Episode 50: Smells Like Teen Spirit

Episode 50

Spoiler chat: 04:47.520-33.06.656

Guest: Olu

It’s a riot! In this episode, our time is wasted with another of Elena’s plans that go nowhere, it annoys how much Stefan sounds like Damon, Caroline sums up Dana and Chad’s deaths as simply “a bust,” we try to understand how Tyler’s milkshake could possibly bring Rebekah to the yard, Jeremy’s some kind of pod person, and Matt gets more out of the ghost story in two episodes than he has gotten in six.

Paul Wesley has head canon apparently

Matt Davis Interview

True or False

Episode 8 Synopsis

Episode 9 Synopsis

20 thoughts on “Episode 50: Smells Like Teen Spirit

  1. Olu! *waves*

    You guys! I love that you guys are constantly giggling.

    Alaric. They really should have kept Jenna on there. Nothing against Matt, but I’d rather have someone be angry and stay angry at Damon Salvatore. Where are my contrary interesting characters?

    Damon’s always being reckless or dangerous.

    I would love if rebeca broke Elena’s neck and then just shrugged when Klaus reacted from it.

    People open up to Elena because she is the diary in vampire diaries.

    Elena’s not injured after the fire because she drinks vampire blood instead of vervain. 🙂

    Elena banged her head against the locker because she can’t go over to the Salvatore’s after school anymore.

    THAT SCARF! FUGLY Elena should at least still have a scar from all the bites. *side eye*

    That was in Bonnie’s dream though, the geographic teacher. Bonnie Dreams about people of color.

    The Vikings? I mean. I missed that.

    Why don’t vampires like Art?

    Bonnie requested to be moved out of the class. She’s talking Home Economics now because it’s kinda like practicing magic.

    Over nationalizing: Stefan is talking to Elena like Damon because he’s trying to freak Elena out … and also tease her for being with his brother? “I’m acting like my brother because that’s what you like hehe. Stefan Salvatore is gone!”

    It’s twister.

    Elena is not Buffy. She’s not Xena … this show. I kinda wish Bonnie or Caroline had been there reading a magazine while Elena is straining on the bench.

    She wants to lock Stefan up?

    Damon feeling Elena up because? I don’t care to see this.

    Too bad they took the seal down off the tomb. They could just trap all the vampires down there.

    Not just a guy, but a white dude. Come on show.

    Rebeca/Stefan having the sex OMG! He’d be doing Rebeca and then Elena would walk in and Stefan would be smiling at her. OMG MAKE IT HAPPEN!

    I think Rebeca knows that if she’s snarky or bad ass SHE WILL DIE!

    Nina gets the most kissing scenes with the most actors. Oh yes!

    Michael Trevino wants Tyler/Bonnie so bad he prays for it every night before he sleeps. Bet.

    Damn, it’s canon now. Tyler is the worst lay on the show. Damn. Dash my hopes and dream y’all. But I don’t care, because now he’s a hybrid. 😉

    “There are so many black people around …” LOL

    The bond fire!

    The necklace: I feel like the necklace should have followed the doppelganger. I feel like Katherine should have had it and Stefan should have found it in the dirt after he turned. Then he could have given it to Elena. Smh this show.

    Tiki should have been there, but they must have moved because grandpa knew what’s up.

    Tyler looks a hot mess! LMAO you’re killing me. Tyler’s not wearing the scarf the scarf is wearing him.

    Rebeca going after Tyler is kinda incestuous. Her brother is a hybrid, her brother made Tyler. It’s incestuous.

    Vampire Diaries needs a book of shadows. Bonnie’s not sharing her book.

    “These writers are brilliant at being awful.” Perfectly put.

    This is 3 hours yo. O_O

    I think now that school has started and football season is back, Tyler is ready to fall back into the grove of their friendship.

    Is Olu drinking in the background? 😀

    Vicky died 3 times. That poor child.

    Even in BtVS Buffy killed herself to close the portal to hell. And then they want to call Elena Buffy and a “Warrior Princess”. I don’t think so. When Buffy had to make a choice between Angel and the world … she chose the world because she knew who she was and what she had to do. Elena doesn’t have that self-awareness. Not even when she was giving herself over to Klaus all last season … The writers should really stop drawling lines between Elena and Buffy, because it’s insulting to Buffy. She would have had MF cleaned up. Okay!

    Vicki wasn’t a vampire she was a ghost. I feel like she was more a ghost than a vampire.

    Vicki shouldn’t have said shit about her plan.

    It makes no sense because when someone tells you not to think about something, that’s all you think about.

    I’m glad they let Vicky be around her brother. It makes sense that way too because he is her blood tie. Of course she would be drawn to him.

    Alta I know what you mean about feeling bummed. Welcome to my world, because I was so offended not when Sylar shot Maya, but when Elle got Maya and Eden’s storyline. I may have cried. And it made me hate Elle and that dislike spilled over on to KBell. I side eye her till this day and it’s not even her fault. *sits, still bitter, over here.*

    Dang Alta you called that fireplace scene. You got what you wished for.

    Yeah Jeremy should be worshiping at Bonnie’s alter.

    That was a long podcast. What that the longest?

    LOL Poor Alta. Lol! *hugs*

    • People open up to Elena because she is the diary in vampire diaries.

      Lol. Good one.

      That was in Bonnie’s dream though, the geographic teacher. Bonnie Dreams about people of color.

      Oh that’s riiiight. And lol. Still, I don’t think she just made her up. Eh.

      It’s twister.

      Thank you! I don’t know why it wouldn’t come to me.

      Rebeca/Stefan having the sex OMG! He’d be doing Rebeca and then Elena would walk in and Stefan would be smiling at her. OMG MAKE IT HAPPEN!

      Lmao.

      Tiki should have been there, but they must have moved because grandpa knew what’s up.

      Lol.

      Tyler’s not wearing the scarf the scarf is wearing him.

      You ain’t lyin’.

      I agree about Elena vs. Buffy, especially the part about Elena not having that level of self-awareness.

      Sylar shot Maya? I think I quit the show before then.

      Dang Alta you called that fireplace scene. You got what you wished for.

      *Sigh.* Yay, I guess. The good thing is that I no longer have to deal with it.

      Yup, this one’s the longest.

      *Hugs you back*

    • Hi!

      That was in Bonnie’s dream though, the geographic teacher. Bonnie Dreams about people of color.

      She was in her dream! I don’t think she made her up though.

      Rebeca/Stefan having the sex OMG! He’d be doing Rebeca and then Elena would walk in and Stefan would be smiling at her. OMG MAKE IT HAPPEN!

      Is it mean that I was hoping something like this would happen? Since, at this point, I’m thinking Stefan sleeping with someone else will be the only thing to convince Elena that he’s lost his humanity (which might be what the show is going for with his fidelity….that’s sad).

  2. – I was thinking the same thing, Olu. Why am I still watching? I don’t even watch the show live anymore. I haven’t watched the ep yet.

    Btw, 3 hrs?!!

    – What did your fandom friend say about Beremy, Alta?

    – Traffic numbers are up? I did get a couple of advertisements a little while go.

    – Hold up. Stefan is only now a sociopath?? I love PW’s headcannon anyway. When I used to read the interviews, I found that I liked what the actors said more than what the writers said. They make more sense. Remember when IS used to say that Elena would get together with Damon? I wonder if one of the reasons the show doesn’t make sense is that what the actors are playing doesn’t match the writing. Is Elena supposed to be afraid of Damon still??

    They are not playing grey characters pretending to be white. I thought they were playing dark characters pretending to be white. Maybe they are just pretending to be while. They just want to keep the dark part. I am with them.

    – MD interview – OH. MY. FREAKING. GOD. Over at TWOP, I was wondering why they put so much effort into the Alaric!Klaus possession without it leading to any lasting effects. That was back when it happened. I speculated that this is why vampires go into Alaric’s apt without an invitation after possession. I thought that maybe his humanness was tainted somewhat if that makes any sense. The thought occurred to me again when the protecto ring took ages to work for him. If this is really happening, the story is taking ages. If/when this is revealed, I bet that some viewers will feel like it came from nowhere. Way to tell a story in a timely manner for the audience. It will still be awesome for me because it is something that I kept expecting

    Wow. You guys are right. Dalaric is the reason Alaric/Jenna sucked. Damon has been holding back Alaric. He couldn’t keep his old arc of being uncomfortable around vampires because he had to kiss Damon’s ass like you said. Damon is surrounded by a black hole of characterization.

    I seem to remember reading that MD took time off due to his father’s passing. I think that is why he got less screentime in season 2

    I thought all shows had show bibles. I don’t know if I have heard that explicitly explained before. It just makes sense for it to be an industry practice. The writers tend to change year to year. Besides, it is next to impossible for everyone to remember every single thing that happened if the show goes on for several years. I would think that it would be doubly difficult for sci-fi fantasy writers because they have to remember all the rules to the world they created on top of everything else. I would think that they would need a book just for that. No? I would think that is obvious. They must have a show bible.

    – I love how tongue tied Olu is. Lololol. I love how you are struggling so hard to make sense of this synopsis.

    Oh no! Are they going to give Caroline’s story to Elena? Are they are going to continue their tradition from season 2 of starting a storyline with one character and moving it to another? Why do they think that is enjoyable. One of the things that annoyed me about Andie’s death is that I felt like Damon should have been the one to kill her. It started with Damon and Andie. It should have ended with Damon and Andie. Like let’s say he gave her vampire blood and she came back to life and then he had to go through this process of figuring out if he wanted her to stay undead or make her dead dead, that would have been satisfying. It should have about Damon and his relationship with Andie – what she represents for him. Instead, it became entirely about Stefan.

    Everyone is acting like they are in high school because this show likes shoehorn as many characters as possible into the same story whether it makes sense for the characters or not. And once they are all in the same storyline, everyone must react to it in the same way. Everyone is a teenager at heart, ok? It doesn’t make a difference if they were born in 1995 or 1095. Btw, I loved how PW played Stefan in high school in season one. He was very removed if you know what I mean. It looked like Stefan was playing a part. Was that just my imagination.

    Why would Stefan want to be in highschool for that long? Does he keep trying to relive his final human year over and over again? That sounds like a ghost actually.

    – Wow. I like your ideas on how what the story arcs should go. That way the ghost storyline and the Klefan stuff would have a lot of time to develop. But then, how would they bring in the Triangle of Doom into it. You see the problem, Olu. Stefan had to come back so they could bring doom into the show. They can’t just have Klefan out there barred from Mystic Falls for some reason while Elena helping her friend Bonnie with the ghost problem. What you are suggesting is madness. MADNESS, I say.

    – Mystic Falls is the centre of the universe obviously

    – The idea that Mikael just being the tip of the iceberg and there being a collective out there is so fucking awesome. The fact that there are no supe collectives or organizations doesn’t make sense to me. You would think that someone somewhere started at least one to amass power. Most supes don’t even have to belong to it.

    – Bonnie in the periphery of other characters’ stories? I am SHOCKED. LOL. The only diff now is that they are doing it in a much more personal way. She is shown having a relationship with the characters who are driving story. Maybe Alaric and Bonnie will bond over that time Alaric carried Jeremy’s dead body to the witch house so Bonnie could resurrect him. Maybe he will be telling her to give Jeremy another chance because Jeremy will be mopey and Alaric ~cares about him. Hey, whatever happened to Alaric being there for Jeremy. Isn’t that how last season ended? I thought this whole Alaric as responsible adult/guardian thing started with Jeremy. Now he is just about Elena?

    – I will pay to see Rebekah and Stefan singing. They could put that clip in a pay per view channel or put it in the DVD. That is one thing that will get me to buy the DVD for this season.

    – A poster at TWOP has a theory that the ghost stuff will only really end when Jeremy dies permanently. His firs “real” (no magic ring involved or vamp blood) death started this whole thing and it will continue until he truly dies to seal the veil.

    – Elena doesn’t know it yet but she is some deity or angel or something that fell from the sky or another dimension. Her blood is magical. Everyone who wants to do her harm turns around to be on her side if they spend enough time with her (Rose, Elijah). Everyone wants something from her and keeps confessing their sins to her. I will never get over how Jules confessed her sins to Elena, of all people, before Klaus killed her. Elena was like, What? Who are you?

    – Katherine was stupid because they needed a OMFG!Twist.

    – Elena has been in bed for 2 months except for prank night and her bd party which Caroline forced on her.

    – The worst part of making Elena’s training about Stefan is that it turns out she doesn’t even need protection from him. So I guess she can stop now that the only reason she this is gone.

    – Stop your crazy talk, Alta. Barbie is all the description a woman needs.

    I was shipping Rebekah/Gloria too 😥 WTF are they doing with Rebekah?

    – I love how you guys keep cracking up.

    Oh God! Why is there no Stefan/Rebekah? Why did they even reveal that this had happened? It didn’t affect Stefan when his switch was on and it is not affecting Stefan now that his switch is off. I find it incredible that Elena is fine doing googly eyes at Damon in front of Stefan even though she still believes he can be saved but Stefan is not reacting to Rebekah AT ALL.

    – Elena has no journey as far as I can see and neither does any other character. What is Stefan’s journey? Nothing. He has disappeared.

    – You know that if we see that geometry teacher again, it will only be so she can be murdered. It will be like Chad and Dana. I am surprised that nurse in the hospital who was in a couple of eps got away with just one bite from Caroline. Can you imagine the conversation that woman had with her hubby when she got home? Nurse: My neck still hurts from when you bit into me. Hubby: WHAT?!

    – Maybe they are paralleling the Founding Families and the Originals. They both think that they have a right to this land because it only really mattered when they got there. The people who came before don’t matter. Just a suggestion. The whole show is from the perspective of these powerful settlers and their descendents but told through this lens of teen drama/shippiness. Or that is what I used to think it was about in season one.

    – I think the reason Bonnie wasn’t in class because they didn’t know what to do with a Stefan/Bonnie encounter at this stage of Stefan’s “story”. They know that Bonnie has to react.

    – Yes, I agree that we are only supposed to see the stories through the lens of shipping. One of the problems with that is they can’t make it about the characters. How are they going to do that? Their characters are barely developed. I don’t think I have watched a show before where no one had personal goals. Even the shippiest of shows. No one is thinking about college. Everyone spends minimal time with their parents. There are no personal conflicts within the group. Very few people have hobbies but even those who do aren’t doing anything with them. Does Jeremy want to be an artist? Is he taking an art class? Does his teacher think that he is good? Matt works a minimum wage job and lives alone while in high school. What does that feel like? Is he having trouble making ends meet? Seriously, wtf?! We don’t see the characters move through their daily lives and react to their environment/lives. It seems to me that if they are not going to have a series of Big Bads or big conflicts that need to be solved and show the characters constantly thinking about them/solving them, they need to develop these characters’ personal lives waaay more. Plus, they still have the issue of not letting everyone reacting to things. Even if this is all about shipping, you would think that people would react to their friends’ relationships. That includes Stelena.

    – I did like that Stefan made a torture/murder game actually. It was different from when Damon danced wildly with the sorority girls. Stefan and Damon both had girls but Stefan’s way seemed more structured and less chaotic. It seemed appropriate somehow. Damon was running around and playing with his girls. Stefan was just sitting there watching them and giving them instructions. They showed the same scene but changed it slightly to reflect the brothers’ personalities. It is kind of like the diff between the Stefan/Amber scene and the Damon/Jessica scenes.

    – Stefan left bodies around soon after he turned too. I always had the impression that Stefan is more disorganized/cluttered/messy. Maybe not in the way that he kills but in the way that he lives. Just look at the difference between his room and Damon’s room. Also, sometimes I would get this impression that Stefan forgot to do his laundry. Remember that time he was jogging in the rain with a hoodie on but nothing underneath? I am talking about when the tomb vampires took him. Come on. He forgot to wash his other “hunting” clothes. They were probably in a pile somewhere all crusty from all the animal blood. Actually, what seems more likely to me is that he had like zero undershirts or other shirts left. Who wants to get wet in a hoodie? I have to rewatch to remember other instances that gave me that impression but I remember thinking this more than once.

    – Olu, please speak up! I am missing some of the things you are saying and I don’t want to.

    – Hold up. OMG! I never considered the possibility that Stefan hadn’t recovered form the blood arc. But how would we even know for sure if some of his extreme behavior after the blood arc is because of that. The blood arc happened pretty early in the show’s run. Elena didn’t know him that well. How can we say that how he was after the blood arc is not how he always his?

    – Elena liked Stefan’s ruthlessness when it was done to serve her and not directed at her. That is the only issue.

    – I love manipulative Elena. I LOVE it. I want them to make her even more manipulative. If they make her a total princess/bitch in a more obvious way, I would love it. Not only would that make her smart and interesting but it is the only way I can see her getting the upper hand with all these supes coming after her. It would be awesome if she was the kind of person who could read people and knew how to bend them to her will without ever lifting a finger. Besides, Damon never gives a damn about Stefan unless he is in physical danger from someone else. I think that as long as Stefan is one piece, Damon is cool with it.

    – I am laughing so hard right now at “Fuck, he probably gave them a ride home” WTF?! That is probably what happened. They just tricked him, vervained him and almost got him burned alive + he has no conscience…. so he drove them home. Can you imagine that care ride? WTF, show. No one had to escape. No one got captured. A lot of noise and fireworks and NOTHING came of it. Thanks for pointing out all the ways this ep sucked.

    – I wish Rebekah had walked over to Stefan and back handed him. And then while he is licking the blood from his mouth, she says “Don’t be mean, Stefan” but in this intense way. So it would be clear that her other persona is something she puts on. Then they could have had a moment because they are twisted like that. Lol

    – I love the frustration in your voice, Alta.

    – Fans would LOSE THEIR MINDS if Stefan is unfaithful. Few people are legit into Beremy. They are more into Bonnie as an individual character.

    – The town the show films in has a big black population if IIRC. I looked it up a long time ago so I could be misremembering. Anyway, this could be why there are a lot of black extras.

    – I have been saying on TWOP that they are all just varying degrees of sociopath. So yeah, I totally buy that Caroline is a sociopath or at least has a lot of sociopathic tendencies

    – Caroline’s arc last season should have been all about what she thinks about being a vampire and how she is adjusting to it. But nope. It had to immediately be about a ship. I don’t think we are ever going to get any deeper because they would have to acknowledge that Caroline may have feelings that stick. Then what? She might actually have a real weak moment or a sadness that sticks. OMG! That can’t be. The show would be degrading her. Blah blah blah. She is ~strong~ and the most “real” teenager on the show now. Just accept it

    – Do you guys think that Stefan *let* Elena’s parents die?

    Well, from Elena’s perspective, that was the first day. She wasn’t conscious (either literally or compelled) the first time. It was the first time they actual met as two conscious beings.

    – If this were a better show, Caroline being ridiculous like this and having bouts of hyper violence like with Damon would be a sign that bad bad things are on the way. Maybe after covering up her emotions for so long, something minor sets her off and it will be EPIC.

    – Being a werewolf made Tyler “better” like being a vampire made Caroline “better”. In other words, everything that made them interesting got stripped away

    – You are so right. If everything good inside Tyler is Caroline, it is kinda her fault when he loses control. That “good” side wasn’t strong enough. Rebekah is the “bad” side and Caroline is the “good” side. No wonder Tyler isn’t in the next couple of eps. He is not real anyway.

    – Caroline is not having sleep overs with Tyler because she has faux “girl power” now. She is not going to let him treat her like those other boys did. She is going to be careful this time. Whatever.

    – Lol. I love the KE stuff. She must not watch the show anymore if she really thought that they were going to let someone confront Tyler about stuff he was responsible for without a built-in excuse like being a Hybrid.

    – IKR! What is up with AV club? Are they owned by a TV company like TWOP?

    – What else is he going to say? Of course, it is going to be vague “life stuff”. They didn’t bother to fill in the details of Matt’s life. How does he pay his bills? How does he get along with his boss? Is he having trouble balancing school and work? Is he worried about his future? NOTHING.

    – Douchey!Tyler likes Matt. It is when he is less douchey that he forgets about his bff. It totally makes sense. Think about it. It wouldn’t have played out like this if it didn’t make sense. What are you accusing the show of Alta? These are PROFESSIONALS.

    – The Salvatores didn’t kill Vicky. That was all in our heads. Do you remember when Matt told Liz that the Salvatores are the real problem last season? If you do, I think you guys should know that it was a shared mass hallucination. Vicky, obviously, died peacefully in her sleep. Why would they need to talk about that? There wasn’t anything noteworthy about the way she died. I suppose they could talk about how rare it is for young people to die in their sleep but that would just be too boring. The story needs to be exciting and dramatic! Do you happen to remember that moment from a couple of eps ago when Matt and Jeremy talked about how they don’t remember their last moments with Vicky? I bet it sounded to you like Jeremy actually felt the need to say goodbye to Vicky. Haha! Fooled again. It was also part of a shared mass hallucination. Oh, Alta and Olu. You guys need to do a better job of figuring out what really happened. You need to be on the look out for this phenomenon. It rolls around every once in a while – usually around Thursday.

    – Jeremy/Anna was total fanservice. She had zero purpose this time around other than hanging around Jeremy. Pandering is what they do. JP even admitted it in an old interview. She talked about Twitter basically. If you want the show to go in a different direction, what you need to do is tweet her eleventy million times about Beremy.

    – Of course, Bonnie is not reflecting on the ghost situation. No one factored in Klaus in their Save Stefan missions either. These problems don’t exist.

    – Lololol. Bonnie is Jeremy’s 3rd love remember? Remember that JP interview I sent to you before the season started? 3rd loves aren’t important. It doesn’t matter that he almost died for her last season when he went to face Katherine to protect her. That was just temporary madness or it was about his thrill seeking tendencies. He is over being there for her whenever she does magic. It is not thrilling enough now that he has a ghost. A GHOST, Alta. As for Bonnie’s love not being referenced, Bonnie got some brain damage because of that spell she did to bring him back to life by defying the universe. She doesn’t remember that. I bet she is wondering wtf happened there? She is very confused because of this brain damage. That is why she has been acting weird lately.

    – Vicky is the bad one? Really? I didn’t catch on to that at all. Even after watching this ep, I thought Anna was bullshitting. I thought that is how all ghosts feel or something. WTF?! Vicky was doing the right thing. What makes Elena’s life more valuable than everyone else’ lives?

    – OMG! Elena is not Buffy. Elena is Dawn. She is the key that needs to die in order to keep a hell dimension from opening. Her body/blood is the Key. Except Elena is even more annoying. And I totally agree with your point about not caring because the characters don’t care. That has been my gripe with the show for a long time. Why should I care that Elena is a blood bag when she doesn’t care about that and only cares about Stefan? Why should I care that Stefan is a Ripper or wtvr if no characters on the show care. All the killing he is doing doesn’t matter because no one is actually commenting on it. I cared about Dawn dying because EVERYONE cared about what her existence meant. IIRC, everyone on that show got a reaction to Dawn being the Key and had opinions on it. It wasn’t just about her relationship with one particular person.

    – Just for that Matt is my new favorite character – taking responsibility

    – You know people can’t ask questions on this show. Bonnie asking questions about what the ghost her spell brought here wants? You are asking too much

    – Yeah, what is this ghost storyline doing for Jeremy? Was it just a way to break up Beremy? Jeremy is not reacting to Bonnie’s distress like he used to because that would undermine Jeremy/Anna. Anna was interesting to me in season one because she had her own goals and doing interesting things to achieve said goal. And the goal was deeply personal and easy to relate to. Plus, in the beginning, there was a bit of mystery about her because it was obvious she was up to something but we didn’t know what yet. All those things that made her interesting, they gave to Vicky. You are right. She was just on screen this time.

    – Prayer Circle activated. Sorry for the delay

    – You are right, of course, about ships being the only relationships on the show we can care about since they are the only ones featured. This is why it surprises me when people comment on the intense ship wars in fandom. That is all there is to the show. It is all just ship vs. ship. And when they mess with a ship, people are going to care because there is little else to care about on the show.

    – Well, if it turns out that Tyler is cheating on Caroline after this ep, Elena will officially be the only girl who can’t be cheated on no matter what.

    – Are you chopping food, Olu? What is the clicking noise?

    Favorite moment – When Matt backed into Vicky and they touched each other. That was lovely. But then, Vicki decided to bash his head in for some reason so…

    Favorite character – Matt

    Favorite scene – Drunk Elena at the party scene because it was so unexpectedly sad.

    Annoying scene – “It makes me strong. *stab*” or however that went

    • *Maybe they are just tiredpretending to be white.

      Ugh! I give up. There are probably more errors than usual but whatevs. 3 hrs, Alta. THREE HOURS.

    • When I used to read the interviews, I found that I liked what the actors said more than what the writers said. They make more sense.

      And then the writing makes them look like they don’t pay attention to what’s going on and then they stop paying attention to what’s going on until the next season when everything starts up again.

      They must have a show bible.

      I hope they don’t. I hope these inconsistencies are the result of long term stupid and not them having the canon in front of them and then ignoring it.

      Btw, I loved how PW played Stefan in high school in season one. He was very removed if you know what I mean. It looked like Stefan was playing a part. Was that just my imagination.

      Not your imagination. Stefan was definitely more removed in s1 in a way that fit with him being 162 years old. The writers can’t remember that these vampires have centuries behind them sometimes.

      You see the problem, Olu. Stefan had to come back so they could bring doom into the show. They can’t just have Klefan out there barred from Mystic Falls for some reason while Elena helping her friend Bonnie with the ghost problem. What you are suggesting is madness. MADNESS, I say.

      It doesn’t have to be madness though. It could be pure sanity. SANITY! The storylines would be given the chance to breathe.

      The fact that there are no supe collectives or organizations doesn’t make sense to me.

      The writers wouldn’t know how to handle that level of organization or the intricacies that would be involved in one or more supernatural organizations that at least recounted the histories of supernaturals. They can’t even agree on where the Originals are from or who founded Mystic Falls.

      – The worst part of making Elena’s training about Stefan is that it turns out she doesn’t even need protection from him. So I guess she can stop now that the only reason she this is gone.

      Yeah. It’s weird because he’s been compelled to protect her so…yeah.

      Oh God! Why is there no Stefan/Rebekah? Why did they even reveal that this had happened? It didn’t affect Stefan when his switch was on and it is not affecting Stefan now that his switch is off. I find it incredible that Elena is fine doing googly eyes at Damon in front of Stefan even though she still believes he can be saved but Stefan is not reacting to Rebekah AT ALL.

      I hate this so much. Stefan had one second to react to remembering Rebekah and all he got to do was say her name and make a move towards her (and he seemed genuinely interested in that moment so his completely lack of interest now is ridiculous). Hate it. I at least wanted them to be friendly.

      We don’t see the characters move through their daily lives and react to their environment/lives. It seems to me that if they are not going to have a series of Big Bads or big conflicts that need to be solved and show the characters constantly thinking about them/solving them, they need to develop these characters’ personal lives waaay more. Plus, they still have the issue of not letting everyone reacting to things.

      THIS. ALL OF IT.

      They showed the same scene but changed it slightly to reflect the brothers’ personalities. It is kind of like the diff between the Stefan/Amber scene and the Damon/Jessica scenes.

      I can follow this, but I guess I’d just prefer it if the writers were as spot-on with the difference as they were in the Stefan/Amber scene.

      You bring up a good point about Stefan being messy and disorganized in the way he lives.

      Remember that time he was jogging in the rain with a hoodie on but nothing underneath? I am talking about when the tomb vampires took him. Come on. He forgot to wash his other “hunting” clothes. They were probably in a pile somewhere all crusty from all the animal blood. Actually, what seems more likely to me is that he had like zero undershirts or other shirts left. Who wants to get wet in a hoodie? I have to rewatch to remember other instances that gave me that impression but I remember thinking this more than once.

      lmao! He was just walking around in his bloodstained clothes when he was first turned.

      Hold up. OMG! I never considered the possibility that Stefan hadn’t recovered form the blood arc. But how would we even know for sure if some of his extreme behavior after the blood arc is because of that. The blood arc happened pretty early in the show’s run. Elena didn’t know him that well. How can we say that how he was after the blood arc is not how he always his?

      Stefan not recovering from the blood!arc and simply holding all of that in was the only way I was able to stomach his lack of a storyline in s2 and the s2 finale. There’s no real evidence for it though since he did nothing in s2 to suggest he had any issues. Except for all of the crying.

      After the blood arc? You mean in s2? You haven’t watched the last episode yet, so I won’t spoil it, but I think the show established, probably without meaning to, that Stefan during the blood!arc, specifically in Miss Mystic Falls, is who Stefan is at his core.

      Can you imagine that care ride?

      AWKWARD!

      – I wish Rebekah had walked over to Stefan and back handed him. And then while he is licking the blood from his mouth, she says “Don’t be mean, Stefan” but in this intense way. So it would be clear that her other persona is something she puts on. Then they could have had a moment because they are twisted like that. Lol

      Yes! I wish the show had done this with them because from “The End of the Affair” this is how imagined their relationship was. Intense and twisted and filled with moments of her one-upping him and Stefan trying (and succeeding) to impress her while they shared looks of “we’re both so crazy” love.

      – Do you guys think that Stefan *let* Elena’s parents die?

      Sometimes? Yes, yes I do. Other times, I think he just failed to save them, but not with the intent of letting them die.

      What else is he going to say? Of course, it is going to be vague “life stuff”. They didn’t bother to fill in the details of Matt’s life. How does he pay his bills? How does he get along with his boss? Is he having trouble balancing school and work? Is he worried about his future? NOTHING.

      smh.

      You guys need to do a better job of figuring out what really happened. You need to be on the look out for this phenomenon. It rolls around every once in a while – usually around Thursday.

      lmao!

      – Are you chopping food, Olu? What is the clicking noise?

      I was shuffling a deck of cards.

      • You haven’t watched the last episode yet, so I won’t spoil it, but I think the show established, probably without meaning to, that Stefan during the blood!arc, specifically in Miss Mystic Falls, is who Stefan is at his core.

        I’m dying!! This is hilarious and sad at the same time. I mean, obviously these writers want us to see Stefan as ~good and ~empathic at his core but, unbeknownst to them, they are writing the exact opposite. How is this even possible? How can they be so unaware of what they are actually writing? It’s mind-blowing.

        re: Rebekah and Stefan in the flashbacks

        Before “The End of the Affair” aired, I read some interviews where some of the actors and, I think, even JP (not sure about that, though) said that the 20s flashbacks felt like something separate from the show – almost like a short film of its own right. And I guess this is exactly what the writers are thinking. They just wanted some great, very dramatic 20s flashbacks and thus included the Stefan and Rebekah stuff for the sexiness and the emotional moments (~two lovers tragically torn apart), that’s all there is to it. It’s not about the characters and I think it’s not meant to be relevant for the present, it’s just about making the flashbacks more entertaining.

  3. Btw, 3 hrs?!!

    I know!

    What she said about Beremy is what I mentioned at the end about the primary character of the relationship shifting.

    If/when this is revealed, I bet that some viewers will feel like it came from nowhere.

    Yep.

    Everyone is a teenager at heart, ok? It doesn’t make a difference if they were born in 1995 or 1095.

    Apparently.

    Hey, whatever happened to Alaric being there for Jeremy. Isn’t that how last season ended? I thought this whole Alaric as responsible adult/guardian thing started with Jeremy. Now he is just about Elena?

    Oh my goodness.

    Nurse: My neck still hurts from when you bit into me. Hubby: WHAT?!

    Lol.

    Stefan left bodies around soon after he turned too. I always had the impression that Stefan is more disorganized/cluttered/messy. Maybe not in the way that he kills but in the way that he lives. Just look at the difference between his room and Damon’s room.

    That’s a good point. And now knowing that Lexi basically tortured him into being a good guy, it’s interesting to think his messy(ness) was a subconscious or maybe conscious way for him to give his true personality some relief.

    I wish Rebekah had walked over to Stefan and back handed him. And then while he is licking the blood from his mouth, she says “Don’t be mean, Stefan” but in this intense way.

    That would have been great!!!!

    – Do you guys think that Stefan *let* Elena’s parents die?

    No, I don’t think so. But the show could later reveal that he did because he was a Ripper, out of this need to somehow make him ~edgy, and Elena would say no more lies, and then he’d later reveal he was actually in the room while Damon was feeding on Isobel, and Elena would say no more lies……

    – Caroline is not having sleep overs with Tyler because she has faux “girl power” now.

    Empowered girls do not sleep over their boyfriend’s house after sex. Everybody knows that.

    – Douchey!Tyler likes Matt. It is when he is less douchey that he forgets about his bff. It totally makes sense. Think about it. It wouldn’t have played out like this if it didn’t make sense. What are you accusing the show of Alta? These are PROFESSIONALS.

    LMAO!!!

    – The Salvatores didn’t kill Vicky. That was all in our heads. Do you remember when Matt told Liz that the Salvatores are the real problem last season? If you do, I think you guys should know that it was a shared mass hallucination. Vicky, obviously, died peacefully in her sleep. Why would they need to talk about that? There wasn’t anything noteworthy about the way she died. I suppose they could talk about how rare it is for young people to die in their sleep but that would just be too boring. The story needs to be exciting and dramatic! Do you happen to remember that moment from a couple of eps ago when Matt and Jeremy talked about how they don’t remember their last moments with Vicky? I bet it sounded to you like Jeremy actually felt the need to say goodbye to Vicky. Haha! Fooled again. It was also part of a shared mass hallucination. Oh, Alta and Olu. You guys need to do a better job of figuring out what really happened. You need to be on the look out for this phenomenon. It rolls around every once in a while – usually around Thursday.

    *Dead and gone.*

    – Lololol. Bonnie is Jeremy’s 3rd love remember?

    They sure went there. Idiots. Well they’ve listened to the fans and managed to take away any purpose Jeremy has in the show.

  4. I think you guys mentioned the title in the podcast. This is also the title for a famous Nirvana song. I wonder if they pick titles from books, movies and songs without actually looking at what those books, movies and songs.are.

Flail or vent

