Episode 40: The Last Dance

Episode 40

Caller: Cana.

Quote of the Podcast: “The beautiful thing is that the spell that killed her is one she did for herself. Not to take away Elena’s pain, not to make Caroline a ring, not to bring the seal down, but to give herself another chance, to give herself another day to fight.”-Moi

In this episode, I remember why I still watch this show as I fangirl over Bonnie Bennett and her journey. In other news, Elena is being a friend in the worst moment, the only character impressed by Klaus is Klaus, and I feel Alaric’s status as a vampire hunter is blown out of proportion in the Fandom.

17 thoughts on “Episode 40: The Last Dance

  1. LOL, Alta. You are a Beremy warrior!

    I am not going to check out The Secret Circle. I want to check out the first few eps of Ringer because the pilot was shot for CBS. I am curious to see how fast the quality goes down after the pilot. But I am definitely not getting hooked. Well, I hope not.

    I think TVD is going to be my last CW show for a while, if not forever. Oh and witches are 90% black when they are the secondary characters. When witches are the focus of a show, less than 20% of witches are black/minority. Stick it where the sun don’t shine KW/CW. I want to say more but I will restrain myself.

    The following are the shows I am planning to check out.

    Terra Nova – Dinosaurs!, action!, sci-fi!, the apocalypse! What is not to like? Will probably replace TVD in my schedule.
    Person Of Interest – J.J Abrams action drama. I usually like his stuff so I will give it a chance even though I am not sold on the premise.
    Once Upon a Time – Fairy tales!
    Scandal (starring Kerry Washington) when it debuts mid-season. I usually enjoy the soapiness of Shonda Rhimes shows for the first couple of seasons so this should give me (at least) two solid seasons of entertainment. I was sad when her melodramatic/soapy sci-fi show on Fox got canceled so fast. What is more fun than baby mama drama in space!?

    I will continue to watch Fringe, Community, Parks and Recreation and possibly TVD if they give us more Bonnie and Elijah. I don’t know what hold Elijah has on me but it is a powerful one.

    The Bamon dance was very creepy. At some point, he was standing behind her with his arm around her neck. I don’t even know what the dialogue in that scene was. All I was thinking was, Get away from her. Get away from her. Get away from her. Bamon must die. Kill it with fire.

    I don’t think you are projecting. I sense a distance between the Bonnie and the group.

    Of course, Bonnie didn’t bother to correct Elena. Elena is off in La La land half the time. Bonnie can see that Elena makes very little sense. My interpretation of that scene was that Bonnie was simplifying things for Elena – putting it into words that Elena can understand.

    Elena didn’t care about Isobel’s death. Elena didn’t go after Jenna. Elena is the least relatable lead I have ever seen.

    LOL at you making plans during Bonnie’s death scene. I was doing the same thing. I was like, it’s ok. Suits will start soon. It has Gina Torres (Bree on TVD) in it. I’ve liked her since Firefly. Oh lord! I was totally trying to comfort myself. I was like, it will be OK. This reminds me that I haven’t checked out Suits yet. Time to rectify that horrible oversight.

    Woah! Who was that hateful reviewer? Oh Damn! Let’s bring it on like Donkey Kong the next time that reviewer says shit about Bonnie. lol. Just kidding

    • You are a Beremy warrior!

      I can’t help it! Lol. I hope season 3 is good to them.

      Oh and witches are 90% black when they are the secondary characters. When witches are the focus of a show, less than 20% of witches are black/minority.

      Yep. I’ve seen people go, “It’s a KW show! Why would you put yourself through that again!” And the response I want to write back is, “The witches are White, so I know their story will be done justice.” *Sigh.*

      Terra Nova: I looked it up and read the premise, and I was like, “Eh.” Then I watched the trailer, and I was like, “Ooo.” Lol. I’ll DVR the first episode and see.

      Once Upon a Time: Seems interesting. I’m wondering if it’s sustainable. I’ll check it out.

      Scandal: I remember watching the trailer for this! I have to remember to check it out.

      My interpretation of that scene was that Bonnie was simplifying things for Elena – putting it into words that Elena can understand.

      LOL!

      This reminds me that I haven’t checked out Suits yet. Time to rectify that horrible oversight.

      I want to check that show out too! People on my tumblr are always talking about it.

      Woah! Who was that hateful reviewer? Oh Damn! Let’s bring it on like Donkey Kong the next time that reviewer says shit about Bonnie. lol. Just kidding

      Lol. She’s constantly interviewing the cast and tweets JP frequently.

      • Yep. I’ve seen people go, “It’s a KW show! Why would you put yourself through that again!” And the response I want to write back is, “The witches are White, so I know their story will be done justice.” *Sigh.*

        wow Alta. You care that much about witches, because I don’t. I’d rather watch Zombies. 😉 I’m also waiting for RuPaul’s Drag Race. And I’ll be watch the Bad Girl’s Club.

        • I totally don’t get the appeal of zombies. Actually you’re the only person I know who’s into them. I’ve already missed this season of The Bad Girl’s Club. Isn’t it almost over?

          • I think BGC is 7 episodes in. I feel like it’s just started. Oh well you can marathon it which is always better.

            I like the social commentary Zombies invoke. People tend to break all the rules of society when dead bodies walk and start eating the living.

    • Of course, Bonnie didn’t bother to correct Elena. Elena is off in La La land half the time. Bonnie can see that Elena makes very little sense. My interpretation of that scene was that Bonnie was simplifying things for Elena – putting it into words that Elena can understand.

      this is my whole reasoning for The House Guest. Bonnie has cut herself off from the group and has stopped trying. She puts up a facade for them. except for like Jeremy.

  2. + I’m chceking out Ringer, Once Upon a Time, a couple of those Fox shows about islands or prisons or something. I’m checking out The Secret Circle in order to see if the changes upset me as much in action as they do right now. Um, Charlie’s Angels and that one Patrick Wilson show. Not much else in the fall.

    + Matt and Liz: There was no plan. In fact, the whole idea behind their plan consisted of Matt realizing that Caroline was still Caroline. Only dead. This show is a wealth of wasted potential.

    I feel like Carol was also dealing with a lot of grief this season. There must be some reason she was barely doing anything at all.

    + This show has no idea how to be an ensemble. If the show played with that there would potentially be moments of humor and that would ruin the grimdark seriousness of the show.

    + Katherine: What sucks is that, because of Nina’s line reading, we have no sense of what makes Katherine’s fear of Klaus so intense

    + Klaus: A better teacher than Alaric. Um, I thought it was hilarious when Elena called him Ric because 1) someone needs to be suspicious about how often he’s over at her house and 2) it was so random.

    My friend and I were talking about how Klaus is like a rich kid in desperate need of friends to be impressed by his deeds and actions, fully capable of functioning without them but desperate for them anyway.

    Everyone’s impressed because these people are fools and require it.

    Alaric is a failure of a vampire hunter. I bet he’d kill a vampire if a vampire tried to kill Damon.

    Do you think that Stefan’s shocking confrontation with his past, whatever that means, is the relatization that he’s run into Klaus before? Because we’re flashing back to Stefan’s (and Bex’s) past in the 20s.

    + Alta, you’re thinking too much about why these characters do the things they do. They don’t think anything. They’re just mouthpieces delivery story to us.

    + They’re trying to find him now because he’s right there and they’re idiots. It all works out.

    + Stefan is such an asshole in this episode.

    + How do these characters make absolutely no sense. The writers really do just have them say anything for the sake of making points that don’t stick.

    + Damon is always relaxed. Stefan is always two steps away from psychotic.

    + I’ll repeat. Stefan is an asshole.

    + Damon tries to take credit for what Bonnie accomplished.

    + Delena fans treated that line like it was romantic. Elena could have voiced her disgust. This show isn’t actually the home of well written quiet moments.

    + Elena takes the dagger out of Elijah and adds another screw you onto the pile that these idiots keep piling onto themselves.

    + Klaus asking Bonnie to dance would have worked even better since he was determined to take them out.

    + Wait? The ring was specifically about women? Oh yeah, all the women on the show are supernatural.

    + I can’t believe that people call Bonnie a cipher. Bonnie, of all the characters on the show? I’ll be honest, I want so much more for her, but it’s not because she’s lacking as a character so much as the writing for her sometimes deprives her of responses, but she is the best character on the show. I’m so happy when you talk about Bonnie because you articulate everything I love about her so much better than I could.

    + Jeremy was the only one who acknowledged that anyone dying would be a bad thing. It was or could have been a wonderful contrast to everyone else’s willingness to die/sacrifice being concerned about death in a way that made it this necesarry thing. Noble even. From Jeremy’s perspective it was just death and to quote Alice Morgan, there’s nothing worse than death is there? It’s a very human perspective.

    + It would have made more sense for Elena to be unable to be around Stefan after what Damon did.

    + Elena isn’t able to harden or even to fall apart. She’s perfect.

    + Wouldn’t that scene have been amazing? If Damon and Bonnie had talked about what could be done about Klaus.

    + I completely understand you wanting to quit the show. The first time I watched Bonnie die I was ready to quit the show in that moment.

    + Caroline would have tried to get into that room if she’d been there and the scene would have been so much more intense.

    + I don’t like to think about Bonnie being dead, but I think, if the show were better, Elena would leave Stefan and Damon and find someway to defeat Klaus without their help. Or wait until he was defeated and then left the Salvatores behind.

    + Re: that review; Leaving aside every other episode she’s been in, did that person miss the beginning of the episode?

    • I’m checking out The Secret Circle in order to see if the changes upset me as much in action as they do right now.

      You read the book? Did you read the TVD books?

      + Katherine: What sucks is that, because of Nina’s line reading, we have no sense of what makes Katherine’s fear of Klaus so intense

      Exactly. As a matter of fact, why is Katherine so afraid of Klaus? I know he killed her entire family, but she hasn’t seen him in how long? It’s not like he occasionally caught up with her in the ensuing years. I’m thinking that considering all the things Katherine has done/people she’s killed/lives she’s ruined that that fear of Klaus would have dulled. Unless the trauma of seeing her family slaughtered when she was just a young vampire really traumatized her. The show didn’t play that up as much as they could have, because now that I’m thinking about it, I don’t get why Katherine’s fear of Klaus was always heightened.

      Um, I thought it was hilarious when Elena called him Ric because 1) someone needs to be suspicious about how often he’s over at her house

      After the episode aired, someone went, “Riiight, as if Elena calling the teacher by his first name wouldn’t have sparked up a whole bunch of rumors.”

      Do you think that Stefan’s shocking confrontation with his past, whatever that means, is the relatization that he’s run into Klaus before? Because we’re flashing back to Stefan’s (and Bex’s) past in the 20s.

      I have no idea. I can’t even begin to speculate. But since KW wants to make a connection between the Salvatores and the Originals, I sure the Originals will somehow be involved.

      + They’re trying to find him now because he’s right there and they’re idiots. It all works out.

      LMAO! I literally laughed out loud!

      + Damon is always relaxed. Stefan is always two steps away from psychotic.

      I’m dying!

      This show isn’t actually the home of well written quiet moments.

      Word.

      + Wait? The ring was specifically about women? Oh yeah, all the women on the show are supernatural.

      Right. The ring was made for anyone to wear to protect them from the supernatural. And right now the only mortals on the show just happen to be dudes.

      I’ll be honest, I want so much more for her, but it’s not because she’s lacking as a character so much as the writing for her sometimes deprives her of responses, but she is the best character on the show.

      I agree. When I complain about getting more for her (and even when I call her a plot device), it’s not because I don’t think she’s a real character. Having a house, father, aunt, a bedroom, etc. isn’t what makes a character solid. Look at Elena.

      + Elena isn’t able to harden or even to fall apart. She’s perfect.

      *Sigh*

      + I don’t like to think about Bonnie being dead

      I don’t like to think about Bonnie being dead either. Another character I’ve found I don’t like to think about being dead is Jeremy. Because Mags has speculated on where Bonnie’s stroryline would have gone had Jeremy really died. I feel Bonnie’s story would have gone to a place/level this show is incapable of writing.

      • You read the book? Did you read the TVD books?

        Yup. When I was about six or seven and both series were awful, like worse than Twilight in terms of writing awful. The Secret Circle is better equipped to be a long running show, simply because, in the end, witches are more interesting than vampires. And the female relationships make those books. The dudes may as well be hood ornaments.

        I only read the original TVD books before she just kept on writing them out of who knows what. A sense of obligation maybe. I don’t remember much about the TVD books. They were unintentionally hilarious and Elena was actually a horrible human being badly disguised as a decent one. Bonnie and Damon and Matt had a weird dynamic. Matt and Stefan became best friends at one point. Um Elena turned into a vampire because she drove into a lake because of a ghoul or some such. I don’t remember Caroline at all and Matt and Vicki weren’t related. I remember more the more that I think about it, but a lot of that is stuff I picked up from the people in fandom who read the books.

        Elena may have become an angel at one point, but that was after my time.

        As a matter of fact, why is Katherine so afraid of Klaus?

        It must be to show us that he is threat, but that would have been easier if they had run into each other again and again over the years and he’d nearly ruined her life at every turn. There’s not much he could to her that another non-Original but older vampire couldn’t do.

        • Yep, Elena did turn into an angel. I saw that excerpt once. And Bonnie and some other characters were telling her they believed in her as if she was Tinkerbell or somebody.

          And the female relationships make those books. The dudes may as well be hood ornaments.

          My kind of show. Hope the CW doesn’t ruin that aspect.

      • After the episode aired, someone went, “Riiight, as if Elena calling the teacher by his first name wouldn’t have sparked up a whole bunch of rumors.”

        lol well he did tell the class to call him Ric.

        Right. The ring was made for anyone to wear to protect them from the supernatural. And right now the only mortals on the show just happen to be dudes.

        but now Jeremy can see dead people. doesn’t that make him supernatural?

        • Oh that’s true about Alaric. I guess everyone stopped and stared because of the town of her voice. It sounded very familiar with him.

          Well we don’t if Jeremy’s thing is an actual power. Right now it’s just a consequence.

  3. Alta, are you going to discuss the new Delena sneak peak released today and the fan reaction to it in your next podcast? I sometimes find the fan reactions and interpretations more interesting than the show. People are already calling Elena “naive” and defending Damon’s harshness towards her as if it was the most beautiful expression of love possible under the circumstances. Ok, I am exaggerating a tiny bit on the Damon justifications but I am looking forward to hearing or reading your thoughts on it.

      • Lol! I haven’t read fan reactions, but I have seen it and I am going to talk about it (I’m recording the episode tonight). Feel free to bring up the reactions in the comment section to episode 41. I’ve only seen one person say, “Delena, Delena, Delena!” And they weren’t being sarcastic.

  4. I’m going to check out the secret circle, but just to see how SC witches are treated differently from TVD witches …

    I don’t think SC is going to get canceled … OTH is till on.

    I’m waiting for Misfits which isn’t new and The Walking Dead (which also isn‘t new) to come back. 😉

    Matt should have gotten an Oscar or something, no?

    So maybe Caroline didn’t say shit about Bonnie. *shrugs* I kinda hope. When did Elena tell Alaric anything.

    What’s the point of making Caroline a vampire if they’re going to leave her out of the vampire plot?

    Maybe that was the direction KW/JP gave Nina. IDK.

    Matt was better at Klaus that Joseph. Just sayin’. Yeah how did Klaus last this long? I can see how Elijah has but not Klaus. How can you been that enthused then you’ve been around for a very long time? There is no air of boredom with him. Not like there is with Elijah or almost every other very old vampire I’ve seen. Klaus must be an imbecile which brings me back to the question, HOW IS HE STILL LIVE!?

    When’s the last time we’ve seen Alaric hunt a vampire?

    LOL Klaus!

    I LOVE BONNIE’S STANCE TOO! She’s about to open up a can of whip-ass.

    Stefan always wants to pioneer people’s ideas.
    Why would Elena tell Alaric about Isobel? That’s Damon’s friend.

    How can they torture an original?

    You’re writing a whole fic right here in the pod cast. 😉

    Stefan would throw Bonnie to the wolves so to speak. Didn’t like Stefan’s line either.

    Klaus has made his first move in this episode Alta. 😛

    Damon says “any time tonight”. you got it right.

    I don’t like Damon dancing in this scene. Smh

    Stefan doesn’t give a hoot about Bonnie, which is different from how he was in the first season.

    I thought Elena’s reaction was to take the knife out of Elijah. Why does she apologies to Damon? Come on. Elena/Nina was looking at the bed when Damon came in. She probably noticed some blood on it. Bet.

    It’s really hard taking a dagger out of a body when your physically self is clear across town. But hey! That doesn’t matter when someone throws flames at your astral projection-self … >_>

    OMG Bonnie gets the rundown haunted shamble of a house that’s dirty with no bed.

    I like that moment too between Bonnie/Jeremy. Because what was she going to do?

    Oh shit Klaus asking Bonnie! What! But that would make the whole episode about Bonnie and we can’t have that!

    I didn’t like that Jeremy made it about him, but I can see now why he would say that he doesn’t have the best luck with girlfriends. He made it about him because Bonnie was so determined to take out Klaus that she didn’t care what happened to her. So he had to tell her that if she dies it will hurt him. That made her stop and think.

    Alta you are preaching to the choir. 😉 Wax on, Alta. *smirk*

    Get a room!

    I feel like Elena asked what was she supposed to do if Bonnie died or after she did. *shrug* but it was more a selfish thing than it was a baffled question.

    OMG bump and grind. :-\ lol

    When Damon said that line about “increasing your odds” I didn’t get why Bonnie thought people might think he actually cared. I thought it was more of a “well can you make sure he’s dead.” not a “can you make sure you live at the end of it.”

    You are a hardcore shipper.

    I don’t know why Elena didn’t follow her brother and talk to him because it Stefan had said that line she would have henpecked him to death until he answered her.

    Sure Jeremy’s been beat up a lot. I’m laughing that Stefan just left him there. Smh.

    “I GOT WINNER, GUYS! I GO WINNER!”
    I feel like Caroline would have blamed everyone for Bonnie’s death. She would have been angry at the Salvatore’s and Elena.

    I didn’t want them to have sex in that house! I wanted Bonnie to get a real bed. I said “no” but I can see how it would go that way based on natural character development. Because if I had just died and came back and my BF was there making me feel better. I might want to jump his bones TYVM.

    Maybe that was their first time watch episodes in which Bonnie had scenes? >_>

    Do you think Damon was let in the house? I think Jeremy carried Bonnie in -since the witches hate Damon- and he set everything up. Where’d he get all the candles and the rugs and everything set up so quickly.

    I was just going to say that Bonnie had no problem breaking Alaric into pieces and tossing him about. But I guess that she knew that if she killed him he could come back because of his ring … IDK. *shrug*

    Klaus ugh!

    • When did Elena tell Alaric anything.

      When Stefan fell from the device, and Elena and Ric dragged him off to that safe place, they just started talking about Bonnie not de-spelling the device. And Alaric didn’t blink.

      How can you been that enthused then you’ve been around for a very long time? There is no air of boredom with him. Not like there is with Elijah or almost every other very old vampire I’ve seen. Klaus must be an imbecile which brings me back to the question, HOW IS HE STILL LIVE!?

      LOL! But you’re totally right about that air of boredom. Actually, I get the sense that Joseph Morgan goes for that. Matt didn’t. But since Alaric likes jumping into people’s bodies, maybe he likes doing different personalities and that’s what that was about. That’d be creepy.

      When’s the last time we’ve seen Alaric hunt a vampire?

      Probably his second or third episode in season 1.

      How can they torture an original?

      With the ash. I’m sure UJ could’ve thought of something.

      I don’t know why Elena didn’t follow her brother and talk to him because it Stefan had said that line she would have henpecked him to death until he answered her.

      Yep.

      I feel like Caroline would have blamed everyone for Bonnie’s death. She would have been angry at the Salvatore’s and Elena.

      I completely agree.

      I didn’t want them to have sex in that house!

      Lol, I remember your posts.

      Where’d he get all the candles

      The candles were already there, because I remember they lit up when Bonnie was about to channel her ancestors.

Flail or vent

