I thought Jeremy and Matt were going to be in this episode.

95 thoughts on “I thought Jeremy and Matt were going to be in this episode.

  1. So predictable. When I rewatched “As I Lay Dying” I thought we’re going to find out that they met before. When the summary of this episode was released I figured that same thing. I also ship Klaus/Stefan like FedEx so having Joseph Morgan crush on Stefan throughout the flashbacks was both welcome and hilarious to me. Otherwise, I just did not care about what Elena was going through or the randomness of Stefan interacting with her and so on.

    • I also ship Klaus/Stefan like FedEx

      Lmao. Also. How heavy-handed was Klaus compelling Stefan to remember? I’m guessing now he’s going to let go, but how does remembering make him let go? I felt like I was watching a fanfic in that scene. I wanted to ask if one of the Klefan shippers wrote this (fess up, Olu).

      Klaus: Remember.

      Stefan: I remember.

      Wtf?

      And Stefan propping Klaus up, telling him he’s not as pathetic as he feels, was hilarious.

      Stefan: They’re jest jealous of ur originality!

      • If I’d written Klaus/Stefan fic it would be better than that and would have been obvious from the start. Text. It would have been text. And it would have been better than “I remember.” Cause if that’s what made Stefan finally let go than the writers should just make Stefan/Klaus text (because as much as I don’t mind Bex, he definitely wasn’t letting go because of only her).

        And Stefan propping Klaus up, telling him he’s not as pathetic as he feels, was hilarious.

        “Dude! You’re a hybrid and no one understands how awesome you could be except for me. And you, but mostly me because you’re going to fuck it up. You’re cool with me and your sister, right?”

        • “Dude! You’re a hybrid and no one understands how awesome you could be except for me. And you, but mostly me because you’re going to fuck it up. You’re cool with me and your sister, right?”

          Lol!

  2. This episode definitely needed Matt and Jeremy to break up how unnecessary Damon and Elena (and Katherine showing up was). Shouldn’t Katherine be on the run? Can we not make the love square a hexagon? I missed them (Matt and Jeremy) a bunch.

    • I don’t know why Katherine is still thinking about either Klaus or Stefan. She says Klaus wants her dead, only Klaus hasn’t mentioned her, etc. And I also rolled my eyes at her storyline now being tied up in some dudes.

      • The last time she saw Klaus he was interested in 1) finding her and 2) torturing her with Stefan. So her interest makes no sense. We get it she loves Stefan, but she loves self-preservation more.

        She’s a doppelganger. Of course her storyline is tied up in some dudes…who don’t even care about her at this point. Like 1) Klaus never wanted anything from her except her life and 2) Stefan hates her.

  3. I missed Matt and Jeremy.
    Everything is getting to predictable, I bet that Sebastian Roche from Supernatural is the original father that’s why Klaus is afraid of him.

    But I really don’t care because Bonnie is back. I get some Bonnie/Jeremy action next week preview best part of the episode for me.

    Oh and I really like Rebecca, but Klaus has been really underwhelming what happened to the big bad they were talking about all of season two.

      • They decided to make him a regular.

        Which I’ve just realized is the worst thing that can happen to a guest star. Because they will suck everything interesting out of you. And Klaus barely had anything to start with.

        • Because they will suck everything interesting out of you.

          It’s happened to Katherine. Before she showed up and even when she first showed up, I could’ve never imagined it would get to a point where Damon would be talking to her like she’s nothing but a mere annoyance.

          • It happens to villains mostly, for no other reason except…I can’t think of one. They need to be scary but that can only last if they are going to win or going to die. Since that won’t happen they get neutered. Katherine ends up stuck in rooms. Elijah is tricked at every turn. And Klaus, poor Klaus was neutered before he even had the chance to bark. That metaphor got screwy in the middle.
            The writers are ruining Klaus’s potential as a villain by having Damon be completely unafraid of him. Even last season, though Stefan was at a clear (and apparently fake) disadvantage. He just seemed unconcerned with whether Klaus would kill him or not.

  4. Ok just rewatched the episode they have completely drop the ball with the story they told us about Klaus last season. What happened to that stuff about him collecting witches for centuries and being a recluse and paranoid. He seems to be out having good times and why woundn’t Gloria be a witch he would collect she seems pretty powerful.
    He doesn’t seem interested in being a hybrid until his one true love Stefan called him a king.

    So my question is what was the point of season 2?

    • They dropped Klaus’s paranoia as soon as they brought him in, in my opinion at least. Someone as paranoid as he was supposed to be would not have been as shit and giggles about going to a high-school dance. Unless we’re meant to believe that 1) losing Stefan triggered his paranoia because he’d lost his one and only and 2) finding out he’d be near Stefan again made it all okay.

      All in all there was no point to s2. Not even a small one.

    • Barely any experience these people went through last season is being referenced. Maybe that’ll change once Bonnie comes back, but…If Gloria heard about how Klaus is trying to make Hybrids and she knows he broke the curse, then she must know he’s worked a lot of witches to death in order to accomplish this. So why is she going to help him? I’m hoping she has something up her sleeve.

      • Why does any witch help any vampire? So frustrating! They should be powerful enough to handle their own shit. Gloria told Damon to gtfo because he is a vampire. But what about Klaus? Why is she working for him? Are they finally going to tell us what binds witches to vampires with Gloria? God, I really hope so.

        • I don’t think Gloria is working for Klaus. And unlike the Martins and Elijah, I don’t think they have a partnership. They just seem to know each other. Ugh, I hope I’m right.

          • It would be nice if they had Gloria as a neutral party or invested in her own interest, especially since Stefan wasn’t exactly hiding it from her that he was killing people and she may not have liked him as much as Damon, but she wasn’t killing him either (or Damon for that matter. She’s the only person on the show who has ever liked Damon more than Stefan.)

            • She’s the only person on the show who has ever liked Damon more than Stefan.

              That really jumped out at me. Not because she was the first person because both Rose and Alaric like(d) Damon more. It was because she was the first witch (I think). Emily made a deal with Damon but she said that Stefan was the good one. Grams also liked Stefan. Bonnie def likes Stefan more. The dead witches toyed with Damon.

        • They should be powerful enough to handle their own shit.

          The writers refuse to give them their own shit to handle. There are spells to bring people back from the dead and transfer life forces and take on pain, but Emily couldn’t have cast a spell to protect her bloodline? Anyway I hope we’re going to find out something of how the relationship between witches and vampires occurs.

          • Emily couldn’t have cast a spell to protect her bloodline?

            At this point, I am fanwanking that witches can’t actually protect themselves or their bloodline.

            Maddox put a protection spell on Alaric!Klaus to force Bonnie into channeling too much power. Why didn’t he put a protection spell on himself and do the same thing? Greta seriously didn’t put a protection circle around herself during the ceremony? Not even after Jenna tried to kill her? I am assuming that a bunch of humans killed Emily. SMH.

            It is either that or they are too dumb to protect themselves?? I CAN’T with this show sometimes. Of course, there won’t actually be an explanation.

    • It was actually better than the last one, despite the lack of Jeremy and Matt. I’d give it a…3? 4? As indicated by the poll, I thought the Stefan/Klaus scenes were the easiest to take. The Caroline stuff….*Sigh*

    • It wasn’t that bad I’d say of the three episodes that aired so far this was the best of the three. It was definitely 3-4 it being TVD and all.
      Thank god they really didn’t show Caroline to much, but that bit with Tyler putting the ring on her finger while he was on his knee was just to much but I’m probably being ridiculous.

  5. Random thought while watching the ep – Why couldn’t Klaus hear Elena’s heartbeat while she was in the apt? He sensed something was wrong and he didn’t use his super hearing to figure it out?

  6. So, Klaus – the big bad – is running from an even bigger bad? Just like Katherine last year? (Why was Katherine even in this episode?)

    How many people are crazy in love with Stefan? Katherine, Elena, Rebekah, Klaus, am I missing somebody?

    Somebody has been watching the Bill/Lorena 20s flashbacks from True Blood.

    The retconning going on in this show is unbelievable.

    All in all, this was much easier to take than the last two episodes. Of course, it was lame as hell and didn’t make much sense. But I was expecting worse, so … (Plus, I liked Gloria and, surprisingly, Rebekah.)

    • Is her name really spelled with a K?

      Katherine was in the episode because they needed a plot device to tell Damon that Stefan is in Chicago. But of course it’s easier for people to recognize something as a plot device when it’s Bonnie doing it.

    • How many people are crazy in love with Stefan? Katherine, Elena, Rebekah, Klaus, am I missing somebody?

      Everyone the writers are willing to connect him to romantically and Klaus, who is nursing “he really believed in me” feelings.

      The retconning going on in this show is unbelievable.

      The Originals being able to compel other vampires has never been more convenient.

      • The Originals being able to compel other vampires has never been more convenient.

        Ugh. Yes!! And the ‘de-compelling’ scene? The worst.

        Are we now to believe that Stefan is joining the ‘dark side’ (or whatever Klaus represents) because he now remembers and wants to be buddies with Klaus again? (And maybe has feelings for Rebekah – though probably not because Elena is the love of his un-life, etc, etc.?) That makes zero sense? I don’t get it. This whole storyline confuses me.

        • If the flashbacks had been set up to take place over the course of a few weeks then it would be easier to believe that the decompelling moment was this profound thing for Stefan. But Lexi was also, according to the show, bound and determined, for whatever reason, and capable of curing Stefan’s bloodlust with a conversation about feelings.

          At the moment, I’m fine with it because this storyline isn’t about sense. It’s about how much Klaus loves Stefan and Stefan loves Klaus and they had a soul connection all those years ago. One magical night, where Stefan spent half his time trying to get in good with Rebecca and the other half giving Klaus pep talks, and it was just love at first “he’s much better at this torture business than I am” sight.

          • Wait, I thought it was implied that the flashbacks took place over a longer period of time?

            Lol! If you put it this way this storyline is much more enjoyable.

              • Okayyyy then. Well, nice try, show, but I prefer to stick with my version. I like mine better. (I guess this sums up my entire attitude towards the show.)

                • I like mine better. (I guess this sums up my entire attitude towards the show.)

                  Pretty much. The show going on in my head is amazing and makes the actual show seem like an even bigger mess than it is.

          • At the moment, I’m fine with it because this storyline isn’t about sense. It’s about how much Klaus loves Stefan and Stefan loves Klaus and they had a soul connection all those years ago. One magical night, where Stefan spent half his time trying to get in good with Rebecca and the other half giving Klaus pep talks, and it was just love at first “he’s much better at this torture business than I am” sight.

            This reminds me of an old Ethan Hawke movie called Before Sunrise. It is about two people who meet while they are traveling. They spend one magical night together before they have to each catch trains to their destinations. Maybe that kind of vibe is what they were going for. I think there is a sequel to it too – Before Sunset – where the two characters meet again years later but I haven’t watched that. I barely remember the first one anyway.

          • But Lexi was also, according to the show, bound and determined, for whatever reason, and capable of curing Stefan’s bloodlust with a conversation about feelings.

            But you see, that only worked because he didn’t remember his truly epic!Love for Klaus and Bex. Now that he has his memory of that one magical night back, it overrides everything. Lololol forever at this show, tbh.

            • But you see, that only worked because he didn’t remember his truly epic!Love for Klaus and Bex. Now that he has his memory of that one magical night back, it overrides everything. Lololol forever at this show, tbh.

              lol, I’m dying! It’s all coming together for Stefan now that he finally has the best 12 hours of his life back.

          • Really?

            The writers of The Vampire Diaries, everyone. The writers of the Vampire Diaries.

            This is where thinking would help. It should have taken place over the course of a few weeks and then it could have ended at Gloria’s place and everything could have ended the same with compulsion and who ever that dude that has Klaus running is.

            They knew each other for a night and not even the whole night.

          • How about Stefan is being compelled up and down his lifetime. Even after vampire-ism. After Katherine did it. He can’t get away from it. I and understand why he’s so messed up. Now if he would just stop pretending.

            And Elena still won’t stop coming after him. She’s as bad as Katherine only she can’t compel him in the same way.

  7. Oh dear. Was Klaus trying to protect Stefan by erasing his memories? Is that what he was doing?

    I’m trying to image this epic love affair if the writers had actually put some planning into it and it makes me sad because it could have been brilliant or at the very least it would have made sense.

    • Oh dear. Was Klaus trying to protect Stefan by erasing his memories? Is that what he was doing?

      Yes!! He was trying to protect him from this even bigger, badder villain (presumably his Daddy, but who knows). It is very tragic.

  8. LOL at the Klaus/Rebekah(sp?)/Stefan triangle. Love it. Best part of the ep was when Stefan was standing between them and they were both calling his name. He is like a pet they were fighting over.

    Elena standing between the list and Stefan – oooh! Symbolism! She is his humanity! She stands between him and his serial killer ways. Uhh… except not.

    ND looked really cute in her 20s hair and clothes. Katherine is such a stalker. Now we know that Elena will never give up.

    This show should actually be three shows – The Delena (with occasional Katherine) show, the Klefan/Rebekah(with occasional Katherine) show and the Beremy/Forwood/Everyone else show. I would watch 2 of those 3 shows. Guess which ones.

    Idk what was happening with the aversion therapy and the gay dad. I guess they were going for irony? Another instance of vampires=gay? Carol did catch Caroline after Forwood sex and later called her a prostitute which connected the whole thing to sexuality in my mind. Then Caroline was all – you can’t change what I am. What do you guys think?

    • Stefan looking between the two of them was actually hilarious. Klaus is going to hold it over Rebecca’s head that he had two months alone with Stefan, until she reminds him that he did not use any of that time trying to get in there.

      Though Klaus’s annoyance with Stefan’s bitchy ways makes a lot more sense now.

      Idk what was happening with the aversion therapy and the gay dad. I guess they were going for irony? Another instance of vampires=gay? Carol did catch Caroline after Forwood sex and later called her a prostitute which connected the whole thing to sexuality in my mind. Then Caroline was all – you can’t change what I am. What do you guys think?

      You know this could work if they were even attempting to give Klaus’s storyline the same sort of subtext on the werewolf front. As is, the writers just seem extremely lazy and like they are borrowing from True Blood.

      I’d watch Beremy/Everyone else and Klefan/Rebecca/(Katherine). Quality and crack and none for crazy eyes.

      • Ok, this bothers me for the reason I stated in one of the previous sections. In the real world, some people might think that LGBTQ people are a danger to society but it is just prejudice. In TVD verse, it is real so the message is the opposite of what they are trying to do. Caroline did kill that guy at the fair/carnival. She also feeds from blood bags that are stolen from hospitals so she is indirectly killing people. I really hate the vampires=gay thing. This kind of story would work better with a witch because witches are not inherently dangerous. They don’t crave human flesh or anything. They could have made Bonnie’s dad gay. We already know he doesn’t accept her magic. But I guess they are going for a diff metaphor with the Black Witches/White Vampires thing. OMG! I really wish they would get to the point already or give us a badass witch who doesn’t take orders from vampires.

        • I honestly think all metaphors on this show exist in the fans’ heads only. They’re only doing the gay parallel here because KW wants it. They didn’t build up to it. On the other hand, he once gave an interview where he said he didn’t wasn’t going to make any of the regular characters gay and Tyler’s werewolf thing was kind of a coming out story, yet that was barely noticeable. The parallel between Tyler transforming into a were and someone coming out was actually non-existent. But they give us this heavy-handed thing with Caroline and her dad.

          • I am now thinking that it was all an emotional manipulation to get us to feel bad for Caroline and to make Forwood even more epic. Like OMG! Caroline is like all the poor gay teens of America who have homophobic parents. CRY WITH HER. We demand that you cry with her.

            I think it is similar to what they are doing with Klaus. How he is OTT/randomly sexist sometimes. He said something like, “You are my sister so you have to do as I say” to Bex. Um why? What is this dialogue? Wouldn’t he just say something like, “You *will* do as I say”? But, I guess, they have to remind us that Klaus is ~evil somehow.

            Hey, at least we now know how Klaus heard of the Salvatores last season. I was wondering how Klaus heard of Damon and his love of his brother’s gf.

  9. LOL at the Klaus/Rebekah(sp?)/Stefan triangle. Love it.

    Yup, I think I agree. It is so bizarre.

    This show should actually be three shows – The Delena (with occasional Katherine) show, the Klefan/Rebekah(with occasional Katherine) show and the Beremy/Forwood/Everyone else show. I would watch 2 of those 3 shows. Guess which ones.

    I’d watch 2 of those, too.

    Idk what was happening with the aversion therapy and the gay dad. I guess they were going for irony?

    Yeah, I guess? I can’t tell with this show anymore. But if I had to guess, yeah.

  10. Hold on. What happened to the Rihanna like abuse scene? Was that when Stefan yelled at her after she tried to stab him with the vervain filled syringe? This girl has been pushed around so much that this didn’t even register with me. Oh Dear Lord. Is this why they had Damon push her off a cliff in the last ep? Because they knew that they would have to write a pretty intense confrontation between Stelena? Stefan always has to look better?

    • This girl has been pushed around so much that this didn’t even register with me.

      It didn’t register with me either. Sad, isn’t it?

      Is this why they had Damon push her off a cliff in the last ep?

      While I agree about the whole ‘Stefan has to look better’ thing, I don’t think that’s what that scene was about. I’m pretty sure the writers didn’t think there was anything wrong with Damon pushing Elena off that cliff. I suppose in their mind that scene was part of DE’s “fun banter” and just “Damon being Damon.” (Also: If it had been meant to be taken seriously, Alaric would have at least made some lame comment about it. To give some lip service.)

      • Ugh! You are right. Plus, he was in her bed in this ep. Ew! His actions are scarier to me now but I don’t think it is because they have gotten worse. I think it is because Stefan is not there anymore. It is just Elena with Damon

  11. Things I noticed on rewatch

    1) Rebecca was wearing three diff dresses. In her first scene with Stefan, she was wearing some shade of pink. The next scene with Stefan and Klaus, she was wearing some grey thing. Finally, she was wearing the white dress she woke up with. So, I think, the writers were implying that more than one day had passed

    2) Rebecca told off Stefan for Gloria’s sake. When Stefan was being loud, she looked at Gloria on stage and then went up to Stefan to tell him to STFU. Then later she told him something like, “Do Gloria a favor and put a cork in it”. She also said that a witch gave her the necklace. So the necklace probably went from Gloria to Rebecca to Stefan to Elena. If not for all the Vamp/Witch grossness that already happened on the show, I would be shipping Rebecca/Gloria right about now. Maybe Gloria slowed down her aging because she was waiting for Rebecca 😛

    3) I actually liked a couple of Delena scenes. I was truly shocked with myself you guys. I am talking about the scene when Elena scolded him about taking too long to come to the apt after she was almost found out by Klaus. They had a normal non-OTT exchange. I liked the car ride too.

    4) IS toned down his eye-acting. Hallelujah

    5) I think they are actually trying to make Elena into a real character. I like that there was a short scene of her reading Stefan’s journal. It was pretty easy to follow her train of thought. She figured she could be like Lexi and bring him back. Denial is the Elena go to response.

    6) Klaus said that Rebecca falls in love hard but inevitably leaves her lovers behind. He also said that she is mad. LOL. That last one is rich coming from him. Also, she is a 1000 yrs old. Not everyone is Katherine. It is probably a good thing that she can move on. Klaus is a judgy asshole or he was talking about his own abandonment issues.

    7) Elena called Damon “grandma” and Damon called Klaus “honey”. Idk what it means but I kinda liked it.

    8) The Caroline/Bill scenes were even worse on rewatch. Idk how that is even possible. I guess I actually connected it more to what was done irl.

    The following is an excerpt on aversion therapy on homosexuality from Wikipedia

    Dr. Robert Card conducted shock aversion therapy and published papers advocating therapy to eliminate homosexuality from a patient’s personality, including “The Empirical Characteristics and Clinical Utility of the Monarch Adolescent Audio Visual PPG Stimulus Materials”[6] and “What is ‘Deviant?’ An Examination of Three Distinct Groups’ Penile Plethysmograph Responses.”[7] In one treatment method, gay volunteers had electrodes attached to their genitals and were then shown homosexual pornography. As the pornography played, the patients were injected with emetic drugs and administered electric shocks.[8] The shocks and emetics would then cease and the homosexual imagery would be replaced by heterosexual pornography, during which time the patient would not be abused.

    Sound familiar? I guess Bill is firmly evil in my mind now. Just as the writers wanted. Good job, show. If they hadn’t used the gay parallels, I probably wouldn’t be so hard on Bill because Caroline feeds off humans after all. Like if he was just trying to kill her or torture her for info on other vampires, I would be like, Well, he is trying to protect the human community of the town. I don’t approve of torture but meh.

    9) I liked that they spent some time with Caroline after the torture. Not only with Tyler but also with her mom. I am not sure if this would have happened last season.

    All in all, this is the closest TVD has come to being bearable in a long long time. I just wish I could forget most of what happened in the last 10-15 eps

    • 8) The Caroline/Bill scenes were even worse on rewatch

      *8 – The Caroline/Bill scenes were even worse on rewatch

      The emoticon is not supposed to be there. Sorry!

    • I hadn’t noticed that she was wearing different dresses. This makes everyone’s present reactions make a bit more sense. Gloria/Rebecca could work, since Rebecca has yet to be gross about witches.

      I still have to rewatch the episode, but I remember being okay with Damon and Elena during the car ride & she was clearly thinking, while reading the journal, that she could just do what Lexi had done. It doesn’t really make sense as a task she could accomplish, but it does make sense as one she’d set for herself.

      Klaus having abandonment issues is his own fault. He killed his whole family. Last season didn’t Elijah say that Klaus hunted them down to get back at him? Was he just being presumptuous or did Klaus let him think that because there’s another big bad out there trying to kill them all? Or maybe Rebecca was his actual favorite and that’s why she’s the only one he didn’t travel with?

      Yeah, the subtext going on during the Caroline/Bill scenes was incredibly gross and problematic because, as has been said earlier, vampirism and homosexuality aren’t comparable since vampires kill people and I really don’t get why this is the parellel that this show was trying to create.

      • I really don’t get why this is the parellel that this show was trying to create.

        I think they wanted to tell a story about how one of Caroline’s parents is not cool with her vampirism. But they wanted to make sure that the audience (or a significant portion of the audience) would be firmly in Caroline’s corner. So they framed it as being about prejudice and not about town safety. Now that Bill is “evil”, I guess the rest of the Council, outside of Liz and Carol, is “evil” too. Liz/Carol=tolerant loving parents, Bill=Bigot. Nvrmd that we are talking about *vampires* here.

        I think it had to be Caroline. If this was done to Damon, it wouldn’t have produced the same effect because a lot of the audience agrees that he kinda deserves it. The story accomplished two things – give Caroline a story about coming to terms with her vampirism while still making her sympathetic and it frames the Council as “evil” now that it is supposed to have an increased presence.

    • 1) Rebecca was wearing three diff dresses. In her first scene with Stefan, she was wearing some shade of pink. The next scene with Stefan and Klaus, she was wearing some grey thing. Finally, she was wearing the white dress she woke up with. So, I think, the writers were implying that more than one day had passed

      Really? They should have been more obvious about it. The characters should have mentioned the passage of time because not only were the colors of Rebecca’s dresses so subtle I didn’t even notice the change on second watch, but Stefan and Klaus seemed to stay in the same clothes, and I feel like the same song kept playing. Gloria’s song. And maybe a fast number that Stefan and Rebecca were dancing to.

      I didn’t know aversion therapy was really used to “fix” homosexuality!

      • Yep. And Bill is an older gay man. He is probably aware of some of the “treatments” for homosexuality. This is probably why some people were pissed that the show had him do it specifically. I am not sure if it is a bad thing though. Maybe they are saying that he is transferring some of the self-loathing he felt for a long time on to Caroline. Who knows?

  12. Just watched the episode again and noticed a few things/inconsistencies:

    + In one of those journal entries, Stefan says that Lexi gave him animal blood, but in s1, she offered him human blood like it was no big deal and like she had no idea why he wouldn’t want to drink human blood, even though she’s tried to break him of that habit at least twice.

    + It’s interesting that they had Damon bringing up blackouts and remorse in the premiere since this episode, once again, suggested that Stefan had a level of control that the writers seem to want us to forget about. For one thing, when Klaus reveals what he knows about the list it becomes, not a matter of guilt for Stefan, but a way for him to relive his crimes. Which is good. It’s still something we’re hearing from a character who isn’t Stefan (it also means that at some point, Klaus was in Stefan’s apartment or they had a conversation we’ve yet to see), but it is not something that can be spun in a way to make Stefan less guilty.

    + I’ve already mentioned, but it is worth repeating: Klaus is a hybrid, so he’s both a vampire and a werewolf. Vampires and werewolves have heightened sense in order to hunt their prey. Klaus can’t smell or hear. If the show wasn’t inconsistent with vampire/werewolf powers then this could potentially mean something, but it’s probably just another way the writers are failing Klaus as a character.

    + It’s amazing that these writers actually have all these great characters and fail to do anything with them.

    + Klaus thought he was an abomination? Hahaha. It would be interesting if the writers cared and it didn’t seem to contradict his feelings of superiority in “Klaus.” Then again a long time had passed between the two moments and maybe he needed a confidence boost. The way the flashback goes, you’d almost think that Stefan gave Klaus the idea to break the curse.

    + Klaus calling Rebecca totally mad is hilarious for two reasons: 1) He is Klaus and 2) He’s talking to Stefan.

    • + In one of those journal entries, Stefan says that Lexi gave him animal blood, but in s1, she offered him human blood like it was no big deal and like she had no idea why he wouldn’t want to drink human blood, even though she’s tried to break him of that habit at least twice.

      *Sigh.* And remember how in that episode Lexi said she tried to do the animal blood thing, but she couldn’t? And she spoke as if she got the animal blood idea from Stefan? And how it seemed she had been feeding on people until she met Stefan who was a vegetarian, so she switched to blood bags? Yeah.

      I agree. It’s not a way for him to remember the innocent people. It’s all about him.

      Klaus thought he was an abomination? Hahaha. It would be interesting if the writers cared and it didn’t seem to contradict his feelings of superiority in “Klaus.”

      Yes! I bring this up on the podcast. The fact that they don’t have Klaus name an event that started making him feel like an abomination makes it seem like he’s always felt that way and makes it come off as a retcon.

      + Klaus calling Rebecca totally mad is hilarious for two reasons: 1) He is Klaus and 2) He’s talking to Stefan.

      Lol.

  13. LOL. I was reading the TWOP thread and someone pointed out that Stefan would have written about Klaus and Bex in his diary. So Klaus may have erased his memory but he should have had a record of them in his diary. I guess we are supposed to assume that Stefan never goes back to read old entries.

    Also, it just occurred to me that Alaric!Klaus or Maddox should have seen Bex’s(and Elena’s) necklace when they kidnapped Katherine. Katherine was wearing the necklace because she was impersonating Elena. So Maddox didn’t sense that the necklace was actually magical? How does that make sense? I guess if Maddox just saw it as a vervain necklace and nothing more, it is possible that he threw it away somewhere in Alaric’s apt before Klaus got into Alaric’s body. Therefore, Klaus never actually saw the necklace while he was in Mystic Falls.

    • That works if Stefan wrote in his diary every day…though I guess Klaus removing himself and Bex from Stefan’s memories, given that the flashbacks took place over the course of a few days, could explain the blanks in his memories of Chicago. So he could have killed that guy from Gloria’s and written his name down, but not have written in his journal about it or Klaus or Bex. It’s not the most solid way to explain it, but it’s more solid than it could be.

      When it comes to Elena’s necklace…I have no idea. Maybe it’s not meant to appear to be special to anyone, as a form of protection?

    • So true!

      You’ve just put more thought into this than the writers. I highly doubt Maddox got rid of that necklace before Klaus came. I’m sure klaus ripped it off her neck. We can actually figure it out. Just go back and see if Katherine’s wearing the necklace when Klaus says he’s missed her.

      • Starting at the 9:05 mark of the following video, you can clearly see that Katherine was wearing the necklace when Maddox kidnapped her and didn’t have it when she woke up in Alaric’s apt. Klaus hadn’t yet entered Alaric’s body when she woke up so it must have been Maddox who took the necklace away from her and, apparently, left it lying around in Alaric’s apt.

  14. Also LOL at Kat’s interviewer quipping that Bonnie is in the episodes at about 4 at a time. That so sad and I hope KW heard it because he was standing right there when the lady made the joke. Then he eased his ass on out of there. If you look at his face it seems like he heard it.

Flail or vent

