Episode 55: OUAT/Misfits/TSC

Episode 55

In this episode, Jiminy Cricket is not that great of a conscience, and the show really should have kept him a child (what grown man wants to be a cricket?). Misfits goes Freaky Friday in a depressing way (squeaking me out at one point), and I talk about Alisha’s stake in this Superhoodie business. Finally in The Secret Circle, Cassie’s mother knew people would be coming after Cassie but she didn’t think it was important to prepare her at least a little, there are a couple of lines that make no sense, and they finally bind the circle (finally, because they just talk about it so much).

Like last time, please listen to the beginning of podcast, as I don’t talk in between the show reviews in this episode.

OUAT: 01:33.344-20:53.844

Misfits: 20:54.281-41:25.531

TSC: 41:25.937-56:14.937

11 thoughts on “Episode 55: OUAT/Misfits/TSC

  1. Mistfits!

    spongebob and snapped! lol

    they did raped Kelly’s body. it is gross.

    lol Alta cursing! \o/

    “A girl like Kelly?”

    You should see Laure’s (Kelly) brother. Same beautiful eyes. So sad.

    F!Simon already saved Alisha.

    I want to watch Grimm! \o/

    Alisha figures she’s already been saved.

    Shaun. I feel like might come back. I thought that actor is attractive with me.

    • they did raped Kelly’s body. it is gross.

      Glad I’m not the only one who feels weird about that.

      Grimm’s pretty good. It’s a great show to watch while twisting your hair. Lol.

      I thought that actor is attractive with me.

      Really? I’ve never seen him outside of the show; maybe he looks better there.

  2. – I just finished watching this ep of OUAT. Is this show for children? I feel like I am too old for it. Dude *chose* to be a cricket? I am so with you on this one. My reaction was total and utter bewilderment.

    You know what? Now that I had some time to think about it, it totally makes sense. Like, I totally want to be a fruit-fly FOR THE FREEDOM IT WOULD GIVE ME. I cannot wait to get away from my oppressive parents! and boyfriends and general life. I can’t wait to buzz around the crappy donut shop down the street. What could be better than having all the sugar I can eat?

    Speaking of boyfriends, or girlfriends as the case may be, have you thought about how you’ll be mating with crickets now Jiminy? And, I suppose, I could see it as him paying penance for what he accidentally did to Geppetto’s parents or what he almost did to his parents but he seemed to view it as a gift. His penance seemed to be guiding Geppetto. I wish he was a magical cricket all along (a bug there and a man here. Why not?) or he was cursed or he made a deal that went badly or he chose to become a cricket to prevent something bad from happening and he made the best of it. Anything but this. Free=/=becoming a BUG. I guess we could see him as some sort of Catholic priest type who has chosen to remove himself from daily human life inorder to be a guide other people. I get that it is about transformation both physical and spiritual or wtvr but I don’t think they succeeded in making Fairytale Land dreamlike enough or fantastical enough to pull off something like this. I can see how it may have worked on the page but the execution on screen was made of fail. I agree that, if this is what they were determined to do, they should have kept him a child when he made that decision or, at the very least, young. The visual of a middle aged man making this decision is jarring. And I totally agree that the show didn’t do a good job of telling us why he felt trapped with his parents. Or maybe the problem is that they *told* us but didn’t get us to *feel* for his situation? Jiminy’s situation didn’t seem oppressive enough to warrant a transformation to another species.

    – Archie confronting Regina was kinda hilarious to me. In the topsy turvy moral scale of this show, they should be about the same. Has Jiminy told Geppeto that he is the one responsible for Geppeto’s parents becoming wooden dolls? Like, in what world, is she sooo much worse than him? Is it because he has been making amends for his crap for years? I seriously doubt that he would have devoted his life to being a conscience if he had succeeded in killing or getting rid of his own parents. I really hope this is all leading up to Gepettos’ parents being turned back to human form, Gepetto finding out who Jiminy Cricket really is and Gepetto’s parents being mad as hell. Like you said Alta, we didn’t see him be a conscience or doing “good”. Plus, he chose to go along with Regina’s plans and his methods were shady so he can GTFO with his moral superiority.

    – Ok. all of the above is schlocky fun but why would Regina be in a custody battle, Archie? With whom? Emma? WTF?! Ok, this adoption stuff has finally gotten to me. Emma declaring in-front of everyone that Henry is her son too was annoying. My spec aside, the show’s cannon so far is that Emma gave up her son willingly. And she has only been in town for a week or two max AFAIK. How does she have the right to claim Henry as hers so quickly? I get her being concerned because Henry looks to be insane but she can’t just take over Regina’s role completely. Regina has been Henry’s mother all his life. She is the one who has been responsible for him and took care of him. I am starting to think this is the sort of thing that made Regina “evil” in the first place. People shut her out and act like she’s a terrible person while nonetheless overloading her with responsibility. Well, after that, I would be like, “fuck you very much” too!

    – I loved Emma telling Graham that women don’t need to dress like men to be authoritative. He should know they only need their red capes. Get with the program, Graham. You are in the presence of true greatness, And, of course, she didn’t feel Archie’s weight when he held on to her 😛

    – Not only does Regina not abuse Henry and provides for him materially very very well but Regina, as the leader of the town, has maintained a good standard of living for EVERYONE. I mean, just look at everyone’s houses and apts. Look at the clean streets, good hospital, good school and the existence of indoor plumbing. I don’t think I can express just how important that last one is to me. In general, they haven’t made “Our World” look bleak enough. This is another reason I am thinking this is a show for children. I can’t root for people to get back to a land with dodgy dental care, a possible shortage of toiletries and no indoor plumbing. I can root for couples to get together or for Geppeto’s parents to not be wooden dolls anymore but I can’t root for the curse to be lifted which is the entire premise of the show. I am not able to romanticize Fairytale Land as presented like maybe a child would be able to.

    Also, it is not like people are super happy in Fairytale Land. People worry about crops, maintaining kingdoms, arranged marriages and plagues on top of evil witches/trolls/assorted destructive magical forces. Like I’ve mentioned before, it would be one thing if they had given Fairytale Land an interesting visual look that made it seem really bright and dreamlike. But they made Fairytale Land into a generic “olden times” place. Kind of like schlocky Syfy shows/movies. I would be like, “no thanks Emma/Henry. I would like to stay in my four bedroom house in the suburbs.” Also, if you’re with all the same people and living ordinary lives either way, what’s the diff? I mean, who cares which ordinary town filled with the same residents you live in? Maybe if some people were stuck in “Our World” and others were still in Fairytale land. Like say if Mary was here but James was still in Fairytale land I could root for the curse to be lifted.

    I guess what I am saying is that not only do I not understand what Regina is getting from staying but I also don’t understand what the rest of the characters get from leaving.

    – Alta, they don’t explain anything. Henry knowing there is something under the mine isn’t the only example of this. How does the whole time standing still thing work exactly? Do things reset after a couple of months? I mean, people are aware of the passage of time to some degree. Archie was aware of previous sessions with Henry when he was first introduced. People didn’t notice that Ashley was 9 months pregnant for *28* years? Stuff happens and we are not supposed to worry about the how.

    – There is no build up for any of the relationships. Everyone is insta friends/lovers or “in love”.

    – I don’t feel like it is different. I REALLY don’t want Snow White being a mistress. For the love of God, why? For the sake of being ~edgy?

    – Does Ruby have something going on with tow truck guy? What was she doing in and around his truck? I wonder if he will become significant later

    • You know what? Now that I had some time to think about it, it totally makes sense. Like, I totally want to be a fruit-fly FOR THE FREEDOM IT WOULD GIVE ME.

      Lol!

      I wish he was a magical cricket all along (a bug there and a man here. Why not?) or he was cursed or he made a deal that went badly or he chose to become a cricket to prevent something bad from happening and he made the best of it.

      Any of these would have been better than what actually happened.

      And I totally agree that the show didn’t do a good job of telling us why he felt trapped with his parents. Or maybe the problem is that they *told* us but didn’t get us to *feel* for his situation?

      From jump, we saw Jiminy complain about his situation. So there was no growth. There was no point where he did enjoy the lifestyle or thought nothing of it, and then maybe he had an experience, and eventually changed his mind. No, he’s always been “thoughtful.”

      Has Jiminy told Geppeto that he is the one responsible for Geppeto’s parents becoming wooden dolls?

      Lol, good point!

      I seriously doubt that he would have devoted his life to being a conscience if he had succeeded in killing or getting rid of his own parents.

      Word. Becoming a conscience was secondary. The reason he first and foremost became a cricket was to get away from his parents.

      I can’t root for people to get back to a land with dodgy dental care, a possible shortage of toiletries and no indoor plumbing.

      Lmao. But you make a good point about what Regina provides not only for Henry, but for the whole town.

      Maybe if some people were stuck in “Our World” and others were still in Fairytale land.

      This would be more interesting! Also, you’re right. We’re not supposed to think about how the living condition is better in our world. The main point to want to go back to fairy-tale world is the happy endings which is tied to breaking the curse and thereby beating Regina.

      Archie was aware of previous sessions with Henry when he was first introduced. People didn’t notice that Ashley was 9 months pregnant for *28* years?

      True.

      I think Mary/Emma and Emma/Henry are being built-up, despite us not knowing just why Emma is feeling so strongly about Henry. I mean she’s almost one step away from outright wanting to take him from Regina.

      I think he was fixing her car or something.

      • Remember when Rumple told Cinderella that magic always had a price and that her fairy godmother’s spells would have had consequences? Do you think he was lying? I ask because Jiminy transformed into a bug by magic through a wish he made. They didn’t show us any consequences for Jiminy or for any random person.

          • He called the fairy godmother’s wand “pure evil” and told Cinderella that he did her a favor because “all magic” comes with a price. I think he might have lied or stretched the truth to seal a deal. If not, a consequence for Jiminy’s transformation will be revealed later.

            What do you make of Rumple so far? I finally ventured into OUAT fandom and people are saying that he is a neutral presence or something. I thought he was very clearly a bad guy.

            • I think the “pure evil” part was him putting his own spin on things. He did just kill the woman, lol.

              I really like Rumpel. I think he has the chance to be my favorite character no matter what. I don’t think he’s a bad guy in terms of he needs to be defeated. I don’t think that’s how he’s being portrayed. He gives people what they want, and there’s always a consequence for taking the easy way out (and yet they take it anyway). I like how he always has a plan.

  3. Oh and, in Regina’s town, the crime rate is so low that only one police officer is needed. In Fairytale Land, people were getting murdered and ripped off left and right.

Flail or vent

