Episode 46: The Hybrid

Episode 46

Spoiler chat: 1:06.094-17:20.812

Highlights: Jeremy, Matt (except for one slip up), and Carol.

Lowlights: Elena! Stefan, I question the point of werewolves in this show, the Elena/Damon scene would’ve made more sense in season 2, and Tyler uncharacteristically traumatizes his mother.

Rant: All of the shadiness involved in Caroline’s story, from Carol calling her a prostitute to Caroline’s freaking father coming before Bonnie’s, to torturing Caroline for emotional reactions from the audience, and finally, I worry that they’re going to position Tyler as the only man in Caroline’s life who appreciates her. No.

Scroll down for Frank Brennan

Mama Original

Zach and Kat

Episode 5 synopsis

Julie Plec previews The Hybrid and alludes to what we’ve been saying about how the show treats Elena (Thanks Emily!)

I couldn’t believe all of this eye acting took place in one episode!

31 thoughts on “Episode 46: The Hybrid

  1. Re: Spoilers – The ideas you have surrounding Bonnie and Elijah and basically recreating the Council are brilliant.

    So Zach is bored with Matt/Caroline. Paul is telling us stuff we already know. Why is Tyler going to meet Klaus?

    Maybe Zach meant “in control.” I hope that’s what he meant. Or that he’s exaggerating. Why isn’t Klaus’s sister on ice? Didn’t he put her on ice?

    My Thursday night comedies and Wednesday night comedies are going great. There are still a bunch of premieres that I haven’t watched yet.

    The episode was 30 minutes and 19 seconds? Literally, nothing happened. Wow.

    Matt & Jeremy:

    + Matt is the only person who says things like this (references asking questions, talking to people who know things; inquiries about weirdness instead of deciding that investigation is more appropriate…except for the whole spy business from last season). If he could be that guy instead of “yells at Caroline” guy, I would like him even more.

    + Tyler acts as if he and Matt weren’t friends before. Remember when Matt was just able to get over Tyler trying to sleep with his mom? He wasn’t really, but the show treated it as something Matt should just be able to get over. Caroline coming between them doesn’t make sense.

    + The Christmas pictures: my emotions! my emotions!

    + Steve’s bedroom eyes. Lol. The Matt/Jeremy shipping doesn’t do anything for me either.

    + Matt saying Jeremy got Vicki better than he did most of the time was wonderful for the reason you stated and because it was him acknowledging that he couldn’t always get her.

    + The incredible grossness of what Elena, Stefan and Damon did to them is just, I can’t even wrap my head around the fact that we’re at least supposed to see what they did to Jeremy as coming from a valid place.

    + Was Stefan the one who compelled Matt to forget? I can’t remember that. If he was, shouldn’t his compulsion have been a bit shaky?

    + He says “when”. And while that hurts, it makes sense. Maybe he means that line between her being a vampire and her being human? Does he remember Jeremy calling him over to the Gilberts house because Vicki was freaking out? Or he could mean that he doesn’t remember when it happened?

    Klaus & Stefan:

    + This storyline is too much about telling instead of showing, but the way Paul is playing this is in direct opposition with what the other characters are telling us and I don’t know whether he’s bored or if this is going to turn into something later. Rather, I hope this will turn into something later but of course it won’t.

    One of my major problems with this Stefan storyline is that it hardly counts as character exploration. You know? They are attaching a body count to Stefan and then throwing some tears onto it when I just want to know the why and the how and they have no explanation for that. Why does Stefan kill (and why so many people? this can’t be about addiction and they need to give that up) and how does he stop himself. We’re never going to know.

    There is nothing going on in this storyline. The storyline would work better if we didn’t know what was going on with Stefan (get rid of Elena and Damon and Klaus telling us how he feels and why he’s doing what he’s doing) and then slowly work towards figuring out what’s going on in his headspace because right now nothing is going on in his headspace.

    + Klaus is creating an army of equals because he is a fool.

    + If Stefan gives up (whatever that looks like) because he sees Elena and Damon kiss I will set everything Julie Plec loves on fire.

    + How easy would it have been for them to have Stefan wander off and wait to die but then Klaus would find him and force his blood on him? Little things. Or if they want us to know that Stefan doesn’t want to die, they should have had him use his vampire speed to feed from him quickly.

    + If Stefan drinks from Klaus then…who knows why it didn’t happen. They’re too straight for all of that. ; (

    Elena & Damon :

    + The producers/writers don’t care about Elena.

    + I’m convinced that s1 occurred in some alternate reality and the show in that reality is a much better show, in it’s third season doing who knows what because anything would be better than whatever is happening or about to happen on this show.

    + Elena gives no shits. I know some Elena fans who seem to be okay with what’s going on with her characterization.

    + I don’t believe anything the writers say until it happens on the show.

    + Does everyone else even know that Stefan is the one killing people? If not are they even going to react to that?

    + Elena knows that she’s Stefan’s humanity. Apparently. Maybe.

    + Speaking as a Stefan fan, I need Elena to catch some of her s1 personality and fashion some stakes from sticks and kill his ass. Just wanted to put that out there.

    + It’s convenient to the plot for Elena to be right about the mountains that Klaus and Stefan would be exploring.

    + Yeah, I can’t even handle what Tyler said about being partially at fault for Stefan being with Klaus.

    + Wolfsbane and vervain are both supposed to be hard to come by, if I’m remembering correctly. Like Zach was the one providing vervain to the Council.

    + Elena attempting to touch Ray is just ridiculous.

    + The writers don’t actually care about these characters. Not even a little bit. I don’t know what they care about, but it’s not making these characters smart or stupid or sympathetic or anything resembling consistent or aware of the world they live in.

    + Klaus was able to bite Katherine and then give her his blood to cure her.

    + Because in 10 years, Stefan’s going to be over the whole doppelganger thing or something. . That’s why he is never going back. What was the point of Stefan even denying calling Elena? Was there a point? Do the writers know what they’re doing?

    We’re going to hear this conversation the same amount of time we heard about the sun and the moon curse last season. That’s my bet.

    + These one episode developments actually suck.

    Caroline & Tyler:

    + The prostitute line was so unnecessary and if they really want Tyler to be this “better” guy for Caroline then he should just be better.

    + s1 did have the suggestion that Caroline was really close with her father.

    + I’ve heard people say that maybe Bill is a vampire. I don’t know why though.

    + What Tyler did was horrible and cruel and doesn’t really work within the context of their previous relationship. They’ve got a pretty good relationship. Carol was great in this episode, but I have huge issues with the fact that if Tyler had just told her, she may have been able to stop what happened to Caroline.

    + Well we’ve got previous experience with vampires being unable to break chains…for whatever reason. In s1 when Stefan was kidnapped by the tomb vampires he wasn’t able to break his chains to escape.

    + The worst part about Bill coming in is that the writers know that Bonnie fans want to meet her father. They know Kat wants more of that and they have given her nothing. She’s breaking up which bromance? Jeremy and Matt?

    I haven’t watched “Blood Brothers” in awhile, but what was retconned in it?

    • If he could be that guy instead of “yells at Caroline” guy, I would like him even more.

      Yes.

      + Was Stefan the one who compelled Matt to forget? I can’t remember that. If he was, shouldn’t his compulsion have been a bit shaky?

      It was Damon who did it. I remember Stefan looking like he didn’t like the idea. He told Elena that if he compelled Jeremy, it wouldn’t really stick and that’s when Damon came in saying he’d do it. So I’m assuming he also did Matt.

      I don’t think Matt remember Jeremy calling him over, because I think Elena soon came in. So she would tell Damon to get rid of all of that.

      One of my major problems with this Stefan storyline is that it hardly counts as character exploration.

      This is it! I’ve never been able to sum it up like this, but this is the problem. It seems like every time we cut to Klaus/Stefan, Klaus is always talking (usually about Stefan) and Stefan is just reacting, or is quiet, or is looking at him in that judgy way, and it all amounts to Stefan doing nothing. Having seen the clip for next week’s episode, I wish they would have had Stefan looking at that list (preferably without Klaus in the room) than Damon and Elena because as it is, it continues this trend of telling Stefan’s story through other people.

      + How easy would it have been for them to have Stefan wander off and wait to die but then Klaus would find him and force his blood on him? Little things.

      Exactly.

      + Elena gives no shits. I know some Elena fans who seem to be okay with what’s going on with her characterization.

      I read person saying, in response to the released clip, that Elena is like this because she’s numb from all the death she’s experienced. I was like no. The producers have done numb before. Look at Jeremy in season 1. Elena is not it.

      + Speaking as a Stefan fan, I need Elena to catch some of her s1 personality and fashion some stakes from sticks and kill his ass. Just wanted to put that out there.

      Elena being the one to kill Stefan never even came into my mind as a possibility. That’s how much I care to speculate about her. *Sigh*

      Do the writers know what they’re doing?

      No. I’m guessing the point of Stefan’s denial was to make this episode reach the 19 second mark.

      We’re going to hear this conversation the same amount of time we heard about the sun and the moon curse last season. That’s my bet.

      Ugh.

      In s1 when Stefan was kidnapped by the tomb vampires he wasn’t able to break his chains to escape.

      Frederick said Stefan’s chains were doused with vervain.

      They say Bonnie’s going to break up the Stefan/Klaus bromance (but I can never find a source for this. I don’t even know whether it was Kevin or Julie who said it. It just occasionally pops up on tumblr). Apparently all guys need to do is be in some scenes together to qualify as bromance.

      Emily’s timeline was retconned in BB. In History Repeating, the way Damon told it, it sounded like Emily died the night the vamps were rounded up. He said he went to her the night Katherine was captured and she made the deal because she knew they were coming for her too. Flash forward to BB and Emily’s chilling by the lake with Stefan and Damon, and then Damon said Emily didn’t tell him she was successful with the spell until after he became a vampire because she didn’t want it to influence his decision (thereby erasing the fact that Emily’s motivation for making the deal was saving her children).

      • it continues this trend of telling Stefan’s story through other people.

        It doesn’t work as a story telling device because Stefan neither contradicts nor confirms the explanations that Klaus, Elena, or Damon coming up with. So we get information dumps when it comes to his past but no insight into his motivations, desires, thought processes.

        I read person saying, in response to the released clip, that Elena is like this because she’s numb from all the death she’s experienced.

        Elena is way to proactive and contemplative and considering, even if it centers around her relationship, to be described as numb. Her reaction during the sacrifice contradicts this view, as well. In fact, the only deaths we’ve ever seen her really react to were her parents deaths and she got over that pretty quickly when Stefan came around.

        Frederick said Stefan’s chains were doused with vervain.

        Forgot about the vervain.

        Klaus won’t even offer Stefan blood from his body. How are they meant to be friends, let alone a bromance? They haven’t even had any real conversations.

        And I have all sorts of doubts about Bonnie breaking up their partnership because unless she’s killing one of them I’m really worried it’s going to amount to her bringing Stefan back into the fold or why Klaus needs hugs. Because how else would she break them up?

        • I have no idea. The thing says, “Will she break it up or will she join?” And some people who are fans of Bonnie are excited at the possibility that she might join. I won’t even touch that. I’ve never reblogged it despite how many times it pops up on my dash because…ugh. You know I’m hoping she tries to kill one of them. Preferably Stefan. Maybe then he’ll be able to enter his own story!

          And I agree with this: It doesn’t work as a story telling device because Stefan neither contradicts nor confirms the explanations that Klaus, Elena, or Damon coming up with.

          • Preferably Stefan. Maybe then he’ll be able to enter his own story!

            Maybe. He’d have to say something at least.

            I don’t even get the idea behind Bonnie joining up with Klaus and Stefan or even breaking them up, unless she’s killing them. Unless of course the bigger big bad is somehow actually Satan and my enemy’s enemy is my best friend even if one of them is stupid and the other one is Stefan.

  2. I just have to say that I really don’t care about Elena, because she doesn’t even care about her self or people that really matter. I don’t believe the whole Elena’s so warmhearted and sincere. Mainly, because she would help a stranger that she’s seen murder someone quicker than I think she would help her brother or her friends.

    And I love Jeremy’s storyline, but then I have this disgusting feeling that producers are going to concoct some way to make it about Elena, and then I’m gonna go into a dark corner and sigh.

    The things about this season so far that I enjoy the most is anything away from Elena and anyone that says her name. I might sound bitter but I don’t get her and therefor I don’t care.

    You stated before that there are not any real Elena fans and I think you’re right. I wrote on Tumblr about Elena and that I don’t care about her. And someone messaged me and told me to “Leave Elena the fuck alone”, and that’s not even defending her, Any real fan would’ve said something more then 1 line. Or not even bothered to react.

    IDK, it’s crazy.

    About Caroline’s dad, I really feel like I would be more interested if this wasn’t happening on this show. Or if Bill had turned out to be Bonnie’s dad instead. It’s not like that’s not possible.

    Picture Bonnie coming back into town and founding out that not only does her father knows theirs vampires, but he tortured Caroline, and that all the time he’s been saying he was away he was really Giles or maybe him not talking about the supernatural with her is a way of keeping her safe. IDK. Anything but this. Because now that this guy is here, he’s going to die and then I have to sit through another parental death seen. The potential outcome annoys me more then the story.

    Oh you asked about shows that we are watching.

    I don’t watch a lot of TV on TV. I normally watch VD and then I catch everything else online. Or I stick to my Korean dramas. However I am excited about this Saturday, because Merlin series 4 comes out and I have a girl that will send me the episodes.

  3. Any real fan would’ve said something more then 1 line. Or not even bothered to react.

    Definitely. If I’ve never defended Bonnie by only telling the person to leave her alone. Heck, I never tell them to leave her alone; I just counter their opinion. I didn’t even say “leave her alone” that one time I defended Elena.

    Bonnie’s dad torturing Caroline would be so incredibly crazy. I wouldn’t even want to see that, because not only am I tired of Caroline getting tortured no matter who’s doing it, I feel that that would destroy Bonnie’s relationship with her dad. And like Carol said, these parents have known all of these kids since they were babies, so torture really should be out of the question for all of them.

    Bill is so not going to die. They’d rather stick to putting Caroline through physical pain rather than emotional ones, hence the episode 5 synopsis, her never really reacting to Matt’s treatment, her downplaying Tyler’s betrayal after he came back, etc. Ugh.

    Korean dramas! I really need to get back into those. I never finished watching Hello Miss.

  4. Re: shows – I caved on trying CW shows because of peer pressure. I am lame like that 😛 I liked Ringer. I will stick with it. Supernatural’s premier was pretty good but I have been away from it for 3 years. I don’t think I will stick with it. The show has moved so far away from its original concept. We will see. Nikita’s premier was pretty impressive. I like the changes they made for season 2. I think I will stick with it too. As for Terra Nova, it was kinda lame but I can’t put my finger on why. I might try another ep or 2. I am still watching Community, Parks and Recreation and Fringe. I forgot to check out Person of Interest and Once Upon a Time. There are too many shows. Lol

    Matt/Tyler hasn’t made sense in a while. Remember when Tyler left town and all he talked about to Matt before he left was Caroline?

    There is Matt and Jeremy shipping? LOL. Oh God! I kinda feel bad though. When will shows have compelling/central gay romances? Never?

    Jyler or Matt/Jeremy, I don’t care. I just don’t want the Damon/Alaric grossness to be the only male friendship on the show

    Why exactly do people look down on Caroline in the show? Weird. They had a character straight-up call her a prostitute. That word specifically? Really? Slutty Sophie and now Caroline the prostitute. I guess where there is a Madonna, there have to be a whole bunch of Whores. Another instance of them being meta? Btw, how does being meta mitigate anything? Someone mentioned that this show is almost a textbook case of how NOT to write women. SMH

    Racist? LOL Racist or prejudiced – Does it matter? I mean, in general and not specifically for Matt. They are talking about *vampires* – Creatures who feed on human beings. Human beings in these shows should be cool with vampires? Serious question. I’ve seen this argument for True Blood and it holds *some* water there because that show has a blood substitute for vampires. It still doesn’t make too much sense, to me, to equate vampires to a race because they still have the urge to murder/kill/feed off humans. Is it some sort of commentary on how we all oppress/feed off others just by existing? Idk. I really wish this whole vampires=LGBTQ or vampires=oppressed minority (because they are actually quiet powerful) thing would end. It is a highly imperfect allegory. I wish people wouldn’t take it so seriously. This is not like the different species on Star Trek or even X-men. Humans are the natural prey of vampires. From a human’s POV, vampires are either serial killers or recovering serial killers. I always feel weird when people hate characters for disliking creatures who feed on said characters’ species. Even the vampires who exclusively drink from blood bags in TVD are killing people indirectly. It is like these shows are saying that prejudice is wrong but it is still justifiable. After all, the Other is inherently dangerous. But maybe I am wrong. I am open to what you guys have to say

    When it comes to Vicki vs. Anna, why do people think that Anna is better than Vicki? Vicki had issues but Anna very deliberately planned to feed Jeremy to her mom. She changed her mind but still. I don’t care about either of them individually. I am more interested in Vicki because, theoretically, she is connected to more characters on the show.

    I saw the IS eye-acting gif a while back on tumblr. HILARIOUS. I really hope he is doing this deliberately because he legit thinks that Damon is super duper crazy. While I was watching the show, the idea that something might be wrong with him health-wise ran through my head for a sec. And then, I remembered what actor I was watching

    How is Elena manipulating Damon? OMG! I can’t with fandom

    How is Stefan already so in control 2-3 months into this thing with Klaus? Remember how out of control he was during the blood arc? Remember how crazy he was starting to get in last season’s finale? Was that all about the difficulty of stopping himself when he starts? Maybe once he lets himself go, he is cool with it. :shurg:

    The whole plan was ridiculous. That is all. Elena is an object that moves along the Salvatores’ story. A precious object but an object nonetheless. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw her hiking in a forest full of werewolves in short shorts and little else. I guess she brought a man with her so that is all she needed. I mean, it is the man’s job to do all the protecting/heavy lifting, right? She doesn’t have to worry her pretty little head with any of that. And the Salvatores can only have a relationship through her. Why? Men can’t have a super close relationship directly with each other? Ugh!

    That Ray/Damon fight was pathetic. This show needs to hire the people who choreograph fights on Nikita and Supernatural. And how is it that Ray had his clothes on when he transformed back to human form? Unless they are telling us that the wolf who looked at Elena was not Ray?? But I thought I saw a split second of wolf!Ray transforming back to human form. Bizarre

    Nina played Elena as scared in that last Delena scene. How is this stuff sexy?

    The things that Elena is supposedly feeling are all in Damon’s head. His behavior has escalated so much. If they get together after all this, I will have a hard time not seeing that relationship as having a HUGE coercive element. He is waaaay more powerful and he just won’t take no for answer. At this point, I feel like this is all going to end in murder/suicide.

    I speculated about the Council being a Boy’s club before. I think they are changing it so that men get automatic membership as long their last name is Fell, Forbes, Salvatore or Forwood. But women only get membership when they marry into a Founding Family and therefore, get the “right” last name. So a woman whose last name at birth is Fell would not gain membership because it is assumed that she will eventually marry a man who might not be a Founding Family member. She might eventually belong to another family but a FF man at birth will ALWAYS be a FF man. Lovely show, isn’t it?

    How did one chain hold back Tyler? He started changing right after he locked his mother in. Doesn’t he need a lot of chains to hold him back? Idk. I could be misremembering his last transformation.

    What is with all the invisible/horrible fathers on this show?

    This show really really wants to do the Black Best Friend trope by the book with Bonnie. I guess the good characterization given to Bonnie by the previous writers made her too popular for them to get away with it completely. So they half-ass it every now and then.

    Ok, so they don’t care about Bonnie but I am actually confused as to who these writers care about. Every character is such a mess. Is it just degrees of not caring?

    • I don’t even know why I stopped watching Community. I just started missing episodes.

      Jyler or Matt/Jeremy, I don’t care. I just don’t want the Damon/Alaric grossness to be the only male friendship on the show

      Lol.

      The thing is that I feel the whole vamps=minority groups is only coming from some people in the Fandom. The show isn’t about that. If it was, it would’ve been more obvious about it like True Blood. Neither the show nor the producers have said anything of the sort. KW once said that Tyler’s werewolf thing was a coming out of sort, but that’s just something he said. It’s not a recurring theme on the show. People are only calling Matt/Bonnie/Liz/Carol “bigot” because True Blood is on the air. Please.

      why do people think that Anna is better than Vicki?

      I have no idea. I don’t know what makes Anna “awesome” and Vicky not. I mean it’s not about Jeremy, I don’t think. Vicky went between Tyler and Jeremy, but I’ve never seen people dog her for that. I don’t get it.

      While I was watching the show, the idea that something might be wrong with him health-wise ran through my head for a sec. And then, I remembered what actor I was watching

      Lol!

      Maybe once he lets himself go, he is cool with it.

      But they’re telling us he hasn’t let go yet.

      That Ray/Damon fight was pathetic.

      It kind of was. On first watch, I thought to myself, “It looks like someone shot this with a handheld camera.” Made me wonder if TVD’s budget had been cut. The fight at Frederick’s house was better. I didn’t mention it in the podcast because for some reason the shot looked better on second watch.

      And how is it that Ray had his clothes on when he transformed back to human form?

      I didn’t even freaking realize that. This show.

      At this point, I feel like this is all going to end in murder/suicide.

      The tone in which I read this in my head scared me.

      So a woman whose last name at birth is Fell would not gain membership because it is assumed that she will eventually marry a man who might not be a Founding Family member. She might eventually belong to another family but a FF man at birth will ALWAYS be a FF man.

      Eeeewwww!!!!!!

      How did one chain hold back Tyler?

      And here’s another thing I didn’t realize. Because the first time Tyler shifted, he had four chains, and he still broke through them. But this time a pair of chains was able to hold him back. Like I said, this crap was most likely about Caroline. It didn’t need to make sense for Tyler. Olu said in her review of the episode that it’s too bad that it’s a shame the werewolf plot line has never really been about Tyler figuring himself out or learning about werewolves. *Sigh*

      What is with all the invisible/horrible fathers on this show?

      The only men who can treat these girls right are their love interests. They’re more decent than the girls’ fathers. Ugh.

      Is it just degrees of not caring?

      It really seems like it.

      I’m sure they’ll soon get itchy from the good stuff coming out of the Jer/Matt storyline.

      • I have no idea. I don’t know what makes Anna “awesome” and Vicky not. I mean it’s not about Jeremy, I don’t think. Vicky went between Tyler and Jeremy, but I’ve never seen people dog her for that. I don’t get it.

        I think it is because Vicki is ~trashy~. She is a working class “bad girl”. It could also be all the drugs. A lot of people didn’t like Jeremy during his emo/druggie phase either.

        Btw, I forgot to mention Whitney when I wrote about the shows I tried. My brain may have been trying to block the memory. It was my worst tv mistake EVER! First, she says something like, “this show is filmed in front of a live studio audience. Yeah I said it!” And I was thinking – “Said what? Studio audiences are bad? What are you saying, lady? You seem to be implying that you are being edgy in some way but I don’t understand how” I wish these shows didn’t answer their critics inside the show. They should leave that for their media interviews. Those of us who don’t follow the fandom or media coverage of the show are left confused. Second, they were trying so hard but the jokes were not funny. My facial expressions while watching this thing -> 😐 😕 😕 🙄 😕 . Third, Whitney seems to be about/for/by women who hate themselves, hate other women and hate men. I hate that they referenced Dr. Quinn: Medicine Woman. My childhood memories should not be sullied by this monstrosity 😡 Perfect Couples was dissed and nobody watched it but it was soooo much better than this. What is this?! All the characters are two dimensional and there is no heart to the show. A bunch of dated jokes about gender=/=funny. Go back to 1984 or wtvr past decade you crawled out of. Jeez!

        I obviously have a lot of ~feelings about Whitney. But now you don’t have to make the same mistake I did.

          • Is that what that was? I am so ignorant on how tv actually works. I looked online afterwards and stumbled on an article about the show. One of the producers of the show was defending the show’s using a multi-camera format in it. She also called the rest of the NBC comedy line-up “snobby”. From that, I thought they were replying to their critics. The simple/traditional format was actually part of the appeal for me. I was looking for a nice, breezy comedy – Sort of like the female version of Two and a Half Men. Unfortunately, it is offensive and obnoxiously unfunny.

            Wtvr, I can already see it being a huge hit.

              • I just tried Happy Endings. It is what I wished Whitney was. I have such a low bar for tv, in general, that I am always surprised when shows can’t meet it. I just wanted something blandly funny. Kind of like CBS comedies but a little more… idk…just more I guess. Just a break from the OTT weird funny shows I normally like – Archer, It Is Always Sunny In Philadelphia, Wilfred, Community, etc

  5. Ohh, I feel kind of bad because I was harping so much on the episode and its general awfulness and completely forgot to mention that I really liked the Matt/Jeremy stuff!! Definitely the highlight of the episode and the best storyline of the show at the moment.

    I am surprised at how happy I am to see Vicki again. I did like her back in S1 but was frustrated by the repetitive writing for her (constantly attacked by Damon, basically the same scenes over and over again with Jeremy and Tyler) and, as a result, didn’t care too much when she was killed off in the end. Now I find myself wishing that she still was on the show. (Btw, the way the fandom talks about her is so hard to stomach.)

    It’s so weird. So many reviewers praised this episode as one of the Top 5 episodes of the entire series. I’ve never been more surprised.

    I don’t get this Ripper SL at all. Why do this? Like you guys said, so far it’s not about exploring Stefan’s character at all. Is it just for shock value and/or propping Klaus + DE? Idk. But I get the feeling that the writers think that they are accomplishing something great there.

    The relationships the show cares the most about are so *extreme* right now (albeit extreme in different ways). Forwood in the premiere. SE, obviously. Well, DE has been extreme for a very long time but still – the shoving? the yelling at her to “open up about her feelings” or whatever? And I guess one could count the relationship between the brothers as well, although it has always been extreme. But Damon completely giving up on his brother in one ep, only then to decide to bring him back one ep later, all the while spouting melodramatic lines like “Even in his darkest place my brother can’t let me die”? Whatever, although I guess melodramatic lines like that are in character for him.

    I’d also call the Damon/Alaric “bromance” one of the relationships the writers somewhat care about. Heck, it’s probably the only reason why Alaric is still alive. Anyway, one reviewer wrote that she thought that the Damon/Alaric stuff in this episode felt like fan fiction. And this is so true. – Btw, I guess Alaric’s new role will be to comment on the ensuing D/E drama? I kind of feel bad for this non-character.

    The Damon gif is made of awesome. Why does nobody tell IS to tone it down? One of the biggest mysteries of the entire show. Btw, what’s up with Damon’s face in general? He looks like a bad doppelganger of himself.

    On a similar note, the thought of having to see Klaus’ face on my screen for 22 episodes in a row depresses me. Nothing against JM, though, he seems like a great guy, good actor, etc. But the Klaus character is lacking substance and only takes up the screen time of better characters. And in general, I don’t think it’s a good idea to have the big, bad villain in every single episode.

    I made the mistake of watching the web clip for episode 3 right before going to sleep. Which basically meant that I went to sleep mad. And then I dreamed about reading a KW interview in which he explained what he was going for this season. And I was even madder. Worst nightmare in a long, long time, lol.

    New shows I’ve been watching: Ringer, The Secret Circle and Revenge. Not too impressed with Ringer and TSC tbh. I really liked the Revenge pilot, however.

    • Uhm, I think I worded the part about the ‘extreme’ writing w/r/t to the relationships oddly. What I meant is that most of the interaction/dialogue is so weirdly over the top. (And by no means did I mean to compare Forwood to SE/DE.)

      Oh, I’m looking forward to finally meet Gloria and Becky in tonight’s episode.

    • Now I find myself wishing that she still was on the show.

      I rewatched some episodes of season 1 back when season 2 was still airing, and my Fandom friend pointed out how Vicky called both Jeremy and (especially) Elena out. Imo she was insensitive to Jeremy when she was telling him he’ll get over his dark period (he was grieving over his parents, come on Vicky), but she was right in the sense that Jer could get high and drink and skip class, but in the end he was still part of high society. No one was really going to write him off because he came from money. Unlike the treatment Vicky got. And of course there was the great moment where she called Elena out on the Matt thing and called her a perky little bitch. There’s no way someone as opinionated as Vicky could be on this show, unfortunately. Caroline definitely lost her edge when it comes to Elena.

      So many reviewers praised this episode as one of the Top 5 episodes of the entire series.

      What?! Of the series. Pfft, not according to the ratings. Lmao. But pettiness aside, I can’t tell you how much it hurts my brain to go from watching a sucky TVD episode to a place like Twitter where people are hailing it as “the best episode yet.” I did that after this episode aired, and I had to get off Twitter and come here to read you guys’ opinions on it, because…ugh.

      But I get the feeling that the writers think that they are accomplishing something great there.

      Lol. That sounds so sad.

      I definitely get what you mean about the relationships. They do tend to be over the top which I guess is supposed to make up for the lack of substance in most of them. You have Bonnie bleeding for Elena. Ugh. Compare that to Bonnie/Caroline who had a simple (yet important) falling out. I think it was yesterday that my Fandom friend was saying all of the girls are or have been in relationships that can be deemed abusive whether physical or emotional (you have Caroline who has gotten hurt by association of being with Matt [the verbal stuff from his mom and Matt himself. And then Damon], Elena…no further explanation needed…and what surprised me was that she included Bonnie by using Bonnie’s friendship with Elena. That friendship has literally hurt Bonnie while it’s never affected Elena in a negative way.

      I kind of feel bad for this non-character.

      Lol! Alaric having the role of commenting on the D/E relationship. Ugh. Better him than Jeremy/Caroline/Bonnie. Only his comments are as lame as he has been lately.

      Btw, what’s up with Damon’s face in general?

      He does look kind of odd. His face looks harder is what I think it is. In the Miss Mystic Falls podcast, I said he looked like a wax figure during the D/E dance. It seems to be making a comeback lately.

      And in general, I don’t think it’s a good idea to have the big, bad villain in every single episode.

      It is a very bad idea. It was a bad idea to include him in the promos with Damon/Stef/Elena. He just looks like another character. Not a big bad. There should be more distance between Klaus and the characters and by proxy of having Stefan tagging along with him, they’re failing at that. And then there’s the part where he’s not even making Stefan suffer.

      And then I dreamed about reading a KW interview in which he explained what he was going for this season. And I was even madder.

      Lol! Want to be even more mad? Nina quote containing a liiiitle bit of spoiler from tonight’s episode

      I liked TSC’s second episode better than the first one. Which is a good sign.

      • Lol! Want to be even more mad? Nina quote containing a liiiitle bit of spoiler from tonight’s episode

        Whaaaaaat??? I don’t even know what to say. Unbelievable.

      • Lol! Want to be even more mad? Nina quote containing a liiiitle bit of spoiler from tonight’s episode

        1) Do you think that ND and IS are playing against the script in a way? Do you guys think that Elena is *supposed* to look scared of Damon a lot of the time? Is Damon supposed to be so crazed and creepy when he is around Elena?

        2) They are being beyond ridiculous if they think Elena is not abused already

        3) I am going to wait to watch this ep until I read your reactions. Let me know if it is worth watching

        • I think Nina just sometimes doesn’t know what to do with her body language. She can’t reciprocate or appreciate the advances. They give her the dialogue that they do, but at the same time she can’t be truly disgusted and put out because Elena has to stay friends with Damon. So we get what’s on our screens.

  6. Have you seen the fandom freak out that has been going on because of the tweet Ian sent out. The Damon fangirls are losing their minds I find it very hilarious.

    • Oh, it is very hilarious. Just the tweet itself, but then you add the fangirls and their campaigns and it’s gold. Casual viewers are not going to come back to a show where the heroine says she likes the guy just the he is while her brother is dead because of him. The show doesn’t recognize the value of the other characters, and I think the producers forgot that whether the pacing is slow or fast, the story and characters need to make sense.

        • He tweeted about how the ratings were waaayy down (and put a sad face next to it), and he would be doing the radio circuit to promote and let people know it’s still on. And so the fangirls started campaigning.

  7. whoops! I just put that in the knew post that I have not seen. My bad.

    Alta you still haven’t turned down the volume. ;]

    Yay Delena scene! \o/

    Maybe Bonnie will save Carol? I guess I hope that it’s Elijah because she was not happy with him the last time she saw him. What kind of show is this? This is the Bonnie show. :]

    Bonnie’s new council.

    Where are the Bennett’s in all of this.

    I know that you don’t want Bonnie/Matt because you don’t want Bonnie to have Elena’s castaways. I hear that. But Yay to Zach and Trevino wanting to work with Kat. But please no triangles! Yuck.

    Kill Alaric! :]

    I hope Matt doesn’t try to become a vampire. :/ TOO MUCH!

    My show hadn’t started yet. The Walking Dead is starting on the 16. Ru Paul’s Drag Race isn’t on yet. Waiting for Misfits … still waiting. I think I’m going to watch Up All Night’ With Maya Rudolph and Suburgatory on I don’t really know the name …

    Greta could wipe the floor with them all!

    32 minutes? I feel like it had more commercials than anything. Damn that’s a rip off.

    I don’t remember seeing Jeremy’s naked upper body? Matt tho. ;D

    Scribe, Alta. 😉 I just saw an episode where that was in the title. Scribe hard or something?

    I could see Tyler accepting Matt’s help. Like I said, one of the reasons they were friends was most likely because Matt knew about Tyler’s abuse so … Right Tyler made out with Matt’s mom.

    You know it’s part of Caroline character to not really mind what the writers do to her.

    I thought it was a garage or something. I feel like it wasn’t on a higher level.

    God Alta you are in Love with Jeremy/Steven.

    You know they are going to paint Vicky in a bad light. OMG they did compelled Matt? I forgot. They did they say Matt was a racist?

    Paul Wesley isn’t getting anything to work with I think. So I think it’s not really fair to blame the actor for the lack of material …

    Stefan should kill himself okay.

    Vampire/werewolf hybrid should have a special stink to it. There is a pack of werewolf’s and a random ass human. They are just out there camping. Orgy Alta! LMAO

    I wonder why they didn’t fight the two vampires or run away or something. The two sets of teeth are hella gross and his eyes. Ian’s eyes.

    What if they showed Stefan not caring by having him kill Bonnie?

    Klaus doesn’t know what he’s doing at all. Why is he alive, around. LMAO At Elena huffing impression!

    I wish Stefan would have settled himself into the werewolf bite and then Klaus would have seen that he has no hold on Stefan and … actually I just want Stefan to try to hill himself or to do it or something to wake me out of this lame daze the show’s put me in. It’s just to drab.

    Klaus is too stupid … THIS SHOW!

    Klaus bit into his hand like he had an apple. Klaus is delusional. I can’t!

    Elena!

    Well Alta you know Dicks are the cure all. *eye roll*

    I’m surprised he didn’t call Andie his pet.

    Elena was joking about what happened to Caroline in Miss Mystic Falls.

    Damn. Nina Dobrev is the only one who cares about Elena. :X so true. Elena make me yearn for Buffy. And Buffy was my least favorite character on the show when I watched it.

    Alaric’s hairy naked chest … no

    Elena can’t recognize humanity because she has none.

    WOW Elena! Coming at Tyler. I wish Tyler gave them some bogus info.

    TELL IT ALTA! TELL IT ALL!

    What is this plan? What is this story!?
    Alaric/Elena scene … no stop!

    YES! Elena had officially entered the Too Dumb To Live status.

    That scene … it was awkward and annoying and I want it to stop.

    Elena’s Plans are epic … remember when she wanted to help keep Bonnie alive? All she could do was say “No. no. no!”

    Bonnie is on a higher level than Elena … this is why she should be the head of the show.

    The wolf is looking at Elena because she is moving ….

    This show is like a really bad WIP fic.

    You want the Salvatore’s dead. Understandable.

    I told you Elena is heartless and scary and not really. Doppelgangers are a truly evil omen. I am convinced.

    I have this thought that Damon visits Elena nightly, rapes her, compels her and then does it again the next day. He could be doing it.

    THIS SHOW! UGH slut shaming up the wall! All over the place. Forwood and Matt/Caroline is using the same roadmap.

    That’s funny that Carol feels more for Caroline than her father does …

    Bill is only “Bad-ass” because the same actor who played HRG is playing Bill.

    I thought Tyler would have told her not do what he did. THIS SHOW with the time/pacing. If I was Carol I would have peed my pants.

    TPTB are TROLLING SO FUCKING HARD! LEMME TELL YOU! BONNIE STILL GETS NO PARENT, JUST A DEAD GRANDMOTHER AN ANCESTOR A 5 TIMES REMOVED COUSIN …

    I see what you’re doing show. I see it!

    God help us if her human side was that little video chat we got with Jeremy where she talked about her family. This show man …

    I told you. POC’s getting together to get shit don on their own is not to be encouraged, Alta. I told you. This show man. UGH!

    Why can’t the 3 women on this show be compelled? One wears a locked, the other is from the force of will in her family’s blood, the last because she died.

    But wait. Some vampires can be compelled (why not the Salvatore’s), Elena can have her necklace removed, and witches are beholden to vampires.

    Lol Prayer circle. *grabs hands tho*

    • Scribe, Alta. I just saw an episode where that was in the title. Scribe hard or something?

      Scry. I remembered while I was editing this one.

      Elena can’t recognize humanity because she has none.

      Lol.

      I have this thought that Damon visits Elena nightly, rapes her, compels her and then does it again the next day. He could be doing it.

      Oh damn. Ew.

      • Scry … damn

        I was listening to your podcast in my way down to South Carolina. 🙂

        I don’t have much to say about this episode. Honestly I’m just waiting for Bonnie to come back.

Flail or vent

