Episode 31: Katerina

Episode 31

In this episode, the Martins debut (bring out the candles), I wonder if Stefan would become a stalker if he and Elena ever broke up for real for real (he’s still irritating me), Bonnie and Jeremy are all kinds of cute (I want them to go on another date), Katherine kicks all kinds of ass, and while the producers could have used their “history repeating” moniker to show the similarities between Katherine and Elena when it comes to what they’re willing to do to survive (imagine an actual character arc for Elena), they only reserve the moniker for the Salvatores’ love lives.

While editing the show, it occurred to me that it might have been better if the producers had gone with the Sun and the Moon Curse (fine-tuning the Aztec thing so it makes sense, of course) instead of the Werepire Hybrid Curse. Because they’ve made Klaus invincible which means they now need to find a believable and worthy way to kill him. So!

19 thoughts on “Episode 31: Katerina

  1. Comicon is pointless lol

    They are a bit long, but I like it. I’m hardcore like that though.

    Lol the house guest. I’ll CALL IN! Omg the singing!

    I’d suggest a werewolf heavy episode because she loves MT!

    Gross Damon, all the time.

    Easter Bunny! Lol So now the baddies are just Holidays.

    Bonnie! Jeremy was hiding in the bushes, waiting for her. He just popped out like “BEY BONNIE! LOL GRAVITY!”

    I love Bonnie’s butter fly shirt and everything she was wearing. EVERYTHING.

    Jeremy is fine.

    It’s an awkward laugh. 😉 It is a bit awkward, the situation, but cute. I bet Jeremy knows Bonnie sucks at pool. I like the he asked her out to do normal things. It reminds me of that scene with Jeremy and Anna only on how they contras. Anna was coming after Jeremy and now we see Jeremy and his pursuit (so to speak) of Bonnie. Because this time Bonnie is like: what do you want?

    It must be strange because people usually come after her for magical reasons.

    Luka! “He did not know that MF has a quota on black people.” LOL!

    Bonnie is smitten. Luka’s voice is nice too.

    Caroline is not that bad at lying. She’s better at it than Elena. *eye role* “Bitch, I was acting for my life!”

    Julie fell in love with the actor who played Elijah? I thought it was Klaus?

    Shut up Damon. Lmao

    Stefan would be a stalker. Lol “Don’t you have football practice?!”

    Aww Caroline’s being a jerk again. I would hope Bonnie wouldn’t tell.

    Don’t forget Jenna was stabbed.

    In the first season Damon seemed to have respect, but now he’s just an ass.

    I bet Slater knows about the witches. Though I wonder if he knows specifics like the witches surnames. You know history is, it gets washed.

    Katherine is so quick with the noose work. It was too fast: make the noose, anchor it, climb up to hang yourself – all with out being discovered by the vampires in the other room? Come on. Not to mention you have to get the length right so you don’t just hang there choking. … don’t ask. lol

    All they say is Patrova blood needs to be spilled. Does that really mean the Patrova has to die? Katherine is a survivor.

    You know that dudes plans are better than a stupid chick. /sarcasm

    Katherine Played Damon. That was his helpless moment. :\

    Elena needs to be taking notes: WORD!

    What you are describing is what she show should have been. It should have been about Elena and her POV and her relationship with her friends and how they relater to her and the Salvatore’s should be little more than background characters. I meant there’s too much Salvatore/vampire Manpain.

    Caroline is spilling her guts. They need to take time from the manpain scenes and give it to Bonnie.

    I don’t know why Caroline reminds Stefan of Lexi …

    “It’s not so bad here.” I don’t know why she said that. I was trying to justify that she could have meant in that moment, like: hey, I think you’re cute. But She should have offhand warned them. “every town has it‘s ghost” but she might have come off spooky.

    Jonas’ leap was suspicious and ridiculous. My last name isn’t very common, but, if someone in another state has it, I don’t automatically assume they are related to me.

    Salem is in MA

    Thank you,, but don’t even get me started on the Martins. They are never going to mention the martins again and if they do it will be as a reference. UGH! Greta was a Harper 2.0

    Bonnie scratches so hard. What was that? She is really bad. Lol I don’t even play pool. I love that they don’t pull that awkward “I’ll show you how to play pool” pose. It would have made me uncomfortable.

    LMAO At Luka! I’m dying. The flow just stopped when he shoehorned his way into the game. I bet he did. I bet he was hopping around and stuff, rolling his shoulders! I can see it! LOL it was like O_O

    Stefan need a life! The is a rare moment. I loved it. Now if only they would do it more.

    Katherine is cold and I love it.

    The moonstone curse was one big trollathon. I feel like it was put out there for the vampires the scramble around. The witches didn’t care and the werewolves didn’t either. Lucy even said she didn’t think it was real.

    Mystic Falls is the new Sunnydale … only not as “awesome”.

    LMAO! “DIS BITCH!”
    It was a cool effect. Elijah calls bullshit.

    Rose doesn’t leave because she has plans to get bitten by a werewolf on the full moon.
    Shut up Damon. I love it.
    I love that Bonnie is like that too. It was at it’s best for me when Stefan leaned over to greet Bonnie and she just snubbed him so hard. Even I said “OUCH”. She looked away like he wasn’t even there.

    Bonnie felt Luka when she touched him, but then later Jonas says they’re one big witch family I guess … they are ignoring the witch mythology.

    Poor Male witches. LOL

    Elena should have said I didn’t tell you because we’re broken up and this is not just about you Stefan. I an not beholden to you, Stefan!

    It doesn’t correlate the conversation. She’s trying to get info from Katherine and he’s telling her not to worry because he will protect her? WHAT?

    And all that you said is the reason Elena and Bonnie should just hangout away from the Salvatore’s. Do you know why we don’t see Bonnie’s house? Because she hasn’t invited vampires into it. And the show is so from a vampire (Salvatore) perspective that they can’t physically get into Bonnie’s world. And believe they are threatened by the power Bonnie has. If they let her they could take over the show. She really could.

    “Special and white” lmao

    Thank god he didn’t find out she had a child. Katherine as a mother, can you even conceive?

    Stefan wants Elena to believe in him and it’s TARING HIM APART LISA! She does look very desperate.

    “Why is he doing that to the fire?” for the DRAMA! Lol

    I remember it was Rose who said that line and then I was thinking why did Katherine say it too?

    WHATEVER! Lol

    It wasn’t hot at all.

    “Get in there” Alta? lmao

    I hate when people say you HAVE TO do something that you really don’t. Just out of their desperation to control you. Ugh!

    I think Stefan is totally traumatized by Katherine. I think he’s trying to use Elena to wash out the stain of Katherine, because he did love her or had feeling but she really did destroy his life and relationships. Katherine made him a monster. MORE OF THIS PLEASE!

    Everything is because of the Salvatore’s …

    Unsexy time for sure!

    Damon kissed Katherine when her mouth was covered in blood. That makes me gag. He wasn’t compelled and he wasn’t a vampire so … he’d predisposed to debauchery. I bet the Salvatore’s are inbred.

    A very special white man. LMAO that is what the show should be called … honestly.

    The show is predictable like Damon. smh

    LOL Stefan Salvatore.

    Kat was good.

    • They are a bit long, but I like it. I’m hardcore like that though.

      Yup, you are.

      He just popped out like “BEY BONNIE! LOL GRAVITY!”

      *Dead*

      Julie fell in love with the actor who played Elijah? I thought it was Klaus?

      Nope she said she fell in love with Daniel Gillies and wanted to keep him on the show. Then she said at CC that Elijah is her favorite character.

      Katherine is so quick with the noose work. It was too fast: make the noose, anchor it, climb up to hang yourself – all with out being discovered by the vampires in the other room? Come on. Not to mention you have to get the length right so you don’t just hang there choking. … don’t ask. lol

      ….

      Very true that it was quick though. Lol.

      Katherine Played Damon. That was his helpless moment. :\

      True. If only we’d see that with the girl he’s currently after.

      Damn, I completely forgot Salem is in Ma. Lol.

      Bonnie felt Luka when she touched him, but then later Jonas says they’re one big witch family I guess … they are ignoring the witch mythology.

      Ugh.

      I think Stefan is totally traumatized by Katherine. I think he’s trying to use Elena to wash out the stain of Katherine, because he did love her or had feeling but she really did destroy his life and relationships. Katherine made him a monster. MORE OF THIS PLEASE!

      Ooooo! Maybe Damon isn’t the only one trying to have the relationship with Elena that he didn’t have with Katherine! /mylongestrunningtheoryaboutDamon.

      • I think Stefan is trying to be what he thought Katherine was in 1864. All nice and pure. Probably his ideal. I think Damon is doing the same. His whole identity is based on being like what he thought Katherine was I think both Damon and Stefan are using Elena to rewrite history. It is like, in their mind, Elena is their 1864 selves. So for Stefan, Elena his 1864 Stefan. For Damon, Elena is 1864 Damon. On a subconscious level, of course. I think they are also trying to give Elena what they didn’t get from Katherine. In Stefan’s case, it is probably free will/right to make her own choices. . . sorta lol. And in Damon’s case, it is being chosen.

        • That’s an interesting theory. Instead of trying to get from Elena what they couldn’t from Katherine, they’re using her (subconsciously) to be what they thought Katherine was. Hmmm.

          They definitely want to rewrite history with her because they (especially Stefan) keep saying they don’t want history to repeat.

          • I thought they were rewriting history in a way that would make it healthier in their own minds and also give them more power. In 1864, they were the powerless ones. Now they are the benevolent powerful ones. Does that make sense? I am fanwanking a lot

        • Yes! I remember after the first few episodes of s2, I was talking with another fandom friend about the fact that while the show sort of acknowledges this with Damon, they tend to ignore it with Stefan in favor of having him be the “stable” one. Even though, what Katherine did to Stefan in 1864 would have had greater repercussions once he became a vampire because he wouldn’t have remembered her compelling him to be okay with it, against his better judgement, until he was a vampire. In s1, he makes a point to say that it took him awhile to remember everything. Which, Damon was the one who gave most completely of himself, so he’s more obvious about his transference, but the show fails to acknowledge that what Katherine did to Stefan was twisted and that the result of her actions would probably be pretty twisted as well. So I totally see them trying to fix what was done to them (especially Stefan and his attempts to respect Elena’s decisions or to hear them out), what they thought they were getting, and what they actually wanted.

          I’m not sure the show is ever going to go there though.

          • So I totally see them trying to fix what was done to them (especially Stefan and his attempts to respect Elena’s decisions or to hear them out)

            I remember when he gave her the vervain necklace and told her to wear it in order to protect herself from him, so that he would know that she’s with him because she wants to be.

      • Damn, I completely forgot Salem is in Ma. Lol.

        Phew! I thought I was being redundant.

        It kinda seemed like Elijah got the best lines or something, but now I don’t understand why Klaus is a regular after a few episodes. He wasn’t bad ass IMO. How long is this guy going to be hanging around?

        I would have liked it if the Sun/moon curse was real and triggered the werewolves. Not only would the Humans be in trouble, but the vamps would be too. And I wish Bonnie or another witch did it as a lesser of two evils plan. Screwing over the vampires and marking them since apparently there aren’t that many werewolves left. They could have their revenge for vampires trying to wipe them out.

        I think the originals are a bit pompous. I bet they aren’t even the first vampires. I bet they aren’t even the first ones to walk in the sun. Maybe the witches that cursed Klaus are Romani like the ones who cursed Angel on Buffy. hehe

        I thought I had something else to say but I must’ve imagined … or forgotten?

        • I would have liked it if the Sun/moon curse was real and triggered the werewolves. Not only would the Humans be in trouble, but the vamps would be too. And I wish Bonnie or another witch did it as a lesser of two evils plan. Screwing over the vampires and marking them since apparently there aren’t that many werewolves left. They could have their revenge for vampires trying to wipe them out.

          Yes, that would have been great!

          I’m thinking Klaus will only be around for the first half of the season. Which is ridiculous.

  2. The podcasts are long, but I usually listen to them when I have the time, so it doesn’t bother me.

    I’ll call in! Ugh, The House Guest was when I realized that I really didn’t want Matt to die right after I was like “oh finally they’re going to kill him, now Zach Roerig can move on with his life.” That episode is all kinds of horrible.

    Damon is just…I wish the writers weren’t so obvious about how much they want us to care as viewers.

    Stefan doesn’t know he’s famous does he? That said, he knows Katherine.

    Klaus is the oldest vampire in the world? I’m trying to figure out if that means he was turned first or not.

    Poor Luka.

    Everyone meaning….Alaric, maybe? I don’t know.

    Why didn’t Elena just lie about what she was going to do?

    Katherine must have really wanted blood.

    I wish Julie had fallen in love with Lexi.

    Why wouldn’t Rose know that Elijah was Klaus’s brother? Later on, they aren’t exactly hiding that fact.

    It must be the bug eyes. That has to appeal to someone.

    Stefan did stalk Elena for a whole year before introducing himself. Fandom forgets. I’m pretty sure he’d stalk her because…even if the writers won’t address it, she looks exactly like Katherine and that at least informs Stefan’s interest in her. So he’d stalk her.

    Why Petrova blood? Because there is still nothing special about the Petrovas in particular.

    I hope Slater knew. I hope he has tons of journals somewhere. Not that it means anything now, but it would at least suggest that there are people who keep records.

    I can’t remember if Elena had much of a reaction to Stefan’s reveal.

    If this show wasn’t about the triangle then maybe it could be that show. Right now it’s about which brother loves Elena more and how much she can forgive either brother for their actions + Elena in danger.

    Elena’s inability to understand Katherine’s desire to live was really strange. It’s another example of her selflessness which is so extreme it comes back around to a ridiculous air of superiority.

    I enjoy the friendship between Caroline and Stefan, but I think it’s been overhyped by fandom because of that comparison to Lexi. They both made him laugh, in general and at himself and they’re both blonde, but yeah…I don’t think Caroline has, or should have at this point, the same level of sway over Stefan, as Lexi. But, I’m fanwanking a timeline here, it’s only been three months maybe since Lexi died? Maybe he’s just grasping at familiarity. It would actually be interesting as a story because I think that’s what he’s doing with Elena, but none of this is really supported by the show.

    Assuming Bennett is her father’s last name, does that mean her father is/was capable of being a warlock?

    Wasn’t she really bad at providing a distraction? Isn’t that why Stefan and Elena have sticks up their asses?

    You know what would be amazing? If in s3 when Damon/Elena starts happening or whatever, Caroline is against it for reasons that have nothing to do with Stefan and everything to do with what Damon did to her in s1.

    Rose doesn’t leave because she needs to be fridged later.

    It hurts imagining how lonely Bonnie must be when it comes to her powers.

    This is their relationship which is a partnership and some other such BS about how he respects and listens to her all the time.

    This show really doesn’t need the Salvatores, if the point of the Salvatores is to protect Elena, then they are unnecessary.

    What’s weird about the switch thing is that it takes a couple hundred years, but the Salvatores aren’t even two hundred years old.

    “a very special white man” LOL.

    I wish Slater had lived. I wish he’d lived because he’s the only character who they introduced who seemed aware of the importance of history. These characters don’t have allies that they can call on in times of need. Because everyone dies.

    • Klaus is the oldest vampire in the world? I’m trying to figure out if that means he was turned first or not.

      How would that even work? How can there be Original vampires if they’re not demons from hell or something? Who turned Klaus?

      Yeah why wouldn’t Rose know? If Klaus is an Original and Elijah is one…and didn’t they call them the first family of vampires or something?

      Stefan did stalk Elena for a whole year before introducing himself.

      True!

      Why Petrova blood? Because there is still nothing special about the Petrovas in particular.

      They probably just picked a random family and spilled the blood and the Petrovas have been special ever since .Rme.

      I enjoy the friendship between Caroline and Stefan, but I think it’s been overhyped by fandom

      There’s an understatement. Lol.

      I think Bonnie kept her mother’s last name which was given to the mother by grams and so on. Or should I say and so back.

      You know what would be amazing? If in s3 when Damon/Elena starts happening or whatever, Caroline is against it for reasons that have nothing to do with Stefan and everything to do with what Damon did to her in s1.

      Yes, yes, yes!!!!

      • How would that even work? How can there be Original vampires if they’re not demons from hell or something? Who turned Klaus?

        I’m just trying to figure out what the origin of the Originals is going to be and whether it will make any kind of sense in the long run. Why would they turn anyone? Are they the only Originals? Why would an entire family be turned? Why would Klaus turn around and turn his father if he hated him so much? What was what turned them, if not a vampire? The questions go on and on.

        Rose not knowing makes me think they decided on the whole Originals storyline later. Klaus could still be the oldest living, without being the first.

        • Very true. They could have just called him the oldest vampire and we’d just assume that there’s no way the first ever vampire would still be alive. Heck, we probably wouldn’t even be thinking in terms of firsts. Doesn’t this mean that witchcraft is older than vampires? If Klaus is the Original and he lived in the year 1000…well people have had connections to nature way before that. Since the beginning of civilization/time.

          • Definitely “witchcraft” is older than Vampire-ism. Like you said it’s a curse and I bet a witch cast it.

            I read a story where a person could turn themselves into a vampire. You might ask whats the appeal? Well in the story/book one would use “dark arts/blood magic” to make themselves a vampire so they wouldn’t be beholden to a maker.

            Magic is so old and vampires/werewolves are by products of it.

            • Why would they have a maker if they didn’t start out as a vamp?

              I think neither witchcraft nor lycanthropy have an “origin.” By that I mean, I don’t think there are Original witches or werewolves or even first witches or werewolves. It could have cropped up on different continents at the same time. People from many cultures have beliefs about nature and our connection to it. So I hope TVD never does for the witches/weres what they’ve done for the vamps. Seeing as they’re barely interested in the witchcraft though, I guess I don’t have much to worry about.

      • I think Bonnie kept her mother’s last name which was given to the mother by grams and so on. Or should I say and so back.

        like the Halliwells they always keep their name. 😉

Flail or vent

