeah, I don’t know if it’s good or bad either. In his interviews, KW is saying pretty much the same things as JP. So I don’t think it makes much of a difference who of the two is in charge. Maybe things would be a *little* bit less shipper-heavy if TVD was still in his hands but who knows.

        Yeah, I read that interview too. I wasn’t surprised. Caroline and Damon are his favourites.

Flail or vent

