Episode 57: OUAT

Episode 57

Does it say something that I keep conflating James and David? In The Sheppard, I don’t get the James background story that I wanted, the David and Mary-Margaret story moves too fast, and Graham/Emma shenanigans come out of nowhere. Next, in The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, said shenanigans continue much to my chagrin and Graham’s actions are not his own thereby taking away all tension from the character.

What was the most enjoyable episode of the first half of the season? The least enjoyable? I really enjoyed Snow Falls. The Heart is a Lonely Hunter leaves me cold.

 

10 thoughts on “Episode 57: OUAT

  1. hi!

    The Shepherd:

    ~ Yeah. It’s not even People’s Choice Award worthy.

    ~ It wasn’t what I wanted either. I’ve accepted now, but I wanted something better.

    ~ I think we’re meant to believe that Regina didn’t want him to wake because he was unconscious while the spell took effect, so he may have woken up with his memories intact. Though the spell probably should have taken care of that. It’s still shaky at best, as far as explanations go.

    ~ They must not have been convinced they’d get a full season. That’s the only reason I can see that Mary Margaret/David would be as rushed as it was.

    ~ My problem was that the writers could have had David be focused on the idea that she saved him. He wasn’t as focused on that as he should have been.

    ~ Them getting to know each other would have been interesting. Courting between the two of them, considering the chemistry, would have been amazing.

    ~ They haven’t developed David at all. He has amnesia, is a literal blank slate, and they decide to throw him, on the power of the chemistry between the actors, into a love story before establishing anything about him.

    ~ My problem with David kissing Katherine and then saying “This isn’t right” doesn’t work for me because he has amnesia. Of course it wouldn’t feel right. Mary Margaret is established as someone David didn’t know before the coma. So there’s nothing that should be there except for what can be there, you know?

    ~ James being a twin is also lame because the prince was also basically a version of James who was going to die. He didn’t even have a slight personality difference. It’s not as interesting as it could have been, even within the context of James being not a real prince.

    ~ I still prefer my original backstory for James better because the backstory the show chose was flat, except for the parellels with Snow White, masquerading as a royal/a commoner, but I’m not entirely sure what the show plans on doing with that and if Charming is around to bulster Snow’s story then there are plenty of backstories for him that would have worked better.

    The Heart is a Lonely Hunter:

    ~ He crawled out of the window in order to get caught. The intensity of her disgust is ridiculous. Because Regina has a child? So she shouldn’t be having sex? I don’t get it. Regina has not done anything horrible enough (or even horrible) to warrant Emma’s disgust.

    ~ He was sweating! Because he killed a deer! I forgot about that. Ridiculous. So ridiculous. Graham really doesn’t like killing deers!

    ~ I forgot so much about this episode. Haven’t rewatched it yet.

    ~ Those people freak me out.

    ~ I expected a lot more from that letter than what we got. He was so close to crying before he was finished.

    ~ THE BLOOD MAN! I CAN’T HELP IT. BECAUSE OF THE BLOOD! SO WHAT IF I’M THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM? SO WHAT IF THIS PROBLEM ONLY OCCURS AT THE CONVENIENCE OF THE PLOT? IT’S THE BLOOD.

    ~ Maybe Snow was really bad at expressing her love to her father. Despite being a douche.

    ~ Dr. Whale does look like a selfish lover! He looks extremely selfish.

    ~ What Emma said to Regina was just gross? Why did Graham even need to bandage Emma up? I mean, she got hit once.

    ~ I’m pretty sure the Huntsman doesn’t die in the Snow White fairy tale, but not absolutely sure.

    Though Jamie Dornan, Graham/Huntsman, has said that he might come back as the Huntsman. Just not the Sheriff.

    ~ Part of me hopes that it doesn’t make it to season two because after the wonderful joy of Snow/Charming in the Pilot and Snow Falls, I’ve not liked most of what the show has been doing with the “real world” or with the “fairy world”. I feel like they’re bringing in all of these other fairy tale characters and that’s cool I guess, but what happens after season one and how far can they stretch out people not knowing and slowly discovering and so on?

    • ~ They must not have been convinced they’d get a full season. That’s the only reason I can see that Mary Margaret/David would be as rushed as it was.

      Hmm, I wonder when they got the news.

      ~ My problem was that the writers could have had David be focused on the idea that she saved him. He wasn’t as focused on that as he should have been.

      David doesn’t seem at all curious about why/how he woke up when he did.

      He didn’t even have a slight personality difference.

      This. Before the reveal, I totally bought that the James we met in Snow Falls would talk/behave like the prince did in this episode.

      What’s your original backstory?

      He crawled out of the window in order to get caught.

      Basically.

      He was so close to crying before he was finished.

      The thing is Snow doesn’t even mention this horrible thing she did. All she did was apologize and ask for forgiveness, and the Huntsman was crying. Smh.

      THE BLOOD MAN! I CAN’T HELP IT. BECAUSE OF THE BLOOD! SO WHAT IF I’M THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS PROBLEM? SO WHAT IF THIS PROBLEM ONLY OCCURS AT THE CONVENIENCE OF THE PLOT? IT’S THE BLOOD.

      *Scratches like an addict.* At the risk of derailing my own post, how the heck does Stefan even know a vampire can be addicted to blood, if he’s never met another vamp with this “problem?” Oh yeah. Lexi.

      What she said was so childish.

      Why did Graham even need to bandage Emma up? I mean, she got hit once.

      Lol.

      but what happens after season one and how far can they stretch out people not knowing and slowly discovering and so on?

      That’s what I wondered in the first podcast. I wish the show was darker, you know what I mean? Just messier. Not this Disney stuff where getting a happy ending really is all there is to these characters.

      • This. Before the reveal, I totally bought that the James we met in Snow Falls would talk/behave like the prince did in this episode.

        Me too. He just seemed, not noble, so much as regal. Which unlike nobility is pretty specific to royalty. So I was a bit surprised that they made him not a prince.

        What’s your original backstory?

        My original backstory, since I was under the impression that he was meant to be supportive, but fully capable of being an equal partner to Snow, who was pretty much amazing from the start, was that he’d killed his father or orchestrated his father’s death. Actually, I thought about the fact that there had to be a way to fit more fairy tale characters into the plot without making their stories about happy endings and addressing that the fairy tale world didn’t automatically grant one a happy ending. So I thought it would be interesting if Sleeping Beauty was his mother. Depending on the version of the Sleeping Beauty story, the prince kisses her, she wakes up and the prince inherits her kingdom. Or one prince gets her pregnant while she’s unconscious, and giving birth wakes her up. I figured that the show could combine those two versions of the story and make Charming her son. So her happy ending ended up being losing her kingdom to some random prince, who she doesn’t care for and she raises Charming to see the kingdom as hers and basically plots with him to overthrow her husband. Yada yada yada, Charming, essentially has a darker version of the show’s relationship with his mother. Eventually, he orchestrates his father’s death. His mother is queen and he’s made king, but before she gets to truly rule, she dies or maybe the plan falls apart and she dies and it was all for nothing. He’s got the kingdom, but he’s lost his mother. The parellel, I guess would be a somewhat different take on the “true love’s kiss” moment, since Charming and Snow would have fallen in love prior to the kiss that saves her from death.

        I don’t know why I thought any of this was possible considering this show is controlled by Disney and they wouldn’t be interested in having the romantic lead coded as grey, but I was mostly interested in him being close to his mother/invested in the idea of her right to rule her kingdom and having killed his father (and/or his brother) for the thrown. And all that true love stuff as well.

        *Scratches like an addict.* At the risk of derailing my own post, how the heck does Stefan even know a vampire can be addicted to blood, if he’s never met another vamp with this “problem?” Oh yeah. Lexi.

        Lexi must have created that idea, since Stefan talks about control and I place that primarily on the language Lexi probably used during his rehabilitation. The show introducing that idea through Stefan (though not specifically through him) without clarifying where he got this knowledge from (though Lexi would have been his only source) is still so sad.

        That’s what I wondered in the first podcast. I wish the show was darker, you know what I mean? Just messier. Not this Disney stuff where getting a happy ending really is all there is to these characters.

        If the show ere darker, I do think that it would have more longevity. The suggestion of it at least. Right now it is too light hearted. It’s hard to imagine what sort of war this show is going to fall into from the way it’s going now. Because there’s so much more to learn about these characters than the idea that they haven’t gotten a happy ending/want a happy ending/want to take each other’s happy endings away.

        I mean, what do they believe in? Who are they actually? Outside of descriptions like “noble”.

        • Or one prince gets her pregnant while she’s unconscious, and giving birth wakes her up.

          o___o. There’s a version of the story that goes like that? Yeesh. But I like your idea, that Charming could’ve had this whole life/double cross thing going on before he ever met Snow. Something to match this horrible thing she did to the Queen. As it is, he wasn’t really doing much aside from daydreaming on fields before he met her. The show could do with more grey characters, but they’re eiher Rumpelstiltskin or….the rest.

          They seem to be following all of the fairytales closely. Too closely. They don’t seem to be taking advantage of the fact that they’re mixing these different fairytales. Snow White talked to Cinderella. Do something with that. Maleficent and the Evil Queen had some kind of relationship. Do something with that! Maybe Snow and Maleficent plotted against the Evil Queen. Something.

    • I actually saw the second episode. I was confused by most of the dialogue. My mom said Graham the Huntsman(?)’s clothes are too tight.

      Dude was crying so much. Sad lonely man tear.

      Oooh Alta … I guess I shouldn’t have picked that episode to watch.

      Jumping over bushes! lol

      When the kid says “you kissed my mom.” I thought he meant Regina. :X And I was confused as to why he suddenly even cares. IDK I’m lost.

      He can’t feel but he’s always crying?

      I like Regina. I like contrary women …

      The Huntsmen lives in the story, I think.

    • ~ What Emma said to Regina was just gross? Why did Graham even need to bandage Emma up? I mean, she got hit once.

      Regina must’ve hit her really hard and then Emma needed to take off her shirt.

      who do you call for help when you’re the cops? 😉

  2. The most enjoyable episode of the first half of the season? I liked the first 3 episodes of the season. As for the least enjoyable, I have to say that I didn’t really care for the last 3 episodes.

    I was hoping to learn more about Storybrooke – learn more about its mythology (What exactly happens when someone tries to leave? So, I guess, Henry is (or was?) the only one aging in this town? Why is nobody noticing this?) and, how do I put this, get a better feel for this place. Like, I was expecting the town to have a bigger presence on the show, if this makes any sense.

    • Like, I was expecting the town to have a bigger presence on the show, if this makes any sense.

      I agree. This goes with what I was saying about being surprised Henry knew what crickets were since he’d never heard one. The town feels so isolated and insulated. What kind of music do they listen to? Do they know who Diana Ross or (maybe more appropriately) Elvis Presley was? I feel like because the characters don’t remember who they are, the show doesn’t feel the need to develop or explore the town they think they’ve lived in their whole lives.

Flail or vent

